علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Urbain Jean Joseph Le Verrier

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

11 March 1811

Saint-Lô, France

23 Sept 1877

Paris, France

العرض ويكيبيديا
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

اوربان لوفيريي عين لتدريس علم الفلك في école polytechnique في 1837 وتخلت عن الموضوع الأول للكيمياء. وقال انه يعمل في مرصد باريس لمعظم حياته فيها السعى لصاحب الكفاءه هو جعله غير مرغوب فيه جدا. معاصر قال له :

لا أعرف ما إذا م جنيه فيرييه هو في الواقع اكثر رجس من صنع الانسان في فرنسا ، الا انني والمؤكد تماما انه هو الاكثر ممقوت.

صاحب العمل الرئيسي كان في الميكانيكا السماوية. تعمل بشكل مستقل عن ادامز ، فيرييه جنيه يحسب موقف نبتون من المخالفات في مدار اورانوس. حسب احد زملائه وقال :

... وقال انه اكتشف مع نجم نصيحه من القلم ، دون اي ادوات اخرى غير قوة حساباته وحدها.

جنيه فيرييه كان على نحو افضل من قبل العالم الفلكي الألماني Galle) من العثور على كوكب الارض في ساعة واحدة) مما كان من قبل ادامز متجدد الهواء من اعطي مهمة لChallis ، مدير المرصد كامبردج. واشار الى كوكب الارض الاولى ولكنها لم تعترف.

Arago ، وكان اول من اقترح ان جنيه فيرييه العمل على هذه المشكلة ، وقال

في أعين جميع الرجال نزيهة ، وهذا الاكتشاف سوف تظل واحدة من أكثر من الانتصارات الراءعه علم الفلك النظري ، وهي واحدة من امجاد للاكاديميه واحدة من اجمل الفروق بلدنا.

جنيه فيرييه تلقى العديد من الالقاب والاوسمه والاعتراف على نطاق واسع لصاحب الإنجاز. لندن تايمز يحمل عنوان على 1 تشرين الاول / اكتوبر 1846 :

فيرييه جنيه للكوكب وجدت.

وقال انه حصل على جائزة وسام copley الجمعية الملكيه لندن و، في فرنسا ، اصبح ضابط في وسام جوقة الشرف.

فيرييه جنيه في عام 1854 اصبح مديرا لمرصد باريس حيث كان في استقباله اللاشعبيه ، المذكورة اعلاه ، ادت الى ازالتها من له وظيفة في 1870. تم تعيين خلف له ولكنه توفى فى عام 1873. في هذا الوقت جنيه فيرييه مرة اخرى أمر غير وبالنظر الى ما بعد ولكن سلطته كانت مقيده بشدة لانه كان يشرف عليه المجلس.

جنيه فيرييه اكتشفت وجود تباين في الاقتراح في حضيض من الزئبق في 1855 ، بعد فترة وجيزة من تعيينه مديرا للمرصد باريس. المسبق للحضيض للزئبق اكثر من المتوقع من انصار نيوتن من الناحية النظريه هو ان تصبح ادلة هامة لاينشتاين 'العامة للنظرية النسبيه. جنيه فيرييه ، ومع ذلك ، عزا هذا الامر الى كوكب ، دعا فيه الى فولكان ، اقرب الى الشمس من الزئبق او الى الكويكب الحزام الثاني على مقربة من الشمس لتكون مرئية.

امضى الكثير من الجهد في البحث عن الكويكبات داخل المدار للزئبق في محاولة لاثبات نظريته ولكنه كان لفترة طويلة بعد وفاته في عام 1915 ، أن آينشتاين 'العامة للنظرية النسبيه واوضح مدار الزئبق دون الحاجة لهيئات الاقلاق.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Urbain Jean Joseph Le Verrier

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

11 March 1811

Saint-Lô, France

23 Sept 1877

Paris, France

Presentation Wikipedia
Urbain Le Verrier was appointed to teach astronomy at the École Polytechnique in 1837 and abandoned his first subject of chemistry. He worked at the Paris Observatory for most of his life where his drive for efficiency was to made him very unpopular. A contemporary said of him:

I do not know whether M. Le Verrier is actually the most detestable man in France, but I am quite certain that he is the most detested.

His main work was in celestial mechanics. Working independently of Adams , Le Verrier calculated the position of Neptune from irregularities in Uranus's orbit. As one of his colleagues said:

... he discovered a star with the tip of his pen, without any instruments other than the strength of his calculations alone.

Le Verrier was better served by the German astronomer Galle (who found the planet in one hour) than Adams was by Airy who gave the task to Challis, the director of the Cambridge Observatory. He observed the planet first but did not recognise it.

Arago , who had first suggested that Le Verrier work on this problem, said

In the eyes of all impartial men, this discovery will remain one of the most magnificent triumphs of theoretical astronomy, one of the glories of the Académie and one of the most beautiful distinctions of our country.

Le Verrier received many honours and widespread recognition for his achievement. The London Times carried the headline on the 1 October 1846:

Le Verrier's planet found.

He was awarded the Copley Medal of the Royal Society of London and, in France, became an officer in the Legion of Honour.

In 1854 Le Verrier became director of the Paris Observatory but his unpopularity, mentioned above, led to him being removed from the post in 1870. A successor was appointed but died in 1873. At this time Le Verrier again was given the post but his authority was severely restricted as he was supervised by a council.

Le Verrier discovered of a discrepancy in the motion in the perihelion of Mercury in 1855, soon after his appointment as director of the Paris Observatory. The advance of the perihelion of Mercury by more than Newtonian theory predicted was to become important evidence for Einstein 's general theory of relativity. Le Verrier, however, attributed this to a planet, which he called Vulcan, closer to the Sun than Mercury or to a second asteroid belt so close to the Sun as to be invisible.

He spent much effort searching for asteroids inside the orbit of Mercury in an attempt to prove his theory but it was long after his death, in 1915, that Einstein 's general theory of relativity explained the orbit of Mercury without the need for perturbing bodies.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland