علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Sydney Goldstein

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

3 Dec 1903

Hull, England

22 Jan 1989

Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

سيدني غولدشتاين دخل جامعة ليدز في عام 1921 لدراسة الرياضيات. انتقل الى كلية سانت جون ، كمبريدج التخرج فى عام 1925. وبناء على هذه ناجحه جدا الجامعي الوظيفي ، وحصل على جائزة غولدشتاين اسحق نيوتن studentship على مواصلة البحث في الرياضيات التطبيقيه في اطار هارولد جيفريز.

على الدكتوراه حصل على جائزة لاطروحة عن ماثيو (اميل لماثيو) وظائف. وقال انه تم تعيين روكفلر زميل أبحاث وعمل لمدة سنة في غوتنغن. في عام 1929 وقال انه كان زميل كلية سانت جون ، وكامبردج ، وفي العام نفسه ، وتم تعيينه لمنصب المحاضر في الرياضيات في جامعة مانشستر.

مانشستر كان لها تأثير عميق على غولدشتاين. تأثير رينولدز والحمل في ديناميات الموائع كان لا يزال يرى ان هناك وكان لها تأثير كبير على غولدشتاين. انتقل الى كامبردج في عام 1931 واستولت على الحمل 'الموت ، منصب رئيس التحرير من التطورات الحديثة في ديناميات الموائع ، يظهر هذا العمل الهام فى عام 1938.

خلال سنوات الحرب عمل على الطبقة الحدوديه من الناحية النظريه على الصعيد الوطني والماديه في المختبر. ثم في عام 1945 ، جامعة مانشستر مرتين الملهم تعيينات لقسم الرياضيات ، وماكس نيومان الى الرئاسة من الرياضيات البحته وغولدشتاين الى الرئاسة الرياضيات التطبيقيه.

ولكن في عام 1950 ، كان غولدشتاين قوية من المعتقدات اليهودية ، قبلت رئيسا للقسم الرياضيات في التخنيون في اسرائيل. وجوده في اسرائيل ليست طويلة جدا ولكن في عام 1955 وقال انه يوافق على كرسي الرياضيات التطبيقيه في جامعة هارفارد. كان قد ادلى به دور رئيسي في انشاء الاكاديميه وقال انه في اطار التخنيون ولكن العمل الاداري الثقيل جدا وأدت الى بلدة لحسن الحظ قبول الرئاسة في الولايات المتحدة الامريكية.

غولدشتاين عمل في ديناميات الموائع امر ذو اهمية كبرى. وهو الوارد وصفها في ما يلي :

... تلك واحدة من أكثر من تأثر التقدم في ديناميات الموائع خلال القرن ال 20.

درس الحلول العدديه لرقاءقي تدفق مطرد - الحدود - طبقة المعادلات في عام 1930. وقال انه في عام 1935 العمل على نشر المضطرب المقاومة لتناوب في القرص في السوائل. عمله المهم في الديناميكا الهواءيه ، وهو موضوع في غاية التي كان غولدشتاين معرفة.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Sydney Goldstein

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

3 Dec 1903

Hull, England

22 Jan 1989

Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Sydney Goldstein entered the University of Leeds in 1921 to study mathematics. He moved to St John's College, Cambridge graduating in 1925. Based on his very successful undergraduate career, Goldstein was awarded the Isaac Newton Studentship to continue undertaking research in applied mathematics under Harold Jeffreys .

His doctorate was awarded for a thesis on the Mathieu ( Emile Mathieu ) functions. He was appointed Rockefeller Research Fellow and spent a year working in Göttingen. In 1929 he was made a fellow of St John's College, Cambridge and, in the same year, he was appointed to a Lectureship in Mathematics at the University of Manchester.

Manchester had a profound influence on Goldstein. The influence of Reynolds and Lamb in fluid dynamics was still felt there and had a strong effect on Goldstein. He moved to Cambridge in 1931 and took over, on Lamb 's death, the editorship of Modern Developments in Fluid Dynamics, this important work appearing in 1938.

During the war years he worked on boundary layer theory at the National Physical Laboratory. Then in 1945, the University of Manchester made two inspiring appointments to the Department of Mathematics, Max Newman to the chair of Pure Mathematics and Goldstein to the chair of Applied Mathematics.

However in 1950, Goldstein who was of strong Jewish beliefs, accepted the chairmanship of the department of mathematics at Technion in Israel. His stay in Israel was not very long however, and in 1955 he accepted a chair of Applied Mathematics at Harvard. He had made a major role in setting up he academic framework of Technion but the administrative work was very heavy and led to his happily accepting the chair in the USA.

Goldstein's work in fluid dynamics is of major importance. He is described in as:

... one of those who most influenced progress in fluid dynamics during the 20th century.

He studied numerical solutions to steady-flow laminar boundary-layer equations in 1930. In 1935 he published work on the turbulent resistance to rotation of a disk in a fluid. His work was important in aerodynamics, a subject in which Goldstein was extremely knowledgeable.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland