علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Edward Sang

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

30 Jan 1805

Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland

23 Dec 1890

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ادوارد سانغ ، عالم الرياضيات والمهندس والخبير الاكتواري ، وكان 6 من ال 11 من الاطفال ادوارد سانغ (1771-1862) ، رئيس المجلس صاحب المشتل واحيانا من KIRKCALDY ، وزوجته نيكول جان (b.1773) أحد أقارب نيكول ويليام (B. 1770) من ابتكر نيكول المنشور. حضر الاكتتاب في المدرسة ، التي اسسها والده والآخرين ، في اطار موهوب ادوارد مدير ارفينج. في جامعة ادنبره خلال 1818 -- 1824 ، واعرب عن اعجابه اساتذة ويليام والاس ، وجون ليزلي في الرياضيات والفلسفه الطبيعيه ، ورغم فترات المرض. الصغيرة للعمره ، وكان الاولى به يستهزئون - زميل الطلاب ، ثم اعجاب لصاحب الموهبه قبل الاوان.

سانغ الاولى كما عملت في ادنبره المساح ، مهندس مدني وحاضر استاذ الرياضيات والفلسفه الطبيعيه. وقال انه خلال 1841-43 استاذ في العلوم الميكانيكيه المعتزل مانشستر كلية جديدة ، ثم انتقل الى القسطنطينيه لانشاء كليات الهندسه ، خطة السكك الحديديه والاشغال الحديديه. وقال انه حاضر (باللغه التركية) في المدرسة الامبراطوريه ، muhendis - هناء berii والشهره التي اكتسبتها من خلال التنبؤ كسوف للشمس في 1847 ، ومن ثم تبديد الخرافات. واستقال ضد رغبات السلطان ، والعودة الى ادنبره في عام 1854 لتدريس الرياضيات.

نشط زميل الجمعية الملكيه للفنون في المجتمع الاسكتلندي والجمعية الملكيه ادنبره ، حصل على جوائز من كل من ومن مؤسسة المهندسين المدنيين ، لندن (1879). وقال انه عضو مؤسس والمسؤول الاول فيها محاضر من كلية الاكتواريين في اسكتلندا ، وعضو مراسل في الاكاديميه الملكيه لتونس ، دكتوراه في القانون LL.D. من جامعة ادنبره وعضو فخري للمعهد فرانكلين ، فيلادلفيا. وقد تزوج من ايزابيلا elmslie في 1832 وكان على الأقل ثلاث بنات وابن واحد على الاقل.

اساسا في ادنبره على اساس المجلات ، وكتب على نطاق واسع على سانغ الرياضية والميكانيكيه والبصريه والاكتواريه المواضيع بما في الاهتزاز من الأسلاك ، نظرية toothed العجلات ، وتحسين ضوء المنارة ، والسكك الحديديه والجسور ، والصناعة التحويليه والتأمين على الحياة. نشرة الاكتواريه ، والمعاش والجداول الفلكيه ، وكتب على مرحلتين الابتداءيه والحساب واعلى بكثير من الجداول المستخدمة - 7 - مكان لوغاريتمات (1871). ولكن معظم الانجاز الرائع هي ضخمة غير منشورة تجميع 26 -- 15 - ومكان لوغاريتمي ، مثلثي والجداول الفلكيه ، وملء 47 مجلدات مخطوطة. جمعت على مدى اكثر من اربعين عاما ، حديثا بمساعدة من النباتات وابنتان جين ، وربما لا تتناسب مع هذه الدقه في (ايضا غير منشورة) الفرنسية 'مسح' جداول 1801. كانت الموهوبين الى الامة في عام 1907 من قبل انا والنباتات سانغ.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Edward Sang

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

30 Jan 1805

Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland

23 Dec 1890

Presentation
Edward Sang, mathematician, engineer and actuary, was the 6th of 11 children of Edward Sang (1771-1862), nurseryman and sometime Provost of Kirkcaldy, and his wife Jean Nicol (b.1773) a relative of William Nicol (b.1770) who invented the Nicol prism. He attended a subscription school, founded by his father and others, under a gifted headmaster Edward Irving. At Edinburgh University during 1818 - 1824, he impressed professors William Wallace and John Leslie in mathematics and natural philosophy, despite periods of illness. Small for his age, he was first mocked by fellow-students, then admired for his precocious talent.

Sang first worked in Edinburgh as surveyor, civil engineer and mathematics teacher and lectured on natural philosophy. During 1841-43 he was Professor of Mechanical Sciences at the nonconformist Manchester New College, then went to Constantinople to establish engineering schools, plan railways and an ironworks. He lectured (in Turkish) at the Imperial School, Muhendis-hana Berii and gained fame by predicting the solar eclipse of 1847, thereby dispelling superstition. He resigned against the Sultan's wishes, returning to Edinburgh in 1854 to teach mathematics.

An active Fellow of the Royal Scottish Society of Arts and the Royal Society of Edinburgh , he received awards from both and from the Institution of Civil Engineers, London (1879). He was a founder member and first official lecturer of the Faculty of Actuaries in Scotland, a corresponding member of the Royal Tunis Academy, an Ll.D. of Edinburgh University and an honorary member of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia. He married Isabella Elmslie in 1832 and had at least three daughters and at least one son.

Mainly in Edinburgh-based journals, Sang wrote extensively on mathematical, mechanical, optical and actuarial topics including vibration of wires, a theory of toothed wheels, an improved lighthouse light, railways, bridges, manufacturing and life insurance. He published actuarial, annuity and astronomical tables, books on Elementary and Higher Arithmetic and much-used tables of 7-place logarithms (1871). But his most remarkable achievement is his massive unpublished compilation of 26- and 15-place logarithmic, trigonometric and astronomical tables, filling 47 manuscript volumes. Compiled over forty years, latterly with assistance from two daughters Flora and Jane, these perhaps surpass in accuracy the (also unpublished) French 'Cadastre' tables of 1801. They were gifted to the nation in 1907 by Anna and Flora Sang.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland