علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Margaret Dusa Waddington McDuff

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

18 Oct 1945

London, England

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

Dusa mcduff هو معمد مارغريت dusa Waddington. والدها ، كونراد هال Waddington ، تم تعيين استاذ علم الوراثه في جامعة ادنبره في اسكتلندا في حين ان والدتها ، مارغريت جستن بلانكو الابيض ، وكان مهندس معماري وكان من وظيفة الخدمة المدنيه في ادنبره. Dusa تعليمه في مدرسة للبنات في ادنبره ، وعلى الرغم من مستوى جيد وكان اقل من الاولاد في المدارس ، ومع ذلك وقالت انها جيدة بشكل استثنائي أستاذ الرياضيات. وكتبت :

أردت دائما أن يكون عالم الرياضيات (وبصرف النظر عن الوقت عندما كان عمري احدى عشرة عندما اردت ان تكون زوجة المزارع) ، ويفترض ان يكون لها وأود أن الوظيفي ، ولكن لم تكن لدي اي فكرة عن كيفية القيام بما يلي : لم أكن ندرك ان احد الخيارات التي ادلى بها حول اهمية التعليم وليس لدي اي فكرة بأنني قد تواجه صعوبات حقيقية والصراعات في التوفيق بين متطلبات الحياة الوظيفيه في الحياة مع امرأة.

وبحلول الوقت dusa التي انتهت ولايتها في التعليم الثانوي في ادنبره وقالت انها لي صديق. وادى ذلك الى اختارها لجامعة ادنبره لها الدراسات ، برفض منح الدراسيه التي كانت قد فازت على الذهاب الى جامعة كمبردج. وخلال السنوات بلدها الجامعي في ادنبره dusa متزوجة ولها صديق اسمه احاطت تصبح dusa mcduff. منح درجة البكالوريوس من ادنبره في عام 1967 ، ذهب الى dusa كلية girton ، كمبريدج لها لدراسات الدكتوراه.

في كامبردج mcduff اشرف الجأ ريد وعملت على المشاكل في التحليل الوظيفي. هذه المرة زوجها يتبع لها كامبردج. وقالت انها تحل مشكلة صعبة علي جبر فون نيومان ، وبناء العديد من العوامل المختلفة بلا حدود من النوع الثاني 1 ، ونشر اعمال في تاريخ الرياضيات.

بعد ان حصلت على الدكتوراه في عام 1971 mcduff عين لمدة سنتين مجلس بحوث العلوم زمالات ما بعد الدكتوراه في كمبردج. ثم mcduff تتبع زوجها ومرة اخرى ، هذه المرة مع لمدة ستة أشهر لزيارة موسكو. وقال انه يدرس الروسيه symbolist الشاعر innokenty annensky وdusa اي خطط محددة ، ومع ذلك فإن من ان تتحول للغاية المربح لزيارة بلدها رياضيا. واجتمعت Israil gelfand في موسكو وقال انه قدم لها تقدير اعمق للرياضيات. Mcduff يقول :

Gelfand لي بالحديث عن دهشتها من الرياضيات كما لو كان الشعر. قال ذات مرة عن ورقة طويلة الوقوف مع انها تحتوي على الصيغ الغامضة بدايات وهي فكرة انه لا يمكن الا ان اشارة والذي كان قد نجح في تحقيق ابدا بشكل اكثر وضوحا. كان لي دائما الفكر والرياضيات على انها أكثر وضوحا بكثير : هي صيغة الى صيغة ، وجبر هو الجبر ، ولكن وجدت القنافذ gelfand الكامنة في الصفوف من سلاسل الاطياف!

وبعد زيارة موسكو ، حيث درست gelfand فوكس cohomology ، mcduff عاد إلى كمبردج. هناك حضرت فرانك ادامز 'طوبولوجيا ومحاضرات حول هذا الوقت اول طفل لها ولد. غير ان بحثها في هذا الوقت لم يكن مركزه جيدا وقالت انها بدأت تفقد طريقها قليلا. عين لمنصب محاضر في جامعة يورك فى عام 1973 وقالت انها بدأت العمل مع غرايم segal على تصنيف مساحات من الفئات. الى حد ما وقالت انها رأت ان هذا دكتوراه ثانية لاستعادة الاتجاه لبحثها.

1974 ربما كان نقطة تحول بالنسبة لmcduff. وقالت انها وجهت الدعوة الى قضاء عام في معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا. وكتبت :

وكان ذلك نقطة تحول. على الرغم من وجود أدركت كيف كنت بعيدا عن كونه رياضيات شعرت انني يمكن ان تكون فحسب ، بل ايضا ان يدرك ان الاول يمكن ان نفعل شيئا حيال ذلك. لأول مرة ، التقيت بعض النساء الاخريات من الاول ويمكن أن تتصل أيضا من كانوا يحاولون ان يصبحوا علماء الرياضيات. أصبحت أقل بكثير السلبي : الاول ينطبق على معهد الدراسات المتقدمه في وحصل ، وحتى لو كان رياضي الفكره مرة اخرى ، والتي نمت الى ورقة مشتركة مع مجموعة segal على نظرية الانجاز.

العودة في انكلترا ، mcduff فصلها عن زوجها ، وبعد ذلك بقليل ، وقد تم تعيينها في وظيفة في جامعة وارويك في عام 1976. Mcduff كان صديق له ، رياضيات جاك Milnor من يعمل في برينستون. بعد سنتين في وارويك ، mcduff استقال بعد وجود دائم لها وقبلت untenured وظيفة في جامعة ولاية نيويورك في حجري وقالت انها لا تحتمل بحيث يمكن ان تكون قريبة من Milnor. Mcduff يقول :

وما زلت عملت كثيرا في العزله ولا يوجد الا القليل من الناس مهتمون في ما فعلت ، ولكنها كانت ضروريه التدريب. كان لي بعض الافكار ، واكتسبت الثقة في بلدي قدرات تقنيه. وبطبيعة الحال ، انني تأثرت وضوح جاك Milnor بالمجلس ، الى الافكار والنهج والرياضيات ، وقد ساعد وتشجيعه. ظللت وظيفتي في حجري لا تحتمل ، حتى وان كان يعني طويلة وسافر الى برنستون في عطلة نهاية الاسبوع العلاقة ، حيث انه من المهم جدا لي أن لا تنازل عن وظيفتي كما فعلت امي. وبعد عدة سنوات ، وتزوجت وجاك كان الطفل الثاني.

من اوائل الثمانينات وعملت على الربط mcduff طوبولوجيا. خلال فترة التفرغ في المعهد العلمي للدراسات العليا في باريس في عام 1985 ودرست gromov عمل عن اساليب الاهليلجيه التي اصبحت أساسا لكثير من العمل في وقت لاحق لها. وقالت انها فى عام 1984 رقي الى استاذ كرسي في حجري لا تحتمل ، ويجري رئيس قسم الرياضيات وهناك من عام 1991 الى 93.

Mcduff وقد تلقت العديد من الاوسمه الرياضية لبلدها انجازات راءعه. في عام 1991 وقالت انها حصلت على جائزة روث lyttle satter جائزة رياضية في المجتمع الامريكي. الاسعار لأننا قدمنا في هذه المادة ماخوذه من خطاب قبول وقدمت على بمناسبه عرض للجائزة. العديد من الاوسمه الاخرى باتت في طريقها ، ولعل اكثر المرموقه التي انتخابها زميل الجمعية الملكيه في لندن عام 1994. الاقتباس لانتخابها لزماله يصبح نصها كما يلي :

Mcduff هو معروف افضل لعملها في مجال الهندسه من هياكل متعددة الابعاد. عملها في هندسة الربط ، والتحليل الوظيفي diffeomorphism المجموعات والتفاهم وقدمت نتائج غير متوقعة في مجموعة كاملة من مناطق ذات اهمية كبيرة. وعملها على أساس رياضي على نطاق واسع وعميق الفهم ، وفتح فرع جديد للغاية خصبة للرياضيات.

وقالت انها في عام 1995 انتخب زميلا في الاكاديميه الامريكية للفنون والعلوم.

وبالاضافة الى هذه الألقاب والاوسمه mcduff وقد وجهت دعوة الى اعطاء العديد من المحاضرات المرموقه. وقالت انها اعطت عنوان ودعت في المجتمع الاميركي الرياضية الشتويه فى اجتماع عقد فى اتلانتا عام 1988 ، التقدم المحرز في الرياضيات اول محاضرة في المجتمع الامريكي رياضية الاجتماع الصيفي في بولدر في عام 1989 ، دعت معالجة فى المؤتمر الدولى لعلماء الرياضيات فى كيوتو فى عام 1990 ، و أ في الجلسة العامة في المؤتمر الاوروبي الثاني فى بودابست فى عام 1996.

على الرغم من المساهمات لبحثها والرياضيات وقد تم الرائع فعلا ، mcduff اعطت لخدمة الرياضيات بطرق اخرى كثيرة. وقالت انها شاركت في اصلاح التعليم الجامعي في حجري لا تحتمل ، على هيئة التحرير اشعارات الرياضية فى المجتمع الامريكى ، وكان عضوا نشطا للمرأة في العلوم والهندسه. اننا نعطي واحدة اخرى لها اقتبس من خطاب قبول من روث lyttle satter جائزة المتعلقة بالمراه في مجال الرياضيات :

اعتقد ان هناك تماما عنصر حظ في ان يكونوا على قيد الحياة كما انني رياضيات أ. كما انني حصلت على مساعدة حقيقية من الحركة النسويه ، سواء عاطفيا وعمليا. واعتقد ان الامور الان اسهل بعض الشيء : هناك على الاقل اكثر بقليل من الدعم المؤسسي للاحتياجات المراه والاسرة ، وجود عدد اكبر من النساء في الرياضيات حتى ان احد بحيث لا يلزم أن يكون معزولا. ولكن لا اعتقد ان جميع المشاكل قد حلت.

خارج الرياضيات mcduff تقول ان لها مصالح القراءة ، وموسيقى الحجره ، تلعب التشيلو ، والبستنه ، والمشي ، ويتحدث إلي الاصدقاء.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Margaret Dusa Waddington McDuff

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

18 Oct 1945

London, England

Presentation Wikipedia
Dusa McDuff was christened Margaret Dusa Waddington. Her father, Conrad Hal Waddington, was appointed Professor of Genetics at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland while her mother, Margaret Justin Blanco White, was an architect who had a Civil Service post in Edinburgh. Dusa was educated at a girls school in Edinburgh and, although the standard was less good than at the boys school, nevertheless she had an exceptionally good mathematics teacher. She wrote:

I always wanted to be a mathematician (apart from a time when I was eleven when I wanted to be a farmer's wife), and assumed that I would have a career, but I had no idea how to go about it: I didn't realise that the choices which one made about education were important and I had no idea that I might experience real difficulties and conflicts in reconciling the demands of a career with life as a woman.

By the time that Dusa completed her secondary schooling in Edinburgh she had a boyfriend. This led to her choosing the University of Edinburgh for her undergraduate studies, turning down a scholarship which she had won to go to Cambridge University. During her undergraduate years at Edinburgh Dusa married her boyfriend and took his name becoming Dusa McDuff. Awarded a B.Sc. from Edinburgh in 1967, Dusa went to Girton College, Cambridge for her doctoral studies.

At Cambridge McDuff was supervised by G A Reid and she worked on problems in functional analysis . This time her husband followed her to Cambridge. She solved a difficult problem on von Neumann algebras, constructing infinitely many different factors of type II1, and published the work in the Annals of Mathematics.

After completing her doctorate in 1971 McDuff was appointed to a two-year Science Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship at Cambridge. Then McDuff followed her husband again, this time with a six month visit to Moscow. He was studying the Russian Symbolist poet Innokenty Annensky and Dusa had no specific plans, yet it would turn out a very profitable visit for her mathematically. She met Israil Gelfand in Moscow and he gave her a deeper appreciation of mathematics. McDuff wrote:

Gelfand amazed me by talking of mathematics as though it were poetry. He once said about a long paper bristling with formulas that it contained the vague beginnings of an idea which he could only hint at and which he had never managed to bring out more clearly. I had always thought of mathematics as being much more straightforward: a formula is a formula, and an algebra is an algebra, but Gelfand found hedgehogs lurking in the rows of his spectral sequences!

After the Moscow visit, where she studied Gelfand -Fuchs cohomology , McDuff returned to Cambridge. There she attended Frank Adams ' topology lectures and around this time her first child was born. However her research at this time was not well focused and she began to lose her way a little. Appointed to a position as a lecturer at the University of York in 1973 she began to work with Graeme Segal on classifying spaces of categories. To a certain extent she considered this as a second doctorate to regain direction for her research.

Perhaps 1974 was a turning point for McDuff. She was invited to spend a year at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She wrote:

This was a turning point. While there I realised how far away I was from being the mathematician I felt that I could be, but also realised that I could do something about it. For the first time, I met some other women whom I could relate to and who also were trying to become mathematicians. I became much less passive: I applied to the Institute for Advanced Study and got in, and even had a mathematical idea again, which grew into a joint paper with Segal on the group-completion theorem.

Back in England, McDuff separated from her husband and, soon afterwards, she was appointed to a post at the University of Warwick in 1976. McDuff had a friend, the mathematician Jack Milnor who worked in Princeton. After two years at Warwick, McDuff resigned her tenured post there and accepted an untenured post at the State University of New York at Stony Brook so that she could be close to Milnor . McDuff wrote:

I still worked very much in isolation and there are only a few people who are interested in what I did, but it was a necessary apprenticeship. I had some ideas, and gained confidence in my technical abilities. Of course, I was influenced by the clarity of Jack Milnor 's ideas and approach to mathematics, and was helped by his encouragement. I kept my job in Stony Brook, even though it meant a long commute to Princeton and a weekend relationship, since it was very important to me not to compromise on my job as my mother had done. After several years, I married Jack and had a second child.

From the early 1980s McDuff worked on symplectic topology. During a sabbatical term at the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifique in Paris in 1985 she studied Gromov's work on elliptic methods which became the basis for much of her later work. In 1984 she was promoted to full professor at Stony Brook, being Chair of the Mathematics Department there from 1991 to 93.

McDuff has received many honours for her remarkable mathematical achievements. In 1991 she was awarded the Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize of the American Mathematical Society . The quotations we have given in this article are taken from the acceptance speech she gave on the occasion of the presentation of the Prize. Many other honours have come her way, perhaps the most prestigious of which is her election as a Fellow of the Royal Society of London in 1994. The citation for her election to the Fellowship read:

McDuff is best known for her work in the geometry of multi-dimensional structures. Her work in symplectic geometry, functional analysis and diffeomorphism groups has provided understanding and unexpected results in a whole range of areas of great importance. Her work is based on a deep and wide mathematical understanding, and has opened an extraordinarily fertile new branch of mathematics.

In 1995 she was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Science .

In addition to these honours McDuff has been invited to give many prestigious lectures. She gave the Invited Address at the American Mathematical Society Winter meeting in Atlanta in 1988, the first Progress in Mathematics lecture at the American Mathematical Society Summer meeting in Boulder in 1989, an Invited Address at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Kyoto in 1990, and a Plenary Address at the Second European Congress in Budapest in 1996.

Although her research contributions to mathematics have been truly outstanding, McDuff has given service to mathematics in many other ways. She has been involved in reform of undergraduate teaching at Stony Brook, is on the editorial board of Notices of the American Mathematical Society , and has been an active member of Women in Science and Engineering. We give one further quote from her acceptance speech of the Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize concerning women in mathematics:

I think that there is quite an element of luck in the fact that I have survived as a mathematician. I also got real help from the feminist movement, both emotionally and practically. I think things are somewhat easier now: there is at least a little more institutional support of the needs of women and families, and there are more women in mathematics so that one need not be so isolated. But I don't think that all the problems are solved.

Outside mathematics McDuff says that her interests are reading, chamber music, playing the cello, gardening, walking, and talking to friends.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland