علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Shigefumi Mori

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

23 Feb 1951

Nagoya, Japan

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

Shigefumi موري حضر جامعة كيوتو وحصل على بكالوريوس آداب من هناك فى عام 1973 وماجستير في بلده عام 1975. في تلك السنة وقال انه تم تعيين مساعد في كيوتو وهناك لدراسة الدكتوراه تحت اشراف masayoshi nagata. وقال انه حصل على الدكتوراه في عام 1978 لأطروحة فإن التشابه الشكلي ابيليان من شبكات بعض الاصناف.

بعد منح درجة الدكتوراه من بلده ، كما لا تزال موري مساعد في كيوتو حتى عام 1980 عندما عين استاذ الرياضيات في جامعة ناغويا. وقد رقى الى استاذ مساعد في عام 1982 وعام 1988 ، الى استاذ متفرغ. موري في عام 1990 عاد الى كرسي في جامعة كيوتو.

وخلال الفترة من 1977 الى 1988 وامضى الكثير من الوقت في الولايات المتحدة وقال انه على الرغم من المواقف التي عقدت في اليابان. وقال انه استاذ زائر في جامعة هارفارد خلال 1977-1980 ، ومعهد الدراسات المتقدمه في 1981-82 ، 1985-87 جامعة كولومبيا وجامعة يوتا لفترات خلال 1987-89 و 1991-92 اثناء مرة اخرى.

موري يعمل على معادلات حدوديه. لوضع عمله في وجهات النظر ينبغي ان نلاحظ ، كما هو الحال في العديد من مجالات الرياضيات ، والتصنيف هو الهدف النهائي. كما يكتب في hironaka :

... لتصنيف انواع جبري كان دائما مشكلة أساسية من معادلات حدوديه وحتى النهائي الحلم جبري علماء الهندسه.

الرئيسية وتم احراز تقدم في تصنيف جبري السطوح خلال الجزء الاول من القرن ال 20 العظيم الايطاليه جبري علماء الهندسه بقيادة Castelnuovo ، enriques وseveri. احراز تقدم في هذا الخط مع استمرار zariski 'مساهمه خلال الخمسينات ، تليها Kodaira' العمل في العقد التالي. موري عمل ملحوظا تحقق من استمرار الجهود المبذولة في تصنيف معادلات حدوديه وبطرق كثيرة ويقدم الفصل المناسب في التقدم المحرز في معادلات حدوديه خلال القرن ال 20.

موري وقد منحت وسام في مجالات عام 1990 المؤتمر الدولي الذي عقد في المدينة التي كان قد درس بصفته طالبا ، وهي كيوتو في اليابان. وتلقى هذه الميداليه لبعض العمل الرائع على مدى 12 سنوات. وقال انه يعمل على جبري الانابيب المتفرعه وافره الظل حزم وكان اول لاثبات Hartshorne التخمين في عام 1978. هذا التخمين ، التي طرحت في عام 1970 ، ادعت ان اسقاطي المساحات هي الا سلسه كاملة جبري الاصناف وافره الظل حزم.

موري في عام 1981 الانتهاء من تصنيف فانو 3 - طيات وعملت على الحد الأدنى من البرنامج النموذجي.

Hironaka تحدث موري للعمل والتي ادت الى منح وسام للحقول وقال :

أعمق وتطور مثير في معادلات حدوديه خلال العقد الماضى او نحو ذلك هو الحد الادنى من البرنامج النموذجي او موري برنامج فيما يتعلق ث مشاكل التصنيف جبري من ثلاثة أصناف من البعد. Shigefumi موري بدا البرنامج بشكل حاسم مع تقنيه جديدة وقوية ، وجهت الاتجاه العام للبحث مع بعض المتعاونين جيد على طول الطريق ، واخيرا وحتى الانتهاء من البرنامج نفسه عن طريق التغلب على صعوبات الماضي.

موري وقد تلقت العديد من الجوائز الاخرى على عمله الرائع. قبل أن يحصل على وسام الحقول في عام 1990 كان قد تم بالفعل منح اليابان رياضية المجتمع بالمجلس yanaga الجاءزه في عام 1983 ، جائزة chunichi الثقافة في عام 1984. في عام 1988 ، بالاشتراك مع kawamata y ، حصل على جائزة من اليابان لجمعية رياضية :

... من عمل ممتاز في الحد الادنى لنظرية نموذج جبري الاصناف.

في عام 1989 ، حصل على جائزة لأنوي :

... من عمل ممتاز في نظرية الابعاد جبري اعلى الاصناف وبصفة خاصة من اجل اثبات وجود الحد الادنى من 3 نماذج لأنواع الابعاد جبري.

نفس السنة التي قال انه حصل على جائزة وسام الميادين ، وفي عام 1990 ، حصل على جائزة موري جائزة كول في الجبر من اميركا والرياضية في المجتمع. الاقتباس لمنح التحديق :

وتوصي اللجنة بالإجماع أن كول عام 1990 في الجبر جائزة تمنح للshigefumi موري لعمله البارز على تصنيف انواع جبري. موري اتخذت خطوات حاسمة على مدى عشر سنوات في توسيع النظريه الكلاسيكيه للجبري على اسطح البعد الثالث : قبل موري للاختراقات ويبدو ان هذه المشكلة بعيدة عن المنال. موري جميلة أيضا يجعل العمل majr تغلغل الى أعلى في ابعاد المشكلة.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Shigefumi Mori

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

23 Feb 1951

Nagoya, Japan

Presentation Wikipedia
Shigefumi Mori attended Kyoto University and he received his B.A. from there in 1973 and his M.A. in 1975. In that year he was appointed as an assistant at Kyoto and studied there for his doctorate under Masayoshi Nagata's supervision. He was awarded his doctorate in 1978 for a thesis The endomorphism rings of some abelian varieties.

After the award of his Ph.D., Mori remained as an assistant at Kyoto until 1980 when he was appointed as a lecturer in mathematics at the University of Nagoya. He was promoted to assistant professor in 1982 and, in 1988, to full professor. In 1990 Mori returned to a chair at Kyoto University.

During the years from 1977 to 1988 he spent much time in the United States despite the positions he held in Japan. He was visiting professor at Harvard during 1977-1980, the Institute for Advanced Study in 1981-82, Columbia University 1985-87 and the University of Utah for periods during 1987-89 and again during 1991-92.

Mori works on algebraic geometry . To put his work in perspective we should note that, as in many areas of mathematics, classification is the ultimate aim. As Hironaka writes in :

... to classify algebraic varieties has always been a fundamental problem of algebraic geometry and even an ultimate dream of algebraic geometers.

Major progress was made on classifying algebraic surfaces during the first part of the 20th century by the great Italian algebraic geometers led by Castelnuovo , Enriques and Severi . Progress in this line continued with Zariski 's contribution during the 1950s, followed by Kodaira 's work in the following decade. Mori's work achieved a remarkable continuation of classification efforts in algebraic geometry and in many ways provides a fitting chapter in the progress of algebraic geometry through the 20th century.

Mori was awarded a Fields Medal at the 1990 International Congress which was held in the city in which he had studied as a student, namely Kyoto in Japan. He received this Medal for some remarkable work over a 12 year period. He worked on algebraic manifolds with ample tangent bundles and was the first to prove the Hartshorne conjecture in 1978. This conjecture, posed in 1970, claimed that projective spaces are the only smooth complete algebraic varieties with ample tangent bundles.

In 1981 Mori completed the classification of Fano 3-folds and worked on the minimal model programme.

Hironaka , speaking of Mori's work which led to the award of the Fields Medal said :

The most profound and exciting development in algebraic geometry during the last decade or so was the Minimal Model Program or Mori's Program in connection with th classification problems of algebraic varieties of dimension three. Shigefumi Mori initiated the program with a decisively new and powerful technique, guided the general research direction with some good collaborators along the way, and finally finished up the program by himself overcoming the last difficulty.

Mori has received many other awards for his outstanding work. Before receiving the Fields Medal in 1990 he had already been awarded the Japan Mathematical Society 's Yanaga Prize in 1983, the Chunichi Culture Prize in 1984. In 1988, jointly with Y Kawamata, he received a Prize from the Japan Mathematical Society for:

...outstanding work in the minimal model theory for algebraic varieties.

In 1989 he received the Inoue Prize for:

...outstanding work in the theory of higher dimensional algebraic varieties and in particular for the proof of existence of minimal models for 3-dimensional algebraic varieties.

The same year as he was awarded the Fields Medal, in 1990, Mori was awarded the Cole Prize in Algebra from the American Mathematical Society . The citation for the award stares :

The committee unanimously recommends that the 1990 Cole Prize in Algebra be awarded to Shigefumi Mori for his outstanding work on the classification of algebraic varieties. Mori took the decisive steps over a ten-year period in extending the classical theory of algebraic surfaces to dimension three: prior to Mori's breakthroughs this problem seemed out of reach. Mori's beautiful work also makes majr inroads into the problem in higher dimensions.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland