علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Beniamino Segre

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

16 Feb 1903

Turin, Italy

22 Oct 1977

Frascati, Italy

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

Beniamino segre بالمجلس المدرسين في جامعة تورينو وشملت peano ، فانو ، وfubini Corrado segre) أ لا قريبة جدا من النسبيه). Beniamino تخرج من تورينو في عام 1923 بعد ان كتب اطروحة عن الهندسه. وكان من يعين في احدى الوظائف في تورينو حيث بقي حتى عام 1926. بعد دراسته في باريس مع cartan لمدة عام ، beniamino اصبحت severi 'مساعد في روما.

قبل 1931 عندما عين في منصب الرئاسة في بولونيا وقال انه لديها بالفعل 40 في منشورات معادلات حدوديه ، الهندسه التفاضليه ، طوبولوجيا والمعادلات التفاضليه. ولكن كان من خلفية يهوديه والحكومة الايطاليه الفاشيه يجبره بها وذهب الى انكلترا.

ويجري داخليا من بعد كما اجنبى فى عام 1940 عين في وظيفة للتدريس في mordell مع مانشستر في عام 1942. وفي عام 1946 عاد إلى بولونيا خلفا severi في روما في عام 1950. بلدة الناتج من الورقات البحثيه في الهندسه والمواضيع ذات الصلة التي تم التوصل اليها من دون ما يقرب من 300 قائمة طويلة من المنشورات الاخرى.

Segre الهندسه مساهمات كثيرة ولكن ، لا سيما في الجزء الأخير من حياته ، وهو تذكر لدراسته للهندسة اكثر من مجالات اخرى غير معقدة الارقام. والقى سلسلة من المحاضرات في لندن عام 1950 والتي نشرت على المسائل الحسابيه كما جبري الاصناف فى عام 1951. وطرحت اسءله كثيرة في هذه المحاضرات حول كيفية تغيير النتائج الميدانيه ارض الواقع اذا كانت مختلفة.

قبل 1955 كان التركيز على segre وهندستها وعلى مدى محدود هذا المجال ، والتي تسفر عن نتائج ونحن الآن في الدرجة وليس Combinatorics كما الهندسه. وقال انه جمع العديد من النتائج الرئيسية الى الصفحه 100 ورقة جنيه geometrie دي جالويس (1959) وآخر صفحة 200 ورقة في عام 1965 وكرس لحاله فيها من اجل ارض الواقع الميداني هو الكمال مربع.

وروى انه في عدد من segre منشورات جاء من الاجابه عن الاسءله التي تنشأ من المحاضرات وحضر. وسرد بعض الحكايات هي في segre عن مشاركة الاخرين في محاضرات :

... محاضرة في هودج اكسفورد... انتهت segre وعضو آخر من الجمهور عكس ذلك ينتهى الاحتلال من لوحة الاعلانات وعقد اليها بشكل مستقل تماما. ... محاضرة في جامعة هارفارد severi... وكان على الدوام بسبب الخلاف الشديد في lefschetz : الحاله وضعت في لوحة الاعلانات segre ، بقوة موضحا انه يعتقد ما كان القرار من الفرق ، في حين واصلت severi وlefschetz الى كل صيحه أخرى في أسفل الفرنسية.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Beniamino Segre

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

16 Feb 1903

Turin, Italy

22 Oct 1977

Frascati, Italy

Presentation Wikipedia
Beniamino Segre's teachers at Turin University included Peano , Fano , Fubini and Corrado Segre (a not too close relative). Beniamino graduated from Turin in 1923 having written a dissertation on geometry. He was appointed to a post in Turin where he remained until 1926. After studying in Paris with Cartan for a year, Beniamino became Severi 's assistant in Rome.

By 1931 when he was appointed to the chair at Bologna he already had 40 publications in algebraic geometry , differential geometry , topology and differential equations . However he was of Jewish background and the Fascist Italian Government forced him out and he went to England.

After being interned as an alien in 1940 he was appointed to a teaching post in Manchester with Mordell in 1942. In 1946 he returned to Bologna succeeding Severi in Rome in 1950. His output of research papers on geometry and related topics reached nearly 300 not counting a long list of other publications.

Segre's contributions to geometry are many but, particularly in the latter part of his life, he is remembered for his study of geometries over fields other than the complex numbers. He gave a series of lectures in London in 1950 which were published as Arithmetical questions on algebraic varieties in 1951. Many questions were asked in these lectures about how the results would change if the ground field were different.

By 1955 Segre was concentrating on geometries over a finite field and was producing results which we would now class as combinatorics rather than geometry. He collected many major results into a 100 page paper Le geometrie di Galois (1959) and a further 200 page paper in 1965 was devoted to the case where the order of the ground field is a perfect square.

In it is recounted how many of Segre's publications came from answering questions arising from lectures he attended. Some anecdotes are recounted in about Segre's participation in lectures of others:

... a lecture by Hodge in Oxford ... ended with Segre and another member of the audience occupying opposite ends of the blackboard and holding forth quite independently. ... a lecture by Severi in Harvard ... was constantly interrupted by Lefschetz in strong disagreement: the situation developed with Segre at the blackboard, firmly explaining what he thought was the resolution of the difference, while Severi and Lefschetz continued to shout each other down in French.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland