علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Richard Wesley Hamming

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

11 Feb 1915

Chicago, Illinois, USA

7 Jan 1998

Monterey, California, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ريتشارد المبالغه دخلت جامعة شيكاغو حصوله على درجة البكالوريوس فى عام 1937. ثم انتقل الى جامعة نبراسكا حيث كان له منح درجة الماجستير في عام 1939 ثم حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في عام 1942 في الرياضيات من جامعة إيلينوي في اوربانا - الشمبانيا. أطروحة دكتوراه له بعض المشاكل في حدود قيمة نظرية المعادلات التفاضليه الخطيه واشرف على Waldemar trjitzinsky.

المبالغه في عام 1945 انضم الى مشروع مانهاتن ، حكومة الولايات المتحدة مشروع بحثى لانتاج القنبله الذريه. وكان يسمى مشروع مانهاتن ، لان البحث الاول الذي تم عمله في جامعة كولومبيا في مانهاتن ، لكن المبالغه عمل معه على المشروع في لوس ألاموس.

بعد نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية ، انضم الى المبالغه جرس الهاتف المختبرات فى عام 1946. وقال انه على الرغم من وجود قادرين على العمل مع كل من شانون وtukey. وقال انه على مواصلة العمل من اجل جرس الهواتف حتى 1976 عندما قال انه يقبل رئيسا لعلوم الكمبيوتر في كلية الدراسات العليا البحرية في مونتيري ، كاليفورنيا.

افضل المبالغه هو معروف عن عمله في اكتشاف الخطأ وتصحيح الخطأ المدونات. حقوقه الاساسية ورقة حول هذا الموضوع بدأ في عام 1950 وبدأ مع هذا الموضوع في اطار جديد من المعلومات النظريه. رموز المبالغه لهما اهمية اساسية في الترميز هي من الناحية النظريه والعملية لاستخدام الحاسوب في التصميم.

العمل في المدونات يتعلق التعبءه المشاكل وتصحيح الخطأ المدونات بسبب المبالغه ادت الى حل للمشكلة بالنسبة للمصفوفات التعبءه على مدى محدود الميادين.

المبالغه فى عام 1956 وعمل على الحاسوب في وقت مبكر ، فان 650 شركة اي بى ام. هنا عمله أدى الى تطوير لغة برمجة التي تطورت الى الرفيع المستوى الى اللغات المستخدمة في الكمبيوتر برنامج الحاسوب اليوم.

كما عملت على المبالغه التحليلات العدديه ، ودمج المعادلات التفاضليه ، والمبالغه نافذة الطيفيه التي تستخدم كثيرا في حساب لتمهيد قبل فورييه تحليل البيانات.

اعماله الرئيسية وتشمل اساليب العدديه للعلماء والمهندسين (1962) ، مقدمة لتطبيق التحليل العددي (1971) ، المرشحات الرقميه (1977) ، نظرية المعلومات والترميز (1980) ، والرياضيات واساليب تطبيقها على حساب التفاضل والتكامل ، على الارجح ، والاحصاءات (1985 (مقدمة لتطبيق التحليل العددي (1989) ، فن احتمال للعلماء والمهندسين (1991) وفن تفعل العلوم والهندسه : تعلم كيفية التعلم (1997).

المبالغه وقد تلقت العديد من الجوائز لعمله الرائد. وقال انه في عام 1968 كان زميلا للمعهد الهندسه الكهرباءيه والالكترونيه ومنحت جائزة تورينج من جمعية الحوسبه الاليه. معهد الهندسه الكهرباءيه والالكترونيه منح فان المبالغه ص piore عمانوئيل فى عام 1979 وجائزة وسام في عام 1988 :

لالمساهمات الاستثناءيه لنظم المعلومات والعلوم.

IEEE فإن هذا يكون اسمه وسام "المبالغه" ميداليه تكريما له.

مزيد من الالقاب والاوسمه وشملت يجري انتخابه عضوا في الاكاديميه الوطنية للهندسة في عام 1980 وتلقى جائزة هارولد Pender من جامعة بنسلفانيا فى عام 1981. وفي عام 1996 ، في ميونيخ ، والمبالغه تلقى المرموقه 130000 دولار ادوارد rheim جائزة الانجاز في مجال التكنولوجيا لعمله على تصحيح خطأ في المدونات.

على المبالغه وفاة ريتشارد Franke من كلية الدراسات العليا البحرية في مونتيري يقول :

وقال انه سوف نتذكر طويلا على اهتمامه الشديد لرؤية العديد من جوانب العلم والحساب. انا ايضا طويلة طويلة تذكر له على عمله منقوش الرياضة المعطف الأحمر وبلدة النكات السيءه.

جيمس و قيصر ، في النعي وجيزة من المبالغه ، كتب ما يلي :

سيتعين علينا جميعا ان نفوت له الاعتبار وإشراك اختراق له نظرة متعمقه في المسائل العلميه والهندسية ، ومن الحياة اليوميه.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Richard Wesley Hamming

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

11 Feb 1915

Chicago, Illinois, USA

7 Jan 1998

Monterey, California, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Richard Hamming entered the University of Chicago receiving his B.S. in 1937. He then went to the University of Nebraska where he was awarded his M.A. in 1939 and then he received his Ph.D. in mathematics in 1942 from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His doctoral dissertation Some Problems in the Boundary Value Theory of Linear Differential Equations was supervised by Waldemar Trjitzinsky.

In 1945 Hamming joined the Manhattan Project, a U.S. government research project to produce an atomic bomb. It was called the Manhattan Project because the first research had been done at Columbia University in Manhattan, however Hamming worked on the project at Los Alamos.

After the end of World War II, Hamming joined the Bell Telephone Laboratories in 1946. While there he was able to work with both Shannon and Tukey . He was to continue to work for Bell Telephones until 1976 when he accepted a chair of computer science at the Naval Postgraduate School at Monterey, California.

Hamming is best known for his work on error- detecting and error- correcting codes. His fundamental paper on this topic appeared in 1950 and with this he started a new subject within information theory. Hamming codes are of fundamental importance in coding theory and are of practical use in computer design.

Work in codes is related to packing problems and error- correcting codes due to Hamming led to the solution of a packing problem for matrices over finite fields.

In 1956 Hamming worked on the early computer, the IBM 650. His work here led to the development of a programming language which has evolved into the high-level computer languages used to program computers today.

Hamming also worked on numerical analysis, integrating differential equations, and the Hamming spectral window which is much used in computation for smoothing data before Fourier analysing it.

His major works include Numerical Methods for Scientists and Engineers (1962), Introduction to applied numerical analysis (1971), Digital filters (1977), Coding and information theory (1980), Methods of mathematics applied to calculus, probability , and statistics (1985), Introduction to applied numerical analysis (1989), The Art of Probability for Scientists and Engineers (1991) and The Art of Doing Science and Engineering : Learning to Learn (1997).

Hamming has received many awards for his pioneering work. In 1968 he was made a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and awarded the Turing Prize from the Association for Computing Machinery. The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers awarded Hamming the Emanuel R Piore Award in 1979 and a medal in 1988:

For exceptional contributions to information sciences and systems.

The IEEE have named this medal "the Hamming Medal" in his honour.

Further honours included being elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering in 1980 and receiving the Harold Pender Award from the University of Pennsylvania in 1981. In 1996, in Munich, Hamming received the prestigious $130,000 Eduard Rheim Award for Achievement in Technology for his work on error correcting codes.

On Hamming's death Richard Franke of the Naval Postgraduate School at Monterey wrote:

He will be long remembered for his keen insights into many facets of science and computation. I'll also long long remember him for his red plaid sport coat and his bad jokes.

James F Kaiser, in a brief obituary of Hamming, writes:

We will all miss his engaging mind and his penetrating insight into matters scientific, engineering, and of everyday living.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland