علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

George Frederick James Temple

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

2 Dec 1901

London, England

30 Jan 1992

Quarr Abbey, Isle of Wight, England

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

جورج معبد تعليمه في لندن. في عام 1918 دخل كلية birkbeck المساء كما طالب (كلية كانت تعرف باسم لندن ميكانيكي للمؤسسة فى عام 1920 وكان من المسلم به مدرسة من جامعة لندن للمساء والطلاب غير المتفرغين). جورج وأصبحت جزءا من الوقت مساعد باحث في الفيزياء وهناك في السنة التالية. وحصل على بكالوريوس في عام 1922 ، ثم بعد عامين عين متظاهر في الرياضيات في الكليه الملكيه ، لندن.

بقعة الجلد البيضاء كان السبب الرئيسي لمعبد للانتقال الى الامبرياليه ونظرا الى انه كان في ورقات المهتمه النسبيه في المعبد الذي كان قد نشر. بقعة الجلد البيضاء ولكن ترك منصب الرئاسة في المعبد الامبراطوري كما وصل التاجر وعين لملء مقعد الرئاسة. التاجر الحصول على منحة دراسيه لمعبد لاجراء مزيد من البحوث وامضي سنة في العمل الامبراطوري على نظرية الكم قبل الذهاب الى كمبريدج حيث كان يعمل مع Eddington.

عاد الى المعبد الامبراطوري بوصفها القارئ في عام 1930 ، ثم بعد عامين عين لرئاسة الرياضيات في كلية كينغز في لندن. خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية كان يعمل في RAF Farnborough عمله حيث حاز البنك المركزي. اثناء وجوده في Farnborough عمل على الديناميكا الهواءيه وتدفق السوائل اسرع من الصوت.

بعد عام 1945 عاد الى معبد بكلية الملك. ونصح وزير الطيران المدنى على مراقبة الحركة الجوية خلال 1948-50. في عام 1953 ونقلت الى معبد sedleian الرئيس في جامعة اكسفورد ان ينجح التاجر.

الهيكل عملت على طائفة واسعة من المواضيع. نظرية النسبيه ، الديناميكا الهواءيه وميكانيكا الكم وقد ذكرت اعلاه ، ولكن كما عمل على المساهمة في تحليل الدراسه لا يتجزأ من ليبيسج.

وقال انه كتب سبعة كتب ، اثنان على نظرية الكم مدخل إلى نظرية الكم (1931) والمبادئ العامة للنظرية الكم (1934). له كتب اخرى شملت مقدمة لديناميات الموائع (1958) والهيكل التنظيمي للنظرية التكامل ليبيسج (1971).

في عام 1981 (في سن 80) نشر كتاب عن تاريخ الرياضيات. هذا الكتاب 100 سنة من الرياضيات (1981) اقتادته الى عشر سنوات ويتعامل مع الكتابة ، على حد قوله :

تلك الفروع من الرياضيات التي كان لي شخصيا المعنية.

واعلن انه هو الاخير له كتاب الرياضيات ، ودخلت من أجل بوصفها البينديكتين الراهب. وقال انه ordained فى عام 1983 ودخل الدير quarr على جزيرة وايت. غير انه لم يستطع ان يمنع القيام الرياضيات وعندما توفي ترك مخطوطة على اسس من الرياضيات. وهو يدعي :

والغرض من هذا التحقيق هو القيام الجزء الرئيسي من هيلبيرت بالمجلس ، برنامج ، اي انشاء مجموعة من الاتساق من الناحية النظريه ، وخلاصة الحساب حساب القضايا وكانت الطريقة المستخدمة لبناء جديدة واساسية من الناحية النظريه التي يمكن ان تكون هذه النظريات استنتاجها.

معبد انتخب زميلا في الجمعية الملكيه فى عام 1943 و، في عام 1970 ، منح وسام سيلفستر للمجتمع :

... وتقديرا لجهوده المتميزة العديد من المساهمات في الرياضيات التطبيقيه ، وخاصة في عمله على نظرية التوزيع.

وكان رئيسا للجمعية الرياضية لندن خلال الفترة 1951-53.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

George Frederick James Temple

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

2 Dec 1901

London, England

30 Jan 1992

Quarr Abbey, Isle of Wight, England

Presentation Wikipedia
George Temple was educated in London. In 1918 he entered Birkbeck College as an evening student (the College had previously been known as London Mechanic's Institution and in 1920 was recognised as a school of the University of London for evening and part-time students). George became a part-time research assistant in physics there the following year. He received his B.Sc. in 1922, then two years later he was appointed Demonstrator in Mathematics at Imperial College, London.

Whitehead had been the main reason for Temple's move to Imperial as he had been interested in papers in relativity which Temple had published. However Whitehead left the chair at Imperial as Temple arrived and Chapman was appointed to fill the chair. Chapman obtained a scholarship for Temple to undertake further research and he spent a year at Imperial working on quantum theory before going to Cambridge where he worked with Eddington .

Temple returned to Imperial as a Reader in 1930, then two years later was appointed to the chair of mathematics at King's College London. During World War II he worked at RAF Farnborough where his work earned him a CBE. During his time in Farnborough he worked on aerodynamics and supersonic fluid flow.

After 1945 Temple returned to King's College. He advised the Minister of Civil Aviation on air traffic control during 1948-50. In 1953 Temple moved to the Sedleian chair at Oxford to succeed Chapman .

Temple worked on a wide variety of topics. Relativity theory, aerodynamics and quantum mechanics have been mentioned above but he also worked on analysis contributing to the study of the Lebesgue integral.

He wrote seven books, two on quantum theory An introduction to quantum theory (1931) and The general principles of quantum theory (1934). His other books included An introduction to fluid dynamics (1958) and The structure of the Lebesgue integration theory (1971).

In 1981 (at the age of 80) he published a book on the history of mathematics. This book 100 years of mathematics (1981) took him ten years to write and deals with, in his own words:

those branches of mathematics in which I had been personally involved.

He declared that it was his last mathematics book, and entered the Benedictine Order as a monk. He was ordained in 1983 and entered Quarr Abbey on the Isle of Wight. However he could not stop doing mathematics and when he died he left a manuscript on the foundations of mathematics. He claims:

The purpose of this investigation is to carry out the primary part of Hilbert 's programme, i.e. to establish the consistency of set theory, abstract arithmetic and propositional logic and the method used is to construct a new and fundamental theory from which these theories can be deduced.

Temple was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1943 and, in 1970, he was awarded the Sylvester Medal of the Society:

... in recognition of his many distinguished contributions to applied mathematics, especially in his work on distribution theory.

He was President of the London Mathematical Society during the period 1951-53.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland