علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

John Willard Milnor

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

20 Feb 1931

Orange, New Jersey, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

وكان جون Milnor تعليمه في جامعة برينستون ، وحصوله على بكالوريوس في عام 1951. وهو كان بدأ البحث في برينستون وبعد التخرج ، في العام 1953 قبل الانتهاء من بلدة دراسات الدكتوراه ، وعين في كلية برينستون.

Milnor في عام 1954 حصل على شهادة الدكتوراه لاطروحته isotopy خطية من وصلات تحت اشراف رالف فوكس. Milnor لا تزال على الموظفين في برينستون حيث كان الفريد سلون ف زميل من 1955 حتى عام 1959. وقد رقى الى استاذ في عام 1960 ثم في عام 1962 ، تم تعيين Milnor الى هنري putman الرئاسة.

Milnor وقد منحت وسام في الميادين 1962 المؤتمر الدولي للعلماء الرياضيات في ستوكهولم. معظم له الانجاز الرائع ، الذي لعب دورا كبيرا في منح وسام للحقول ، وقال 7 في دليل على ان الابعاد المجال يمكن ان يكون لها هياكل عدة فرق. هذا العمل فتح مجال جديد للطوبولوجيا تفاضليه.

Milnor اظهرت ان 28 قابل للاختلاف وجود هياكل مختلفة عن الابعاد السبعه المجال. وميز بين هذه الهياكل باستخدام الثوابت العدديه على اساس تود متعددو الحدود. وقد تود متعددو الحدود لاول مرة في دراسة الهندسه وجبري ومما يثير الدهشه ان هذا الدور الاساسي الذي تضطلع به في تصنيف الانابيب المتفرعه. والسبب ان Milnor يمكن استخدامها للتمييز بين خصائص فرق الانابيب المتفرعه من انهم يجب ان الحساب الممتلكات ، التي تنطوي على اعداد برنولي ، والتي تعكس في وعميق لا تفهم تماما هذه الطريقة الفارق الممتلكات.

الاشارات الى اعطاء اشارة جيدة للتأثير على نطاق واسع Milnor عمل حتى عام 1992 (عندما كانت هذه المواد المكتوبة). هذه المادة هو دراسة استقصاءيه للMilnor عمل في الجبر ، وخاصة في ك جبري - من الناحية النظريه ، حيث عملة لا يزال لها تأثيرات هامة.

المادة تنظر الى تسع ورقات Milnor الذي كان قد كتب على الهندسه التفاضليه. ويناقش Milnor للنظرية ، مما يدل على ان مجموع انحناء عقده على الأقل 4 π. ومن بين النتائج الأخرى التي نوقشت هي نتيجة للMilnor تبين انه لا يمكن ان نقبل بالضروره "الاستماع الى الشكل" من 16 الابعاد نتوء مستدير ، واعطاء نتيجة اخرى العليا والسفلى القيود على عدد من الكلمات متميزه من طول معين ولدت بشكل محدود في الفريق الفرعي الاساسية لل فريق.

في الخمسينات من القرن الماضي لم Milnor قدر كبير من العمل على طوبولوجيا جبريه التي تجري مناقشتها في. وقال انه شيد فان تصنيف فضاء من طوبولوجي والقى الفريق الهندسي لتحقيق متعلق بالاتصالات احاديه الاتجاه شبه معقدة. كما درس الجبر وsteenrod المزدوجه ، والتحقيق معهم وهيكل hopf الجبر ، ودرس خاصيه الطبقات وعلاقتها الفيزياء الرياضية.

Milnor للاهتمام في الوقت الراهن هي القوى المحركه ، لا سيما holomorphic ديناميات. عملة يتلخص في ديناميات بيتر makienko في استعراضه لل:

ومن الواضح الآن ان ديناميات الابعاد منخفضه الى حد كبير التي بدأتها Milnor عمل ، هو جزء أساسي من العام الحركيه نظرية النظم. Milnor يلقي عينه على نظرية النظم الديناميكيه في منتصف - 1970 س. وبحلول ذلك الوقت فان البرنامج smale في ديناميات قد اكتملت. Milnor النهج الذي كان من المقرر ان تبدأ اكثر من البداية ، وعند النظر الى أبسط الأسر غير بديهي من الخرائط. الخيار الاول ، بعد واحد ديناميات ، اصبح هذا الموضوع من ورقة مشتركة مع thurston. حتى في حالة وجود خريطه الاحادي الواسطه ، وهذا هو ، مع واحدة واحدة الى نقطة حرجة ، وتبين ان تكون غنية للغاية. هذا العمل يمكن ان يقارن مع poincaré بالمجلس العمل على داءره diffeomorphisms ، قبل 100 سنة والتي قد دشن النوعيه نظرية النظم الديناميكيه. Milnor عمل فتحت العديد من الاتجاهات الجديدة في هذا المجال ، وقدم لنا العديد من المفاهيم الأساسية ، وهو ما يشكل تحديا للمشاكل ونيس النظريات.

Milnor وقد تلقت العديد من الجوائز للعمل. حصل على الميداليه الوطنية للعلوم فى عام 1967 وانتخب عضوا في الاكاديميه الوطنية للعلوم ، والاكاديميه الامريكية للفنون والعلوم. وهو عضو في الفلسفه المجتمع الأميركي ، ولعب دورا رئيسيا فى المجتمع الامريكى رياضية. وفي آب / اغسطس 1982 Milnor تلقي جائزة ليروي ف ستيل :

... لورقة اساسية ودائمة للأهمية ، على الانابيب المتفرعه homeomorphic إلى 7 - المجال ، تاريخ الرياضيات 64 (1956) ، 399-405.

ومن بين العديد من الخدمات المقدمة لديه هي التحرير والرياضيات والعمل ، ويجري تحرير حوليات الرياضيات من عام 1962. ومنذ عام 1988 وقال انه تم في جامعة ولاية نيويورك في حجري لا تحتمل.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

John Willard Milnor

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

20 Feb 1931

Orange, New Jersey, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
John Milnor was educated at the University of Princeton, receiving his A.B. in 1951. He began research at Princeton after graduating and, in 1953 before completing his doctoral studies, he was appointed to the faculty in Princeton.

In 1954 Milnor received his doctorate for his thesis Isotopy of Links written under Ralph Fox's supervision. Milnor remained on the staff at Princeton where he was an Alfred P Sloan fellow from 1955 until 1959. He was promoted to professor in 1960 then, in 1962, Milnor was appointed to the Henry Putman chair.

Milnor was awarded a Fields Medal at the 1962 International Congress of Mathematicians in Stockholm. His most remarkable achievement, which played a major role in the award of the Fields Medal, was his proof that a 7-dimensional sphere can have several differential structures. This work opened up the new field of differential topology .

Milnor showed that 28 different differentiable structures exist on the seven-dimensional sphere. He distinguished between these structures using numerical invariants based on the Todd polynomials. The Todd polynomials were first studied in algebraic geometry and it is surprising that they play this fundamental role in classification of manifolds . The reason that Milnor could use them to distinguish the differential properties of manifolds is because they have arithmetic properties, involving the Bernoulli numbers , which reflect in a deep and not fully understood way these differential properties.

The references to give a good indication of the wide influence of Milnor's work up to 1992 (when these articles were written). The article is a survey of Milnor's work in algebra, particularly in algebraic K-theory, where his work continues to have important influences.

The article looks at nine papers which Milnor had written on differential geometry . It discusses Milnor's theorem, which shows that the total curvature of a knot is at least 4π. Among other results discussed are Milnor's result showing that we cannot necessarily "hear the shape" of a 16-dimensional torus, and another result giving upper and lower bounds on the number of distinct words of a given length in a finitely generated subgroup of the fundamental group .

In the 1950s Milnor did a substantial amount of work on algebraic topology which is discussed in . He constructed the classifying space of a topological group and gave a geometric realisation of a semi-simplicial complex. He also studied the Steenrod algebra and its dual, investigated the structure of Hopf algebras, and studied characteristic classes and their relation to mathematical physics.

Milnor's current interest is dynamics, especially holomorphic dynamics. His work in dynamics is summarised by Peter Makienko in his review of :

It is evident now that low-dimensional dynamics, to a large extent initiated by Milnor's work, is a fundamental part of general dynamical systems theory. Milnor cast his eye on dynamical systems theory in the mid-1970s. By that time the Smale program in dynamics had been completed. Milnor's approach was to start over from the very beginning, looking at the simplest nontrivial families of maps. The first choice, one-dimensional dynamics, became the subject of his joint paper with Thurston . Even the case of a unimodal map, that is, one with a single critical point, turns out to be extremely rich. This work may be compared with Poincaré 's work on circle diffeomorphisms, which 100 years before had inaugurated the qualitative theory of dynamical systems. Milnor's work has opened several new directions in this field, and has given us many basic concepts, challenging problems and nice theorems.

Milnor has received many awards for work. He received the National Medal of Science in 1967 and was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences , the American Academy of Arts and Science . He is a member of the American Philosophy Society and has played a major role in the American Mathematical Society . In August 1982 Milnor received the Leroy P Steele Prize:

...for a paper of fundamental and lasting importance, On manifolds homeomorphic to the 7-sphere, Annals of Mathematics 64 (1956), 399-405.

Among the many services he has rendered to mathematics is editorial work, being editor of the Annals of Mathematics from 1962. Since 1988 he has been at the State University of New York at Stony Brook.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland