علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Francesco Severi

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

13 April 1879

Arezzo, Italy

8 Dec 1961

Rome, Italy

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

Severi فرانسيسكو ودرس في جامعة تورينو حيث كان قد مال قليل جدا وكان المعلم في القطاع الخاص من اجل تقديم ما يكفي للعيش. المشقه جاء من المحزن فقدان والده عندما كان عمرها تسع سنوات ولكن أحد يشعر أنه ينبغي ألا يكون قد تعاني في هذا الطريق له اقارب الغنيه المموله من الممكن بسهولة دراسته ولكنه اختار عدم مساعدة له على الاطلاق.

افكاره من ان تصبح مهندسا بعد دراسة تغيير في وقت قريب في اطار Corrado segre في تورينو. Severi اصبحت مفتونه والهندسه ، في اطار Corrado segre بالمجلس ، وقال الاشراف للحصول على الدكتوراه في عام 1900. صاحب اطروحة دكتوراه ، بالاضافة الى سلسلة من الاوراق الاخرى التي severi المنشوره في هذا الوقت ، التعامل مع حسابي الهندسه ، وهو الموضوع الذي كان قد بدأ بها شوبرت.

بعد منح الدكتوراه ، severi قبول وظيفة في تورينو مساعدا لd' اوفييدو. ومن هناك انتقل الى بولونيا حيث عمل مساعدا لenriques. ما بعد تقريره النهائي ومساعد وعقد في بيزا حيث انه في هذه المرة كان مساعدا لبرتيني.

في عام 1904 تم تعيين severi الى الرئاسة للهندسة وصفية واسقاطي في بارما. وقال انه يعمل فقط في بارما لمدة سنة واحدة ، قبول منصب الرئاسة في بادوا في عام 1905. الحرب العالمية الأولى توقف severi 'sمدة الرئاسة في بادوا وخلال الحرب خدم بامتياز في المدفعيه.

Severi من 1922 عملت في جامعة روما. صاحب أهم المساهمات لمعادلات حدوديه. انتقد أعمال المعاصرون له يفتقر الى الدقه والاعتماد اكثر مما ينبغي على الحدس. روث ، في ، وتلخص مساهمات في severi على النحو التالي :

Severi العلميه العمل يطرح العديد من السمات التي ، اذا ما أخذت معا ، ويجب ان حياته المهنيه نادرة. وبادئ ذي بدء ، هو وجود موحد على مستوى عال من بلدة كبيرة جدا الانتاج العلمي : كقاعده عامة severi الهجمات فقط من المسائل الهامة ذات الطابع العام وعادة ما تكون بالغة الصعوبه. ... وفي المقام الثاني ، لا يسعنا الا ان نلاحظ وحدة اساسية من التوقعات. Severi يحافظ على التوازن بين الهندسه والتحليل -- أنه فعلا غير المسدده لمهمة من الناحية النظريه. ولكن في ذات الطابع الهندسي وصاحب العمل في حد ذاته هو نفسه وحدة واضح...

بعد العمل على حسابي الهندسه ، severi تحول الى birational هندسة السطوح ، وهو موضوع Castelnuovo وenriques وقد امضى عشر سنوات قبل ان severi الناميه بدأ العمل على ذلك.

Severi عرض العديد من المفاهيم الى الهندسه ، وقال انه على سبيل المثال مفهوم التكافؤ جبري. والقى الشروط الضروريه والكافية لمعادلة خطية اثنين المنحنيات على السطح و في عام 1905.

Severi للبعض معدل اكتشاف قاعدة من منحنيات جبريا المستقلة على أي سطح له واهم هذه المساهمات. وقال انه نشر في هذا mathematische انالين فى عام 1906 وكتب ماكس noether الى severi بشأن هذه النتائج قائلا :

لديك كبير في القاء الضوء على الهندسه.

في عام 1907 enriques وseveri فاز bordin جائزة من الاكاديميه الفرنسية للعلوم عن العمل hyperelliptic على السطوح.

ومن المستحيل ان يعطي اي مؤشر حقيقي للمساهمه severi التي قدمت في مقال قصير. Beniamino segre في قوائم اكثر من 400 منشورات severi.

ويصف روث severi القدرات التعليميه في كتابه :

... وكان مدرسا للهندسة وتفوقت على ان severi. له محاضرات عن عمله كانت لا تنسى ، هو اسلوب بسيط الجميلة... والعرض المتقن. وقال انه اهتماما بالغا للتعليم في حد ذاتها ، والمهارات التعليميه وجدت له منفذا في كل تيار من كتب...

على الرغم من الناتج لا تصدق من severi الرياضيات ، وقال انه مدهش عدد من مصالح خارجية. مرة اخرى نحن اقتباس :

وانه قارب منتصف العمر ، والرياضيات جاءت لتحتل أقل وأقل من وقته ، وكان على المنافسة مع مجموعة من مهن اخرى. لseveri كان من قبل (ضمن امور اخرى) للرئيس البنك اريتسو ، رئيس كلية الهندسه في بادوا ، وهو خبير في إدارة مزارع من بلدة الحوزه.

صاحب العمل الرائع الذي جاء اكثر قبل ان ينتقل الى روما ، لكن على الرغم من الإنفاق على الرياضيات وقتا أقل ، وبعد ذلك قال انه لا يزال نجح في انتاج العمل من الاهميه بمكان مثل ايجاد حل للمشكلة ديريتشليت والتنمية الذي ينادي به من نظرية الرشيد التعادل.

لشخصيته ، ونحن مرة اخرى اقتبس روث :

علاقات شخصية مع severi ، ولكن التعقيد في المظهر ، وكانت دائما الى تقليص حالات بسيطة اساسا اثنين : اما ان كان قد اتخذ للتو الجريمة او غيره لانه كان في عملية اعطائها -- وكثيرا ما يجهلون حقا انه كان القيام بذلك. ومن المفارقات ان وهبت وكان في برنامج المراه والتكنولوجيا مع اكثر من معظم زملائه tuscans ، وقال انه childlike اظهرت عجز واما لنقد ذاتي او حكم لتبرد. وقال انه meddled ومن ثم في السياسة ، في حين انه كان من الافضل كثيرا لو انه يترك لهم وحدهم.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Francesco Severi

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

13 April 1879

Arezzo, Italy

8 Dec 1961

Rome, Italy

Presentation Wikipedia
Francesco Severi studied at Turin University where he had very little money and had to tutor privately in order to make enough to live. The hardship came from the sad loss of his father when he was nine years old but one feels that he should not have had to suffer in this way as his wealthy relatives could easily have funded his studies but chose not to help him at all.

His ideas of becoming an engineer soon changed after studying under Corrado Segre at Turin. Severi became fascinated by geometry and, under Corrado Segre 's supervision he went on to obtain his doctorate in 1900. His doctoral thesis, together with a series of other papers which Severi published at this time, deal with enumerative geometry, a subject which had been started by Schubert .

After being awarded his doctorate, Severi accepted a post in Turin as assistant to D'Ovidio . From there he moved to Bologna where he acted as assistant to Enriques . His final post as assistant was held in Pisa where this time he was assistant to Bertini .

In 1904 Severi was appointed to the Chair of Projective and Descriptive Geometry at Parma. He only worked at Parma for one year, accepting the chair at Padua in 1905. World War I interrupted Severi's tenure of the chair at Padua and during the war he served with distinction in the artillery.

From 1922 Severi worked at the University of Rome. His most important contributions are to algebraic geometry . He criticised the work of his contemporaries as lacking rigour and relying too heavily on intuition. Roth , in , summarises Severi's contributions in the following way:

Severi's scientific work presents several features which, when taken together, must make his career a rarity. To begin with, there is the uniformly high level of his very considerable scientific production: as a rule Severi attacks only important questions of general character and usually of great difficulty. ... In the second place, one cannot fail to observe an essential unity of outlook. Severi maintains a balance between geometry and analysis - he has actually made outstanding contributions to function theory. But within his geometrical work itself the same unity is manifest...

After work on enumerative geometry, Severi turned to birational geometry of surfaces, a topic which Castelnuovo and Enriques has spent ten years developing before Severi began to work on it.

Severi introduced many concepts into geometry, for example he notion of algebraic equivalence. He gave necessary and sufficient conditions for the linear equivalence of two curves on a surface F in 1905.

Some rate Severi's discovery of a base of algebraically independent curves on any surface as his most important contribution. He published this in Mathematische Annalen in 1906 and Max Noether wrote to Severi concerning these results saying:

You have shed a great light on geometry.

In 1907 Enriques and Severi won the Prix Bordin from the French Academy of Sciences for a work on hyperelliptic surfaces.

It is impossible to give any real indication of the contribution which Severi made in a short article. In Beniamino Segre lists over 400 publications by Severi.

Roth describes Severi's teaching abilities in writing:

... it was as a teacher of geometry that Severi excelled. His lectures on his own work were unforgettable, the style was beautifully simple ... and the presentation masterly. He was greatly interested in teaching for its own sake, and his didactic skill found an outlet in a whole stream of books...

Despite the incredible output of mathematics from Severi, he had an amazing number of outside interests. Again we quote :

As he approached middle age, mathematics came to occupy less and less of his time, it had to compete with a host of other occupations. For Severi by the was (among other things) President of an Arezzo bank, head of the engineering faculty at Padua, an expert agriculturist who managed his own estate.

His most impressive work came before he went to Rome but, despite spending less time on mathematics, after this he still managed to produce work of the greatest importance like the solution of the Dirichlet problem and his development of the theory of rational equivalence.

For his character we again quote Roth :

Personal relationships with Severi, however complicated in appearance, were always reducible to two basically simple situations: either he had just taken offence or else he was in the process of giving it - and quite often genuinely unaware that he was doing so. Paradoxically, endowed as he was with even more wit than most of his fellow Tuscans, he showed a childlike incapacity either for self-criticism or for cool judgement. Thus he meddled in politics, whereas it would have been far better had he left them alone.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland