علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Charles Ernest Weatherburn

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

18 June 1884

Australia

1974

Australia

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

Weatherburn تشارلز فى اطار النظام المنسق carslaw درس في جامعة سيدني التخرج مع شهادة الماجستير في عام 1906. ثم جاء الى انجلترا ، بعد منح منحه دراسيه ، ودرس في كلية ترينيتي كامبردج حيث حضر المحاضرات التي يلقيها بقعة الجلد البيضاء ، ويتاكر وهاردي. جلس الرياضية tripos الامتحانات في عام 1908 ، نفس السنة التي brodetsky ، حيث حصل على درجة من الدرجة الاولى.

العودة الى استراليا ، وقد عين لweatherburn Ormond كلية من جامعة ملبورن. عامل المنجم ، في كتابه ، ويصف كيف تدرس weatherburn له وهو طالب في جامعة ملبورن (1916،1917،1920) :

هناك عدد قليل جدا من الطلاب مع مرتبة الشرف ، وكنت الوحيد الذي طالب به Ormond الشرف الرياضيات في السنة التي قضيتها. ذهبت الى غرفته مرة واحدة في الاسبوع ، وجلست بالقرب من مكتبه في حين تحدث وكتب ويلاحظ بالنسبة لي. دائما انه كتب على ظهر ورقة القبعه ، فان جبهة التي كانت مليءه مشروع فى وقت مبكر من قسم من احد كتبه. وقال انه اخذني من خلال المواضيع في كتابين على مكافحة ناقلات التحليل ، وربما ايضا بعض فرق الهندسه... وقال انه بارعه واضحة ومثيرة للاهتمام ، وبالنسبة لي كانت سهلة للغاية ، وسيلة فعالة لمكافحة ناقلات اتقان التحليل.

بالتأكيد لم يكن ناقل التحليل المقبولة عالميا فى هذا الوقت وweatherburn خاض المعركه من اجل قبولها من المعارضة ضد الشعب مثل هارولد جيفريز. جيبس heaviside وكان من أوائل الدعاه لمكافحة ناقلات حساب التفاضل والتكامل في حين كان رئيس المعارضين تيت. Weatherburn عندما نشرت أول من مجلدين عن تحليل لمكافحة ناقلات في عام 1921 انه كتب في المقدمة :

اعمال جيبس وheaviside وجه اليها من الاستنكارات استاذ تيت ، من النظر في أي خروج عن quaternionic استخدامها فى العلاج من النواقل على ان يكون فداحه.

Weatherburn ترك سيدني في عام 1923 لتولي رئاسة كانتربري في كلية الرياضيات في جامعة نيوزيلندا. في مثل هذا الوقت له اهتماماته البحثيه تغير من التحليل لمكافحة ناقلات الهندسه التفاضليه. وقال انه كتب اثنين من الاجزاء الرئيسية من فرق الهندسه الابعاد الثلاثة (1927 ، 1930) فضلا عن حوالى 30 ورقات عن هذا الموضوع. هودج ، واستعراض المجلد الثاني ، يقول :

بكثير من حجم مخصصة للمواضيع التي لمقدم البلاغ نفسه ساهم في السنوات القليلة الماضية ، ولا سيما في أسر نظرية المنحنيات والسطوح ، والتشويهات الصغيرة. وهناك مواضيع اخرى ولكن المدرجه ، ونتيجة لذلك فان مجلدين معا عرضا لمعظم الفروع الرئيسية للالكلاسيكيه الهندسه التفاضليه. اولى الاعتبار ليفي - Civita بالمجلس ، من الناحية النظريه الموازيه التشريد ويرد.

وفي عام 1929 عاد الى استراليا weatherburn تناول الرئيس للرياضيات في جامعة غرب استراليا (تأسست 1911) ، ليصبح اول حامل لهذا الرئيس. وحمل هذا المنصب حتى تقاعده في عام 1950 ولكنها عرضه الممتاز لسلسلة من الابحاث وتوقف في 1939. وقال انه نشر مقدمة لريمانيان تينسور الهندسه وحساب التفاضل والتكامل في عام 1938 واعيد اصداره في عام 1966. بعد 1939 وكان الوحيد الذي نشر كتاب مدرسي عن الاحصاءات التي نشرها في عام 1946.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Charles Ernest Weatherburn

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

18 June 1884

Australia

1974

Australia

Presentation
Charles Weatherburn studied under H S Carslaw at the University of Sydney graduating with an M.A. in 1906. He then came to England, after the award of a scholarship, and studied at Trinity College Cambridge where he attended lectures by Whitehead , Whittaker and Hardy . He sat the Mathematical Tripos examinations in 1908, the same year as Brodetsky , and was awarded a First Class degree.

Returning to Australia, Weatherburn was appointed to Ormond College of the University of Melbourne. Pitman, writing in , describes how Weatherburn taught him as a student at the University of Melbourne (1916,1917,1920):

There were very few honours students, and I was the only Ormond student doing honours mathematics in my year. I went to his room once a week, and sat near his desk while he talked and wrote notes for me. Always he wrote on the back of foolscap paper, the front of which was filled with an early draft of a section of one of his books. He took me through the topics in his two books on vector analysis, and perhaps also some differential geometry ... He was neat and clear and interesting, and for me it was a very easy and efficient way of mastering vector analysis.

Certainly vector analysis was not universally accepted at this time and Weatherburn fought the battle for its acceptance against opposition from people such as Harold Jeffreys . Gibbs and Heaviside had been early exponents of the vector calculus while its chief opponents had been Tait . When Weatherburn published the first of his two volumes on vector analysis in 1921 he wrote in the introduction:

The work of Gibbs and Heaviside drew forth denunciations from Professor Tait , who considered any departure from quaternionic usage in the treatment of vectors to be an enormity.

Weatherburn left Sydney in 1923 to take up the chair of mathematics in Canterbury College, University of New Zealand. At about this time his research interests changed from vector analysis to differential geometry. He wrote two major volumes Differential geometry of three dimensions (1927, 1930) as well as nearly 30 papers on this topic. Hodge , reviewing the second volume, wrote:

Much of the volume is devoted to subjects to which the author has himself contributed in the last few years, particularly in the theory of families of curves and surfaces, and of small deformations. Other topics are however included, with the result that the two volumes together give an account of most of the principal branches of classical differential geometry. An elementary account of Levi-Civita 's theory of parallel displacements is given.

In 1929 Weatherburn returned to Australia taking up the chair of mathematics at the University of Western Australia (founded 1911), becoming the first holder of this chair. He held this post until he retired in 1950 but his excellent sequence of research papers stopped in 1939. He published An Introduction to Riemannian Geometry and the Tensor Calculus in 1938 and it was reissued in 1966. After 1939 his only publication was a textbook on statistics which he published in 1946.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland