علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Giovanni Enrico Eugenio Vacca

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

18 Nov 1872

Genoa, Italy

6 Jan 1953

Rome, Italy

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

جيوفاني vacca يذهب الى المدرسة في جنوة وفي هذا الوقت كان سياسيا نشطا جدا. وقال انه ساعد في 1892 فيليبو turati ، محام شاب من ميلان ، الايطاليه لتأسيس حزب العمال (partito dei lavoratori Italiani). وفي العام التالي واعيدت تسمية الحزب الاشتراكي الايطالي (partito الاشتراكيه الايطالي). الحزب الديمقراطي الأجتماعي في المقام الأول. ورأى في الصراع الطبقي ، وتهدف الى كسب مقعدا في البرلمان. الحزب الماركسي وجهات النظر ولكن من المتوقع ان تؤثر في الناس ببطء نحو وجهات نظرها.

Vacca دخلت جامعة جنوه لدراسة الرياضيات. ولكن في عام 1894 crispi حل الحزب وقادة الحزب ، بما فى vacca تم نفي من جنوا. الابعاد وكان في عام 1897 ، ولحسن الحظ ، وهذا يسمح لتخريج vacca سنة قبل ان يتحرك بعيدا عن جنوة. انتقل الى تورينو حيث اصبح peano 'مساعد في تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 1897.

وفي عام 1899 ذهب الى هانوفر vacca لدراسة المخطوطات التي لم تنشر من leibniz. وفي السنة التالية vacca وحضر المؤتمر الدولي الأول للفلسفة الذي عقد في باريس في عام 1900. في المؤتمر vacca اجتمع couturat و، وفي السنة التالية ، couturat كتب في مقدمة مدينة لوس انجلوس دي logique leibniz :

عملنا على منطق leibniz وقد اوشك على الانتهاء (على الأقل حتى اعتقدنا) ونحن عندما كان من دواعي سروري ، في المؤتمر الدولي للفلسفة (آب / أغسطس ، 1900) ، جعل من السيد جيوفاني التعارف vacca ، في ذلك الوقت مساعد الرياضية في جامعة تورينو ، من درس ، في العام قبل الماضي ، فان الحفاظ على المخطوطات من leibniz في هانوفر ، واستخلصت منها عدة صيغ من منطق تدرج في "formulaire دي mathématiques" السيد peano. انه هو من كشف لنا اهمية للأعمال غير منشورة leibniz ، والهمنا مع الرغبة في الاطلاع عليها بدوره.

Vacca في 1903 نشرت مجموعة من اعمال قصيرة leibniz وبعض اوراقه التي لم تنشر سابقا. ومع ذلك وقبل ذلك في عام 1902 ، vacca موقف peano 'مساعد وانتهى وعاد الى جنوة.

على الرغم من تفكك الحزب الاشتراكي الايطالي في عام 1894 ، تم احياؤها في اواخر 1890s وفاز في 32 مقاعد البرلمان في 1900. Vacca ، لدى عودته الى جنوة فى عام 1902 ، عملت الحزب مرة اخرى لتصبح احد الاعضاء الجدد للمجلس الاشتراكي وعضو ايضا في الحزب الوطني للادارة. Vacca ومع ذلك واصل جهوده للعمل الرياضي وبالطبع القي في جامعة جنوه على منطق رياضي.

في عام 1904 vacca عاد الى تورينو ، وكان مساعد لpeano لسنة اخرى. ولكن قد vacca مثل هذا الوقت من هدف ثالث بالاضافة الى الاهتمام في الرياضيات والسياسة. وقال انه قد اصبحت مهتمة الصينية فى اقرب وقت 1898 عندما كان هناك اقامة معرض صيني في تورينو وقال ان لديه بعض الدروس فى الصينية من اثنين من المبشرين قد عادوا من الصين. في عام 1905 ، هذا الاهتمام أصبح الطريق الصينية ان قررت اتباع vacca.

ذهب الى فلورنسا لدراسة اللغة الصينية فى الجامعة. Vailati كان التدريس في فلورنسا في هذا الوقت وهما بالفعل يعرف كل منهم الاخر من وقتهم في تورينو. انها المصالح المشتركة الرياضية وبالتأكيد vacca الرياضية يواصل البحث والاهتمام في تاريخ الرياضيات. في الواقع vacca سيكون واحدا من محرري vailati بالمجلس ، ويعمل تجمع ، الذي نشر في عام 1911 ، بعد سنتين من vailati 'الموت.

Vacca انفقت 1907-08 فى غرب الصين ، والانفاق في السنة في مدينة تشينغ - يوم الثلاثاء. وبعد عودته الى فلورنسا وقال انه حصل على الدكتوراه في الدراسات الصينية لو1910 ، وفي السنة التالية ، عين في وظيفة تدريس الادب الصيني في جامعة روما. فى عام 1922 نجحت vacca بلدة القديمة استاذ التاريخ والجغرافيا من شرق آسيا الى الرئاسة في فلورنسا. Vacca تدريس اللغة الصينية وادابها هناك حتى تقاعده في عام 1947.

على الرغم من تغيير الموضوع في منتصف الوظيفي ، vacca واصل جهوده للدراسات الصينية ورياضية في آن واحد. فعلى سبيل المثال فى عام 1928 peano قدم ورقة عن طريق vacca فرمات 'طريقة النسب الى اكاديميه العلوم في تورينو. وقال انه طوال حياته المهنيه نشر حوالى 130 ورقات ، و 47 ، المتعلقة مصالح بلده الصينية ، و 38 رياضية على البحث و45 عن تاريخ الرياضيات.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Giovanni Enrico Eugenio Vacca

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

18 Nov 1872

Genoa, Italy

6 Jan 1953

Rome, Italy

Presentation Wikipedia
Giovanni Vacca went to school in Genoa and at this time he was politically very active. In 1892 he helped Filippo Turati, a young lawyer from Milan, to found the Italian Workers' Party (Partito dei Lavoratori Italiani). The following year the party was renamed the Italian Socialist Party (Partito Socialista Italiano). The party was mainly social democratic. It believed in the class struggle and aimed to win seats in parliament. The party had Marxist views but it expected to slowly influence people towards its views.

Vacca entered the University of Genoa to study mathematics. However in 1894 Crispi dissolved the Party and the leaders of the Party, including Vacca were banished from Genoa. The banishment was in 1897 and, fortunately, this allowed Vacca to graduate that year before moving away from Genoa. He moved to Turin where he became Peano 's assistant in November 1897.

In 1899 Vacca went to Hannover to study the unpublished manuscripts of Leibniz . The following year Vacca attended the First International Congress of Philosophy which was held in Paris in 1900. At the Congress Vacca met Couturat and, the following year, Couturat wrote in the preface of La Logique de Leibniz :

Our work on the logic of Leibniz was almost completed (at least we thought so) when we had the pleasure, at the International Congress of Philosophy (August, 1900), of making the acquaintance of Mr Giovanni Vacca, at that time mathematical assistant at the University of Turin, who had examined, the year before, the manuscripts of Leibniz preserved in Hannover, and had extracted from them several formulae of logic inserted in the "Formulaire de Mathématiques" of Mr Peano . It was he who revealed to us the importance of the unpublished works of Leibniz , and inspired us with the desire to consult them in turn.

In 1903 Vacca published a collection of short works by Leibniz and some of his papers which had not been previously published. However before this, in 1902, Vacca's position as Peano 's assistant came to an end and he had returned to Genoa.

Despite the dissolution of the Italian Socialist Party in 1894, it had been revived in the late 1890s and won 32 parliamentary seats in 1900. Vacca, on his return to Genoa in 1902, worked for the Party again becoming a member of the Socialist Council and also a member of the national party administration. However Vacca continued his mathematical work and gave a course at the University of Genoa on mathematical logic.

In 1904 Vacca returned to Turin and was assistant to Peano for one further year. However Vacca had by this time yet a third interest in addition to mathematics and politics. He had become interested in Chinese as early as 1898 when there had been a Chinese exhibition in Turin and he had some lessons in Chinese from two missionaries who had returned from China. In 1905, this interest in Chinese became the road that Vacca decided to follow.

He went to Florence to study the Chinese language at the university. Vailati was teaching in Florence at this time and the two already knew each other from their time in Turin. They shared mathematical interests and certainly Vacca continued his mathematical research and interest in the history of mathematics. In fact Vacca would be one of the editors of Vailati 's collected works, published in 1911, two years after Vailati 's death.

Vacca spent 1907-08 in western China, spending a year in the city of Cheng-tu. After his return to Florence he was awarded his doctorate for Chinese studies in 1910 and, the following year, he was appointed to a post teaching Chinese literature at the University of Rome. In 1922 Vacca succeeded his old professor of History and Geography of East Asia to the chair at Florence. Vacca taught Chinese language and literature there until he retired in 1947.

Despite his change of topic in mid career, Vacca continued his Chinese and mathematical studies in parallel. For example in 1928 Peano presented a paper by Vacca on Fermat 's method of descent to the Academy of Sciences of Turin . Throughout his career he published around 130 papers, 47 relating to his Chinese interests, 38 on mathematical research and 45 on the history of mathematics.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland