علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Pauline Sperry

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

5 March 1885

Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

1967

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

سبيري بولين 'دا الاباء والامهات ويلارد ز سبيري وهنرييتا leoroyd. بولين ولدت في بيبودي ، شمال شرق ماساشوستس ، وهي 27 كلم شمال شرق بوسطن. والواقع ان المدينة كانت تسمى جنوب Danvers لكن أعيدت تسميته بعد بيبودي محسن جورج بيبودي سبيري قبل 17 سنة ولدت. منذ سبيري من شأنه ان تتحول الى ان تكون محسن صالح ، وثمة القليل من قبيل الصدفة هنا. ويلارد سبيري وكان وزير تجمعي بولين وترعرعت مع القيم الدينية والدها.

بولين من والدها وعلم من أهمية التعليم ، وحرية الضمير والحرية الدينية والمدنيه والاصلاح الاجتماعي ، وفي حين انها استفادت من انفتاحه من التوقعات. وكان بولين التنشءه الدينية القويه التي شهد لها في وقت لاحق من الانضمام الى الكويكرز وتكريس الجزء الأخير من حياتها للعمل السياسي في محاولة لتغيير المجتمع للافضل.

سبيري ودرس في كلية سميث التي كانت كلية الفنون الحرة للمرأة في نورثهامبتون ، ماساشوسيتس. كلية اسم صوفيا سميث ثروه من تركها لتأسيس الكليه التي افتتحت في 1875. وكان لهذه الكليه مكانة خاصة فى حياة سبيري لها الجامعي وكانت هناك أيام سعيدة جدا منها. انها ليست فقط الرياضيات التي تتمتع سبيري في سميث ، واشير ايضا الى الموسيقى. واحاطت كامل في الحياة الرياضية والموسيقيه للكلية ، ولا سيما في الاستمتاع نادي رياضي والغناء في جوقة كورالي. وقالت انها تخرج مع درجة البكالوريوس فى عام 1906 ولكن بعد ذلك ترك كلية سميث لمدة عام. وخلال 1906-07 سبيري كان فى مدينة نيويورك ، والتدريس في المعهد هاملتون الذي كان مدرسة خاصة.

سبيري في عام 1907 عاد الى كلية سميث على مواصلة الدراسات الرياضية والموسيقيه. بعد مرور عام من الدراسه وقالت انها منحت درجة الماجستير وبعد ذلك وقالت انها انفقت خلال السنوات الاربع القادمة كما التدريس مدرب في الرياضيات في سميث. اتطلع الى مواصلة دراسة الرياضيات ، سبيري السفر وقد منحت زماله في 1912-13. أولا ذهبت الى كلية اوليفيه في اوليفيه ، ميشيغان ، التي كانت تابعة لتجمعي الكنيسة. اوليفيه كان القطاع الخاص ، مؤسسة مختلطه ، يجري في الواقع الذي اسس في 1844 الامر الذي جعلها الثانية كلية مختلطه في الولايات المتحدة. وخلال هذا العام سبيري بدأت الدراسات العليا في جامعة شيكاغو.

الاثاره للدراسة الرياضيات المتقدمه في شيكاغو قدمت سبيري هي مصممة على تنفيذ المزيد من الدراسات وعندما يسافرون اليها وقالت انها انتهت matriculate الزماله في جامعة شيكاغو ، وتسجيل لدرجة الماجستير. في عام 1914 وقالت انها انتهت ولايتها على اطروحة نظرية من واحد الى واحد واحد الى اثنين والمراسلات مع الرسوم التوضيحيه وذات الطابع الهندسي وحصل على جائزة اخرى على درجة الماجستير في الرياضيات. ثم بدأ العمل من اجل الدكتوراه في اطار wilczynski بالمجلس الاشراف.

Wilczynski قد بدأ ابحاثه على اعتبار ان العالم الفلكي رياضية ولكن دراسته للديناميات الاجسام الفلكيه واتجه نحو مصالحة المعادلات التفاضليه واسقاطي ، ثم الى فرق الهندسه والحاكم السطوح. وكان على الموظفين في شيكاغو في الفترة من 1910 و، في السنة التي سبيري منح الماجستير ، wilczynski رقي الى استاذ متفرغ. ونظرا لwilczynski بالمجلس المصالح ، فإنه ليس من المستغرب ان تعمل على سبيري الهندسه وعلم الفلك لالدكتوراه التي منحت في العام 1916 لأطروحة خصائص معينة محددة بشكل اسقاطي - المعلمه اسرة اثنين من المنحنيات على السطح في العام 1916. نتائج اطروحة لها نشرت في المجله الامريكية للرياضيات فى عام 1918.

خلال العام 1915-16 ، في حين كان سبيري الانتهاء من العمل على أطروحة هي ، وقالت انها عقدت ايضا زماله التدريس في شيكاغو. بعد منح الدكتوراة عادت الى كلية سميث وقالت انها تدرس فيها لمدة عام وقبل توليه المنصب جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي. سبيري على الرغم من عدم اجراء المزيد من البحوث المنشوره المواد بعد عمل اطروحة لها ، وتم احراز تقدم جيد في حياتها المهنيه في بيركلي. وقالت انها فى عام 1923 رقي الى استاذ مساعد ، وهي أول امرأة برتبة لتحقيق ذلك في بيركلي ، وبعد ذلك في عام 1932 عينت استاذا مساعدا ، ومرة أخرى يجري اول امرأة لتحقيق هذا الموقف. مهنة التدريس المتميز ، وخلال هذه الفترة وقالت انها نشرت النصوص الممتازة اثنين ، واحد على الطائرة الهندسه وعلم المثلثات الكرويه على الأخرى ، جاء الي من السابق لاوانه في نهاية عام 1950.

في شباط / فبراير 1950 السيناتور جوزيف مكارثي وسكونسن ص ادعت ان 205 موظف وزارة الخارجية انهم من الشيوعيين كانوا من ولائهم الى الولايات المتحدة. مكارثي التي تتمتع ناجحه للغاية خلال السنوات القليلة من خلال جعل هذه التهم ان من الخيانه ، رغم ان معظمهم لا يحملون وثائق ، سيئة تؤذي الموظفين الحكوميين والمدرسين واساتذة الجامعات. ورغم أن مكارثى كان ابرز شخص اتخاذ هذا الخط ، وكان الطريق ان الولايات المتحدة بالفعل على الدولة وكاليفورنيا وكان لبعض الوقت في مناقشة خطاب القسم والولاء. في عام 1950 مجلس الاوصياء من ولاية كاليفورنيا بالولايات قررت تنفيذ سياسة جميع الموظفين التوقيع على يمين الولاء ، وجامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي ، وتم اختيار واحدة من الحالات لاجراء اول اختبار لها. تسعة عشر من اعضاء هيئة التدريس بجامعه كاليفورنيا رفض ؛ سبيري هو احد هذه عضو من أعضاء هيئة التدريس. أ كويكر سبيري كما لا يمكن لاي خطاب القسم واقسم ولذلك فإن من المعتاد ان يعفى الكويكرز من الحاجة الى اتخاذ اداء القسم. لكن هذا لم يحدث ، إلا انه في حالة سبيري.

وكان الافتراض ان اي شخص لن توقع من اليمين يجب ان يكون الشيوعي sympathiser اقال ويجب ان يكون ، حتى سبيري ، بوصفها احد من رفض تلك ، فقد قالت استاذ مشارك الموقف. ان العديد من اليمين انتهكت حقوقهم الحرية الاكاديميه للجامعة والتي تبلغ قيمتها اكثر الباحثين للغاية. وبطبيعة الحال الساحرة - يطارد وهميه ضد الشيوعيين في أوائل 1950 وكان من الأمور المشينه التي كلفت الكثير من وظائفهم وادت الى معاناة طويلة الاجل. سبيري وكان دائما على استعداد لتقديم آرائها المعروفة والمشاركة في السياسة ، وما الى ذلك ذهب الى أبعد من مجرد رفض أن يؤدى اليمين ، وقالت انها بحملة نشطة حتى ان الجميع يفهمون اثار التوقيع على حلف اليمين. سبيري وعدد من الآخرين لقضيتهم الى محكمة الاستئناف والمحاكم التي اعلنت في نهاية المطاف يؤدى اليمين ليست دستورية. سبيري نال لقب استاذ مشارك emerita في بيركلي ، وبعد مرور اربع سنوات على كسب قضيتها ، وقالت انها منحت سنتين العودة الدفع عن الفترة التى كانت قد حرمت من التعليم موقف بلدها.

سبيري ذهب الى الكرمل التي هي مدينة في غرب ولاية كاليفورنيا على نهر الكرمل والكرمل خليج مونتري المتاخمه لل. من هنا وقالت انها بدأت بنفسها في حملة نشطة لتعزيز حقوق الانسان والحقوق المدنيه. وقالت انها وضعت على الكويكرز فى مختلف اللجان وكذلك لجان الاتحاد الامريكى للحريات المدنيه الذي كان قد اسس في عام 1920 لتعزيز الحريات الدستورية في الولايات المتحدة. فعلى سبيل المثال عملت على لجنة خدمة الاصدقاء ، كويكر منظمة انشئت لتعزيز السلام والمصالحة من خلال الخدمة الاجتماعية والاعلام. واعربت ايضا عن حركة التصالح ، سلمى منظمة دولية ، وعلى اللجنة لعاقل السياسة النووية.

انها ليست المرة الوحيدة التي اعطت سبيري لأسباب قالت انها تؤيد ، كما انها اعطت للبحرية بلدها المال. وقالت انها :

... مع سمة التواضع والكرم ، وحافظت على أساس خطوة خطوة المدرسة في بورت او برنس ، هايتي ، لإطعام وتعليم الاطفال يتضورون جوعا.

سبيري قدم لها في صيغة لتحقيق السعاده. ويكون الجميع :

... الشجاعه الكافية لتوجيه الاسءله الصحيحه ، والشجاعه الكافية لمواجهة المحصن اجوبه حول الموضوع ، والمال. ... يعطي 'حتى انه يضر!

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Pauline Sperry

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

5 March 1885

Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

1967

Presentation
Pauline Sperry's parents were Willard G Sperry and Henrietta Leoroyd. Pauline was born in Peabody, northeastern Massachusetts, which is 27 km northeast of Boston. In fact the town had been called South Danvers but it was renamed Peabody after the philanthropist George Peabody 17 years before Sperry was born. Since Sperry would turn out to be a philanthropist herself, there is a little coincidence here. Willard Sperry was a Congregational minister and Pauline was brought up with the religious values of her father.

From her father Pauline learnt of the importance of education, freedom of conscience, civil and religious liberty and social reform, while she benefited from his openness of outlook. It was Pauline's strong religious upbringing which later saw her join the Quakers and devote the latter part of her life to political action to try to change society for the better.

Sperry studied at Smith College which was a liberal arts college for women in Northampton, Massachusetts. The College was named after Sophia Smith who left her fortune to found the College which opened in 1875. This College had a special place in Sperry's life and her undergraduate days there were very happy ones. It was not only mathematics which Sperry enjoyed at Smith, it was also music. She took a full part in the mathematical and musical life of the College, in particular enjoying the mathematical club and singing in the Choral Choir. She graduated with a B.A. in 1906 but then left Smith College for a year. During 1906-07 Sperry was in New York City, teaching at the Hamilton Institute which was a private school.

In 1907 Sperry returned to Smith College to continue her mathematical and musical studies. After one year of study she was awarded a Master's degree and then she spent the next four years teaching as an Instructor in Mathematics at Smith. Looking to continue studying mathematics, Sperry was awarded a travelling fellowship in 1912-13. First she went to Olivet College in Olivet, Michigan, which was affiliated to the Congregational Church. Olivet was a private, coeducational institution, being in fact founded in 1844 which made it the second coeducational college in the United States. During this year Sperry began graduate studies at the University of Chicago.

The thrill of studying advanced mathematics at Chicago made Sperry determined to carry her studies further and when her travelling fellowship ended she matriculate at the University of Chicago, registering for a Master's Degree. In 1914 she completed her dissertation On the theory of a one-to-one and one-to-two correspondence with geometrical illustrations and was awarded another Master's Degree in mathematics. She then began to work for her doctorate under Wilczynski 's supervision.

Wilczynski had begun his research career as a mathematical astronomer but his study of the dynamics of astronomical objects had turned his interests towards differential equations and then to projective differential geometry and ruler surfaces. He was on the staff at Chicago from 1910 and, in the year that Sperry was awarded her Master's Degree, Wilczynski was promoted to full professor. Given Wilczynski 's interests, it is not surprising that Sperry worked on geometry and astronomy for her doctorate which was awarded in 1916 for the thesis Properties of a certain projectively defined two-parameter family of curves on a general surface in 1916. The results of her thesis were published in the American Journal of Mathematics in 1918.

During the year 1915-16, while Sperry was completing work on her thesis, she also held a teaching fellowship at Chicago. Following the award of her doctorate she returned to Smith College where she taught for a year before being appointed to The University of California in Berkeley. Although Sperry published no further research articles after the work of her thesis, her career progressed well at Berkeley. In 1923 she was promoted to assistant professor, the first woman to achieve this rank at Berkeley, and then in 1932 she was appointed associate professor, again being the first woman to achieve this position. Her distinguished teaching career, during which time she published two excellent texts, one on plane geometry and the other on spherical trigonometry, came to a premature end in 1950.

In February 1950 Senator Joseph R McCarthy of Wisconsin claimed that 205 State Department employees were communists who were disloyal to the United States. McCarthy enjoyed a highly successful few years by making these charges of disloyalty that, though mostly undocumented, badly hurt government employees, teachers, and university professors. Although McCarthy was the most prominent person taking this line, it was a road that the United States was already on and the State of California had for some time been discussing loyalty oaths. In 1950 the Board of Regents of the State of California decided to implement a policy that all employees sign a loyalty oath, and the University of California at Berkeley was chosen as one of the first test cases for it. Nineteen faculty members of the University of California refused; Sperry was one such faculty member. As a Quaker Sperry could not swear any oaths and it was therefore usual to exempt Quakers from the need to take an oath. This was not done, however, in Sperry's case.

The assumption was that anyone who would not sign the oath must be a communist sympathiser and must be sacked, so Sperry, as one of those who refused, lost her associate professor position. Many considered that the oath violated their rights of academic freedom which university researchers valued most highly. Of course the witch-hunts against imaginary communists in the early 1950 was a disgraceful affair which cost many their jobs and led to long-term suffering. Sperry was always prepared to make her views known and become involved in politics, and so went further than just refuse to take the oath, she actively campaigned so that everyone would understand the implications of signing the oath. Sperry and a number of others to their case to the appellate court and eventually the courts proclaimed the oath to be unconstitutional. Sperry was given the title associate professor emerita at Berkeley and, four years after winning her case, she was awarded two years back pay for the period during which she had been deprived of her teaching position.

Sperry went to Carmel which is a city in western California on the Carmel River and Carmel Bay, adjacent to Monterey. From here she launched herself into a vigorous campaign to promote human rights and civil rights. She was put onto various Quaker committees and also committees of the American Civil Liberties Union which had been founded in 1920 to promote constitutional liberties in the United States. For example she served on the Friends Service Committee, a Quaker organisation set up to promote peace and reconciliation through social service and public information. She also served on the Fellowship of Reconciliation, an international pacifist organization, and on the Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy.

It was not only time which Sperry gave to the causes she supported, she also gave freely of her own money. She :

... with characteristic modesty and generosity, founded and maintained the Step-by-Step School in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, to feed and teach starving children.

In Sperry gave her formula for happiness. Everyone should be:

... bold enough to ask the right questions, and brave enough to face the answers about the untouchable subject, money. ... Give 'till it hurts!

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland