علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

James Whitbread Lee Glaisher

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

5 Nov 1848

Lewisham, Kent, England

7 Dec 1928

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

جيمس glaisher بالمجلس ، وكانت الام لويزا belville سيسيليا والده ، رائد عالم الرياضيات والفلكي ، كما يدعى جيمس glaisher. جيمس كبار يعمل في المرصد الملكي وتزوج من سيسيليا هي ابنة هنري belville ، مساعد في المرصد. وقبل دراسة السيره الذاتية لجيمس الابن ، دعونا نلاحظ ان والده كان اول من التعرف على وجود الستراتوسفير. وقدم بالون صعدات التي يرد وصفها في تقرير للمجلس الملكي الفلكيه من 1862 :

واحدة من الاهداف الرئيسية لل[glaisher وcoxwell] صعدات هو توسيع وتحسين معرفتنا للعلاقة القائمة بين الارتفاع والزياده المقابلة للتغيرات درجة الحراره والرطوبه ، وهذه الاختلافات بدورها لها علاقة حميمه النظريه التصميم الانكسار في الغلاف الجوي. نتائج السيد glaisher ملاحظات تشير الى ان [الحالية] الفرضيه... يجب التخلي عنها...

وكان جيمس والديه الابن البكر ، بعد ان واحد الاخ والاخت واحدة ، وقال انه حضر مدرسة القديس بولس في لندن ، والفوز في 1867 منحة دراسيه للدراسة في كلية ترينيتي ، كمبريدج. وبدأت الابحاث الرياضية بلدة بينما كان لا يزال الجامعي وقال انه أعد ورقة عن الشرط الذي لا يتجزأ ، لا يتجزأ من جيب التمام ، وأسى لا يتجزأ ، واعطاء هذه integrals الجداول التي كان قد يحسب نفسه. الورقه الى الجمعية الملكيه عن طريق كيلي.

في الامتحان النهائي عام 1871 وجرى glaisher الثانية. انتخبت لزماله في كلية ترينيتي ، اصبح المعلم ومحاضر ودرس في كامبريدج ، طوال حياته. فى نفس السنة التي تخرج glaisher انضم الفلكيه الملكيه وما الى ذلك ارتباط طويل بدأ مع ذلك المجتمع. وفي عام 1872 انضم الى لندن الرياضية في المجتمع. ودعا الى عقد هذا المنصب الرفيع في كل من هذه المجتمعات ، ويجري امين الملكيه الفلكيه في الفترة من 1877 الى 1884 ، ثم رئيسا من 1886 الى 1888 ومرة أخرى في الفترة من 1901 الى 1903. وكان رئيسا للجمعية الرياضية لندن 1884-1886.

Glaisher كتب مقالات عن اكثر من 400 بلدة المصالح الرئيسية لعلم الفلك والمهام الخاصة ، وحساب جداول رقمية ، وعدد من الناحية النظريه ، وتاريخ الرياضيات. وكانت بلدة تاريخية عن مصالح التنمية في وقت مبكر من الحساب العددي ، Stevin وبدايات العشريه النظام ، نابيير ، بريغز وبدايات لوغاريتمات فضلا عن ملاحظه الرياضية + و-. وقال انه يطبق على المشاكل الخاصة وظائف في عدد من الناحية النظريه ، وخاصة الأعداد الصحيحه كما اقرارات مبالغ من الساحات.

Glaisher أهمية اقل في البحث الاصلي الذي قام به ، أن هناك الكثير مما جاء في هذه المواضيع الرياضية في كامبريدج انه وضع المنهج حتى يصل الى انتاج المعلقه الانجليزيه الرياضيات من المتعلمين كانت هناك وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير. فورسايث ، كتب في :

السنوات الأولى من التدريس في كمبردج كانت فترة انتقال الرياضية في المثل العليا للجامعة. كيلي الذي كاد ان يكون لهم صوت في البرية ؛ glaisher وصف نفسه كامبردج الرياضيات البحته وكما الجنرالات بدون جيوش. وقال انه عندما توقف تدريس الرياضيات البحته كمبردج قد سار خارجة عن ارادته نشطة بصورة رئيسية في اطار رؤية الرجال منهم ، حسب طلبه ، وقال انه وجهت في البداية. ان صوته كان للمدرس ، ولكنها ليست في اقل مماثلة الى كبير المدربين في كامبردج ، لانه ساهم في بلدة العلم وتراوحت التقليديه الى ابعد من دراسة التعلم. وكان شخصية في يومه ؛ وغادر إسم ، ولاحظ عالية بين اسماء من ابناء جيله ، اثنين على نطاق واسع فى مختلف مجالات البناء والفكر والنشاط البشري.

Glaisher تلقى العديد من الالقاب والاوسمه. انتخب زميلا في الجمعية الملكيه في 1875 ، خدم ثلاث فترات على المجلس ، وردت للجمعية سيلفستر وسام في عام 1913 ، وكان نائب الرئيس في 1917-19. حصل على وسام دي مورغان لندن في عام 1908 الرياضية في المجتمع. انتخب زميلا في الجمعية الملكيه ادنبره ، الاكاديميه الوطنية للعلوم في الولايات المتحدة ، حيث حصل على درجة فخريه من جامعة دبلن في مناسبة الذكرى المءويه الثالثة لل. كما عمل رئيسا للمع مصالح بعض المجتمعات بعيدة كل البعد عن الرياضيات ويجري رئيس كامبردج متخصص في الأثريات والمجتمع والدراجات نادي جامعة كمبريدج.

واحد الشرف ، التي هي أقل من بعض عرضت عليه ، وكان مكتب الفلكي الملكي. ومن المعتقد ان glaisher عرض هذه الوظيفة متجدد الهواء عندما تقاعد في 1871 ولكنه انخفض.

واحدة من هوايات glaisher كان جمع الاعمال الفنية :

... انه سيذكر باعتباره واحدا من الفخار ، مما ادى جامعي من وقته. انتباهه في هذا الاتجاه هي الأولى التي تحتلها في دلفت السلعة ، ولكن من الفخار الهولنديه وقال انه أدى الى اتخاذ مصلحة في التركيبات الانجليزيه في الاقتداء به ، وذلك في انواع اخرى من الفخار الانجليزيه فى وقت مبكر من التاريخ.

فورسايث يصف بلده تؤثر على غرفة في كامبردج :

... له مجموعات ابدا استمر في النمو ، ودائما تحت رعايه جادة. ... مجموعات نمى أكثر منه صاحب المساحه المتاحة ، الطابق السفلي ، الطابق العلوي ، حتى في بلدة نائية في غرفة النوم. وقد نال اضافي مجموعة من الغرف في أعلى سلم وتقريره المقبل الى الطابق العلوي من بلدة مجموعة ؛ انهم ، هم ايضا ، شغل في وقت قريب. ثم استأجرت النوع من المستودع ، كما انه أصبح شغلها في الوقت المناسب. ... وقد Fitzwilliam المتحف... منحه الغرفة (كما شغل في وقت قريب) في الجناح الجديد...

لglaisher شخصية ، فورسايث ان يقول لنا :

الابتسامه له من التقدير وdelightful المعديه ؛ التقدير عندما مصبح الى الاعجاب ، وسوف أعين جذبا له وهج في حماس. متفرد بطلاقة ، ولم تهدف إلى بلاغة في الكلام ، وبعد مرور الكريمه تكثر في تقريره الرسمي العناوين. ... ليس هناك ذرة من التفاخم وإذ تضع في تقريره ، الذي كان صريحا وبسيطا.


Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

James Whitbread Lee Glaisher

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

5 Nov 1848

Lewisham, Kent, England

7 Dec 1928

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Presentation Wikipedia
James Glaisher's mother was Cecilia Louisa Belville and his father, a leading mathematician and astronomer, was also named James Glaisher. James senior worked at the Royal Observatory and he married Cecilia who was the daughter of Henry Belville, an assistant at the Observatory. Before examining James Junior's biography, let us note that his father was the first to recognise the existence of the stratosphere. He made a balloon ascents which are described in the Report of the Council of the Royal Astronomical Society of 1862:

One of the main objects of [Glaisher and Coxwell's] ascents was to extend and improve our knowledge of the relation which exists between increase of elevation and the corresponding variations of temperature and moisture, these variations in their turn having an intimate bearing on the theoretic determination of atmospheric refraction. The results of Mr Glaisher's observations indicate that the [current] hypothesis ... must be abandoned ...

James was his parents eldest son, having one brother and one sister, and he attended St Paul's School in London, winning a scholarship in 1867 to study at Trinity College, Cambridge. His mathematical researches began while he was still an undergraduate and he wrote a paper on the sine integral, cosine integral, and exponential integral, giving tables of these integrals which he had computed himself. The paper was communicated to the Royal Society by Cayley .

In the final examination of 1871 Glaisher was placed second. Elected to a fellowship at Trinity College, he became a tutor and lecturer and taught at Cambridge all his life. In the same year in which he graduated Glaisher joined the Royal Astronomical Society and so began a long association with that Society. In 1872 he joined the London Mathematical Society . He went on to hold high office in both these Societies, being Secretary of the Royal Astronomical Society from 1877 to 1884, then President from 1886 to 1888 and again from 1901 to 1903. He was President of the London Mathematical Society 1884-1886.

Glaisher wrote over 400 articles on his main interests of astronomy, special functions , calculation of numerical tables, number theory , and the history of mathematics. His historical interests were on the early development of numerical computation, Stevin and the beginnings of the decimal system, Napier , Briggs and the beginnings of logarithms as well as the mathematical notation + and -. He applied special functions to problems in number theory, in particular representations of integers as sums of squares.

The importance of Glaisher is less in the original research he did, much more in that he brought these mathematical topics into the Cambridge syllabus so setting it up to produce the outstanding English mathematicians who were educated there shortly afterwards. Forsyth , writes in :

The earliest years of his teaching at Cambridge were a time of transition in the mathematical ideals of the University. Cayley was almost a voice in the wilderness; Glaisher himself described Cambridge pure mathematics as generals without armies. When he had ceased teaching, Cambridge pure mathematics had marched beyond his active vision mainly under men whom, as students, he had guided at the beginning. His voice was that of a teacher, yet not in the least similar to the great Cambridge coaches, for he contributed to his science and ranged far beyond conventional examination learning. He was a personality in his day; and he left a name, high among the noted names of his generation, in two widely different fields of constructive thought and human activity.

Glaisher received many honours. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1875, served three terms on its council, received the Society's Sylvester Medal in 1913, and was vice-president in 1917-19. He received the De Morgan Medal of the London Mathematical Society in 1908. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh , the National Academy of Sciences in the United States, and was awarded an honorary degree by the University of Dublin on the occasion of their tercentenary. He also served as president of some Societies with interests far removed from mathematics being president of the Cambridge Antiquarian Society and the Cambridge University Bicycle Club.

One honour, which it is less than certain he was offered, was the office of Astronomer Royal. It is believed that Glaisher was offered this post when Airy retired in 1871 but that he declined.

One of Glaisher's hobbies was collecting works of art :

... he will be remembered as one of the leading pottery collectors of his time. His attention in this direction was at first occupied by Delft ware, but from the Dutch pottery he was led to take an interest in the English wares made in emulation of it, and so in other types of English pottery of early date.

Forsyth describes the affect on his rooms at Cambridge:

... his collections never ceased to grow, always under his earnest care. ... his collections outgrew available space, downstairs, upstairs, even in his remote bedroom. He was granted an additional set of rooms at the top of his staircase and next to the upper floor of his own set; they, too, soon were filled. He then hired a sort of warehouse, that also became filled in due course. ... the Fitzwilliam Museum ... granted him a room (also soon filled) in the new wing...

As to Glaisher's character, Forsyth tells us that:

His smile of appreciation was delightful and infectious; when appreciation waxed into admiration, his attractive eyes would glow in his enthusiasm. Singularly fluent, he never aimed at eloquence in speech, yet dignified passages abound in his formal addresses. ... There was no shred of pomposity in his bearing, which was frank and simple.


Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland