علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Nevil Maskelyne

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

5 Oct 1732

London, England

9 Feb 1811

Greenwich, England

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

Nevil maskelyne 'nevil الأب مات عندما كان عمرها 12 سنة بدلا من ترك الأسرة الفقيره. وقال انه حضر مدرسة وستمنستر ، وكان لا يزال هناك تعليما والدته عندما توفي في 1748. قبل لحظات من وفاة والدته اهتمامه في علم الفلك قد بدأت بعد رؤية الكسوف في 25 تموز / يولية 1748. Maskelyne كتابه حول التعليم المدرسي وقال :

كبير علماء الرياضيات قد اصبحت من علماء الفلك والرياضيات ومرفق تمكنهم من تحقيق في علم الفلك ؛ ولكن هنا حب علم الفلك وكان الدافع من دون تطبيقها على الرياضيات التي وجدت لدينا الفلكي في وقت قريب وقال انه لا يستطيع تحقيق التقدم واعرب عن رغبته في تقريره المفضل العلم ؛ في خلال الاشهر القليلة المقبلة ، دون اي مساعدة وقال أنه جعل نفسه سيد عناصر من الهندسه والجبر. وتساعد هذه في وقت قريب وقال انه قرأ الكتب الرئيسية في علم الفلك والبصريات وايضا في... الميكانيكا ، وميكانيكيه الغازات استاتيكا الموائع. فان تقدما كبيرا كان قد أدلى به في هذه العلوم وبطبيعة الحال ادى به الى جامعة كامبردج...

Maskelyne دخلت كامبريدج في 1749 حيث درس الرياضيات والسابعه وتخرج wrangler في الرياضيات في 1754. وقال انه ordained احد الوزراء في 1755. ثم اصبح زميلا في كلية ترينيتي في كامبردج 1756.

وقال انه في 1758 إلى عضوية الجمعية الملكيه ، على توصيته واصفين اياه ب

... شخص متمرسين في تعلم الرياضيات والفلسفه الطبيعيه...

في 1761 أرسلت الجمعية الملكيه maskelyne الى جزيرة سانت هيلينا لمراقبة عبور الزهره. وهذا امر له اهميته نظرا لأن قياسات دقيقة تسمح المسافة من الأرض الى الشمس على وجه الدقه وقياس حجم المنظومه الشمسيه يحدد فيما بعد. وقال انه اثناء الرحله القمريه جربت الموقف اسلوب تحديد خط الطول. Maskelyne عاد الى تقطيع بارنيت في 1761 ، حيث كان الخوري ، وعملوا على نشر كتاب. نشرة القمريه المسافة طريقة لتحديد خط الطول في دليل الملاح البريطاني (1763).

في 1764 وتابع الرحله الى بربادوس للقيام محاكمات هاريسون الساعة. بعد فترة وجيزة من عودته ، في 1765 ، وتم تعيينه والفلكي الملكي. وقال انه نشر المجلد الاول من التقويم بحريا في 1766 واستمر العمل على هذا المشروع حتى تاريخ وفاته.

Maskelyne المقترح الى الجمعية الملكيه في 1772 ، على سبيل التجربه لتحديد كثافه الارض مع استخدام خط الشاقول أ. وقال انه ليس اول من اقترح هذه التجربه. Bouguer ومدينة لوس انجلوس condamine وقد حاولت هذه التجربه قبل اكثر من 30 عاما.

Maskelyne نفذت التجربه في 1774 على schiehallion ، في جبل perthshire ، اسكتلندا. Schiehallion تم اختيارها لأنها كانت منتظمة والغريب ومخروطيه الشكل في حجمه حتى يمكن ان تحدد بدقة. من ملاحظاته maskelyne يحسب ان كثافه الارض حوالى 4،5 مرات من المياه. وقال انه حصل على جائزة وسام copley الجمعية الملكيه في 1775 لهذا العمل.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Nevil Maskelyne

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

5 Oct 1732

London, England

9 Feb 1811

Greenwich, England

Presentation Wikipedia
Nevil Maskelyne's father died when Nevil was 12 years old leaving the family rather poor. He attended Westminster School and was still being educated there when his mother died in 1748. Just before the death of his mother his interest in astronomy had begun after seeing the eclipse of 25 July 1748. Maskelyne writing about his school education said:

Great mathematicians have become astronomers from the facility mathematics gave them in the attainment of astronomy; but here the love of astronomy was the motive of application to mathematics without which our astronomer soon found he could not make the progress he wished in his favourite science; in a few months, without any assistance he made himself master of the elements of geometry and algebra. With these helps he soon read the principal books in astronomy and optics and also in ... mechanics, pneumatics and hydrostatics. The considerable progress he had made in these sciences led him naturally to the University of Cambridge...

Maskelyne entered Cambridge in 1749 where he studied mathematics and graduated seventh wrangler in mathematics in 1754. He was ordained a minister in 1755. Then he became a fellow of Trinity College Cambridge in 1756.

In 1758 he was admitted to the Royal Society , his recommendation describing him as

... a person well versed in mathematical learning and natural philosophy ...

In 1761 the Royal Society sent Maskelyne to the island of St Helena to observe a transit of Venus. This was important since accurate measurements would allow the distance from the Earth to the Sun to be accurately measured and the scale of the solar system determined. During the voyage he experimented with the lunar position method of determining longitude. Maskelyne returned to Chipping Barnet in 1761, where he was a curate, and worked on publishing a book. He published the lunar distance method for determining longitude in The British Mariner's Guide (1763).

In 1764 he went on a voyage to Barbados to carry out trials of Harrison's timepiece. Soon after his return, in 1765, he was appointed Astronomer Royal. He published the first volume of the Nautical Almanac in 1766 and continued to work on this project up to the time of his death.

Maskelyne proposed to the Royal Society in 1772, an experiment for determining the Earth's density with the use of a plumb line. He was not the first to suggest such an experiment. Bouguer and La Condamine had tried such an experiment over 30 years before.

Maskelyne carried out the experiment in 1774 on Schiehallion, a mountain in Perthshire, Scotland. Schiehallion was chosen because it was surprisingly regular and conical in shape so its volume could be determined accurately. From his observations Maskelyne computed that the Earth's density is approximately 4.5 times that of water. He was awarded the Copley medal of the Royal Society in 1775 for this work.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland