علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Leon Mirsky

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

19 Dec 1918

Russia

1 Dec 1983

Sheffield, England

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ليون mirsky بالمجلس الاسرة غادر روسيا لالمانيا عندما كان 8 سنوات ، ولكن في عام 1933 انهم اجبروا على مغادرة المانيا واستقر في برادفورد في انكلترا. ليون دخلت بكلية الملك ، لندن ، في عام 1936. في اول درس للدراسة بعد الوسيطه والتي كان فيها على منحة لدراسة لنيل درجة علمية في الرياضيات. وخلال هذا الوقت وقال انه اتخذ عاطفي مصلحة في نظرية الاعداد وأصبحت معجب كبير من ادموند لانداو.

ليون وتخرج من لندن في عام 1940 وبدأ العمل على ماجستير بيد ان الحرب يعني ان من طلاب كلية الملك وأرسلت الى جامعة بريستول وانه كان هناك انجاز على درجة الماجستير. وفي عام 1942 عين في جامعة شيفيلد ، وفيما عدا لتحديد القصيره في مانشستر وبريستول (العمل مع Heilbronn) ، وكان لقضاء بقية حياته المهنيه في شيفيلد (حيث كان للاشراف على العمل الذي كان على درجة الدكتوراه منحت في عام 1949).

Mirsky كان ثلاثة مجالات رئيسية للبحث.

  1. نظرية الاعداد ، حيث درس ص خالية من الارقام ، اي القسمه على ارقام لا من قبل ص ث سلطة اي عدد صحيح. وقال انه تم الحصول عليها من متناظره vinogradov بالمجلس ، الى نتيجة حول تمثيل عدد صحيح فردي بأنها مجموع ثلاث يعبي ، goldbach التخمين عن تمثيل عدد صحيح بل انها مجموع اثنين يعبي ، والتوأم يعبي التخمين.

  2. جبر خطي ، حيث انه كتب تقريره الشهير نص مقدمة لجبر خطي (1955) ، ومضت الى نشر 35 ورقات بشأن هذا الموضوع. وقال انه ثبت على وجه الخصوص النتائج على وجود معامل التحول الخطى نظرا لمصفوفات مع قطر وبالنظر الى العناصر.

  3. Combinatorics ، حيث كتب ايضا كتاب هام متقاطع وقال انه من الناحية النظريه والافكار المتقدمه قادمة من قاعة بالمجلس ، مبرهنه :

    اسرة محدودة لديها نظام مجموعات متميزه من ممثلي واذا كان إلا إذا كان كل من الاتحاد ك مجموعات للاسرة يتضمن على الاقل العناصر ك.

واشار الى نجاح له كتابين ، جبر خطى ومتقاطع نظرية المؤلف من ان يكتب :

... يشهد على mirsky هدية للعرض ؛ كانت السمة المميزه له الجمع بين الاناقه وضوح.

Mirsky المواهب للتعليم وكان يرتبط على نحو واضح له الهدايا كما هو الكاتب والوارد وصفها في ما يلي :

ولد ليون كان المعلم. واعرب عن ترحيبه التحدي المتمثل في تقديم كله من الناحية النظريه أو دليل واحد فقط في منطقيه وفعالة ، بطريقة واضحة وانيقه. ... له محاضرات... وكانت الفرديه العالية الأداء. ولم تكن هناك ابدا اي اشارة من الالفه مع جمهوره ليون ودائما يلبس رداء التأكيد على شكلي من مناسبة. ومن ناحية اخرى ، يمكن ان بقعة تنبيه الطلاب خلافه مع جميع النكات تماما في مواجهة مباشرة ولم يطرأ اي تغيير للنبرة.

وأعرب عن اعتقاده بأن الرياضيات البحث لا ينبغي ان يكون انفرادي الاحتلال ، ولكن يعتقد اعتقادا راسخا في التعاون مع الآخرين :

وقال انه لا سيما حريصة على تبادل الأفكار على مستوى البحث ويعتقد اعتقادا راسخا ان الابحاث التي ينبغي ان تكون على الدوام التعاونيه بدلا من التنافس المشروع.

خارج الرياضيات mirsky قد طائفة واسعة من المصالح :

علمه الأدب والتاريخ والفلسفه وكانت واسعة ، في بعض المجالات ، المهنيه تقريبا. كثير من زملائه السابقين سيفتقد حافز للمحادثات معه بشأن هذه ومجموعة من المواضيع الاخرى.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Leon Mirsky

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

19 Dec 1918

Russia

1 Dec 1983

Sheffield, England

Presentation
Leon Mirsky's family left Russia for Germany when he was 8 years old, but in 1933 they were forced to leave Germany and settled in Bradford, England. Leon entered King's College, London, in 1936. At first he studied for the Intermediate examination after which he was awarded a scholarship to study for a degree in mathematics. During this time he took a passionate interest in the theory of numbers and became a great admirer of Edmund Landau .

Leon graduated from London in 1940 and began work on an M.Sc. However the war meant that students from King's College were sent to Bristol University and it was there that he completed his Master's degree. In 1942 he was appointed to Sheffield University and, except for short spell at Manchester and Bristol (working with Heilbronn ), he was to spend the rest of his career at Sheffield (where he was to work unsupervised for a Ph.D. which was awarded in 1949).

Mirsky had three main areas of research.

  1. The theory of numbers, where he studied r-free numbers, i.e. numbers not divisible by the r th power of any integer. He obtained analogues of Vinogradov 's result on the representation of an odd integer as the sum of three primes, the Goldbach conjecture on the representation of an even integer as the sum of two primes, and the twin primes conjecture .

  2. Linear algebra, where he wrote his famous text An introduction to linear algebra (1955) and went on to publish 35 papers on the topic. In particular he proved results on the existence of matrices with given eigenvalues and given diagonal elements.

  3. Combinatorics, where he also wrote an important book Transversal Theory and he developed ideas coming from Hall 's theorem:

    A finite family of sets has a system of distinct representatives if and only if the union of every k sets of the family contains at least k elements .

Referring to the success of his two books, Linear Algebra and Transversal Theory the author of writes that it:

... bears witness to Mirsky's gift for exposition; his hallmark was elegance combined with clarity.

Mirsky's talent for teaching was clearly related to his gifts as a writer and is described in as follows:

Leon was a born teacher. He welcomed the challenge of presenting a whole theory or just one proof in a logical, efficient, clear and elegant manner. ... His lectures ... were highly individual performances. There was never any hint of familiarity with his audience and Leon always wore a gown to emphasize the formality of the occasion. On the other hand, the alert student could spot a succession of jokes all made with an entirely straight face and no change of tone.

He believed that mathematics research should not be a solitary occupation, but firmly believed in collaborating with others :

He was particularly eager to share ideas at research level and firmly believed that research should always be a cooperative rather than competitive venture.

Outside mathematics Mirsky had a wide variety of interests :

His knowledge of literature, history and philosophy was wide and, in some areas, almost professional. Many of his former colleagues will miss the stimulus of conversations with him on these and a host of other subjects.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland