علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Charles Louis Fefferman

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

18 April 1949

Washington, D.C., USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

وكان تشارلز fefferman الطفل الاعجوبه. ومن ادعى انه قد تفننت حساب التفاضل والتكامل قبل سن الثانية عشرة. Fefferman دخلت في جامعة ميريلاند ، عندما كان الصغار جدا وفي عام 1966 ، في ال 17 من عمره ، وتخرج مع بأعلى تقدير.

Fefferman تعهد بعد التخرج للدراسات العليا في جامعة برنستون في العمل الذي يشرف عليه الياس شتاين. وقال انه حصل على الدكتوراه في عام 1969 عن أطروحة بعنوان التفاوت بقوة العاديه لمشغلي الالتواء. وقال انه حاضر في برينستون للسنوات 1969-70. انتقل الى جامعة شيكاغو في عام 1970 ، وبعد عام واحد في عام 1971 ، وقد رقي الى استاذ كرسي هناك ، دخل له التمييز من ان تصبح اصغر من اي وقت مضى تعيين استاذ كرسي في الولايات المتحدة.

وفي عام 1973 عاد الى fefferman وبرينستون ، في عام 1984 ، وتم تعيينه وهربرت جونز استاذ في برينستون.

وقال انه في عام 1976 حصل على جائزة الن ر الملاح الجاءزه ، كونها اول رياضيات في الحصول على مثل هذه الجاءزه.

Fefferman العديد من الابتكارات التي ساهمت في الدراسه المنقحه معقدة متعددة الابعاد للتحليل الصحيح من خلال ايجاد التعميمات الكلاسيكيه الابعاد والنتائج المنخفضه. Fefferman عمل على المعادلات التفاضليه الجزءيه ، تحليل فورييه ، ولا سيما التقارب ، ومضاعفات ، والاختلاف ، والمفرد integrals هاردي المساحات المكتسبه الميادين وسام له فى المؤتمر الدولى لعلماء الرياضيات فى هلسنكى فى عام 1978.

في عام 1979 ووصف الطريقة fefferman انه يود العمل :

احب ان انبطح على الاريكه لعدة ساعات في امتداد باهتمام عن اشكال التفكير والعلاقات والتغيير -- ونادرا ما عن الارقام على هذا النحو. الاول استكشاف الفكره بعد الفكره في ذهني ، ونبذ اكثر. عندما مفهوم واخيرا يبدو واعدا ، وانا مستعد لجربة على الورق. ولكن اولا احصل على ورضع تغيير حفاظه الاطفال. ... افكار جديدة وليس من السهل العثور عليها. اذا كنت محظوظا بما فيه الكفايه ليكون العمل على فكرة الحق الذي هو في الواقع ، يمكن ان يستغرق وقتا طويلا قبل تعلمون انه حق. على العكس من ذلك ، اذا كنت عمياء لتصل زقاق ، كما يمكن ان يستغرق وقتا طويلا قبل ان تجد. يمكنك ان تقول في نهاية الامر 'عذرا ، لقد كنت تعمل لسنوات على شيء من الخطأ'. رياضيات جيدة يجب ان تتحلى بالشجاعه لاتخاذ الكثير من العمل وانه رمى بعيدا.

وفي عام 1992 حصل على جائزة fefferman بيرغمان جائزة. الاقتباس من قراءة منح اللجنة (انظر) :

تشارلز fefferman قدمت مساهمات هامة جدا لدراسة نواة للبيرغمان وبدأت الكثير من النشاط في هذا الموضوع. ... كل من [ثلاث من اوراق fefferman] هو 'جولة دي قوة' ، ويتضمن كل النتائج ليس فقط عن نواة بيرغمان وتطبيقاتها ولكن ايضا بوضع كل الافكار الاصليه للغاية والتقنيات التي لها اهمية كبيرة...

وفي رده fefferman قال :

وانا ممتن لجنة الاختيار منح الجاءزه لي بيرغمان. بيرغمان 'الافكار كان لها تأثيرها الفاعل في عملي. وهي تواصل تقديم عميق ، لتحليل المشاكل الهامة.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Charles Louis Fefferman

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

18 April 1949

Washington, D.C., USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Charles Fefferman was a child prodigy. It is claimed that he had mastered the calculus before the age of twelve. Fefferman entered the University of Maryland when he was very young and in 1966, at the age of 17, he graduated with the highest distinction.

After graduating Fefferman undertook postgraduate work at Princeton University supervised by Elias Stein. He was awarded his PhD in 1969 for a thesis entitled Inequalities for Strongly Regular Convolution Operators. He lectured at Princeton for the years 1969-70. He moved to the University of Chicago in 1970 and, one year later in 1971, he was promoted to full professor there, earning him the distinction of becoming the youngest full professor ever appointed in the United States.

In 1973 Fefferman returned to Princeton and, in 1984, he was appointed Herbert Jones Professor at Princeton.

In 1976 he was awarded the Alan T Waterman Award, being the first mathematician to receive such an award.

Fefferman contributed several innovations that revised the study of multidimensional complex analysis by finding correct generalisations of classical low-dimensional results. Fefferman's work on partial differential equations , Fourier analysis , in particular convergence, multipliers, divergence, singular integrals and Hardy spaces earned him a Fields Medal at the International Congress of Mathematicians at Helsinki in 1978.

In 1979 Fefferman described the way that he liked to work:

I like to lie down on the sofa for hours at a stretch thinking intently about shapes, relationships and change - rarely about numbers as such. I explore idea after idea in my mind, discarding most. When a concept finally seems promising, I'm ready to try it out on paper. But first I get up and change the baby's diaper. ... New ideas are not easy to find. If you are lucky enough to be working on an idea which is actually right, it can take a long time before you know that it's right. Conversely, if you are going up a blind alley, it can also take a long time before you find out. You can end up saying 'Oops, I've been working for years on something wrong.' A good mathematician must have the courage to take a lot of work and throw it away.

In 1992 Fefferman was awarded the Bergman Prize. The citation from the awarding committee read (see ):

Charles Fefferman has made enormously important contributions to the study of the Bergman kernel and has initiated much of the activity in the topic. ... Each of [three of Fefferman's papers] is a 'tour-de-force', each contains not only results about the Bergman kernel and its applications but each also develops highly original ideas and techniques which are of great importance...

In his reply Fefferman said:

I am grateful to the selection committee for awarding me the Bergman Prize. Bergman 's ideas have been a major influence in my work. They continue to provide deep, important problems for analysis.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland