علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Paul Erdös

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

26 March 1913

Budapest, Hungary

20 Sept 1996

Warsaw, Poland

العرض ويكيبيديا
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

بول ايردوس جاء من اسرة يهوديه (اسم العائلة الأصلي يجري engländer) على الرغم من ان ايا من والديه لاحظ الديانه اليهودية. Lajos بول والد والدته وأنا قد ابنتان ، الذين تتراوح اعمارهم بين ثلاث وخمس ، من توفي من القرمزي الحمى قبل ايام فقط من بول ولدت. وهذا بطبيعة الحال كان لها تأثير في صنع lajos للغاية وانا وقائية للبول. وقال انه عرض علي من قبل والديه والرياضيات ، انفسهم على حد سواء مدرسي الرياضيات.

بول لم يكن كبيرا على مدى اكثر من عام من العمر وقت الحرب العالمية الاولى اندلعت. والد بول lajos قد اعتقل من قبل الجيش الروسي كما هاجمت القوات النمساويه الهنغاريه. امضى ست سنوات في الاسر في سيبيريا. في اقرب وقت lajos قد اعتقل مع والده بول انا التدريس أثناء النهار ، كان يعمل المعلمه الالمانيه لرعايه بول. انا ، مفرطه وقائية بعد خسارة لها ابنتان ، وبول ابقى بعيدا عن المدرسة لكثير من السنوات الاولى له والمعلم وقدمت له لتدريس في المنزل.

حالة من الفوضى في هنغاريا في نهاية الحرب العالمية الاولى وبعد فترة قصيرة بأنها جمهورية ديمقراطيه ، كون شيوعي béla تولي ، وأصبحت هنغاريا اليسار الجمهورية السوفياتيه. كانت أنا في هذا الوقت قدم مدير المدرسة من مدرستها ولكن عندما دعا الشيوعيين لكون الاضراب ضد نظام وقالت انها استمرت في العمل ، وليس لأسباب سياسية بل لمجرد انها لا ترغب في ان ترى تعليم الاطفال يعانون.

وبعد اربعة اشهر في السيطرة على المجر ، كون فروا الى فيينا عندما متقدمة على القوات الرومانيه في بودابست تموز / يولية 1919. ميكلوس horthy ، اليمينيه القوميه ، تولى السيطرة على البلد. وقال انه تحرك بسرعة ضد هؤلاء ينظر الى الشيوعيين وانا اردوس تندرج في هذه الفئة هي نتيجة لعدم الامتثال للالشيوعي الاضراب كون الكلمه عندما كان في السلطة. وقالت انها فصل من منصبها وقالت انها غادرت في الخوف من حياتها كما horthy رجال تجوب الشوارع وقتل لليهود والشيوعيين. بحلول عام 1920 قد أدخل horthy المعاديه لليهود قوانين مماثلة لتلك التي هتلر في المانيا من شأنه ان يعرض في وقت لاحق من ثلاثة عشر عاما.

سنة 1920 كانت ليست كلها سيئة للبول ، والده وlajos عادت الى الوطن من سيبيريا. وقال انه علم من الانجليزيه الى تمرير ساعات طويلة في الاسر ولكن عدم وجود مدرس الانجليزيه ، لا يعرفون كيف نطق الكلمات. وأعرب الان عن تدريس مجموعة بول ليتحدث اللغة الانكليزيه ، ولكن الغريب اللكنه الانجليزيه الامر الذي اعطى بولس الذي لا يزال واحدا من خصائص بلدة طوال حياته.

على الرغم من القيود المفروضة على اليهود الدخول الى الجامعات في هنغاريا ، اردوس ، كما الفائز في دراسة وطنية ، كان يسمح لهم بالدخول الى عام 1930. درس للدكتوراه في جامعة pázmány péter في بودابست. منح الدكتوراه في عام 1934 ، وقال انه تناول ما بعد مرحلة الدكتوراه والزماله في مانشستر ، اساسا اجبارهم على مغادرة المجر لأنه يهودي. خلال فترة ولايته من الزماله ، اردوس سافر على نطاق واسع في المملكه المتحدة. واجتمع هاردي في كامبريدج في عام 1934 وulam ، كما في كامبريدج ، في عام 1935. صداقته مع ulam كان من المهم أن يثبت اردوس في وقت لاحق عندما كان في الولايات المتحدة.

الحاله في هنغاريا وبحلول اواخر الثلاثينات من القرن العشرين ومن الواضح ان جعل من المستحيل على شخص من العودة الى اصول يهوديه. غير انه لم يزور بودابست ثلاث مرات فى السنة خلال فترة ولايته من مانشستر الزماله. في آذار / مارس 1938 وسيطر هتلر النمسا وأردوس اضطر الى الغاء زيارة له الى القصد من ربيع بودابست. وخلال زيارة قام العطله الصيفيه ولكن الازمة التشيكيه في 3 ايلول / سبتمبر 1938 جعلته يقرر العودة على عجل الى انكلترا. في غضون أسابيع اردوس كان في طريقه الى الولايات المتحدة حيث تولى زماله فى برينستون. واعرب عن امله فى بلدة لزماله الى تجديد اردوس ولكن لا تتفق مع معايير برينستون حتى عرضت عليه فقط لمدة ستة اشهر بدلا من المتوقع لهذا العام. عثر عليه في برينستون :

... uncouth وغير تقليدية...

ودعا ulam اردوس لزيارة ماديسون للمساعدة. وسنعود في وقت لاحق لاعطاء مزيد من التفاصيل عن الحياة الغريبه التي أردوس من عاش على هذه المرة ، على وجه الحصر ، والسعي الى حل المشاكل الرياضية الجيدة. علينا أولا أن أدلي ببعض الملاحظات حول الرياضيات.

اردوس المساهمات التي تقدم الى العديد من الرياضيات واسعة النطاق. ومع ذلك ، كان اساسا اردوس الحلال من المشاكل ، وليس البناء من النظريات. المشاكل التي جذبت اليه معظم مشاكل في Combinatorics ، الرسم البياني من الناحية النظريه ، وعدد من الناحية النظريه. وقال إنه لا نريد فقط ان حل المشكلات ، ومع ذلك ، وانه كان يرغب في ايجاد حل لها في انيقه وابسط طريقة. لاردوس والدليل على ان يقدم نظرة متعمقه لماذا كانت النتيجة الحقيقية ، وليس مجرد تقديم معقدة سلسلة من الخطوات التي من شأنها ان تشكل دليلا رسميا حتى الان الى حد لا تقدم اي تفاهم.

بعض النتائج التي اردوس هو اكثر صلة وثيقة كانت اول ثبت اردوس ولدت قبل. برتراند محدوس في عام 1845 بأن هناك دائما واحدا على الاقل بين رئيس الحكومة و2 ن ن ن ل2. Chebyshev ثبت برتراند 'التخمين في اردوس 1850 ولكن عندما كان مجرد طالب يبلغ من العمر ثمانيه عشر سنة في بودابست انيقه وقال انه تم العثور على أبسط دليل على هذه النتيجة. وثمة نتيجة اخرى على الاعداد الاولية المرتبطه اردوس هو مبرهنه الإعداد الأولية ، وهي :

.. عدد يعبي ن ∞ كما يميل الى ن / ه ن سجل

محدوس النظريه كان في القرن ال 18 ، chebyshev نفسه جاء على وشك التوصل الى دليل ، الا انه لم يثبت حتى 1896 ، عندما هادامارد ومدينة لوس انجلوس دي vallée بوسين مستقلة اثبتت انها معقدة باستخدام التحليل. في عام 1949 وأردوس atle selberg وجدت أولى الاثبات. ويرد وصف الاحداث اللاحقه في :

Selberg واردوس وافقت على نشر أعمالها في العودة الى الوراء ورقات في نفس المجله ، وشرح عمل كل فعل وتقاسم الائتمان. ولكن في اللحظة الاخيرة... selberg تسابق المضي قدما في اثبات ونشرت له أول. وفي العام التالي فاز selberg الميادين وسام لهذا العمل. اردوس لم يكن الى حد كبير مع منافسة من جوانب الفلسفيه والرياضيات وكأن عن الحلقه.

وكانت النتيجة هذه النمطيه من نوع من انواع الرياضيات وعملت على اردوس. وطرح المشاكل وحلها إن كانت جميلة وبسيطة لفهم ، ولكن المعروف ان من الصعب حلها.

اردوس كول لم يحصل على جائزة رياضية من المجتمع الامريكى فى عام 1951 لبلده ورقات كثيرة حول نظرية الاعداد ، وعلى وجه الخصوص لورقة عن أسلوب جديد ، في عدد من الناحية النظريه الاساسية التي تؤدي الى أبسط دليل على رئيس الحكومة الذي نشر في عدد مبرهنه وقائع الاكاديميه الوطنية للعلوم فى عام 1949.

سخيف الى حد ما اذا كان الحدث الذي وقع في اب / اغسطس 1941 هو ان يكون له اي تأثير حقيقي على حياة اردوس ، او ما اذا كان مجرد ذريعة ، من الصعب ان أقول. اردوس واثنين من زملائهم الرياضيين كانت التقطت من قبل الشرطة العسكرية بالقرب من ارسال لاسلكي على لونغ ايلاند. وكان الحدث بريء تماما مع ثلاثة علماء الرياضيات للغاية في استيعاب الرياضيات لمناقشة اخطار عدم التعدي على التوقيع. وبعد الدورة الودية مع الشرطة انه كان يدرك ان لا ضرر من كان يقصد. ومع ذلك ، القى مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالى اردوس وهو الذي كان سجل في وقت لاحق استخدمت ضده.

Ulam ترك ماديسون فى عام 1943 للانضمام الى علماء الرياضيات والفيزياء في لوس ألاموس في نيو مكسيكو عمل على مشروع القنبله الذريه. وسأل اردوس للانضمام الى المشروع ولكن ، على الرغم من انه مهتم بما يكفي لاجراء مقابلات معهم ، اردوس اعطى اجوبه على تلك المقابلة له والذي لا بد أنه يعرف ما لا يريد ان يسمعه. اردوس هو ببساطة ايضا صريحا في قوله انه يرغب في العودة الى بودابست في نهاية الحرب. هل هذه الحلقه اعطاء الشعور بأن اردوس أبدا يريد ان يعمل في لوس ألاموس ، ولكنها بكل بساطة مسليا نفسه.

اردوس فى عام 1943 وعملت في جامعة بوردو ، مع الاخذ في جزء من الوقت التعيين. على الرغم من انه كان وقت صعب مع قدر كبير من عدم اليقين بشأن مصير اسرته في المجر ، ومع ذلك ازدهرت اردوس رياضيا. وقال انه لم يسمع أى شىء عن أسرته بين 1941 والوقت عندما تحررت في بودابست عام 1945. اليهود في رومانيا قد عانت من صعوبات لا تصدق مع كثير من 1944 حيث قتل ، وآخرون رحلوا الى اوشفيتز. ومن غير المحتمل ان المدى الكامل للرعب كان من المفهوم اردوس في الولايات المتحدة في ذلك الوقت. ومع ذلك ، في اب / اغسطس 1945 ، وردت برقية اردوس اعطاء تفاصيل عن اسرته. والده قد توفي بازمه قلبية فى عام 1942. والدته في حين كان على قيد الحياة ، بشكل ملحوظ جدا ، وهو ابن عم ماجدة fredro قد ارسلت الى معسكر اوشفيتز ولكن كان على قيد الحياة. أسرة عانت بشدة من خلال الحملة النازية ضد اليهود ، ومع ذلك ، وأربعة من اردوس الاعمام والعمات للقد اغتيل.

قرب نهاية عام 1948 اردوس كان قادرا على العودة الى المجر لزيارة وهناك كان له على قيد الحياة لم شملهم مع أسرهم وأصدقائهم. للسنوات الثلاث المقبلة وسافر كثيرا بين انكلترا والولايات المتحدة قبل قبول وظيفة مؤقتة فى جامعة نوتردام في عام 1952. وكان من وحي اردوس العرض الذي أعطي الحرية الكاملة للاقبال من ان تفعل بعض البحوث المشتركة كلما اراد ذلك. اردوس لم تستطع المجيء نفسه لقبول العرض السخي نفسه على أساس دائم ، وهى كل من جامعة نوتردام وأردوس اصدقاء جاهدين لتشجيعه على قبول.

وخلال اوائل الخمسينات السناتور جوزيف مكارثي ص جلد حتى مشاعر قوية ضد الشيوعيه في الولايات المتحدة. اردوس بدأت تأتي من السلطات في إطار من الشك وشهد مشاكل في كل مكان وهمي. وعندما سئل من قبل الولايات المتحدة الهجره ، كما أنه عاد بعد مؤتمر عقد فى امستردام فى عام 1954 ، ما فكر ماركس ، اردوس جعل سوء الحكم على الرد :

انا لا تملك صلاحيه القاضي ، ولكن لا شك في انه كان رجلا عظيما.

واعقب ذلك خطأ من التساؤل حول ما اذا كان من أي وقت مضى العودة الى المجر. اردوس قال :

انا لست التخطيط لزيارة المجر الآن لانني لا اعلم ما اذا كانوا سوف اسمحوا لي العودة. انا فقط التخطيط للذهاب الى انكلترا وهولندا.

بذلك ، الا انه كان الخوف من عدم واسمحوا من هنغاريا ، التي توقفت والذهاب اليه هناك. اردوس اجاب ببراءه :

وبطبيعة الحال ، هل هناك والدتي ولدي العديد من الأصدقاء هناك.

اردوس لم يسمح له العودة الى الولايات المتحدة لكن بدون اي سبب كان نظرا ل. الملفات الرسمية تشير الى ان الاسباب ليست هي اردوس اعطى اجوبه على الاسءله المطروحة اعلاه ، ولكن الحقيقة انه تناظر مع عالم الرياضيات الصينية في وقت لاحق من عاد من الولايات المتحدة الى الصين وايضا للاردوس 1941 سجل مكتب التحقيقات الاتحادي.

امضى جزءا كبيرا من السنوات العشر القادمة في إسرائيل. وخلال اوائل الستينات من القرن الماضى وقال إنه قدم طلبات عديدة الى ان يسمح لهم بالعوده الى الولايات المتحدة الحصول على تأشيرة واخيرا منح في تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 1963. وبحلول ذلك الوقت ، ومع ذلك ، اردوس المسافر اصبحت تتحرك من جامعة الى اخرى ، ومن منزل الى اخر واحد رياضيات. الا انه لم يكون لها نوع من المنزل مع صديقه رونالد جراهام. اردوس غراهام والتقى في المؤتمر عدد من الناحية النظريه فى عام 1963 وسرعان ما بدأت رياضية التعاون. وكان غراهام المقدمة من غرفة في منزله حيث اردوس يمكن ان تعيش عندما اراد ، كما تخزن اردوس اوراق وهناك ، من نواح كثيرة ، بمثابة الامين لاردوس.

الى حد ما على الرغم من فوق ، ما يلي اقتبس من ويبين التقدير الكبير الذي كان في حوزة اردوس زملائه الرياضيين :

ابدا ، يقول علماء الرياضيات ، هل كان هناك شخص مثل بول ايردوس. كان واحدا من اكبر علماء الرياضيات في القرن ، والتي طرحت من حل المشاكل الشاءكه في عدد من الناحية النظريه وغيرها من المناطق وأسسوا المتميزة في مجال الرياضيات ، التي هي اساس لعلوم الكمبيوتر. كما انه كان واحدا من اكثر prolific علماء الرياضيات فى التاريخ ، مع اكثر من 1500 ورقات لاسمه. و، ويقول اصدقاؤه ، كما انه كان واحدا من اكثر غير عادية.

اردوس فاز بالعديد من الجوائز منها جائزة وولف 50 000 دولار في عام 1983. ولكن لديه أسلوب الحياة التي تحتاج الى القليل من المال والقى بعيدا :

... معظم الاموال التي حصل من القاء المحاضرات في المؤتمرات والرياضيات ، وهو التبرع لمساعدة الطلاب على جوائز أو ما لديه في حل المشاكل المطروحة.

في عام 1976 ulam اعطى هذا الوصف من اردوس :

وكان الطفل الاعجوبه حقيقية ، ونشر تقريره الاول النتائج في سن الثامنة عشرة في عدد من الناحية النظريه واندماجي في التحليل. وقال انه يجري اليهودية التي اضطرت الى ترك هنغاريا ، وكما تبين ، وهذا انقذ له العيش. وقال انه في عام 1941 سبعة وعشرين عاما ، وطنه ، وغير سارة ، وعلى الدوام عن قلقه ازاء مصير والدته من بقي في هنغاريا. ... اردوس الى حد ما متوسطة الطول ادناه ، في غاية العصبيه وتحريكها شخص. ... واشارت عينيه كان حاضرا دائما في التفكير في الرياضيات ، وهي عملية توقف إلا من صاحب متشاءمه حول الشؤون العالمية ، والسياسة ، او في شؤون حقوق العام ، الذي قال انه ينظر على نحو مظلم. ... له العديد من الخصائص المميزه جدا ومن المستحيل ان يصف لهم جميعا. ... الآن اكثر من ستين ، وقال انه كان له اكثر من مائة سبع ورقات الى الائتمان.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Paul Erdös

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

26 March 1913

Budapest, Hungary

20 Sept 1996

Warsaw, Poland

Presentation Wikipedia
Paul Erdös came from a Jewish family (the original family name being Engländer) although neither of his parents observed the Jewish religion. Paul's father Lajos and his mother Anna had two daughters, aged three and five, who died of scarlet fever just days before Paul was born. This naturally had the effect making Lajos and Anna extremely protective of Paul. He would be introduced to mathematics by his parents, themselves both teachers of mathematics.

Paul was not much over a year old when World War I broke out. Paul's father Lajos was captured by the Russian army as it attacked the Austro-Hungarian troops. He spent six years in captivity in Siberia. As soon as Lajos was captured, with Paul's mother Anna teaching during the day, a German governess was employed to look after Paul. Anna, excessively protective after the loss of her two daughters, kept Paul away from school for much of his early years and a tutor was provided to teach him at home.

The situation in Hungary was chaotic at the end of World War I. After a short while as a democratic republic, a communist Béla Kun took over, and Hungary became a left wing Soviet Republic. Anna was at this time made head teacher of her school but when the Communists called for strike action against Kun's regime she continued working, not for political reasons but simply because she did not wish to see children's education suffer.

After four months in control of Hungary, Kun fled to Vienna when Romanian troops advanced on Budapest in July 1919. Miklós Horthy, a right-wing nationalist, took over control of the country. He quickly moved against those perceived as Communists and Anna Erdös fell into that category due to her failing to obey the Communist strike call when Kun was in power. She was dismissed from her post and she was left in fear of her life as Horthy's men roamed the streets killing Jews and Communists. By 1920 Horthy had introduced anti-Jewish laws similar to those Hitler would introduce in Germany thirteen years later.

The year 1920 was not all bad for Paul, for his father Lajos returned home from Siberia. He had learnt English to pass the long hours in captivity but, having no English teacher, did not know how to pronounce the words. He now set about teaching Paul to speak English, but the strange English accent which this gave Paul remained one of his characteristics throughout his life.

Despite the restrictions on Jews entering universities in Hungary, Erdös, as the winner of a national examination, was allowed to enter in 1930. He studied for his doctorate at the University Pázmány Péter in Budapest. Awarded a doctorate in 1934, he took up a post-doctoral fellowship at Manchester, essentially being forced to leave Hungary because he was Jewish. During his tenure of the fellowship, Erdös travelled widely in the UK. He met Hardy in Cambridge in 1934 and Ulam , also in Cambridge, in 1935. His friendship with Ulam was to prove important later when Erdös was in the United States.

The situation in Hungary by the late 1930s clearly made it impossible for someone of Jewish origins to return. However he did visit Budapest three times a year during his tenure of the Manchester fellowship. In March 1938 Hitler took control of Austria and Erdös had to cancel his intended spring visit to Budapest. He did visit during the summer vacation but the Czech crisis on 3 September 1938 made him decide to return hurriedly to England. Within weeks Erdös was on his way to the USA where he took up a fellowship at Princeton. He hoped for his fellowship to be renewed but Erdös did not conform to Princeton's standards so he was offered only a six month extension rather than the expected year. Princeton found him :

... uncouth and unconventional...

and Ulam invited Erdös to visit Madison to help out. We shall return later to give further details of the strange life which Erdös lived from this time on, devoted exclusively to seeking out and solving good mathematical problems. First we make some comments about his mathematics.

The contributions which Erdös made to mathematics were numerous and broad. However, basically Erdös was a solver of problems, not a builder of theories. The problems which attracted him most were problems in combinatorics, graph theory, and number theory . He did not just want to solve problems, however, he wanted to solve them in an elegant and elementary way. To Erdös the proof had to provide insight into why the result was true, not just provide a complicated sequence of steps which would constitute a formal proof yet somehow fail to provide any understanding.

Some results with which Erdös is most closely associated had been first proved before Erdös was born. In 1845 Bertrand conjectured that there was always at least one prime between n and 2n for n 2. Chebyshev proved Bertrand 's conjecture in 1850 but when Erdös was only an eighteen year old student in Budapest he found an elegant elementary proof of this result. Another result on prime numbers associated with Erdös is the Prime Number Theorem , namely:

.. the number of primes n tends to ∞ as n/logen.

The theorem was conjectured in the 18th century, Chebyshev himself came close to a proof, but it was not proved until 1896, when Hadamard and de la Vallée Poussin independently proved it using complex analysis. In 1949 Erdös and Atle Selberg found an elementary proof. Subsequent events are described in :

Selberg and Erdös agreed to publish their work in back-to-back papers in the same journal, explaining the work each had done and sharing the credit. But at the last minute Selberg ... raced ahead with his proof and published first. The following year Selberg won the Fields Medal for this work. Erdös was not much concerned with the competitive aspect of mathematics and was philosophical about the episode.

This result was typical of the type of mathematics Erdös worked on. He posed and solved problems that were beautiful, simple to understand, but notoriously difficult to solve.

Erdös did receive the Cole Prize of the American Mathematical Society in 1951 for his many papers on the theory of numbers, and in particular for the paper On a new method in elementary number theory which leads to an elementary proof of the prime number theorem published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences in 1949.

Whether a rather silly event which took place in August 1941 was to have any real effect on Erdös's life, or whether it was simply used as an excuse, is hard to tell. Erdös and two fellow mathematicians were picked up by the police near a military radio transmitter on Long Island. It was quite an innocent event with the three mathematicians being too absorbed in discussion of mathematics to notice a NO TRESPASSING sign. After a friendly session with the police it was realised that no harm had been intended. However, it gave Erdös an FBI record which was later used against him.

Ulam left Madison in 1943 to join other mathematicians and physicists at Los Alamos in New Mexico working on the atomic bomb project. He asked Erdös to join the project but, although he was interested enough to be interviewed, Erdös gave answers to those interviewing him which he must have known were not what they wanted to hear. Erdös was simply too honest in saying that he would wish to return to Budapest at the end of the war. This episode does give the feeling that Erdös never wanted to work at Los Alamos, but was simply amusing himself.

In 1943 Erdös worked at Purdue University, taking a part-time appointment. Although it was a difficult time with great uncertainty about the fate of his family in Hungary, yet mathematically Erdös flourished. He had heard nothing from his family between 1941 and the time when Budapest was liberated in 1945. The Jews in Hungary had suffered incredible hardship from 1944 with many being murdered, and others deported to Auschwitz. It is unlikely that the full extent of the horror was understood by Erdös in the United States at the time. However, in August 1945, Erdös received a telegram giving details of his family. His father had died of a heart attack in 1942. His mother had survived while, quite remarkably, a cousin Magda Fredro had been sent to Auschwitz but had survived. The family had suffered terribly through the Nazi campaign against the Jews, however, and four of Erdös's uncles and aunts had been murdered.

Near the end of 1948 Erdös was able to return to Hungary for a visit and there he was reunited with his surviving family and friends. For the next three years he travelled frequently between England and the United States before accepting a temporary post at the University of Notre Dame in 1952. It was an inspired offer which gave Erdös complete freedom to rush off to do some joint research whenever he wanted. Erdös could not bring himself to accept the same generous offer on a permanent basis, which both the University of Notre Dame and Erdös's friends tried hard to encourage him to accept.

During the early 1950s senator Joseph R McCarthy whipped up strong feelings against communism in the United States. Erdös began to come under suspicion from authorities who saw imaginary problems everywhere. When asked by US immigration, as he returned after a conference in Amsterdam in 1954, what he thought of Marx, Erdös made the ill judged reply:

I'm not competent to judge, but no doubt he was a great man.

This was followed by a line of questioning about whether he would ever return to Hungary. Erdös said:

I'm not planning to visit Hungary now because I don't know whether they would let me back out. I'm planning to go only to England and Holland.

So, was it only the fear of not being let out of Hungary that stopped him going there. Erdös replied innocently:

Of course, my mother is there and I have many friends there.

Erdös was not allowed back to the United States but no reason was given. The files indicate that the official reasons were not the answers Erdös gave to the above questions, but the fact that he had corresponded with a Chinese mathematician who had subsequently returned from the United States to China and also Erdös's 1941 FBI record.

He spent much of the next ten years in Israel. During the early 1960s he made numerous requests to be allowed to return to the United States and a visa was finally granted in November 1963. By this time, however, Erdös had become a traveller moving from one university to another, and from the home of one mathematician to another. However, he did have a home of sorts with his friend Ronald Graham. Erdös and Graham met at a number theory conference in 1963 and soon began a mathematical collaboration. It was Graham who provided a room in his house where Erdös could live when he wanted, he also stored Erdös's papers there and, in many ways, acted as a secretary to Erdös.

Although somewhat over the top, the following quote from shows the high regard in which Erdös was held by his fellow mathematicians:

Never, mathematicians say, has there been an individual like Paul Erdös. He was one of the century's greatest mathematicians, who posed and solved thorny problems in number theory and other areas and founded the field of discrete mathematics, which is the foundation of computer science. He was also one of the most prolific mathematicians in history, with more than 1,500 papers to his name. And, his friends say, he was also one of the most unusual.

Erdös won many prizes including the Wolf Prize of 50 000 dollars in 1983. However he had a lifestyle that needed little money and he gave away:

... most of the money he earned from lecturing at mathematics conferences, donating it to help students or as prizes for solving problems he had posed.

In 1976 Ulam gave this description of Erdös:

He had been a true child prodigy, publishing his first results at the age of eighteen in number theory and in combinatorial analysis. Being Jewish he had to leave Hungary, and as it turned out, this saved his live. In 1941 he was twenty-seven years old, homesick, unhappy, and constantly worried about the fate of his mother who remained in Hungary. ... Erdös is somewhat below medium height, an extremely nervous and agitated person. ... His eyes indicated he was always thinking about mathematics, a process interrupted only by his rather pessimistic statements on world affairs, politics, or human affairs in general, which he viewed darkly. ... His peculiarities are so numerous it is impossible to describe them all. ... Now over sixty, he has more than seven hundred papers to his credit.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland