علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Naum Il'ich Feldman

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

26 Nov 1918

Melitopol, Zaporozhye oblast, Ukraine

20 April 1994

Moscow, Russia

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

نعوم il'ich فيلدمان من خريجي المدارس المتوسطة فى عام 1936 ودخل كلية الرياضيات والميكانيك في جامعة ليننغراد. دراساته ، متخصصه في عدد من الناحية النظريه واشرفت عليها kuz'min ريال عماني ، وقد انجزت من قبل 1941 عندما تخرج من لينينغراد. ولكن هذه المرة من قبل الحرب العالمية الثانية التي حدثت وتحدث لحوالى 18 شهرا وقريبا سوف نرى الاحداث فيلدمان المشاركة في الحرب.

في بداية الحرب العالمية الثانية كانت روسيا حليفا لالمانيا ولكن هتلر ، وبعد الحملات العسكرية الناجحة جدا في الغرب ، تحول انتباهه الى الهجوم على روسيا. وقال انه تصور خير الدين بربروس وبدأت عملية بناء الجيش للقيام الشعب الهجوم. خير الدين بربروس اطلق في 22 حزيران / يونية 1941 وبسرعة تحركت الجيوش الالمانيه والشرق ، بهدف التوصل الى موسكو في ثمانيه اسابيع. فيلدمان هو استدعاء للخدمة في الجيش الروسي في حزيران / يونيو وتشرين الاول / اكتوبر 1941 من قبل وقال انه تماما المشاركة في المعركه ضد تقدم القوات الالمانيه. كانون الاول / ديسمبر 1941 من قبل الالمان محاط موسكو ولكن الآن ، ويرجع ذلك جزئيا الى الاحوال الجوية في فصل الشتاء الشديد ، وقد توقف تقدمها. الروس بدات هجوما مضادا فان الجيوش الالمانيه حول موسكو وفيلدمان وشهد العمل للمرة الاولى في هذا القتال المرير. وقال انه في وقت لاحق من منح وسام "للدفاع عن موسكو".

ونظرا لارتفاع الخسائر الروسيه خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية ، ومن فيلدمان لافتا جدا انه نجا من الحرب. ورأى ان العمل في كثير من اجزاء وقرب نهاية الحرب وقال انه متورط في خلال شهرين من الحصار königsberg التي انتهت في نيسان / ابريل 1945 مع مدينة دمرت تقريبا. من جانبه في هذا الحصار فيلدمان ومنح وسام "لاتخاذ königsberg". وقال انه تلقى العديد من الاوسمه الاخرى لحربه الخدمة ، بما في امر "النجمة الحمراء" ، و "وطن الحرب". وحصل ايضا على ميداليه "الخدمة للحرب" و "للانتصار على المانيا".

في نهاية الحرب كان فيلدمان مع الجيوش الروسيه في شرق بروسيا. مرة واحدة وكان demobbed من الجيش وعاد الى موسكو حيث ، في عام 1946 ، وهو سجل للبحوث الطلبة في معهد الرياضيات من جامعة موسكو. صاحب دكتوراه دراسات يشرف عليها الكسندر س gelfond وقدم أطروحته في عام 1949. حيث ان الكثير من فيلدمان للعمل في وقت لاحق على أساس العمل الذي اضطلع به لهذه الفرضيه أننا نعطي لمحة موجزة عن اهم النتائج في هذه المرحلة. هيرميت في عام 1873 نشرت اول دليل على ان التجارة الالكترونيه هي عدد متسام. وبهذه النتيجة عزز بوريل فى عام 1899 عندما ثبت اقل ملزمة لف (ه) ، حيث ف هي معاملات متعدد الحدود مع عدد صحيح ، وهذا يتوقف على الحد الاقصى من عدد صحيح معامل من معاملات ف. Gelfond ، فيلدمان للمشرف ، قد مددت بوريل بالمجلس ، نتيجة لعدد من شكل ، حيث يتم إعداد جبري. فيلدمان ثبت في اطروحته نوع النتائج بوريل (تسمى مقياس التفوق (لوغاريتمات الاعداد للجبري ، والحصول على تقديرات لانخفاض ملزمة حسب (كما فعل gelfond) على كل من درجة ف والحد الاقصى للمعامل من معاملات.

بعد منح درجة الدكتوراه من بلده ، فيلدمان تم ارساله الى معهد النفط ufimskii حيث عين رئيسا لقسم الرياضيات. كان يعمل هناك لمدة اربع سنوات من عام 1950 ثم انتقل الى معهد موسكو للوالتنقيب الجيولوجي ، وهناك من التدريس عام 1954 الى عام 1961. ثم انتقل الى جامعة الدولة فى موسكو حيث كان في عين القارئ في ادارة الشؤون الرياضية للتحليل. وقال انه حصل على جائزة أ د الشورى في عام 1974 ورقي الى استاذ في عام 1980.

وبالإضافة إلى عمله على قدر من تجاوز الأرقام ، فيلدمان ايضا انتاج العديد من النتائج تعزيز liouville بالمجلس ، مبرهنه على الرشيد تقريب جبري الارقام. قوة فيلدمان نتائج فى هذا المجال تكمن فى حقيقة انه قادر على اعطاء فعالية الثوابت بدلا من مجرد اثبات وجود مثل هذه الثوابت. فعال في شحذ السلطة من نظرية من liouville فى عام 1971 وقال انه ثبت ان النظريه التالية :

واود ان هيربج درجة ان عددا من 3 ؛ ثم هناك ثوابت ايجابية فعالة الف وجيم ، الا على حسب ، على ان يكون | -- ف / ف |> الاستبيان المفاهيمي ا -- ن الرشيد للجميع ف الاعداد الصحيحه ، مع س س> 0.

هذين الموضوعين ، بطبيعة الحال ، يرتبط ارتباطا وثيقا. فعلى سبيل المثال فى عام 1960 نشرت فيلدمان ورقتين التدبير من عدد من التفوق وتقريب الأرقام الى جانب جبري جبري من لوغاريتمات الاعداد التي تم استعراضها معا مالر من قبل :

في هذين الملفين وثائق مهمة ، والتي ترتبط ارتباطا وثيقا ، لاتخاذ تدابير من التفوق وسجل (أ) (أ جبري) هي التي وجدت هي أفضل بكثير من أي الحصول عليها من قبل. ... البراهين على حد سواء في استخدام اوراق افكار مماثلة. وهي تستند الى ديريتشليت 'schubfachprinzip وعلى اثنين من استيفاء الصيغ...

في عام 1982 نشرت فيلدمان 312 صفحة هيلبيرت النص السابع للمشكلة. هيلبيرت 'المشكلة السابعه وطلب دليلا على تجاوز ا لسلطة ب عندما هيربج هو عدد وباء غير منطقي عدد جبري. Loxton يكتب في اعادة النظر في هذا الكتاب :

هذا الكتاب هو leisurely حساب من الرياضيات التي نمت من المحاولات الراميه الى حل [هيلبيرت 'المشكلة السابعه]. الفصل الاول يتناول اول التاريخ ، وعمل هيرميت lindemann وأسى على وظيفة. ثم يأتي العلاج من اساليب gelfond شنايدر والتي ادت الى حل هيلبيرت 'المشكلة السابعه ق. طلبات اخرى من هذه الاساليب لحساب خصائص الوظائف الاهليلجيه ، تجاوز تدابير جبريه الاستقلال وتعطى ايضا. الجزء الأخير من الكتاب يصف آلن بيكر 'ق على خطى اشكال العمل في الاعداد لوغاريتمات للجبري وتطبيقاتها لديوفانتاين والمعادلات لتحديد مجالات وهميه من الدرجة الثانية مع الطبقة رقم 1 او 2. ومعظم هذه المواد يمكن ان يطلق عليه الآن "الكلاسيكيه". ومع ذلك ، فإن المؤلف ويشمل تكرار الملاحظات الاخيرة على نظرية التفوق في العمل...

في كتابة كتاب للمعلم كما فيلدمان :

وكان نعوم il'ich موهوب وبرزت المعلمين لتدريس المهارات الكبير. كان عاشقا لالقاء محاضرات ، لادارة الحلقات الدراسيه ، الى العمل مع كل من طلاب الدراسات الجامعيه والدراسات العليا. الكثير من الطلاب لم اثناء الدورة وعلى دبلوم عمل تحت اشرافه ، وهكذا انتهت منها ph.ds حاضر خلاله دون انقطاع لمدة 45 سنة ، حتى يومه الاخير ، لطلاب الرياضيات ، وتكريس قوة هاءله لصاحب التدريس.

نعوم il'ich وقفت بها الكبير والنزاهه ومبادئ عالية ، والخير والاحسان. وقال انه كان يحظى باحترام كبير من قبل طلاب الدراسات الجامعيه والدراسات العليا ، وزملاؤه في ادارة وكلية ، والعديد من الرياضيين ، وسوف نتذكر دائما من له معروف معلم ، محاضر بارز ، وشخص رائع.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Naum Il'ich Feldman

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

26 Nov 1918

Melitopol, Zaporozhye oblast, Ukraine

20 April 1994

Moscow, Russia

Presentation
Naum Il'ich Feldman graduated from middle school in 1936 and entered the Faculty of Mathematics and Mechanics at the University of Leningrad. His studies, specialising in number theory and supervised by R O Kuz'min, were completed by 1941 when he graduated from Leningrad. However by this time World War II had been taking place for around 18 months and soon events would see Feldman involved in the war.

At the start of World War II Russia had been an ally of Germany but Hitler, after highly successful military campaigns in the west, turned his attention to attacking Russia. He conceived Operation Barbarossa and began to build up army divisions to carry out the attack. Barbarossa was launched on 22 June 1941 and the German armies rapidly moved east with the aim of reaching Moscow in eight weeks. Feldman was called up to serve in the Russian army in June and by October 1941 he was totally involved in the battle against the advancing German troops. By December 1941 the Germans ringed Moscow but now, partly due to the severe winter weather, their advance was halted. The Russians began to counter-attack the German armies around Moscow and Feldman saw action for the first time in this bitter fighting. He was later awarded a medal "For the Defence of Moscow".

Given the high Russian casualties during World War II, it is quite remarkable that Feldman survived the war. He saw action in many parts and near the end of the war he was involved in the two-month siege of Königsberg which ended in April 1945 with the city virtually destroyed. For his part in this siege Feldman was awarded a medal "For the Taking of Königsberg". He received many other decorations for his war service, including the order of the "Red Star", and "The Fatherland War". He also received medals "For War Service" and "For Victory over Germany".

At the end the war Feldman was with the Russian armies in East Prussia. Once he was demobbed from the army he returned to Moscow where, in 1946, he registered as a research student in the Institute of Mathematics of Moscow University. His Ph.D. studies were supervised by Aleksandr O Gelfond and his thesis was submitted in 1949. Since so much of Feldman's later work was based on the work he undertook for this thesis we give a brief overview of its main results at this point. In 1873 Hermite published the first proof that e is a transcendental number. This result was strengthened by Borel in 1899 when he proved a lower bound for P(e), where P is a polynomial with integer coefficients, depending on the maximum modulus of the integer coefficients of P. Gelfond , Feldman's supervisor, had extended Borel 's result to numbers of the form , where , are algebraic numbers. Feldman proved in his thesis Borel type results (called the measure of transcendence) for logarithms of algebraic numbers, obtaining estimates for the lower bound depending (as did Gelfond ) on both the degree of P and the maximum modulus of its coefficients.

After the award of his Ph.D., Feldman was sent to the Ufimskii Oil Institute where he was appointed as Head of the Department of Mathematics. He worked there for four years from 1950 then he went to the Moscow Institute of Geological Prospecting, teaching there from 1954 to 1961. He then went to Moscow State University where he was appointed as a Reader in the Department of Mathematical Analysis. He was awarded a D.Sc in 1974 and was promoted to Professor in 1980.

In addition to his work on the measure of transcendence of numbers, Feldman also produced many results strengthening Liouville 's theorem on the rational approximation of algebraic numbers. The power of Feldman's results in this area lie in the fact that he was able to give effective constants rather than just prove the existence of such constants. In An effective power sharpening of a theorem of Liouville in 1971 he proved the following theorem:

Let be an algebraic number of degree n 3; then there exist effective positive constants a and C, depending only on , such that | - p/q| > Cqa-n for all rational integers p, q with q > 0.

These two themes are, of course, closely connected. For example in 1960 Feldman published two papers The measure of transcendency of the number and Approximation by algebraic numbers to logarithms of algebraic numbers which were reviewed together by Mahler :

In these two important papers, which are closely connected, measures of transcendency for and log a (a algebraic) are found which are far better than any obtained before. ... The proofs in both papers use similar ideas. They are based on Dirichlet 's Schubfachprinzip and on two interpolation formulae ...

In 1982 Feldman published a 312 page text Hilbert's seventh problem. Hilbert 's seventh problem asked for a proof of the transcendence of a to the power b when a is an algebraic number and b is an irrational algebraic number. Loxton writes in a review of this book:

This book is a leisurely account of the mathematics which has grown out of the attempts to solve [ Hilbert 's seventh problem]. The first chapter deals with the early history and the work of Hermite and Lindemann on the exponential function. Then follows a treatment of the methods of Gelfond and Schneider which led to the solution of Hilbert 's seventh problem. Further applications of these methods to the arithmetic properties of elliptic functions, transcendence measures and algebraic independence are also given. The last part of the book describes Alan Baker 's work on linear forms in the logarithms of algebraic numbers and its applications to Diophantine equations and to the determination of imaginary quadratic fields with class number 1 or 2. Most of this material might now be called "classical". However, the author includes frequent remarks on recent work in transcendence theory ....

In the authors write of Feldman as a teacher:

Naum Il'ich was a gifted teacher and stood out for his great teaching skill. He loved to give lectures, to run seminars, to work with both undergraduate and postgraduate students. Many students did their coursework and diploma work under his supervision, and sic of them completed their Ph.D.s. He lectured uninterruptedly for 45 year, until his last day, to students of mathematics, devoting great power to his teaching.

Naum Il'ich stood out by his great integrity, high principles, goodness and benevolence. He was highly respected by his undergraduate and postgraduate students, his colleagues in the department and faculty, and many mathematicians, who will always remember him as a well-known teacher, an outstanding lecturer, and a remarkable person.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland