علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Otto Schreier

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

3 March 1901

Vienna, Austria

2 June 1929

Hamburg, Germany

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

اوتو schreier تخرج من المدرسة الثانويه في فيينا في تموز / يولية 1919. دخل جامعة فيينا في عام 1920 لدراسة الرياضيات. في فيينا وقال انه حضر محاضرة لدورات تدريبية wirtinger ، furtwängler ، هان ، reidemeister ، rella ، لينس وvietoris. على الدكتوراه ، ويشرف على furtwängler ، حصل على جائزة لاطروحة über يموت فون erweiterung gruppen (بشأن تمديد المجموعات (8 تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 1923.

بعد حصوله على الدكتوراه ، schreier ذهب الى هامبورغ وعملت حتى وفاته في mathematische الحلقه الدراسيه. عين في وظيفة مساعد في صيف 1925 وعملت في بلدة التأهيل. في الواقع schreier القى محاضرة الدورات ، وبناء على طلب من كلية الرياضيات ، قبل الانتهاء من تأهيل بلده. وكان ذلك رسميا على منح 1 كانون الاول / ديسمبر 1926 لأطروحة بعنوان untergruppen يموت دير freien Gruppe (مجموعات فرعية من المجموعات الحرة).

Schreier عرض على شهادة الاستاذيه في جامعة روستوك في عام 1928 وقررت قبول منصب ولكنه قال انه يفضل الانتظار حتى صيف سنة 1929 قبل تولي هذا المنصب. وخلال بداية من الدورة 1928/29 حاضر schreier من الناحية النظريه على وظيفة اعطاء دورات موازية في هامبورغ وروستوك. ومع ذلك ، حول عيد الميلاد لعام 1928 ، وهو المرض الذي كان قد تدهور مطرد ومنعه من الاستمرار في بلدة المحاضرات. وقد توفي بعد خمسة أشهر في سن 28 من 'العام التسمم'. وقد sulpha المخدرات اكتشفت بعد سنوات قليلة ربما انقذت حياته ، ولذلك احدثت تغييرا كبيرا في تطوير نظرية المجموعة اندماجي.

Schreier تتأثر كثيرا furtwängler وreidemeister. اول ورقة في عام 1924 والقى بسيطة جبري اثبات وجود نظرية العقده على الجماعات ، التي عمم النظريه التي قدمها أ dehn قبل 10 سنوات. وقال انه قد يكون موجها نحو نظرية الرئيسية ، وهو ما يثبت ان بعض نتوء مستدير عقدة لا متماثل الى صور مرآة ، عن طريق reidemeister. هذه عقدة ادت الى الجماعات التي كانت حرة المنتجات اندماج مع الفريق الفرعي وschreier دراسة هذه الممتلكات بالتفصيل في 1927 ورقة.

Schreier سيكون افضل لنتذكر عمله على مجموعات فرعية من المجموعات الحرة والذي درس في بلدة اطروحة التأهيل. وقال انه نشر نتائجها في عام 1927 في ورقة يموت untergruppen دير freien Gruppe التي يرد وصفها في ما

... واحدة من أهم ورقات من اي وقت مضى على نشر اندماجي المجموعة من الناحية النظريه. انه استغرق وقتا طويلا لمن جميع جوانبه ليصبح ساري المفعول ، وهو يحتوي على أكثر بكثير من العنوان يشير الي.

في كانون الثاني / يناير 1926 schreier حضرت محاضرة لreidemeister في هامبورغ على ايجاد العروض العاديه لمجموعات فرعية من المجموعات المعروضة بشكل محدود. Reidemeister طريقة نشر في وقت لاحق من عام 1926. Schreier ، واحاط اكثر من نهج جبري reidemeister مقارنة بالمجلس ، ذات الطابع الهندسي والنهج ، وكان قادرا على توسيع reidemeister 'طريقه الى مجموعات فرعية والتعسفي ، عن طريق اختيار ذكي ومولدات للفريق الفرعي ، وكان قادرا على ان يبسط الى حد كبير الحصول على العرض. طريقة schreier نشرت في 1927 ورقة بلدة دير freien يموت untergruppen Gruppe.

من الاعمال الاخرى على النحو المبين في schreier على النحو التالي.

... Schreier مساهمات هامة فى اجزاء اخرى من المجموعة من الناحية النظريه. الكلاسيكيه التي تكمن الجماعات... ويمكن اعتبار طوبولوجي الاحواز. Schreier (1927) تبين ان المجموعة الاساسية من هذا الفضاء هو دائما ابليان. Schreier (1928) وجد هاما صقل الاساسية الاردن -- hölder نظرية ، 39 سنة بعد نشر hölder 'ورقة. ومن النادر ان تستخدم على نطاق واسع مثل هذه النظريه الاساسية وتعميق يمكن بعد هذا الوقت الطويل. (في هذه الحاله ، بل واكثر شىء غير عادى يحدث. Zassenhaus (1934) واكتشفت الثانية من تحسين النظريه.)

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Otto Schreier

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

3 March 1901

Vienna, Austria

2 June 1929

Hamburg, Germany

Presentation Wikipedia
Otto Schreier graduated from high school in Vienna in July 1919. He entered the University of Vienna in 1920 to study mathematics. At Vienna he attended lecture courses by Wirtinger , Furtwängler, Hahn , Reidemeister , Rella, Lense and Vietoris. His doctorate, supervised by Furtwängler, was awarded for a thesis Über die Erweiterung von Gruppen (On the extension of groups ) on 8 November 1923.

After receiving his doctorate, Schreier went to Hamburg and worked until his death at the Mathematische Seminar. He was appointed to the post of assistant in the summer 1925 and worked for his habilitation . In fact Schreier gave lecture courses, at the request of the mathematical faculty, before completing his habilitation. This was formally awarded on 1 December 1926 for a thesis entitled Die Untergruppen der freien Gruppe (The subgroups of free groups ).

Schreier was offered a professorship at the University of Rostock in 1928 and decided to accept the position but he preferred to wait until the summer of 1929 before taking up the post. During the beginning of the 1928/29 session Schreier lectured on function theory giving parallel courses in Hamburg and Rostock. However, around Christmas of 1928, an illness which had been steadily worsening prevented him from continuing with his lectures. He died five months later at the age of 28 of a 'general sepsis'. The sulpha drugs discovered a few years later probably would have saved his life and therefore would have greatly changed the development of combinatorial group theory.

Schreier was much influenced by Furtwängler and Reidemeister . His first paper in 1924 gave a simple algebraic proof of a theorem on knot groups , which generalised a theorem given by Dehn 10 years earlier. He may have been directed towards the main theorem, which proves that certain torus knots were not isomorphic to their mirror images, by Reidemeister . These knots gave rise to groups which were free products with an amalgamated subgroup and Schreier studied this property in detail in a 1927 paper.

Schreier will be best remembered for his work on subgroups of free groups which he studied in his habilitation thesis. He published the results in 1927 in the paper Die Untergruppen der freien Gruppe which is described in as

... one of the most important papers ever published on combinatorial group theory. It took a long time for all its aspects to become effective, and it contains much more than the title indicates.

In January 1926 Schreier attended a lecture given by Reidemeister in Hamburg on finding presentations for normal subgroups of finitely presented groups. Reidemeister published his method later in 1926. Schreier, who took a more algebraic approach compared to Reidemeister 's geometrical approach, was able to extend Reidemeister 's method to arbitrary subgroups and, by cleverly choosing generators for the subgroup, was able to greatly simplify the presentation obtained. Schreier published his method in his 1927 paper Die Untergruppen der freien Gruppe.

Other work of Schreier is described in as follows.

... Schreier made important contributions to other parts of group theory. The classical Lie groups ... can be considered as topological spaces. Schreier (1927) showed that the fundamental group of such a space is always abelian . Schreier (1928) found an important refinement of the fundamental Jordan - Hölder theorem, 39 years after the publication of Hölder 's paper. It is rare that such a widely used and basic theorem can be deepened after such a long time. (In this case, something even more unusual happened. Zassenhaus (1934) discovered a second improvement of the theorem.)

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland