علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Sheila Scott Macintyre

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

23 April 1910

Edinburgh, Scotland

21 March 1960

Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

شيلا سكوت 'الاب هو عميد اكاديميه الثالوث ادنبره وحضرت المدرسة. حضرت السيدات ادنبره كلية في الفترة من 1926 حتى 1928 وقالت انها عندما تخرج dux في الرياضيات.

وفي العام نفسه ، 1928 ، وقالت انها دخلت جامعة ادنبره حيث حصلت على العديد من المنح الدراسيه. وقالت انها تخرج ماجستير مع مرتبة الشرف من الدرجة الاولى في الرياضيات والفلسفه الطبيعيه فى عام 1932. ومن المعتاد لافضل الطلاب في تلك الأيام للدراسة في جامعة اكسفورد أو كامبردج بعد اخذ اول درجة في جامعة اسكتلنديه. سكوت امضى ثلاث سنوات في كلية girton في كامبردج. هي السنة الاخيرة كان في كامبردج في احد البحوث التي تعهدت بموجب كارترايت بالمجلس الاشراف. وقالت انها نشرت تقريرها الاول عن ورقة عمل كانت قد انجز في اطار كارترايت بالمجلس ، والاشراف على مقارب فترات لا يتجزأ من مهام فى عام 1935.

سكوت عاد الى اسكتلندا لتدريب المعلم ، وكما قالت انها تدرس لمدة خمس سنوات في عدد من المدارس في الفترة من عام 1934. وقالت انها تدرس في شارع ليونارد لل، ومدرسة للبنات في سانت اندروز ، وكذلك جيمس الين مدرسة للبنات ومدرسة ستو.

وخلال هذه الفترة عرض شيلا ويتاكر سكوت الى AJ macintyre من كان استاذ الرياضيات في جامعة ابردين. انها في عام 1940 وتزوج في العام التالي شيلا macintyre تم تعيين استاذ مساعد في ادارة واحدة كما زوجها في ابردين.

في ابردين شيلا macintyre اكملت الدكتوراه في اطار طب الطوارئ رأيت بالمجلس الاشراف. رأيت يقول :

... جيدة كما كان هناك في بحثها يمكن ان يكون اكثر من انها قالت انها ليس لديها لرعايه الاسرة.

بين عامي 1947 و 1958 وقالت انها نشرت عشر ورقات أخرى خلال فترة وقالت انها عندما طرح طفليها (توفي طفل ثالث في سن اثنين في عام 1949).

شيلا macintyre كان عضوا نشطا في ادنبره الرياضية والمجتمع الرياضي للرابطة. وقالت انها في عام 1958 انتخب زميلا في الجمعية الملكيه ادنبره.

في عام 1958 وmacintyre زوجها قبل الباحثين الزائرين الاستاذيه في جامعة سنسيناتي. وقالت انها تدرس وجود لها في وقت مبكر حتى الموت من مرض السرطان.

ونقلت كارترايت في اتفاقيه روتردام باك من كتب عن macintyre :

اختارت لها في مجال التحليل ، وقالت انها ادخلت تحسينات قوية من تقنيات ، وما هو أصعب بكثير ، مشاكل جديدة ومبتكرة للتحقيق فيها.

رايت ، في كتابه ، يقول :

البارعه الاصل رياضيات شيلا على الرغم من كان ، بل لعله اشد على النحو الرائع المعلمين ومثلي الجنس من المفيد ان نتذكر زميل لها. وضوح لها اعتبارها ، جعلها قادرة تماما محاضر بصورة استثناءيه ، ولكنها قالت انها دافءه القلب في مصلحة كل من تلاميذها (conbined تقييم سريع الخاطر مع قدراتهم) ان النجاح في ذلك ، جعلها أ المعلم والوصي. ويسدد لها من قبل أنها حقيقية جدا المودة والاحترام.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Sheila Scott Macintyre

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

23 April 1910

Edinburgh, Scotland

21 March 1960

Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Sheila Scott's father was rector of Trinity Academy Edinburgh and she attended the school. She attended Edinburgh Ladies' College from 1926 until 1928 when she graduated as Dux in Mathematics.

In the same year, 1928, she entered the University of Edinburgh where she won several scholarships. She graduated M.A. with first class honours in mathematics and natural philosophy in 1932. It was usual for the top students in those days to study at Oxford or Cambridge University after taking their first degree at a Scottish University. Scott spent three years at Girton College at Cambridge. Her final year at Cambridge was one in which she undertook research under Cartwright 's supervision. She published her first paper on the work she had done under Cartwright 's supervision On the asymptotic periods of integral functions in 1935.

Scott returned to Scotland to train as a teacher and she taught for five years in a number of schools from 1934. She taught at St Leonard's, a girls' school in St Andrews, as well as James Allen's School for Girls and Stowe School.

During this period Whittaker introduced Sheila Scott to A J Macintyre who was a mathematics lecturer at Aberdeen University. They married in 1940 and the following year Sheila Macintyre was appointed as an assistant lecturer in the same department as her husband in Aberdeen.

At Aberdeen Sheila Macintyre completed her doctorate under E M Wright 's supervision. Wright wrote:

... good as her research was there would have been more of it had she not had a family to look after.

Between 1947 and 1958 she published another ten papers during a period when she brought up her two children (a third child died at age two in 1949).

Sheila Macintyre was an active member of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society and of the Mathematical Association. In 1958 she was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh .

In 1958 Macintyre and her husband accepted visiting research professorships at the University of Cincinnati. There she taught until her early death from cancer.

In Cartwright quotes R C Buck who wrote about Macintyre:

In her chosen area of analysis, she introduced powerful refinements of techniques, and what is much harder, new and original problems for investigation.

Wright , writing in , says:

Brilliant original mathematician though Sheila was, it is even more as the superb teacher and the gay helpful colleague that we remember her. Her clarity of mind made her a quite exceptionally able lecturer, but it was her warm-hearted interest in each of her students (conbined with a shrewd assessment of their abilities) that made her so successful a tutor and regent. They repaid her by a very real affection and respect.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland