علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Wilhelm P A Klingenberg

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

28 Jan 1924

Rostock, Mecklenburg, Germany

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ويلهلم klingenberg 'اسرة انتقلت الى برلين في عام 1934 وهناك حضر klingenberg المدارس حيث تعلم اللاتينية واليونانيه والفرنسية لكنه لدراسة الرياضيات من تلقاء نفسه. Joachimsthalsces دخل الملعب في عام 1937 وحصل على دبلوم المدرسة في عام 1941. وقال انه تطبيق للدخول الى جامعة برلين ولكن كان ذلك غير مسموح به واضطر الى الخدمة في الجيش. يكتب في :

عند انتهاء الحرب واخيرا منحني الحرية ، لقد غيرت بلدي والخط وبدأوا فى البحث عن مكان للدراسة. المنكوبه والسوفياتيه المحتلة مدينة برلين امر غير وارد ، غوتنغن وهامبورغ وملئت ، ومن ثم ذهبت الى جامعة كييل.

Klingenberg وحصل على شهادة الدكتوراه في عام 1950 مع اطروحة القريب على الهندسه التفاضليه. من 1950 الى 1952 كان مساعد ابحاث في كييل حيث Bachmann و المهتمه له في اسس الهندسه. وقال انه في هذا الوقت على حل مشكلة المكافءات من التكوينات في القريب روث moufang الطائرة التي عملت على. Blaschke ينصح له فيما يتعلق رحلات الى ايطاليا وامضي الوقت في 1952/53 في جامعة روما حيث كان يتأثر بشدة و severi ، ه bompiani وbeniamino segre.

وبعد عودته الى المانيا وقال انه انتهى اطروحة التأهيل في هامبورغ ، ثم حصل على وظيفة دائمة في غوتنغن العمل مع reidemeister. كتب في :

لقد مولعا ذكريات سنوات ونحن هناك -- reidemeister كانت راءعه واعتبارها مجموعة واسعة من المصالح ، وزوجته اليزابيث وكان المصور الشهير.

Klingenberg انفقت 1954/55 في بلومنغتن في الولايات المتحدة زيارة مورس في برنستون اثناء وجوده في بلومنغتن. مصالحة قد تحول بعيدا عن القريب واسقاطي الهندسه التفاضليه ، واتجهوا نحو ريمانيان الهندسه. على الرغم من انه لا يزال على الموظفين في غوتنغن حتى عام 1963 ، klingenberg انفقت 1956/57 و1957/58 في معهد الدراسات المتقدمه فى برينستون. كذلك أمضى 1962 في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي ، بناء على دعوة من اس اس chern. Klingenberg كتب في :

كنت قد التقيت به في هامبورغ في عام 1953 عندما زار بلدة blaschke مدرس سابق ، ومنذ ذلك الوقت كان قد ساعد بنشاط في حياتي المهنيه وقال انه كلما كانت لديه فرصة للقيام بذلك.

بينما في بيركلي ، klingenberg تلقي عروض من الكراسي في ماينز وwürzburg -- أختار ماينز. وبعد ثلاث سنوات ، في عام 1966 ، عرض عليه في زيوريخ والكراسي في بون. وقال انه اختار ، لا يخلو من بعض الصعوبات ، لقبول العرض المقدم من بون. بون للنمو السريع ولكن مع مزيد من الموظفين والطلاب :

... وبعض من سحر وثيقة من وثيقة - knit فريق مما انخفضت نزيف. لا يخلو من بعض الألم والنضال ، وانني قبلت في النهاية من التغيير وتركزت الانشطه على بلدي بلدي مجموعة الهندسه التفاضليه.

Klingenberg عمل خلال سنوات عمله في بون على الجيوديسيه ومغلقة. تقاعده في عام 1989. الكتب الرئيسية التي تشمل بطبيعة الحال في الهندسه التفاضليه (1978) ، محاضرات عن مغلقة الجيوديسيه (1978) وريمانيان الهندسه (1982). هذا العمل الاخير klingenberg التعليقات :

وكان هذا اول كتاب عن هذا الموضوع منذ eisenhart ليرة لبنانيه للدراسة فى عام 1926.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Wilhelm P A Klingenberg

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

28 Jan 1924

Rostock, Mecklenburg, Germany

Presentation
Wilhelm Klingenberg's family moved to Berlin in 1934 and there Klingenberg attended schools where he learnt Latin, Greek and French but he had to study mathematics on his own. He entered the Joachimsthalsces Gymnasium in 1937 and received his school diploma in 1941. He applied to enter the University of Berlin but this was not permitted and he had to serve in the army. He writes in :

When the end of the war finally gave me my freedom, I changed my handwriting and started looking for a place to study. The devastated and Soviet occupied city of Berlin was out of the question, Göttingen and Hamburg were filled up, so I went to Kiel University.

Klingenberg obtained a doctorate in 1950 with a thesis on affine differential geometry . from 1950 to 1952 he was a research assistant at Kiel where F Bachmann interested him in the foundations of geometry. At this time he solved a problem on equivalences of configurations in an affine plane which Ruth Moufang had worked on. Blaschke advised him regarding trips to Italy and he spent time in 1952/53 at the University of Rome where he was strongly influenced by F Severi , E Bompiani and Beniamino Segre .

After returning to Germany he completed his habilitation thesis at Hamburg and then obtained a permanent position at Göttingen working with Reidemeister . He wrote in :

I have fond memories of our years there - Reidemeister had a brilliant mind and a wide range of interests, his wife Elisabeth was a renowned photographer.

Klingenberg spent 1954/55 at Bloomington in the United States visiting Morse at Princeton during his time at Bloomington. His interests had turned away from affine and projective differential geometry and turned towards Riemannian geometry. Although he remained on the staff at Göttingen until 1963, Klingenberg spent 1956/57 and 1957/58 at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton. He also spent 1962 at the University of California at Berkeley at the invitation of S S Chern . Klingenberg wrote in :

I had met him in Hamburg in 1953 when he visited his former teacher Blaschke , and since that time he had actively helped my career whenever he had a chance to do so.

While at Berkeley, Klingenberg received offers of chairs at Würzburg and Mainz - he chose Mainz. Three years later, in 1966, he was offered chairs at Zurich and at Bonn. He chose, not without some difficulty, to accept the offer from Bonn. However Bonn grew rapidly with additional staff and students:

... and some of the intimate charm of a close-knit group thereby went down the drain. Not without some pain and struggle, I finally accepted the change and concentrated my activities on my own differential geometry group.

Klingenberg worked during his years at Bonn on closed geodesics. He retired in 1989. His major books include A course in differential geometry (1978), Lectures on closed geodesics (1978) and Riemannian geometry (1982). Of this last work Klingenberg comments:

It was the first book on this subject since the monograph of L P Eisenhart in 1926.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland