علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Jacques Herbrand

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

12 Feb 1908

Paris, France

27 July 1931

La Bérarde, Isère, France

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

جاك herbrand دخلت مدرسة الاساتذه العليا في ال 17 من عمره. وكان هذا استثنائيا جدا في ذلك الوقت. أطروحة دكتوراه لصاحب درس الرياضيات والمنطق الذي كان من المستغرب اختيار ، نظرا لعدم وجود مصلحة في هذا الموضوع في فرنسا في هذه الفترة. صاحب اطروحة دكتوراه وقد وافق فى نيسان / ابريل 1929 وفي تشرين الاول / اكتوبر من ذلك العام انضم إلى الجيش جاك لخدمته العسكرية.

بعد النوبة في الجيش ، herbrand حيث حصل على زماله روكفلر ، ليتسنى له دراسة في اماكن مختلفة فى اوروبا. فترة ولايته الاولى ، وحتى ايار / مايو 1931 ، وانفق في جامعة برلين حيث كان يعمل مع فون نيومان. من برلين ، herbrand ذهب الى هامبورغ حيث امضى لشهر حزيران / يونية العمل مع artin. تقريره النهائي الزيارة هو غوتنغن حيث امضى لشهر تموز / يولية 1931 مع دراسة Emmy noether.

وبعد ان ترك غوتنغن ، herbrand قررت في يوم عطلة في جبال الالب قبل ان بلده يعتزم العودة الى فرنسا. غير انه لم يكن أبدا لاستكمال خططه لانه توفي في حادث تسلق الجبال في جبال الالب بضعة ايام فقط ، بعدما بدأ في عطلة. وفاته في سن 23 في واحدة من الخسائر الماساويه الى الرياضيات.

ومما لا يصدق كم herbrand التي تحققت في وقت قصير وقال انه على الاضطلاع البحوث الرياضية. وقال انه قدمت تبرعات الى منطق رياضي حيث herbrand للنظرية حول نظرية محددو الكميه ويبدو ان اطروحة دكتوراه في تقريره. انظر لمناقشة وجود فجوه الذي عثر عليه في herbrand للدليل في عام 1963.

Herbrand يضع نظرية للعلاقة بين النظريه والقياس والمنطق الذي عقوبي هام من حيث انه يعطي طريقة لاختبار صيغة لنظرية القياس بها تباعا صيغ لاختبار صحه عقوبي. منذ عقوبي لاختبار صحه هي عملية ميكانيكيه ، herbrand للنظرية هي اليوم ذات اهمية كبرى في تطوير البرمجيات لاثبات نظرية عن طريق الحاسوب.

Herbrand كما عملت على النظر في نظرية مجال التمديدات ابليان جبري عدد من المجالات. في الاشهر القليلة التي عمل على هذا الموضوع ، نشرت herbrand عشر ورقات. هذه الاوراق تبسيط بروفات النتائج حسب كرونيكير ، هاينرش ويبر ، هيلبيرت ، takagi وartin. Herbrand عمم ايضا بعض من هذه النتائج من قبل العاملين في مجال نظرية الطبقة فضلا عن اثبات بعض النظريات الجديدة الهامة للبلدة.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Jacques Herbrand

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

12 Feb 1908

Paris, France

27 July 1931

La Bérarde, Isère, France

Presentation Wikipedia
Jacques Herbrand entered the École Normale Supérieure at the age of 17. This was quite exceptional at that time. For his doctoral thesis he studied mathematical logic which was a surprising choice, given the lack of interest in that topic in France in this period. His doctoral thesis was approved in April 1929 and in October of that year Jacques joined the army for his military service.

After his spell in the army, Herbrand was awarded a Rockefeller fellowship to allow him to study at various places in Europe. His first period, until May 1931, was spent at the University of Berlin where he worked with von Neumann . From Berlin, Herbrand went to Hamburg where he spent the month of June working with Artin . His final visit was to Göttingen where he spent the month of July 1931 studying with Emmy Noether .

After leaving Göttingen, Herbrand decided on a holiday in the Alps before his intended return to France. However he was never to complete his plans for he died in a mountaineering accident in the Alps only a few days after his holiday began. His death at the age of 23 in one of the tragic losses to mathematics.

It is incredible how much Herbrand achieved in the short time he had to undertake mathematical research. He made contributions to mathematical logic where Herbrand's theorem on the theory of quantifiers appears in his doctoral thesis. See for discussion of a gap which was found in Herbrand's proof in 1963.

Herbrand's theorem establishes a link between quantification theory and sentential logic which is important in that it gives a method to test a formula in quantification theory by successively testing formulae for sentential validity. Since testing for sentential validity is a mechanical process, Herbrand's theorem is today of major importance in software developed for theorem proving by computer.

Herbrand also worked on field theory considering abelian extensions of algebraic number fields . In the few months on which he worked on this topic, Herbrand published ten papers. These papers simplify proofs of results by Kronecker , Heinrich Weber , Hilbert , Takagi and Artin . Herbrand also generalised some of the results by these workers in class field theory as well as proving some important new theorems of his own.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland