علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Carol Ruth Karp

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

10 Aug 1926

Forest Grove, Ottawa County, Michigan, USA

20 Aug 1972

Maryland, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

كارول كارب ولد كارول فان دير فلدى. حضرت في كلية مانشستر انديانا المستقبله لها وجود مكتبة الاسكندرية في الفترة من عام 1948. الماجستير تم الحصول عليها بعد عامين من جامعة ولاية ميتشغان وعلى اثر هذا الصيف وقالت انها انفقت على النحو مدرب في جامعة ولاية ميتشغان ، وبعد ذلك سافر لفترة من الزمن في جميع انحاء الولايات المتحدة بانها عازف الكمان في الاوركسترا في كل امرأة. ثم واصلت دراستها في جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا ، والعمل من اجل الدكتوراه.

وكان لها اطروحة دكتوراه عن منطق رياضي. الاطروحه ، مع عبارات من لغات بلا حدود طولها ، وكان يشرف عليها ل هنكين وقدمت الى جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا في عام 1959. ومع ذلك كان التعليم كارب عدة سنوات قبل منح دكتوراه بلدها وبعد ان قبلت منصب المدرب الجديد في المكسيك من كلية الزراعة والفنون الميكانيكيه فى عام 1953. في عام 1960 اسم جديد للالمكسيك كلية الزراعة والفنون الميكانيكيه تم تغيير الاسم الحالي للجامعة ولاية نيو مكسيكو. كارب لمدة سنة في كلية في جامعة الدول العربية Cruces ، نيو مكسيكو.

أطروحة مستشار لها قد انتقلت الى بيركلي وكارب في عام 1953 تم تعيين مساعد للتدريس هنا من 1954 الى 1956 فى حين عملت لصاحبة أطروحة دكتوراه. كارب قد تزوج آرثر ل كارب وفي عام 1952 ، وفي عام 1957 ، انتقلت الى اليابان مع زوجها من كان في الولايات المتحدة البحرية. لدى عودتها من اليابان ، كارب قبول وظيفة مدرس في جامعة ميريلاند.

بعد فترة وجيزة من منح الدكتوراه كارب جرى الترويج ، في عام 1960 ، استاذ مساعد في جامعة ميريلاند. وقالت انها ان يبقى في جامعة ميريلاند ، حتى تقدمها المبكر في وفاة من السرطان في عام 1972 ولكن هناك وقالت انها شجعت ومرة اخرى ، الى استاذ مشارك في عام 1963 ثم الى استاذ كرسي في عام 1966.

كارب كان رياضي منطقي ولكن ، وكما لوحظ في عملها يرتبط ارتباطا وثيقا الجبر :

كارب تعتبر نفسها لتكون اساسا 'جبري المنطقي'. هي الميل نحو الجبر وكان ينسى ابدا تماما وقالت انها دائما ما يبدو الى استخلاص النتائج المتعلقة البوليه جبر لها من نتائج عن infinitary اللغات.

وقالت انها في عام 1964 كتابا عن بحثها مع عبارات من لغات لا حصر طول ولكن قالت انها كانت تأمل ان يكتب عمل آخر من شأنه ان تتخذ المزيد من افكارها بشكل كبير. وقالت انها حاضر في وقت لاحق من هذا العمل على النحو المبين في :

لم كارب إعطاء محاضرات في ميريلاند في خريف 1970 على infinitary المنطق واستدعاء ذاتي من الناحية النظريه. اساسا كارب يريدون العودة الى gödel 'دا الاصل لاثبات صحه النظريه متكررة مجموعات من التعاريف ولكن بطبيعة الحال باستخدام افكار اكثر تحررا من دليل على ذلك من اجل الحصول على التعميمات استدعاء ذاتي من الناحية النظريه.

كما كان كل من المعلم والباحث كارب ان تقدم على سمعتها. وقالت انها شخصيا لرعايه تلاميذها وقلق الى حد كبير لمستقبلهم لها اثناء المرض. مرة اخرى نقلا عن :

لها ، والتدريس كان دائما اكثر من واجب ، وحتى اثناء المرض لها وقالت انها تدرس في جميع الطبقات لها بالاضافة الى القيام بجميع المهام الاداريه لها. في بحثها ، أيضا ، على المضي قدما معها تحديد المعتاده...

جودي الأخضر ، من كان واحدا من طلاب الدكتوراه كارب ، كتبت مقالة. وقالت انها في أنه كتب ما يلي :

كارب الفكريه معايير عالية للغاية ، وكانت بلا كلل صادقة في تطبيقها. وبالرغم من انها اظهرت تقريبا الاسريه القلق لتلاميذها وزملائهم الاصغر سنا ، قالت انها كانت دائما صريحة وواضحه في تقييم المساهمات والرياضية على الوعد. على وجه الخصوص ، ونصحت بالعمل على الدكتوراه الا اذا كان احد يتوقع ان تقدم البحوث وأهم جزء من المرء في الحياة المهنيه ، ورفضت ان تسمح لها طلاب الدراسات العليا لنتائجها حتى اجتمع بلدها مستوى عال من الخدمات لpublishability.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Carol Ruth Karp

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

10 Aug 1926

Forest Grove, Ottawa County, Michigan, USA

20 Aug 1972

Maryland, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Carol Karp was born Carol van der Velde. She attended Manchester College in Indiana receiving her BA from there in 1948. Her Master's Degree was obtained two years later from Michigan State University and following this she spent the summer as an instructor at Michigan State University, and then for a time travelled around the United States as a violinist in an all-woman orchestra. She then continued her studies at the University of Southern California, working for a doctorate.

Her doctoral thesis was on mathematical logic. The thesis, Languages with expressions of infinite length, was supervised by L Henkin and submitted to the University of Southern California in 1959. However Karp was teaching several years before the award of her Ph.D. having accepted a position as instructor at New Mexico College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts in 1953. In 1960 the name of the New Mexico College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts was changed to its present name of New Mexico State University. Karp spent a year at the College in Las Cruces, New Mexico.

Her thesis advisor had moved to Berkeley in 1953 and Karp was appointed as a teaching assistant here from 1954 to 1956 while she worked on her doctoral thesis. Karp had married Arthur L Karp in 1952 and, in 1957, she moved to Japan with her husband who was in the US Navy. On her return from Japan, Karp accepted a post as instructor at the University of Maryland.

Soon after the award of her doctorate Karp was promoted, in 1960, to assistant professor at the University of Maryland. She was to remain at the University of Maryland until her early death from cancer in 1972 but there she was promoted again, to associate professor in 1963 and then to full professor in 1966.

Karp was a mathematical logician but, as noted in , her work was closely related to algebra:

Karp considered herself to be principally an 'algebraic logician'. Her inclination towards algebra was never completely forgotten and she always seemed to draw results concerning Boolean algebras from her results about infinitary languages.

In 1964 she published a book on her research Languages with expressions of infinite length but she had hoped to write another work which would take her ideas considerably further. She lectured on this later work as described in :

Karp did give lectures at Maryland in the Fall of 1970 on infinitary logic and recursion theory. Basically Karp wanted to return to Gödel 's original proof-theoretic definitions of recursive sets but of course using more liberal notions of proof so as to obtain generalisations of recursion theory.

It was both as a teacher and researcher that Karp made her reputation. She cared personally for her students and worried greatly for their futures during her illness. Again quoting from :

To her, teaching had always been more than a duty, and even during her illness she taught all her classes in addition to carrying out all her administrative tasks. Her research, too, was pushed forward with her usual determination....

Judy Green, who was one of Karp's doctoral students, wrote the article in . In it she writes:

Karp's intellectual standards were extremely high, and she was unfailingly honest in applying them. Although she showed almost familial concern for her students and younger colleagues, she was consistently candid in appraising their mathematical contributions and promise. In particular, she advised working towards a doctorate only if one expected to make research the most important part of one's professional career, and she refused to allow her students to graduate until their results met her own high standard for publishability.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland