علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Artemas Martin

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

3 Aug 1835

Stuben County, New York, USA

7 Nov 1918

Washington, D.C., USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

Artemas مارتن 'دا الآباء والامهات في orenda فارس وجيمس ماديسون مارتن ؛ كانوا مزارعين. Artemas كانت قليلة جدا في طريق التعليم الرسمي مع مجموع ثلاثة فقط من حيث يجرى في منطقة المدرسة فى مقاطعة Venango وبضعة اشهر في معهد فرانكلين عندما كان في السابعه عشرة. ومن خلال هذه الاشهر القليلة معهد فرانكلين في انه عرض لالاساسية الجبر ، والهندسه وعلم المثلثات. سحر الرياضيات اصبحت وامضى بقية حياته بحماس هواة الرياضيات. واضعو مهد السبيل لاسهاماته بالتفصيل :

Artemas مارتن ، تدريس الرياضيات الذاتي الذي يغطي النشاط ستة عقود تقريبا ، فقد وصفت بأنها 'فريدة من نوعها مثال على ما حب متأصل في حل المشاكل الرياضية يمكن ان نفعله لرجل حتى لو لم يكن قد مزايا متقدمة من التعليم المدرسي' . وقال انه يعيش في المناطق الريفيه في ولاية بنسلفانيا وقال انه حتى الدورة ، وتحريره من الاعمده الالغاز الرياضية ، وعمل بحماس وبلا هوادة على المشاكل الرياضية انه لمس اهتمام ، برسائل الى غيرها من الرياضيين ، وأسس اثنين من المجلات : 'الرياضية الزائر' (1878 -- 1894) و ' المجله الرياضية '(1882 -- 1884). وبالرغم من ان هذه المنشورات كانت قصيرة الاجل ، فانها ساعدت في تمهيد الطريق للآخرين مثل 'الامريكية الرياضية الشهريه' (1894) ، وهو أول منشور رسمي للرابطة الرياضية الامريكية. وبالتالي فان من الملائم تماما ان واحدة من اوائل المواد في ان الدوريه كانت قصيرة السيره الذاتية للمارتن.

كما اقتبس من الدول المذكورة أعلاه ، مارتن يعيشون في المناطق الريفيه في ولاية بنسلفانيا وقال انه حتى الخمسين ، ومعظمها في ايرى. وهناك حصل على رزقه زراعيه ، حفر آبار النفط وتقطيع الاخشاب. قام بتدريس الرياضيات في المدارس المحلية من خلال اربعة فصول الشتاء التي قضاها هناك. وقال انه بالتأكيد كان يمكن ان يكون اعلى بكثير في حالة ل1881 عرض عليه منصب استاذا للرياضيات في مدرسة عادية في Warrensburg ، ميسوري. وقال انه تحول الى اسفل ولكن هذا في عام 1885 ، في سن الخامسة ، وقال انه لم يقبل عرض وظيفة امين مكتبة على النحو مع الولايات المتحدة والساحل والمسح الجيوديسي في واشنطن العاصمة في اتخاذ موقف من مكتبه وكان مارتن بعد الثانية من العاطفه في الحياة ، وهو أن يجرى للكتاب جامع. لديه الآن أكثر من قبل مجموعة واسعة من النصوص الامريكية على الجبر والحساب ، لذا كان من الطبيعى بالنسبة اليه ان ينشر العمل الذي دعت اليه ملاحظات على التاريخ الأميركي على حساب الكتب المدرسية فى عام 1899. فقد كتب هذا العمل بالاشتراك مع JM غرينوود. كتابه جمع مدد تتجاوز الرياضيات ، ولكن مع كثير من النصوص على الشعر ، وكذلك النبات والتاريخ الطبيعي. وقال انه ترك مجموعة من الكتب ل5000 الجامعة الاميركية ، وهو الآن ايوائهم في دورته الاستثناءيه ال. مع صاحب المكتبه وهناك عدد من الدفاتر التي تحتوي على بلدة حلول لمشاكل ورياضية بالاضافة الى قوائم الكتب التي كان يحاول شراء.

مارتن نشر عدد كبير جدا من المشاكل وايجاد حلول للمشاكل فى طائفة واسعة من المنشورات :

وكتاباته في حل المشاكل ، وتناولت في معظمها مع مارتن ديوفانتاين التحليل ، على الارجح ، الاهليلجيه integrals ، اللوغاريتمات ، وخواص الاعداد ومثلثات.

فعلى سبيل المثال ، نشر ثلاثة عشر بعنوان المواد في المتوسط في wittenberger (مجلة المكرسه لمصالح فيتنبرغ كلية) ، بين سنتي 1877 و 1879. انظر الى نوع من المشاكل وقال انه يعكف حاليا على دراسة المشكلة ونحن اقتبس من الاول من هذه المواد :

متوسط المساحه المطلوبة من جميع هيوازلا مثلثات اوتار الزوايا القائمة التي هي آ.

هنا مثال آخر ، هذه المرة من الثانية عشرة من هذه المواد :

نقطة تتخذ عشوائيا في سطح الدائرة ، والانتباه من خلال العصب انها عشواءيه ، وبعد ذلك نقطة تؤخذ عشوائيا على العصب والعصب آخر الانتباه الى انه بزاويه قائمة على الأولى. ايجاد متوسط مجال الرباعي تشكلت من خلال الانضمام الى الحدود القصوى من الحبال.

وأخيرا مشكلة من المادة الثالثة على المتوسطات :

اثنين من المجالات على قدم المساواة فيما بينها ؛ ايجاد متوسط حجم المشتركة على حد سواء.

وقال انه لم ينشر البحث على مستوى واحد من المادة ، أي على السلطة الخامسة ارقام المبلغ الذي هو السلطة الخامسة الى المؤتمر الدولي الرياضية في شيكاغو في 1893. هذا من خلال وصف له سوى البحث المادة ونحن لا نعني تشير الى ان بعض مشاكله ليست صعبة للغاية. على سبيل المثال محاولة حل المشاكل واقترح في عام 1878 :

العثور على متوسط المسافة من زاويه واحدة على شكل مستطيل من جميع النقاط على سطحه.

العثور على متوسط المسافة من زاويه واحدة من rectanglar الصلبه من جميع النقاط الواردة في دورته الداخلية.

مارتن كان اول امريكى مشترك لللتربية ومرات وأول امريكى للمساهمه في دورته الرياضية القسم. وكان عضوا في العديد من المجتمعات الرياضية. وكان عضوا في نيويورك في وقت لاحق ورياضية للمجتمع الامريكي رياضية المجتمع. وقال انه كان ايضا عضوا في لندن رياضية المجتمع ، ادنبره رياضية المجتمع ، المجتمع الرياضية الفرنسية ، الالمانيه الرياضية في المجتمع ، والدائرة الرياضية باليرمو. وكان زميلا للرابطة الامريكية لتقدم العلوم. وقال انه في 1877 منح درجة الماجستير الفخريه من جامعة ييل ، ثم دكتوراه فخريه من روتجرز في عام 1882 ، وأخيرا وجود دكتوراه في القانون LL.D. هيلزدال من كلية في عام 1885.

Finkel ، في كتابه ما يقرب من خمسة وعشرين عاما قبل وفاة مارتن ، يقول انه :

... وقد نادرة وسعيدة ان كلية تقديمه في أبسط الحلول رياضية او اللغة ، او حتى من تلك التي تفننت عناصر من مختلف فروع الرياضيات ، وقادرة على فهم منطق له.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Artemas Martin

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

3 Aug 1835

Stuben County, New York, USA

7 Nov 1918

Washington, D.C., USA

Presentation
Artemas Martin's parents were Orenda Knight and James Madison Martin; they were farmers. Artemas had very little in the way of formal education with the total being only three terms at a district school in Venango County and a few months at the Franklin Academy when he was seventeen years old. It was during these few months at the Franklin Academy that he was introduced to basic algebra, geometry and trigonometry. Mathematics became a fascination and he spent the rest of his life as an enthusiastic amateur mathematician. The authors of set the scene for detailing his contributions:

Artemas Martin, a self-taught mathematician whose activity covered almost six decades, has been described as 'a unique example of what an inherent love of the solution of mathematical problems can do to a man even if he has not the advantages of advanced schooling'. He lived in rural Pennsylvania until he was fifty, edited columns of mathematical puzzles, worked enthusiastically and relentlessly on mathematical problems that he found interesting, corresponded with other mathematicians, and founded two journals: 'The Mathematical Visitor' (1878-1894) and 'The Mathematical Magazine' (1882-1884). Although these publications were short-lived, they helped prepare the ground for others such as 'The American Mathematical Monthly' (1894), the first official publication of the Mathematical Association of America . Thus it is quite appropriate that one of the first articles in that periodical was a short biography of Martin .

As the above quote states, Martin lived in rural Pennsylvania until he was fifty, mostly in Erie. There he earned his living farming, drilling oil wells and chopping wood. He did teach mathematics in local schools during four of the winters he spent there. He certainly could have had a much higher status for in 1881 he was offered the position of professor of mathematics at the Normal School in Warrensburg, Missouri. He turned this down but in 1885, at the age of fifty, he did accept the offer of a job as librarian with the United States Coast and geodetic Survey in Washington, D.C. In taking the position of librarian Martin was following the second passion of his life, namely that of being a book collector. He possessed by far the most extensive collection of American texts on algebra and arithmetic, so it was natural for him to publish a work called Notes on the history of American textbooks on arithmetic in 1899. He wrote this work jointly with J M Greenwood. His book collection extended well beyond mathematics, however, with many texts on poetry, as well as botany and natural history. He left his collection of 5000 books to the American University and it is now housed in its Special Collection. With his library there is a number of notebooks which contain his solutions to mathematical problems and well as lists of books that he was trying to purchase.

Martin published a very large number of problems and solutions to problems in a wide range of publications :

In his writings and problem-solving, Martin dealt mostly with Diophantine analysis, probability, elliptic integrals, logarithms, and properties of numbers and triangles.

For example, he published thirteen articles entitled On Average in The Wittenberger (A Journal Devoted to the Interests of Wittenberg College), between the years 1877 and 1879. To see the type of problems he was examining we quote a problem from the first of these articles:

Required the average area of all right-angled triangles whose hypotenuses are a.

Here is another example, this time from the second of the thirteen articles:

A point is taken at random in the surface of the circle, and a chord is drawn through it at random, and then a point is taken at random on the chord and another chord drawn to it at right angles to the first. Find the average area of the quadrilateral formed by joining the extremities of the chords.

Finally a problem from the third On averages article:

Two equal spheres intersect; find the average of the volume common to both.

He did publish one research level article, namely On fifth power numbers whose sum is a fifth power to the International Mathematical Congress in Chicago in 1893. By describing this as his only research article we don't mean to suggest that some of his problems were not very challenging. For example try solving the problems he proposed in 1878:

Find the average distance of one corner of a rectangle from all the points on its surface.

Find the average distance of one corner of a rectanglar solid from all the points in its interior.

Martin was the first American subscriber to the Educational Times and the first American to contribute to its mathematical section. He was a member of many mathematical societies. He was a member of the New York Mathematical Society and later of the American Mathematical Society . He was also a member of the London Mathematical Society , the Edinburgh Mathematical Society , the French Mathematical Society , the German Mathematical Society , and the Mathematical Circle of Palermo . He was a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. In 1877 he was awarded an honorary M.A. from Yale, then an honorary Ph.D. from Rutgers in 1882, and finally an LL.D. from Hillsdale College in 1885.

Finkel, writing in nearly twenty-five years before Martin's death, says that he:

... has that rare and happy faculty of presenting his solutions in the simplest mathematical language, so that those who have mastered the elements of the various branches of mathematics, are able to understand his reasoning.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland