علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Adolf Abraham Halevi Fraenkel

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

17 Feb 1891

Munich, Germany

15 Oct 1965

Jerusalem, Israel

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ابراهيم fraenkel ، مشتركة مع معظم الطلاب في ألمانيا في وقته ، لفترات دراسة في مختلف الجامعات. امضى بعض الوقت في جامعة ميونخ ، وجامعة ماربورغ ، وجامعة برلين وجامعة breslau. وقال انه فى الفترة من 1916 وحاضر في جامعة ماربورغ ، وترقيته الى استاذ هناك فى عام 1922.

في عام 1928 غادر fraenkel ماربورغ وامضى سنة واحدة التدريس في جامعة كييل. وكان وطيد والصهيونية ، بعد خروجه من كييل ، عمل استاذا في الجامعة العبرية في القدس في الفترة من عام 1929 ، الانضمام الى الجامعة بعد اربع سنوات على تأسيسه. Fraenkel كان لقضاء بقية حياته المهنيه في الجامعة العبرية ، وتعيين أول عميد كلية الرياضيات ، والعامل بوصفه رئيس الجامعة لفترة.

Fraenkel الاولى للعمل على hensel 'ق ف - adic وارقام حول نظرية الخواتم. غير انه من الافضل معروف لعمله على مجموعة من الناحية النظريه ، كتابة أول عمل كبير بشأن هذا الموضوع في einleitung يموت mengenlehre فى عام 1919.

وقال انه ادلى محاولتين ، في عام 1922 وعام 1925 ، لوضع مجموعة من الناحية النظريه الى تحديد البديهي التي من شأنها ان تجنب التناقضات. وحاول لتحسين تعاريف zermelo و، في اطار نظام بلده البديهيه ، وقال إنه ثبت استقلال البديهيه للاختيار. له نظام البديهيات skolem عدل في عام 1922 لاعطاء ما هو اليوم والمعروفة باسم نظام zfs. وهذا هو اسمه بعد zermelo ، fraenkel وskolem. وضمن هذا النظام انه من الصعب اثبات استقلاليه البديهيه في الاختيار وهذا لم يتحقق حتى عمل كوهين في عام 1963.

Fraenkel مهتمة ايضا في تاريخ الرياضيات وكتب عددا من الأعمال الهامة المتعلقة بهذا الموضوع. وقال انه كتب على الغاوس 'العمل في الجبر في عام 1920 ، ثم في عام 1930 ، نشر السيره الذاتية هام من قائد الفرقة الموسيقيه في الكنيسة. وقال انه في عام 1960 نشرت اليهودية والرياضيات وعلم الفلك.

عدد من طلاب fraenkel قدمت مساهمات هامة فى الرياضيات بما روبنسون من خلفه عند تقاعده من الرئاسة له في الجامعة العبرية. Fraenkel بعد تقاعده لم يتخل عن التدريس ، والاستمرار في محاضرة في جامعة بار ايلان قرب تل ابيب.

لقد سبق ان ذكرت ان fraenkel كان حارا الصهيوني. على هذا النحو كان المشاركة في النشاط السياسي فى انه عضو من vaad Leumi ، واللجنة التنفيذية للجمعية الوطنية الفلسطينية اليهودية في ذلك الوقت من الانتداب البريطاني. Fraenkel كان ايضا عضوا من merkaz ruhani الدينية داخل الحركة الصهيونية. هذا الحزب تشجيع التربيه الدينية اليهودية ، التي انشئت المدارس الدينية وشجعت بقوة سلطة رئيس rabbinate على جميع المسائل اليهودية مثل الزواج والطلاق.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Adolf Abraham Halevi Fraenkel

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

17 Feb 1891

Munich, Germany

15 Oct 1965

Jerusalem, Israel

Presentation Wikipedia
Abraham Fraenkel, in common with most students in Germany in his time, studied for periods at different universities. He spent some time at the University of Munich, the University of Marburg, the University of Berlin and the University of Breslau. From 1916 he lectured at the University of Marburg, being promoted to professor there in 1922.

In 1928 Fraenkel left Marburg and spent one year teaching at the University of Kiel. He was a fervent Zionist and, after leaving Kiel, he taught at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem from 1929, joining the university four years after its foundation. Fraenkel was to spend the rest of his career at the Hebrew University, being appointed the first Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics, and serving as the rector of the university for a period.

Fraenkel's first work was on Hensel 's p-adic numbers and on the theory of rings. However he is best known for his work on set theory, writing his first major work on the topic Einleitung in die Mengenlehre in 1919.

He made two attempts, in 1922 and 1925, to put set theory into an axiomatic setting that would avoid the paradoxes. He tried to improve the definitions of Zermelo and, within his axiom system, he proved the independence of the axiom of choice . His system of axioms was modified by Skolem in 1922 to give what is today known as the ZFS system. This is named after Zermelo , Fraenkel and Skolem . Within this system it is harder to prove the independence of the axiom of choice and this was not achieved until the work of Cohen in 1963.

Fraenkel was also interested in the history of mathematics and wrote a number of important works on the topic. He wrote on Gauss 's work in algebra in 1920, then in 1930, he published an important biography of Cantor . In 1960 he published Jewish mathematics and astronomy.

A number of Fraenkel's students have made important contributions to mathematics including Robinson who succeeded him when he retired from his chair at the Hebrew University. After retiring Fraenkel did not give up teaching, continuing to lecture at Bar Ilan University, near Tel Aviv.

We have already mentioned that Fraenkel was a fervent Zionist. As such he was involved in political activity being a member of the Vaad Leumi, the executive committee of the Palestinian Jewish National Assembly at the time of British mandate. Fraenkel was also a member of the Merkaz Ruhani religious movement within Zionism. This party promoted Jewish religious education, established religious schools and strongly promoted the authority of the chief rabbinate over all Jewish matters such as marriage and divorce.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland