علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Julio Rey Pasto

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

16 Aug 1888

Logrono, Spain

21 Feb 1962

Buenos Aires, Argentina

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

خوليو راي القس دخلت عالم يتسارع فيه النشاط العلمي ، ولا سيما في اسبانيا. انشاء مدينة لوس انجلوس دي enseñanza institución الحرة في 1876 كان لها تأثير هائل على اعادة العلم في اسبانيا. تأسست من قبل مجموعة من الاساتذه من رفض لتعديل أساليب لالرسمية الدينية او السياسية او الاخلاقيه العقائد ، فان الهدف من هذه المءسسه هو الدفاع عن حرية التعليم. هذه المثاليه ملزمة لها هدف تسعى الى تحقيق نموها على هامش المجتمع الثقافي ، وبالتالي تهيئة القطاع الخاص ، انشاء والتعليم.

وبالاضافة الى ذلك ، الالمانيه هزيمة فرنسا في الحرب الفرنسية الالمانيه من 1870 ، سجل نهاية الهيمنة الفرنسية في أوروبا القاريه وتحول كبير من الفرنسية - الاسبانيه موجه الى ثقافة واحدة من التوجه الالمانيه. هذا على جانب كبير من الاهميه نظرا لأنه من شأنه ان تسمو الى امريكا اللاتينية من خلال الرياضيات مثل القس ري ، Esteban terradas وكثير غيرها.

عندما سانتياغو رامون y cajal اصبح اول اسباني يفوز بجاءزه نوبل ، الى جانب camillo golgi في عام 1901 لعملهم في الهيكل التنظيمي للجهاز العصبي ، وبدا ان المجتمع العلمي الاسبانيه اخيرا awoken من فترة طويلة من الركود. وبعد هذا في عام 1907 تم انشاء المجلس العسكري للمدينة لوس انجلوس الفقره ampliación الدراسات ، التي نشأت نتيجة لاسبانيا الثقافي الذاتي من تقريرها النهائي بعد خسارته أمام المستعمرات. الهدف الرئيسي للمنظمة هو : التجديد التربوي من خلال تقديم المنح من اجل رفع مستوى الثقافة الاسبانيه ويحقق لها الى مستوى البلدان الأكثر تقدما في أوروبا ، مثل المانيا. وكان ذلك ليكون لها اثر مباشر على خوليو راي القس.

تلقى تعليمه في المنزل حتى سن الثانية عشرة ، بدأ القس له على مقاعد الدراسه في المدارس الثانويه المحلية ، el sagasta المعهد ، في عام 1900. وقال انه مصالح واسعة في شبابه وقبل ان يصبح المحتلة تماما مع الرياضيات ، وأنه كتب الشعر. وبعد ان فشلت في قسم الرياضيات من امتحان القبول للالاكاديميه العسكرية في ساراغوسا ، وهو كان بدأ دراسة العلوم في جامعة سرقسطة في عام 1904. ومن هنا كان من الصحيح ان للمهنة الرياضيات awoken وقال انه كان أول ورقة نشرت في عام 1905 ، بعنوان sobre لوس nœmeros consecutivos كويو SUMA ا ط أ مدينة لوس انجلوس vez cuadrado y perfecto Cubo (الارقام المتعاقبه المبلغ الذي هو في نفس الوقت مربع والكمال مكعب). وتخرج مع درجة الدكتوراه في الهندسه جبري من جامعة مدريد في عام 1910.

بين عام 1908 وعام 1910 أسس قس ريال سوسيداد مع matemática Espanola بدعم من وخوسيه echegaray العام بينيتز. في عام 1911 ، تم تعيين القس امين والمجتمع ، وفي العام نفسه ، اصبح استاذ التحليل الرياضي في جامعة اوفييدو. الجامعة ، الواقعة في اوفييدو في شمال اسبانيا ، كانت قديمة واحدة أسست في 1608. ومن هنا انه كتب للجدل الخطاب الافتتاحي للسنة الدراسيه 1913-1914 ، الذي قال انه ناقش بصراحة حالة يرثى لها من العلم الاسباني منذ القرن السادس عشر. ونتيجة لذلك ، القس اتهم بأنه غير وطنيين وسمعته تعاني الى حد كبير. على سبيل المثال من الخطاب الصريح ويمكن الاطلاع على الخطاب الافتتاحي لبلده عام 1915 ، حيث القس يناقش تطور العلوم في اسبانيا.

يمكنك ان ترى ترجمة لجزء من هذا العنوان.

بين 1911 و 1916 ، مدينة لوس انجلوس الفقره المجلس العسكري ampliación الدراسات المموله رأى القس للقيام بسلسله من الزيارات الى المانيا. واسفر ذلك عن اثنين من المنشورات الرئيسية على الهندسه فى عام 1912 و1916. فان كان على 1916 دراسة الهندسه في الاصطناعيه ن - عرض والابعاد :

... مفاهيم عموميه كبيرة (على سبيل المثال تعريف المنحنى) وتطويرها في جميع النتائج المترتبة عليها.

راعي الكنيسة في عام 1915 انتقل الى كرسي في جامعة مدريد ، حيث نشرت العالية المشهود ، Fundamentos دي مدينة لوس انجلوس geometría proyectiva متفوقة ، الا انه لم يكن احد لتظل ثابتة في مكان واحد لفترة طويلة ، وذهب الى برشلونة في عام 1915 لاعطاء سلسلة محاضرات في المعهد d' estudia. محاضرات وجود له على ان الابعاد امتثالي الهندسه والتخطيط ، وتطوير عمل شوارز ، حتى كتب من قبل Esteban terrades من حضر المحاضرات ، وبطبيعة الحال فإن نشر في الكتلانيه.

القس دعوة من institución الثقافة española الى محاضرة في جامعة بوينس ايرس في عام 1917. وبالرغم من انه كان لا يزال شابا ، سوى 29 عاما ، وقد طلب منه المساعدة على تعزيز الرياضيات في الارجنتين وعثر على وسيلة لتمكينه من القيام بذلك. واقترح عقد مما اتاح له لقضاء ستة اشهر كل سنة في الارجنتين واسبانيا في ستة اشهر. رأى القس عن سروره لتوقيع العقد :

... لتوجيه اجراء دراسات متقدمة من العلوم الدقيقة في الارجنتين.

وقد تم التأكيد على ان القس دون ري كان مسؤولا عن انشاء مدرسة متميزه الارجنتيني الرياضية والبحث واعادة بناء العلوم في الارجنتين. وعندما تولى لمدة 6 سنوات في جامعة بوينس ايرس في عام 1921 ، من كلية العلوم وكان برنامج واحد فقط من حملة الدكتوراه ، والتي بالكاد تقدم منذ عام 1900. ثم بين وصول راعي الكنيسة ، كان هناك بعض التحسن في الدورات الهندسية ، ولكن كل والرياضيات وغيرها من مزيد من الدورات في حالة الكساد الشديدة. القس اللازمة لاقناع من اساتذة الهندسه اهمية الرياضيات وراء الكتب المدرسية الابتداءيه ، التي كانت تستخدم في السابق.

وكان قد دعي من قبل institución الثقافة Espanola ، لألقي محاضرة في دورة في جامعة بوينس ايرس في عام 1917. هذا أولا بطبيعة الحال ، كما بالنظر الى محاضرة زائرة ، وكان مقدمة لكلاين 'Erlangen البرنامج. في هذه الدورة ، وقدم القس الطلاب مع مفهوم الهندسه على اساس مجموعة من الناحية النظريه ، باستخدام أساليب من وضع كل مجموعة من الثوابت ، مع طوبولوجي أساليب أكثر العام. وبطبيعة الحال ولايته الثانية ، نظرا لفي عام 1921 ، كانت واحدة متخصصه لطلاب الهندسه وشملت المواضيع التالية : مهام معقدة ومتغيرة ، امتثالي ورسم الخرائط ، والهندسه المتقدمه (غير اقليدي) ، الرياضية والتحليل والمنهجيه الرياضية. وكثير من هذه المواضيع ، وان كان شائعا في أوروبا ، وكانت جديدة تماما والثوري الارجنتيني لعلماء الرياضيات. ونتيجة لذلك ، راعي الكنيسة ونجحت في كسب شعبية بين الطلاب ، في حين تلقى انتقادات من بلدة ستيرن المعاصرة اساتذة المدرسة القديمة ، التي تعتبر من المغتصب الاجنبي له.

القس ركز اساسا على تدريس الهندسه ، لكنه الرياضيات البحته تجنيد العديد من الطلاب الى بلده ، اذ اعتبر الدورات الهندسية دورات دراسيه عن اساليب حساب التحضير الجيد لعلماء الرياضيات البحته. وقال انه يعتقد انه من المهم الحفاظ على فهم كل مجالات الرياضيات وكان من هذه الخاصيه ، بانورامي الرءيه من بلدة ، مما سمح لطلابه نقدر عمق المفاهيم الجديدة للتعليم وكان منهم. عن طريق الفصل بين الرياضيات البحته من الجانب التقني ، وقال انه استقطب جمهورا واسعا على جانبي المحيط الاطلسي.

القس اسس المجتمع matemática Argentino فى عام 1924. وفي عام 1927 ، وقال انه بالنظر الى تعيين دائم في جامعة بوينس ايرس وعقد الرئيس : واحد من التحليل الرياضي والهندسه العالى الاخرى. وكان ذلك ليكون لها اثر عميق وتجاوزا على الارجنتيني الرياضيات. في عام 1928 ، كان قد أسسها مؤثر الرياضية الحلقه الدراسيه semenario el matemático الارجنتين (مماثلة للتي كان قد أنشئ في مدريد). الحلقه الدراسيه نشرت النشرة ، التي تضمنت أول الارجنتيني البحوث الحديثة في الرياضيات. وقال انه من المهم ايضا جلب الرياضيين الاجانب الى الجامعة لاعطاء دورات دراسيه قصيرة ، بما في ذلك : frederigo enriques (1925) ، severi فرانسيسكو (1930) ، وتوليو ليفي - Civita (1937) ، اميل بوريل (1928) وجاك هادامارد (1930). في 1940 's، القس افضل الطلاب بدأت تكتسب اعترافا دوليا. ومن بينها ما يلي : البرتو غونزاليس دومينغيز ، أصبح من المهم مقدار فيزيائي ؛ البرتو كالديرون ، من شأنه ان يصبح رئيسا للقسم الرياضيات في جامعة شيكاغو ، وعدد اكبر بكثير من تحسن القدرات الجماعية للتدريس الرياضيات.

في عام 1931 ، رأى القس نشرت له اكثر من واحد يعمل على تحليل انيقه في rendiconti دل circolo matematico دي باليرمو ، الرياضية الايطاليه اليوميه. وتناولت دراسة طريقة الجمع للسلسلة. هذه المادة من قبل القس هو تحكمه في سلسلة طويلة من الاعمال ، التي بدأت في بداية القرن العشرين ، على ملخص سلسلة من المشاكل ، والتقريب بين الخوارزميات ، والمفرد integrals سلسلة من الدراسات المقارنة وintegrals. وقال انه قدم لاول مرة عمله في هذا المجال في عام 1926 في دورة دراسيه عن "سلسلة وintegrals" التي قدمها في جامعة بوينس ايرس. وبطبيعة الحال نفسه ، تزداد قليلا ، وتكرر في مدريد في عام 1928. فى نفس السنة القس عرض موجز لأفكاره في ورقته الى المؤتمر الدولى لعلماء الرياضيات في بولونيا ، الذي حضر مع مجموعة كبيرة من الطلاب الارجنتيني. وتابع : العمل على المشاكل المتعلقة نظرية الجمع من سلسلة متباينة في جميع انحاء لعام 1930 ونشرت جزءا كبيرا من عمله في مجلات دولية. القس المواضيع التي تناولها في هذه الفترة تأثير كبير على تطور الرياضيات الارجنتيني.

في عام 1952 وقال انه طرد من الارجنتين على الرغم من الجهود التي يبذلها من اجل البقاء سياسية. الا انه مع المتقاعدين من الارتياح بعد ان شرعت فى التحول من الارجنتيني الرياضيات. وقال انه ساهم بشكل استثنائي لتطوير التحقيق في الرياضيات البحته وتدريب مدرسة جديدة من المهندسين الارجنتيني مع بالنظره الحديثة. علاوة على ذلك ، فان فتح أبواب التعليم لدراسة تاريخ العلم وضعت الاسس لأجيال من اساتذة التعليم الثانوي الرسمي مع صاحب النفوذ الكتب المدرسية. وفي عام 1954 عاد الى الارجنتين وانضم academía مدينة لوس انجلوس دي lengua.

تاريخ الرياضيات كانت مهتمة دائما ورأى القس فى وقت متأخر من حياته المهنيه في مصالحة تاريخية تمتد الى المواضيع رسم الخرائط. وبطبيعة الحال اسبانيا لها شهرة ملحوظا حتى رسم الخرائط دراسة له (كتب بالاشتراك مع camarero ه غارسيا في 1960) عن تاريخ رسم الخرائط الاسبانيه كانت مفيدة بشكل خاص بالاضافة الى معرفة الموضوع.

فحص الكتب المدرسية بلدة يعطينا فكرة partor افكار بشأن تدريس الرياضيات. في مقدمة algabraic التحليل ، والقس تعليقات بدلا من ان تتبع الاتجاه العام لرفع المشاكل الاولية الى درجة من التجريد ، ومن هدفه تبسيط المسائل المعقده مع الحفاظ على نهج صارم. ويضيف ان جميع خلاصة الفكر ويتطلب الموجودة من قبل قاعدة المعرفه ، مما عدم وجود الكثير من الطلاب عند وصولهم في الجامعة والتي يتوقعون الحصول على أكثر من مسار درجة. ووفقا لالقس ومع ذلك ، ومن الناحية التاريخية والتعليميه خطأ السخف محاولة الاقتراب من مفاهيم التحليل في هذا خلافا المناسب.

وقال انه توفي في منزله في بوينس ايرس.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Julio Rey Pasto

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

16 Aug 1888

Logrono, Spain

21 Feb 1962

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Presentation
Julio Rey Pastor entered a world of accelerating scientific activity, particularly in Spain. The establishment of La Institución Libre de Enseñanza in 1876 had an enormous impact on the reinstatement of science in Spain. Founded by a group of professors who refused to adjust their methods to the official religious, political or moral dogmas, the aim of the institution was to defend the freedom of education. This idealism obliged them to pursue their goal on the fringes of intellectual society and thus create a private, education establishment.

Additionally, the German defeat of France in the Franco-German war of 1870, marked the end of French hegemony in continental Europe and a significant shift from a French-orientated Spanish culture to one of German orientation. This was of great importance since it would transcend to Latin America through mathematicians such as Rey Pastor, Esteban Terradas and many others.

When Santiago Ramon y Cajal became the first Spaniard to win the Nobel Prize, together with Camillo Golgi in 1901 for their work on the structure of the nervous system, it seemed that the Spanish scientific community had finally awoken from a period of prolonged stagnation. Following this in 1907 was the creation of La Junta Para Ampliación de Estudios, which arose as a result of Spain's cultural self-reflection after losing her final colonies. The key objective of the organisation was: Pedagogic renovation through the provision of grants in order to elevate Spanish culture and bring it to the level of the most advanced countries in Europe, such as Germany. This was to have a direct effect on Julio Rey Pastor.

Educated at home until the age of twelve, Pastor began studying at his local secondary school, El Instituto Sagasta, in 1900. He had broad interests in his youth and before he became completely occupied with mathematics, he wrote poetry. Having failed the mathematics section of the entrance examination for the Military Academy in Zaragoza, he began studying science at Zaragoza University in 1904. It was here that his true vocation for mathematics was awoken and he published his first paper in 1905, entitled Sobre los nœmeros consecutivos cuyo suma es a la vez cuadrado y cubo perfecto (Consecutive numbers whose sum is both the square and the perfect cube). He graduated with a PhD in algebraic geometry from Madrid University in 1910.

Between 1908 and 1910, Pastor founded the Real Sociedad Matemática Espanola with the support of José Echegaray and General Benitez. In 1911, Pastor was appointed secretary of the society and, in the same year, he became Professor of Mathematical Analysis at the University of Oviedo. The university, situated in Oviedo in northern Spain, was an ancient one founded in 1608. It was here that he wrote the controversial inaugural address for the academic year 1913-1914, in which he candidly discussed the lamentable state of Spanish science since the sixteenth century. As a consequence, Pastor was accused of being unpatriotic and his reputation suffered significantly. An example of his frank discourse may be seen his 1915 Inaugural Discourse, where Pastor discusses the development of science in Spain.

You can see a translation of part of this address .

Between 1911 and 1916, La Junta Para Ampliación de Estudios funded Rey Pastor to carry out a series of visits to Germany. This resulted in two major publications on geometry in 1912 and 1916. The 1916 monograph was on synthetic geometry in n-dimensions and introduced :

... concepts of great generality (for example the definition of the curve) and developing them in all their consequences.

In 1915 Pastor moved to a chair at Madrid University, where he published the highly acclaimed, Fundamentos de la geometría proyectiva superior. However he was not one to remain fixed in one place for a long time and went to Barcelona in 1915 to give a series of lectures at the Institut d'Estudia. His lectures there on n-dimensional geometry and conformal mappings , developing the work of Schwarz , was written up by Esteban Terrades who attended the lectures, and the course was published in Catalan.

Pastor was invited by the Institución Cultura Española to lecture at the University of Buenos Aires in 1917. Although he was still a young man, only 29 years old, he was asked to help promote mathematics in Argentina and a way was found to enable him to do this. A contract was proposed which enabled him to spend six months each year in Argentina and six months in Spain. Rey Pastor was pleased to sign the contract:

... to direct the advanced study of the exact sciences in Argentina.

It has been asserted that Don Rey Pastor was responsible for the creation of a distinctive Argentinean School of mathematical research and the reconstruction of science in Argentina. When he took up a 6-year contract at Buenos Aires University in 1921, the Science Faculty had only one PhD programme, which had barely progressed since 1900. Between then and Pastor's arrival, there had been some small improvement in the engineering courses, but all the other further mathematics courses were in a severe state of stagnation. Pastor needed to persuade the engineering professors of the importance of mathematics beyond the elementary textbooks, which they had previously been using.

He had been invited by the Institución Cultura Espanola, to give a lecture course at the University of Buenos Aires in 1917. This first course, given as a visiting lecturer, was an introduction to Klein 's Erlangen Programme. In this course, Pastor presented his students with the concept of geometry based on group theory, using methods of establishing invariants of each group, with topological methods being the most general. His second course, given in 1921, was a specialised one for engineering students and included the following topics: functions of a complex variable, conformal mapping, advanced geometry (non-euclidean), mathematical analysis and mathematical methodology. Many of these topics, although commonplace in Europe, were entirely new and revolutionary to Argentinean mathematicians. As a consequence, Pastor succeeded in gaining popularity amongst the students, whilst receiving stern criticism from his contemporary old school professors, who regarded him a foreign usurper.

Pastor focused mainly on teaching engineering, but he recruited many pure mathematics students to his courses since he regarded the engineering courses on the techniques of calculation good preparation for pure mathematicians. He believed it was important to maintain an understanding of both areas of mathematics and it was this characteristic, panoramic vision of his, which allowed his students to appreciate the profundity of the new concepts he was teaching them. By separating mathematics from its purely technical aspect, he attracted a wide audience on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean.

Pastor founded the Sociedad Matemática Argentino in 1924. In 1927, he was given a permanent appointment at the University of Buenos Aires and held two chairs: one of Mathematical Analysis and the other of Higher Geometry. This was to have a profound and transcending impact on Argentinean mathematics. In 1928, he founded an influential mathematical seminar El semenario Matemático Argentina (similar to the one he had set up in Madrid). The seminar published a bulletin, which contained the first modern research in Argentinean mathematics. He also brought important foreign mathematicians to the university to give short courses, including: Frederigo Enriques (1925), Francesco Severi (1930), Tullio Levi-Civita (1937), Emile Borel (1928) and Jacques Hadamard (1930). In the 1940's, Pastor's best students began gaining international recognition. Amongst them were: Alberto González Domínguez, who became an important quantum physicist; Alberto Calderón , who would become the chairman of the Department of Mathematics at Chicago University; and many more who considerably enhanced the collective teaching capacity of the mathematical community.

In 1931, Rey Pastor published one of his most elegant works on analysis in the Rendiconti del Circolo Matematico di Palermo, an Italian mathematical journal. It dealt with the study of the method of summation of series. This article by Pastor is framed by a long series of works, begun at the beginning of the twentieth century, on problems of summing series, convergence algorithms, singular integrals and comparative studies of series and integrals. He first presented his work in this area in 1926 in his course on "Series and Integrals" which he gave at Buenos Aires University. The same course, slightly amplified, was repeated in Madrid in 1928. The same year Pastor presented a summary of his ideas in his paper given to the International Congress of Mathematicians at Bologna, which he attended with a large group of his Argentinean students. He continued working on problems related to the theory of summation of divergent series throughout the 1930's and published much of his work in international journals. The themes which Pastor dealt with in this period had considerable influence on the development of Argentinean mathematics.

In 1952 he was expelled from Argentina despite his efforts to remain apolitical. However, he retired with the satisfaction of having initiated the transformation of Argentinean mathematics. He contributed exceptionally to the development of investigation into pure mathematics and trained a new school of Argentinean engineers with a modern outlook. Furthermore, his teaching opened the doors to the study of the history of science and laid the foundations for generations of secondary school teachers with his influential textbooks. In 1954 he returned to Argentina and joined La Academía de Lengua.

The history of mathematics had always interested Rey Pastor and late in his career his interests in historical topics extended to cartography. Of course Spain has a reputation for remarkable cartography so his monograph (written jointly with E Garcia Camarero in 1960) on the history of Spanish cartography was a particularly useful addition to knowledge of the topic.

Examining his textbooks gives us insight into Partor's ideas concerning teaching of mathematics. In the introduction to Algabraic Analysis, Pastor comments that rather than follow the general tendency of elevating elemental problems to the point of abstraction, it is his goal to simplify complicated questions whilst maintaining a rigorous approach. He adds that all abstract thought requires a pre-existing knowledge base, which many students lack when they arrive at university and, which they expect to gain over the course of their degree. According to Pastor however, it is a didactic mistake and historically absurd to attempt to approach the concepts of analysis in this contrary manner.

He died at his home in Buenos Aires.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland