علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Thomas Scott Fiske

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

12 May 1865

New York, USA

10 Jan 1944

Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

توماس فيسك حضرت المدرسة القديمة كنيسة الثالوث الاقدس في نيويورك ، ثم في المدرسة pingry اليزابيث ، ولاية نيو جيرسي. فيسك دخلت كلية كولومبيا في عام 1882 ، ثلاثين عاما قبل ان تصبح جامعة كولومبيا ، وحصوله على بكالوريوس في 1885 و 1886 في بلدة صباحا. من 1886 الى 1888 كان كل من مساعد في كلية كولومبيا لاجراء البحوث والاضطلاع بها على الدكتوراه.

في 1887 ، للفيسك في السنة الثانية من الدراسات العليا ، فإن amringe واقترح انه ينبغي ان تنفق ستة اشهر على الاقل في انكلترا في جامعة كمبردج. وقد وصل مع رسائل خطية مقدمة من قبل GL rives ، عضو مجلس امناء كلية كولومبيا من كان wrangler في كمبردج في 1872. مع الرسائل الموجهة الى كيلي ، glaisher ، وفورسايث داروين ، فيسك هي في وضع يمكنها من الاستفادة من وقته في كامبردج. يكتب في :

علميا استفدت أكثر من غيرها من التعليمات والمشوره وفورسايث من القراءة من وجهة نظري مع الاب الدكتور ريتشموند ، من توافق على اعطائي الدروس الخصوصيه. ومع ذلك ، من الدكتور jwl glaisher ، جعلني من صديق حميم ، امضى العديد من المساء معي في القلب واستمع الى المحادثات ، من أخذني الى اجتماعات لندن رياضية المجتمع ، والجمعية الملكيه الفلكيه ، ولي بها مطلقا مع ثرثرة عن عشرات والمعاصرة في وقت سابق من الرياضيين ، وأنا اكثر المكتسبه بشكل عام من اكثر من أي شخص آخر. كنت قد حضرت الا عدد قليل من المحاضرات التي يلقيها على كيلي 'حساب التفاضل والتكامل للextraordinaires' عندما الانزلاق على الجليد ، وانه يعاني من كسر ساقه ، مما ادى الى المحاضرات ووضع حد لها.

العودة في الولايات المتحدة ، فيسك الانتهاء من بحثه يجري منح الدكتوراه في عام 1888. وقال انه عين مدرس في مجال الرياضيات في جامعة كولومبيا في 1888 ورقي الى مدرب على التوالي في 1891 ، استاذ مساعد في عام 1894 ، واستاذ كرسي في عام 1897. وكان شغل منصب استاذ في كولومبيا منذ ذلك الحين وحتى تقاعده في عام 1936.

فيسك هو حاصل كما بحث رياضيات. وقال انه نشر بضعة ورقات عن الاهليلجيه integrals والسطحيه وintegrals وخلال حياته المهنيه ، فضلا عن عدد من الاوراق الرياضية على التعليم. وقد الوظيفي في وقت لاحق انه كتب بعض المواد على الموسوعه الاهليلجيه وظائف ، وظائف حقيقية ومعقدة من المتغيرات واثنين من غيرهم.

له أهمية حقيقية ، ومع ذلك ، هو انه كان مؤسس رياضية المجتمع الامريكى فى عام 1888. خدم المجتمع الجديد بمجموعة متنوعة من الطرق ، على سبيل المثال امينا من 1888 الى 1895 ، كأمين من 1890 الى 1891 ، حسب رئيس تحرير للنشرة الرياضية في المجتمع الاميركي في الفترة من 1891 الى 1899 ، نائبا للprisident للمجتمع من 1898 الى 1901 ، من تحرير للمعاملات رياضية المجتمع الاميركي من 1899 الى 1905 ورئيسا للجمعية في الفترة من 1903 الى 1904.

أرشيبالد من المحادثات :

... الديون الضخمه التي يدين المجتمع ليتمكن مؤسس ، الذي متحمس انشطه نيابة عنها خلال اول خمسة عشر عاما من وجود لها ، وذلك حتى لا هوادة فيه من الحكمة.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Thomas Scott Fiske

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

12 May 1865

New York, USA

10 Jan 1944

Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Thomas Fiske attended the Old Trinity Church School in New York, then the Pingry School in Elizabeth, New Jersey. Fiske entered Columbia College in 1882, thirty years before it became Columbia University, receiving his A.B. in 1885 and his A.M. in 1886. From 1886 to 1888 he was both an assistant at Columbia College and undertaking research for his doctorate.

In 1887, in Fiske's second year of graduate studies, Van Amringe suggested that he should spend at least six months in England at the University of Cambridge. He arrived with letters of introduction written by G L Rives, a trustee of Columbia College who had been a wrangler at Cambridge in 1872. With letters addressed to Cayley , Glaisher , Forsyth and Darwin , Fiske was well placed to take advantage of his time at Cambridge. He writes in :

Scientifically I benefited most from the instruction and advice of Forsyth and from my reading with Dr H W Richmond , who consented to give me private lessons. However, from Dr J W L Glaisher , who made me an intimate friend, who spent many an evening with me in heart to heard talks, who took me to meetings of the London Mathematical Society and the Royal Astronomical Society , and entertained me with gossip about scores of contemporary and earlier mathematicians, I gained more in a general way than from anyone else. I had attended only a few lectures by Cayley on 'The calculus of the extraordinaires' when, slipping on the ice, he suffered a fracture of the leg, which brought the lectures to an end.

Back in the United States, Fiske completed his research being awarded his doctorate in 1888. He was appointed a tutor in mathematics at Columbia University in 1888 and was successively promoted to instructor in 1891, adjunct professor in 1894, and full professor in 1897. He held the post of professor at Columbia from then until he retired in 1936.

Fiske is of little importance as a research mathematician. He published a few papers on elliptic integrals and surface integrals during his career, as well as a number of papers on mathematical education. Later in has career he wrote some encyclopaedia articles on elliptic functions, functions of real and complex variables and a couple of others.

His real importance, however, is that he was the founder of the American Mathematical Society in 1888. He served the new Society in a variety of ways, for example as secretary from 1888 to 1895, as treasurer from 1890 to 1891, as editor-in-chief of the Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society from 1891 to 1899, as vice-prisident of the Society from 1898 to 1901, as editor of the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society from 1899 to 1905 and as president of the Society from 1903 to 1904.

Archibald talks of:

... the enormous debt which the Society owes to its able Founder, whose enthusiastic activities on her behalf during the first fifteen years of her existence, were so unremitting and so wise.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland