علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Robert Remak

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

1888

Germany

1942

Auschwitz, Poland

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

روبرت remak هو حفيد اليهودي الاول في بروسيا الى ان تعطي التأهيل دون التخلي عن الدين اليهودي. كما دعا روبرت remak ، منح صاحب التأهيل من جامعة برلين في 1847 ، وبدعم من الكسندر فون همبولت ، واضاف ان تدلي وهو مدرس في كلية الطب.

حفيد له روبرت فان remak عالم الرياضيات ، ودرس في جامعة برلين واشرف على frobenius لصاحب العمل الدكتوراه. صاحب اطروحة دكتوراه zerlegung über يموت في دير endlichen gruppen indirekte unzerlegbare faktoren قدم في عام 1911 كما شوارز مع الخبراء الاخرى المعنية. هذا العمل الهام للنظر في التحلل الى مجموعات محدودة نتيجة مباشرة للعوامل غير القابل للاختزال ، ونتيجة لذلك غالبا ما يكون اسمه الان لتولي الى جانب تلك التى من wedderburn ، وشميت krull.

ورغم ان منح الدكتوراه في عام 1911 ، وكان الطريق الطويل والصعب لremak لمنح التأهيل له. وقال انه قدم اطروحة التأهيل لبلدة عدة مرات ، في كل مرة وكان قد رفض. الا انه ثابر : schappacher كما كتب في :

Remak فان الاسرة نوعا من التقليد شيئا فشيئا في التغلب على العقبات الاداريه في جامعة برلين.

Remak في نهاية المطاف في عام 1929 حصل التأهيل والحق في التدريس في الجامعة ، ولكن لم يكن هناك وظيفة له. وقال انه لم محاضرة عن الجماعات في جامعة برلين خلال فصل الصيف عام 1929 وهذه المحاضرات وحضر برنهارد نيومان. فى نفس السنة 1929 وكان احد remak التي نشرت في مقال حول تطبيقات الرياضيات الى الاقتصاد. وقال انه مصالح واسعة النطاق ، والعمل على الاقتصاد الرياضي وكذلك فريق الهندسه ونظرية الاعداد.

1929 مقال له في الاقتصاد يمكن ان تصبح علما دقيقا remak كتب ما يلي :

واؤكد... انني لم تقدم اي بيانات والسياسية والاقتصادية ، ولكن فقط ذكرت واشارت الى بعض المشاكل calculational مخططات... أنها ما زالت مفتوحة ، فيما اذا كانت نتيجة الحساب تؤيد الراسماليه ، والاشتراكيه ، او الشيوعيه. ... هذه المعادلات محرج للغاية لمعالجة رياضيا. ومع ذلك ، هناك تقدم في العمل بشأن حل عددي المعادلات الخطيه مع العديد من الدوائر الكهرباءيه باستخدام مجهولون.

Remak في هذا العمل هو رؤية بعيدة النظر في الطلبات التي الحواسيب من شأنه ان يكون في هذا الموضوع ، ولكن كانت هذه هي المناطق التي كان من غير الحكمة ان شخصا مثل remak ان تكون المخاطرة في المانيا في هذا الوقت.

Remak مساهمات هامة لعدد من الناحية النظريه جبري. وفي نشره في عام 1932 والقى انخفاض ملزمة لتنظيم وحدات من عدد من هيربج الميدان الذي يعتمد فقط على عدد من الحقيقي ويصرف عدد من ازواج من يصرف معقدة. واضاف لإنتاج تمديدات اخرى من هذه الاعمال التي لا تزال تنشر بعد عشر سنوات من وفاته. مزيد من الاوراق عن طريق remak على عدد محدود جبري الميادين العيب يبدو وحدة فى عام 1952 وعام 1954.

30 كانون الثاني / يناير 1933 وجاء هتلر الى السلطة في 7 نيسان / ابريل 1933 وقانون الخدمة المدنيه وقدمت وسائل إزالة اليهود اساتذة من الجامعات ، وبطبيعة الحال ازالة تلك النسب من اليهود من الادوار الاخرى. جميع موظفي الخدمة المدنيه من غير الاريه من النسب (من جد واحد بعد ان الديانه اليهودية لجعل شخص غير الاريه (كان من المقرر ان المتقاعدين. وبموجب هذا القانون ، remak تفقد الحق في التدريس في الجامعة في ايلول / سبتمبر 1933.

Remak لم تغادر برلين في هذا الوقت ، ومع ذلك ، واستمر في العيش في مدينة وبلدة الرياضية مع استمرار البحث. وقال انه مهتم بشكل خاص في تطورات جديدة مثيرة الرياضية التي كتبت في waerden فان دير 'اثنين من حجم الجبر نشرت في عام 1930 والذي يتضمن التطورات الجديدة في الدائري من الناحية النظريه من جانب Emmy noether ، هيلبيرت ، dedekind وartin.

Remak ، متزوج من امرأة المانيه ، من لم يلبي شرط الاريه ، وهذا بالتأكيد جعله يرغب في الاستمرار في العيش في المانيا. وقال انه يمكن ايضا ان يكون قد توقع ومن شأنه ايضا ان يعطي له بعض الحمايه ضد السياسات النازية.

وفي 10 تموز / يولية 1936 schur كتب تقريرا عن remak :

واعتبر الدكتور روبرت remak ان يكون الباحث المعلقه ، من هو صاحب براعه مميزة ، والاصاله ، والقوة والذكاء. ... ويجوز له ، دون شك ، ان يسمى رائد في عالم الراءعه والهامة مجال الهندسه من الارقام.

على ليلة الكريستال (ما يسمى لأن من الزجاج المكسور في الشوارع علي في صباح اليوم التالي) ، 9-10 تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 1938 ، ألقي القبض على remak. ليلة 91 على ان اليهود قتلوا المئات بجروح خطرة ، والالاف تعرضوا لتجارب مروعه. الالاف من اليهود احرق الاعمال جنبا الى جنب مع اكثر من 150 من المعابد. وقد القي القبض الجستابو 30000 جيدا من اليهود وشرطا لاطلاق سراحهم هو انهم الهجره. Remak دخلت حيز التنفيذ فان sachsenhausen معسكر اعتقال بالقرب من مدينة برلين وزوجته المحاولات المضنيه التي تقدم للحصول على شهادة خطية من شأنه ان يسمح لهم بالهجره الى الولايات المتحدة.

فبعد ان فشلت فى الحصول على اذن الهجره الى الولايات المتحدة ، remak الذي صدر بعد أكثر من ثمانيه اسابيع في معسكر اعتقال زوجته المنظمه بعد ان يذهب الى امستردام. هذا لم remak في نيسان / ابريل 1939 ولكن زوجته لم يذهب الى امستردام معه. وكتب هانز freudenthal الى hopf في 7 اذار / مارس 1940 ووصف المشاكل التي تسبب remak :

والمشكلة الرئيسية هي بلدي remak ، من غير راض عن زيارة بلدي والمحاضرات ولكن من يعطينا ايضا لا نهاية له من محن. انها تتعلق في معظمها صراعات مع الملاك له ، من ثم تشغيل على الفور الى مكتب تسجيل الاجانب. ... remak ايضا تعبير "بدلا من ذلك الحين كنت اذهب الى معسكر اعتقال" عدد كاف من الناس قد غاضب فعلا. المساله خطيرة للغاية ؛ ومن المشكوك فيه الى متى لا يزال بوسعنا أن منعه من طرده الى المانيا. ... ومن المفهوم ان زوجته لا تريد المجيء الى هنا ، ولكنه يدل على عدم ولاء له.

في الواقع remak له زوجة المطلقة التي يكاد يكون من المؤكد ان موقفه من المستحيل. وقد اعتقل من قبل قوات الاحتلال الالمانيه فى امستردام فى عام 1942 واقتيد الى معسكر الاعتقال في اوشفيتز. وقال إنه توفي هناك على بعض غير معروف اليوم في عام 1942. Merzbach يكتب في هذا remak 's:

... الرفض -- في الرياضيات والشؤون اليوميه -- الى حل وسط ، او ان تكون 'واقعي' ، اكتسحت له من التيار الرئيسي للالرياضيات وكلفته حياته.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Robert Remak

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

1888

Germany

1942

Auschwitz, Poland

Presentation
Robert Remak was the grandson of the first Jew in Prussia to be given an habilitation without giving up the Jewish faith. Also called Robert Remak, he was awarded his habilitation from the University of Berlin in 1847 and, with support from Alexander von Humboldt, he went on be made a professor in the medical faculty.

His grandson Robert Remak the mathematician, studied at the University of Berlin and was supervised by Frobenius for his doctoral work. His doctoral dissertation Über die Zerlegung der endlichen Gruppen in indirekte unzerlegbare Faktoren was submitted in 1911 with Schwarz as the other expert involved. This important work considered the decomposition of finite groups into a direct product of irreducible factors, a result that his name is often now attached to along with those of Wedderburn , Schmidt and Krull .

Although his doctorate was awarded in 1911, it was a long and difficult road for Remak to be awarded his habilitation. He had submitted a thesis for his habilitation several times, and each time it had been rejected. However he persevered: as Schappacher writes in :

The Remak family had something of a tradition in slowly overcoming administrative hurdles at the University of Berlin.

In 1929 Remak eventually received his habilitation and the right to teach at the university, but there was no post for him. He did lecture on groups at the University of Berlin during the summer semester 1929 and these lectures were attended by Bernhard Neumann . The same year 1929 was one in which Remak published an essay on applications of mathematics to economics. He had broad interests, working on mathematical economics as well as group theory and the geometry of numbers.

In his 1929 essay Can economics become an exact science Remak writes:

I emphasise ... that I have not made any politico-economic statements, but only stated problems and indicated some calculational schemes, ... that it is still open as to if the outcome of the computation favours capitalism, socialism, or communism. ... these equations are very awkward to handle mathematically. There is, however, work in progress concerning the numerical solution of linear equations with several unknowns using electrical circuits.

In this work Remak is far sighted in seeing the applications that computers would have in the subject, but these were areas into which is was unwise for someone like Remak to be venturing in Germany at this time.

Remak made important contributions to algebraic number theory . In a publication in 1932 he gave a lower bound for the regulator of the units of an algebraic number field which depends only on the number of real conjugates and the number of pairs of complex conjugates. He went on to produce further extensions of this work which continued to be published ten years after his death. Further papers by Remak on finite algebraic number fields with unit defect appeared in 1952 and 1954.

On 30 January 1933 Hitler came to power and on 7 April 1933 the Civil Service Law provided the means of removing Jewish teachers from the universities, and of course remove those of Jewish descent from other roles. All civil servants who were not of Aryan descent (having one grandparent of the Jewish religion made someone non-Aryan) were to be retired. Under this law, Remak lost the right to teach at the university in September 1933.

Remak did not leave Berlin at this time, however, and he continued to live in the city and continued with his mathematical research. He was particularly interested in the exciting new mathematical developments which were written up in van der Waerden 's two volume Algebra published in 1930 which contained the new developments in ring theory by Emmy Noether , Hilbert , Dedekind and Artin .

Remak was married to a German woman, who did satisfy the Aryan condition, and this certainly made him wish to continue living in Germany. He might also have expected that it would also give him a certain protection against the Nazi policies.

On 10 July 1936 Schur wrote a report on Remak:

I consider Dr Robert Remak to be an outstanding researcher, who is distinguished by his versatility, originality, strength and brilliance. ... He may, without doubt, be called a leading scholar in the splendid and important field of geometry of numbers.

On the Kristallnacht (so called because of the broken glass in the streets on the following morning), the 9-10 November 1938, Remak was arrested. On that night 91 Jews were murdered, hundreds were seriously injured, and thousands were subjected to horrifying experiences. Thousands of Jewish businesses were burnt down together with over 150 synagogues. The Gestapo arrested 30,000 well-off Jews and a condition of their release was that they emigrate. Remak was put into the Sachsenhausen concentration camp near Berlin and his wife made strenuous attempts to obtain an affidavit which would allow them to emigrate to the United States.

Having failed to obtain permission to emigrate to the United States, Remak was released after over eight weeks in the concentration camp after his wife organised that he go to Amsterdam. This Remak did in April 1939 but his wife did not go to Amsterdam with him. Hans Freudenthal wrote to Hopf on 7 March 1940 describing the problems that Remak was causing:

My main problem is Remak, who is not satisfied with visiting my lectures but who also gives us no end of trouble. It mostly concerns conflicts with his landlords, who then immediately run to the alien registration office. ... also Remak's expression "then I'd rather go to a concentration camp" has infuriated enough people already. The matter is extremely serious; it is doubtful how long we can still prevent him from being expelled to Germany. ... It is understandable that his wife didn't want to come here, but demonstrates a lack of loyalty to him.

In fact Remak's wife divorced him which almost certainly made his position impossible. He was arrested by the German occupying forces in Amsterdam in 1942 and taken to the concentration camp in Auschwitz. He died there on some unknown day in 1942. Merzbach writes in that Remak's:

... refusal - in mathematics and everyday affairs - to compromise, or to be 'realistic', swept him out of the mainstream of mathematics and cost him his life.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland