علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Jan Arnoldus Schouten

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

28 Aug 1883

Nieuweramstel (now part of Amsterdam), Netherlands

20 Jan 1971

Epe, Netherlands

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

يان أ schouten درس الهندسه الكهرباءيه في hogeschool التقني في دلفت ، وبعد ذلك لعدة سنوات وقال انه مهندس كهربائي. غير انه جاء من عائلة لديها مبالغ كبيرة من المال وعندما ورثت المال والقى منصبه الهندسه الكهرباءيه وظيفة وذهب الى جامعة لايدن لدراسة الرياضيات.

Schouten للاطروحة دكتوراه ، قدمت في عام 1914 ، كان على تينسور التحليل ، وهو موضوع كان يعمل على كل حياته. وفي نفس السنة أصبح استاذا للرياضيات في ديلفت وعقدت بعد ما يقرب من 30 عاما. ومع ذلك ، nijenhuis واحد من زملاء العمل ، يقول :

وفي عام 1943 استقال بعد schouten ، طلق زوجته ومتزوج. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، عاش في semiseclusion في Epe.

Nijenhuis تلخص حياة schouten في العبارة التالية :

أحفاد أسرة بارزة من السفن ، schouten نشأ في محيط مريح. وقال انه اصبح ليس فقط على من مؤسسي "Ricci حساب التفاضل والتكامل" ولكن ايضا فعالة المنظم) وكان مؤسس للمركز رياضي في امستردام في 1946) والماهره المستثمر. محاضر دقيقة ودقيقة بشكل مؤلم المؤلف ، وقال انه يغرس في نفس المعايير بلدة التلاميذ.

من عام 1948 وحتى 1953 schouten كان استاذا للرياضيات في جامعة امستردام لكنه لم التدريس. كان مديرا لمركز البحوث الرياضية في امستردام لمدة خمس سنوات.

Schouten انتج 180 ورقات وكتب على 6 تينسور التحليل. وقال انه يطبق على المجموعات تكمن ، النسبيه ، ونظرية المجال الموحد ونظم المعادلات التفاضليه. وقال انه فى عام 1919 قدمت المستقلة اكتشاف ريمانيان في وصلات الأنابيب المتفرعه التي اكتشفتها Civita - ليفي في وقت سابق.

وتتأثر weyl Eddington ، schouten التحقيق القريب ، وامتثالي اسقاطي التخطيط. كلاين 'Erlanger هذا البرنامج 1872 من النظر في الهندسه كما خصائص ثابتة في اطار مجموعة من الاجراءات. هذا النهج كان لها تأثير كبير على نهج schouten لصاحب الموضوع.

الشكل مهم في تطوير حساب التفاضل والتكامل للتينسور ، schouten كان رئيسا للعام 1954 المؤتمر الدولى لعلماء الرياضيات في امستردام. جميع الوفيات المدرجه ادناه هي مكتوبة من قبل جميع الزملاء العاملين من schouten من كانت تتأثر تأثرا شديدا له.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Jan Arnoldus Schouten

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

28 Aug 1883

Nieuweramstel (now part of Amsterdam), Netherlands

20 Jan 1971

Epe, Netherlands

Presentation Wikipedia
Jan A Schouten studied electrical engineering at the Technische Hogeschool in Delft and then for several years he was an electrical engineer. However he came from a family with substantial amounts of money and when he inherited money he gave up his electrical engineering job and went to Leiden University to study mathematics.

Schouten's doctoral thesis, presented in 1914, was on tensor analysis, a topic he worked on all his life. That same year he became professor of mathematics at Delft and held the post for nearly 30 years. However, A Nijenhuis one of his co-workers, wrote:

In 1943 Schouten resigned the post, divorced his wife and remarried. From then on, he lived in semiseclusion at Epe.

Nijenhuis summarises Schouten's life in the following words:

A descendant of a prominent family of shipbuilders, Schouten grew up in comfortable surroundings. He became not only on of the founders of the " Ricci calculus" but also an efficient organiser (he was a founder of the Mathematical Center at Amsterdam in 1946) and an astute investor. A meticulous lecturer and painfully accurate author, he instilled the same standards in his pupils.

From 1948 until 1953 Schouten was professor of mathematics at the University of Amsterdam but he did not teach. He was director of the Mathematical Research Centre at Amsterdam for five years.

Schouten produced 180 papers and 6 books on tensor analysis. He applied it to Lie groups , relativity, unified field theory and systems of differential equations . In 1919 he made the independent discovery of connections in Riemannian manifolds discovered by Levi-Civita earlier.

Influenced by Weyl and Eddington , Schouten investigated affine, projective and conformal mappings . Klein 's Erlanger Programm of 1872 looked at geometry as properties invariant under the action of a group . This approach had a large influence on Schouten's approach to his topic.

An important figure in the development of the tensor calculus, Schouten was president of the 1954 International Congress of Mathematicians at Amsterdam. All the obituaries listed below were all written by co-workers of Schouten who were strongly influenced by him.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland