علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Stephen Smale

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

15 July 1930

Flint, Michigan, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ستيفن smale ولدت في الشرق فلينت في ميشيغن ، وهي مدينة تقع على النحو الشهير موقع شركة جنرال موتورز ، وشركة السيارات. وقال انه حضر جامعة ميتشيغان ، والحصول على درجة البكالوريوس في 1952 بلدة وبلدة السيدة السنة التالية.

Smale استمرار العمل من اجل الدكتوراه في جامعة ميتشيغان ، ان آربور ص bott تحت اشراف وقال انه حصل على جائزة صاحب الرقم الهيدروجيني د في عام 1957 لأطروحة العاديه على المنحنيات ريمانيان الانابيب المتفرعه. اطروحته في النتائج اثبتت انه عمم من قبل فى عام 1937 ليتني منحنيات في الطائرة الى منحنيات على ان الابعاد المتعددة. وكان مدرب smale في جامعة شيكاغو في 1956-58.

في عام 1958 smale تعلموا حول pontryagin بالمجلس العمل على مكافحة ناقلات الميادين هيكليا مستقرة وانه بدأ تطبيق اساليب طوبولوجي لدراسة هذه المشاكل. معالي 1958-60 امضى سنوات في معهد الدراسات المتقدمه في برينستون على المءسسه الوطنية للعلوم زمالات ما بعد الدكتوراه. في الاشهر الستة الاخيرة من هذه المنح التي قضاها في معهد mathematica pura ه aplicada في ريو دي جانيرو. هنا وقال انه تلقى رسالة من ليفنسون مما دفعه لدراسة الظواهر الفوضويه ؛ نقدم وصفا لهذه الافكار ادناه.

في عام 1960 smale عين استاذا مساعدا في الرياضيات من جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي ، ان الانتقال الى الاستاذيه في جامعة كولومبيا في العام التالي. في عام 1964 عاد الى الاستاذيه في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي ، حيث امضى الجزء الرئيسي من حياته المهنيه. وقال انه تقاعد من بيركلي في عام 1995 وتولى وظيفة استاذ في جامعة مدينة هونغ كونغ.

Smale وقد منحت وسام الميادين فى المؤتمر الدولى فى موسكو فى عام 1966. العمل الامر الذي ادى الى هذه الجاءزه التي وصفها رينيه توم ، انظر. واحدة من smale للنتائج الباهرة التي كان يقوم به من عمل بشان عمومي حدسيه بوانكاريه.

وقد حدسيه بوانكاريه ، وهي واحدة من المشاكل الشهيرة من القرن ال 20 والرياضيات ، ويؤكد ان ترتبط بكل بساطة مغلقة 3 - الابعاد المتعددة التي هي 3 - الابعاد المجال. ارتفاع الابعاد حدسيه بوانكاريه ان اي مطالبة مغلقة ن الأبعاد المتعددة التي homotopy معادلة لن - المجال يجب ان يكون - ن المجال. عندما ن = 3 وهذا هو المعادل لحدسيه بوانكاريه. وقد ثبت ان اعلى smale الابعاد حدسيه بوانكاريه في عام 1961 للا يقل عن 5 ن. (مايكل المعتق ثبت التخمين لع = 4 فى عام 1982 ولكن الاصل تخمين لا تزال مفتوحة.)

وهناك مجال آخر smale التي قدمت مساهمه كبيرة جدا في مورس من الناحية النظريه هو الذي طبق للا يتجزأ من مشاكل متعددة. في الواقع smale هاجم عمم استخدام حدسيه بوانكاريه مورس من الناحية النظريه.

آخر اكتشاف smale ذات الصلة الى الجذابون غريب. وهو الجذاب في ميكانيكا كلاسيكيه ذات الطابع الهندسي هو وسيلة لوصف سلوك اي نظام الحركيه. وهناك ثلاثة الجذابون الكلاسيكي ، وهي نقطة characterises مطرد نظام الدولة ، المغلق الداره التي characterises نظام دوري ، ونتوء مستدير الذي يجمع بين عدة دورات. Smale اكتشفت غريب الجذابون الفوضى التي تؤدي الى ديناميكيه النظم. من الغريب ان يكون الجذابون الهيكل التفصيلي على جميع المستويات للتضخم وكانت واحدة من صور النمطي هندسي متكرر في وقت مبكر الى دراسة.

Smale الوظيفي للتغيير الاتجاه في اواخر الستينات ، انظر :

وبحلول اواخر الستينات smale قد انتقلت الى التطبيقات. وقال انه على غرار العمليات الفيزياءيه الحركيه من جانب النظم ، وفتح خطوط جديدة للتحقيق. ن - فإن هيئة مشكلة من الناحية النظريه والدوائر الكهرباءيه هي من بين التطبيقات التي smale في اطار لغة ديناميكيه النظم. لقدر كبير من السبعينات ستيف تركز على الاقتصاد ، وديناميات طوبولوجيا عن طريق الحقن في دراسة التوازنات الاقتصادية العامة. بعد ان انشأت طبيعه التوازنات ، وبدأ يفكر smale الخوارزميات للحساب. وفي حين ان النهج التقليديه لتلاقي نظرية الخوارزميات كانت المحلية ، smale عرض منظور عالمي لمشاكل. وكان الخوارزميه معقول موثوق بها ، وكيف كان لكثير من التكرار ويتوقع ان يكون؟ ...

Smale في الآونة الاخيرة تم العمل على theoetical علوم الكمبيوتر. مع الزملاء في العمل وبلم ل م shub ، وقال انه وضعت نموذجا للحساب الذي يشمل كلا من آلة تورينج العدديه ونهج أساليب التحليل العددي.

Smale وقد تلقت العديد من الاوسمه لعمله. والى جانب الحقول وسام الوارد وصفها اعلاه ، منح جائزة للهندسة فيبلين من قبل المجتمع الاميركي الرياضية في عام 1966 :

... على اسهاماته فى مختلف جوانب طوبولوجيا تفاضليه.

وفى عام 1996 تلقت smale الوطني وسام العلوم ([)) ل:

... اربعة عقود من العمل الرائد على البحوث الاساسية والمسائل التي ادت الى تقدم كبير في الرياضيات البحته والتطبيقيه.

Smale مساهمه بشكل رائع تتلخص في :

في حياته الرياضية واتصلت smale مشاكل مع زيادة المنح الدراسيه من اجل التعلم من الآخرين ، والجراه على ان تكون غير مقيده من جانب الحكمة التقليديه ، ورؤية السلطة واستخدام طرق جديدة وبناء الأطر الاصل. بعد وقوع الواقعة ، ويبدو حتى smale التنمية الطبيعيه ، ومع ذلك لا أحد آخر من التفكير.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Stephen Smale

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

15 July 1930

Flint, Michigan, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Stephen Smale was born in Flint in east Michigan, a town famed as the site of General Motors, the automobile company. He attended the University of Michigan, obtaining his BS in 1952 and his MS the following year.

Smale continued to work for his doctorate at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor under R Bott's supervision and he was awarded his Ph D in 1957 for the thesis Regular Curves on Riemannian Manifolds . In his thesis he generalised results proved by Whitney in 1937 for curves in the plane to curves on an n-dimensional manifold. Smale was an instructor at the University of Chicago in 1956-58.

In 1958 Smale learnt about Pontryagin 's work on structurally stable vector fields and he began to apply topological methods to study the these problems. He the spent the years 1958-60 at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton on a National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship. The last six months of this fellowship he spent at the Instituto de Mathematica Pura e Aplicada in Rio de Janeiro. Here he received a letter from Levinson which led him to study chaotic phenomena; we describe these ideas below.

In 1960 Smale was appointed an associate professor of mathematics at the University of California at Berkeley, moving to a professorship at Columbia University the following year. In 1964 he returned to a professorship at the University of California at Berkeley where he has spent the main part of his career. He retired from Berkeley in 1995 and took up a post as professor at the City University of Hong Kong.

Smale was awarded a Fields Medal at the International Congress at Moscow in 1966. The work which led to this award was described by René Thom , see . One of Smale's impressive results was his work on the generalised Poincaré conjecture.

The Poincaré conjecture, one of the famous problems of 20th-century mathematics, asserts that a simply connected closed 3-dimensional manifold is a 3-dimensional sphere. The higher dimensional Poincaré conjecture claims that any closed n-dimensional manifold which is homotopy equivalent to the n-sphere must be the n-sphere. When n = 3 this is equivalent to the Poincaré conjecture. Smale proved the higher dimensional Poincaré conjecture in 1961 for n at least 5. (Michael Freedman proved the conjecture for n = 4 in 1982 but the original conjecture remains open.)

Another area in which Smale has made a very substantial contribution is in Morse theory which he has applied to multiple integral problems. In fact Smale attacked the generalised Poincaré conjecture using Morse theory.

Another discovery of Smale's related to strange attractors. An attractor in classical mechanics is a geometrical way of describing the behaviour of a dynamical system . There are three classical attractors, a point which characterises a steady state system, a closed loop which characterises a periodic system, and a torus which combines several cycles. Smale discovered strange attractors which lead to chaotic dynamical systems. Strange attractors have detailed structure on all scales of magnification and were one of the early fractals to be studied.

Smale's career changed direction in the late 1960s, see :

By the late sixties Smale had moved into applications. He modelled physical processes by dynamical systems, opening new lines of inquiry. The n-body problem and electric circuit theory were among the applications that Smale framed in the language of dynamical systems. For much of the seventies Steve focused on economics, injecting topology and dynamics into the study of general economic equilibria. Having established the nature of equilibria, Smale began to think algorithms for their computation. While traditional approaches to the convergence theory of algorithms were local, Smale introduced a global perspective to the problems. Was the algorithm reasonably reliable, and how many iterations were to be expected? ...

Smale's recent work has been on theoetical computer science. With co-workers L Blum and M Shub, he has developed a model of computation which includes both the Turing machine approach and the numerical methods of numerical analysis.

Smale has received many honours for his work. In addition to the Fields Medal described above, he was awarded the Veblen Prize for Geometry by the American Mathematical Society in 1966:

... for his contributions to various aspects of differential topology .

In 1996 Smale received the National Medal of Science ([ )) for:

... four decades of pioneering work on basic research questions which have led to major advances in pure and applied mathematics.

Smale's contribution is nicely summed up in :

Throughout his career Smale has approached mathematical problems with the scholarship to learn from others, the audacity to be unconstrained by conventional wisdom, and the power and vision to employ new methods and construct original frameworks. After the fact, a Smale development seems so natural, yet no one else thought of it.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland