علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Benjamin Osgood Peirce

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

11 Feb 1854

Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

14 Jan 1914

Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

بنيامين اوسجوود Peirce بالمجلس ، الاب ، كما يدعى بنجامين اوسجوود Peirce ، وكان التاجر. وحزبه (بنيامين اوسجوود الثاني ، موضوع هذه السيره الذاتية) وكانت الام mehitable اوسجوود seccomb. اوسجوود بنجامين الثاني في بيفرلي إلى المدرسة ، وهي إلى الشمال من بوسطن ، وبعد تركه للخدم التمهن ، كما نجارا. ثم دخلت كلية هارفارد مع درجة التخرج في الموضوع الرئيسي للفيزياء في 1876.

Peirce باركر حصل على الزماله التي سمحت له لمواصلة دراسته في اوروبا. وقال إنه تم التوصل اليه في المانيا 1877 وهناك تعهد البحوث التي ادت الى منح درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة لايبزيغ في 1879. ثم ذهب الى برلين حيث امضى العمل مع هيلمولز 1880. وقال انه مهتم بشكل خاص في دراسة خواص المغناطيسيه. في وقت لاحق من عام 1880 عاد الى الولايات المتحدة حيث عين في مدرسة بوسطن اللاتينية. في السنة التالية وقال انه عين مدرسا في الرياضيات في جامعة هارفارد حيث bult حتى تدريس الفيزياء الرياضية. الآن وبعد الحصول على وظيفة دائمة الاكاديميه ، Peirce متزوج isamella تيرنبول landreth في عام 1882 ؛ انهم ولدان.

Peirce في 1884 رقي الى استاذ مساعد في الرياضيات والفيزياء ، التي تعمل تحت لافرينج جوزيف هوليس من كان استاذا للرياضيات والفلسفه الطبيعيه في جامعة هارفرد. Peirce وساعد في تطوير تدريس الرياضيات والفيزياء في جامعة هارفارد من قبل زميله byerly وليام ه. بالاضافة الى انها تدرس حساب التفاضل والتكامل وتطبيقاتها ، وبناء لمدة سنتين وبطبيعة الحال Peirce التي تدرس ابتداء من byerly في سنوات متعاقبه. كل كتب نصا على اساس نصف من المواد ولكن بطبيعة الحال ، نظرا لهيكل من وبطبيعة الحال ، كان من الطبيعي حيث انها اسهمت في الكتب على حد سواء. Byerly نص من عناصر متكاملة لحساب التفاضل ونشرت لاول مرة في 1881 ، في حين ان نص Peirce عناصر من الناحية النظريه من المحتمل وظيفة من انصار نيوتن نشرت لاول مرة في 1886. كل هذه النصوص لا تزال تنمو مع مزيد من الطبعات. وكمؤشر للتعاون بين Peirce وbyerly على كتابين ، ونلاحظ ان Peirce نشرت جدول التكاملات كتكمله لهذه الطبعه التي byerly المشار اليها في عام 1889.

جوزيف لافرينج تقاعد في عام 1888 وPeirce عين خلفا له هوليس ان يصبح استاذا للرياضيات والفلسفه الطبيعيه. وقال انه من المهم الان اكثر من اي رقم قياسي في الرياضيات التطبيقيه في الولايات المتحدة قريبا وقال انه تلقى الاعتراف على انجازاته. وقال انه تم انتخاب مجلس رياضية المجتمع الاميركي ، ويعملون من 1896 الى 1898. وكان مؤسس الماديه للمجتمع الامريكي عندما بدأ فى عام 1899 وانتخب عضوا في الاكاديميه الوطنية للعلوم (الولايات المتحدة) في عام 1906. وقال انه يشرفه مع انتخاب لالاجنبية اكاديميات رياضية مثل داءره باليرمو والماديه للمجتمع من فرنسا.

باتيمان ، في كتابه ، يقول ان Peirce هي :

... ماجستير في أساليب التعامل مع من المعادلات التفاضليه الجزءيه الفيزياء الرياضية.

لصفاته الشخصيه ، أحد زملائه وصفه (انظر) على أنها :

... الإفراط في التواضع حتى ليكاد يتوقف عن ان يكون فضيله.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Benjamin Osgood Peirce

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

11 Feb 1854

Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

14 Jan 1914

Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

Presentation
Benjamin Osgood Peirce's father, also named Benjamin Osgood Peirce, was a merchant. His (Benjamin Osgood II, the subject of this biography) mother was Mehitable Osgood Seccomb. Benjamin Osgood II attended school in Beverly, which is north of Boston, and after leaving he served an apprenticeship as a carpenter. He then entered Harvard College graduating with a degree in his main subject of physics in 1876.

Peirce was awarded a Parker Fellowship which allowed him to continue his studies in Europe. He reached Germany in 1877 and there undertook research which led to the award of a Ph.D. from the University of Leipzig in 1879. He then went to Berlin where he spent 1880 working with Helmholtz . He was particularly interested in studying properties of magnetism. Later in 1880 he returned to the United States where he was appointed to Boston Latin School. In the following year he was appointed as an Instructor in Mathematics at Harvard where he bult up the teaching of mathematical physics. Having now secured a permanent academic post, Peirce married Isamella Turnbull Landreth in 1882; they had two children.

In 1884 Peirce was promoted to Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Physics, working under Joseph Lovering who was Hollis Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy at Harvard. Peirce was assisted in developing the teaching of mathematical physics at Harvard by his colleague William E Byerly. Together they taught calculus and its applications, constructing a two year course which Peirce and Byerly taught starting in alternate years. Each wrote a text based on half the material of the course but, given the structure of their course, it was natural that they contributed to both books. Byerly's text Elements of the integral calculus was first published in 1881, while Peirce's text Elements of the theory of the Newtonian potential function was first published in 1886. Both these texts continued to grow with further editions. As an indication of the cooperation of Peirce and Byerly on the two books, we note that Peirce published a table of integrals as a supplement to the edition which Byerly brought out in 1889.

Joseph Lovering retired in 1888 and Peirce was appointed to succeed him becoming Hollis Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy. He was now an important figure in applied mathematics in the United States and he soon received recognition for his achievements. He was elected to the Council of the American Mathematical Society , serving from 1896 to 1898. He was a founder of the American Physical Society when it began in 1899 and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (United States) in 1906. He was honoured with election to foreign academies such as the Mathematical Circle of Palermo and the Physical Society of France.

Bateman , writing in , says that Peirce was a:

... master of the methods dealing with the partial differential equations of mathematical physics.

As to his personal qualities, one of his colleagues described him (see ) as having:

... modesty so excessive as to almost cease to be a virtue.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland