علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Andrew Russell Forsyth

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

18 June 1858

Glasgow, Scotland

2 June 1942

London, England

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

اندرو فورسايث بالمجلس ، وكان الأب جون فورسايث والدته وكان غلين كريستينا. جون فورسايث كان مهندسا يعمل في غلاسكو احواض السفن واسرته جاء من Paisley. غير ان جون فورسايث وانتقل الى ليفربول ، مع الاخذ في اسرته معه ، آندرو وسرعان ما تبين له قدرات استثناءيه الرياضية في المدارس الثانويه في تلك المدينة.

فورسايث دخلت كلية ترينيتي ، جامعة كامبريدج في 1877 ودرس هناك في اطار كيلي ، وتخرجت في 1881. أخذ tripos الرياضية في تلك السنة كان اول wrangler (بمعنى انه وضعت في المرتبة الاولى في قائمة الدرجة الاولى من خريجي) وعين في زماله في كلية ترينيتي. هذا النوع من زماله والمرشحين للمنافسة على تقديم اطروحة ؛ فورسايث اطروحة اثبتت نتائج عميقة على ازدواجيه المهام ثيتا. المواهب الراءعه التي رأوه اجازة كامبردج في السنة التالية عندما عين الرئيس للرياضيات في جامعة ليفربول بشكل ملحوظ في سن مبكره من 24.

ورغم أن العودة كانت فورسايث في ليفربول ، المدينة التي اصبحت منزله ، وقال انه لا يبقى هناك لمدة طويلة جدا ، قبول منصب المحاضر في كمبردج في 1884. وبعد عامين ، وكان عمره آنذاك 28 ، انتخب زميلا في الجمعية الملكيه لندن. وقال انه في عام 1897 حصل على جائزة وسام ملكي من قبل ذلك المجتمع.

نشرت في 1893 وقال انه من الناحية النظريه من مهام معقدة مثل هذه المتغيرات التي قد تؤثر في كامبردج ان هناك وظيفة نظرية سادت لسنوات عديدة. ويتاكر ان يكتب في هذا النص :

... وكان أكبر تأثير على الرياضيات والبريطانية من اي عمل منذ نيوتن 'المبادىء الأولى ق.

ولكن سمعه من الكتاب خارج بريطانيا هي ليست عالية. والواقع أن هذا ليس مستغربا لأن مجمل التوجه العام للكتاب هو تحقيق التطور الكبير القاريه الرياضيات الى كامبريدج التي شهدت فورسايث بحق انهم يعيشون في الماضي. وقال انه مجهزه تجهيزا جيدا للاضطلاع بهذه المهمة لوسافر على نطاق واسع ، ويجري جيدا لغوي ، وقد تمكنت من تقدير التقدم الذي ادلى به في كتابه والفرنسية والالمانيه.

على كيلي 'الموت فورسايث عين رئيسا لبلده في 1895 ليصبح sadleirian استاذ الرياضيات البحته. ومع تفضيله لاتقان التقنيه بدلا من تحليل دقيق يعني انه لم تبعث الرياضيات البحته في المستقبل. والواقع ان المرء ينبغي ان اقول ان فورسايث كان سيئ الحظ ، على الرغم من أنه يرى اهمية الرياضيات والقاريه ، وفي الوقت نفسه له اعظم نقاط القوة تكمن في قدرته على التعامل مع الصيغ المعقده. ولذلك فانه على وجه الدقه وتفوقت في اسلوب الرياضيات هو نفسه الذي قام بحملة ناجحه ليحل محل في كامبردج.

كانت له علاقة الحب مع اميليا ماريون البنين ، زوجة السيره الذاتية الاولاد ، وفضيحه 1910 يجبره على الاستقالة من منصب الرئاسة في بلدة كامبريدج. ماريون بعد زواج الاولاد ، وقال انه غادر البلاد لبعض الوقت في حين ان الانفاق في كالكوتا قبل ان في نهاية المطاف وجدت وظيفة اخرى في انكلترا ، وتعيين الى الرئاسة الكليه الملكيه في لندن في عام 1913. تقاعده من الرئاسة في بلده لندن في عام 1923 عند بلوغ سن خمس وستون ولكن لا تزال تنشر النصوص الرياضية حتى كان ما يقرب من ثمانين سنة من العمر.

فورسايث النصوص الشهيرة التي نشرت قبل 1893 للعمل من الناحية النظريه وظائف معقدة متغيرة ، هي الاطروحه على المعادلات التفاضليه (1885) ، ونظرية المعادلات التفاضليه التي نشرت في ستة مجلدات بين 1890 و 1906. بعد أن نشر في 1893 الاطروحه العديد من النصوص الأخرى ، وأهم منها محاضرات عن الهندسه التفاضليه من المنحنيات والسطوح (1912) ، محاضرات تمهيديه لنظرية وظائف اثنين من المتغيرات المعقده (1914) ، وحساب التفاضل والتكامل من الاختلافات (1927) ، الهندسه من اربعة ابعاد هي التي كانت في مجلدين ، ونشرت في عام 1930 ، والمتاصله في هندسة الفضاء المثالي ايضا في مجلدين ، ونشرت في عام 1935.

في وتجدر الاشارة الى ان :

على كل ما قدمه من الاطروحات واتسمت شكل من اشكال الكمال والشموليه المدمره. وكانت له أيضا من روح الدعابه متخصصه نوع ، حتى على وجهه البشاشه. المعلم ، كما كان دائما على استعداد وتتعاطف مع معلومات واسعة للتخزين.

ليس كل من كان مثل هذا الرأي من ارتفاع فورسايث ، ولكن. اقرأ هنا روث ما فكر به.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Andrew Russell Forsyth

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

18 June 1858

Glasgow, Scotland

2 June 1942

London, England

Presentation Wikipedia
Andrew Forsyth's father was John Forsyth and his mother was Christina Glenn. John Forsyth was an engineer working in the Glasgow shipyards and his family came from Paisley. However John Forsyth moved to Liverpool and, taking his family with him, Andrew was soon to show his exceptional mathematical abilities at secondary school in that city.

Forsyth entered Trinity College, University of Cambridge in 1877 and there he studied under Cayley , graduating in 1881. Taking the Mathematical Tripos in that year he was First Wrangler (meaning that he was placed first in the ranked list of first class graduates) and he was appointed to a fellowship at Trinity College. This type of fellowship was competitive and candidates had to submit a thesis; Forsyth's thesis proved deep results on double theta functions. His remarkable talent saw him leave Cambridge in the following year when he was appointed to the chair of mathematics at the University of Liverpool at the remarkably young age of 24.

Although Forsyth was back in Liverpool, the city which had become his home, he did not remain there for very long, accepting a lectureship at Cambridge in 1884. Two years later, at the age of 28, he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of London . In 1897 he was awarded the Royal Medal by that Society.

In 1893 he published Theory of functions of a complex variable which had such an impact at Cambridge that function theory dominated there for many years. Whittaker writes in that this text:

... had a greater influence on British mathematics than any work since Newton 's Principia.

However the reputation of the book outside Britain was not high. In fact this is not surprising since the whole thrust of the book was to bring the great advances of Continental mathematics to Cambridge which Forsyth rightly saw as living in the past. He was well equipped to undertake this task for he travelled widely and, being a good linguist, was able to appreciate the advances made by authors writing in French and German.

On Cayley 's death Forsyth was appointed to his chair in 1895 becoming the Sadleirian professor of Pure Mathematics. However his preference for technical mastery rather than rigorous analysis meant that he failed to inspire future pure mathematicians. In fact one would have to say that Forsyth was unlucky, for although he saw the importance of Continental mathematics, at the same time his greatest strengths lay in his ability to handle complex formulae. He therefore excelled at precisely the style of mathematics which he himself campaigned successfully to replace at Cambridge.

He had a love affair with Marion Amelia Boys, the wife of C V Boys , and the scandal of 1910 forced him to resign his chair at Cambridge. After marrying Marion Boys, he left the country for a while spending some time in Calcutta before he eventually found another post in England, being appointed to the chair in Imperial College London in 1913. He retired from his chair in London in 1923 when reaching the age of sixty-five but continued to publish mathematical texts until he was close to eighty years of age.

Famous texts which Forsyth published before his 1893 work Theory of Functions of a complex variable , are A treatise on differential equations (1885), and Theory of differential equations published in six volumes between 1890 and 1906. After his 1893 treatise he published many other texts, the most important of which are Lectures on the differential geometry of curves and surfaces (1912), Lectures introductory to the theory of functions of two complex variables (1914), Calculus of variations (1927), Geometry of four dimensions which was in two volumes and published in 1930, and Intrinsic geometry of ideal space also in two volumes, published in 1935.

In it is noted that:

All his treatises were marked by perfect form and devastating completeness. He also had humour of a specialized kind, even to the point of joviality. As a teacher he was sympathetic and always ready with vast store of information.

Not everyone had such a high opinion of Forsyth, however. Read here what Roth thought of him.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland