علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

David Enskog

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

22 April 1884

Västra Ämtervik, Värmland, Sweden

1 June 1947

Stockholm, Sweden

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

بعد الانتهاء من تقريره التعليم الثانوي ، ديفيد enskog دخلت جامعة اوبسالا. وقال انه ما زال هناك لدراسة الدكتوراه وبعد اخذ اول درجة. وقال انه في عام 1917 حصل على جائزة صاحب دكتوراه ثم قضى عدة سنوات في التدريس في المدارس الثانويه والكليات.

في عام 1930 enskog عين استاذا للرياضيات والميكانيكا في المعهد الملكي للتكنولوجيا في ستوكهولم.

Enskog عملت على ماكسويل -- بولتزمان المعادلات. هذه أول مرة تم وضع ماكسويل في 1867 لوصف تدفق الجزيئات ، الزخم والطاقة من الغاز. وكان ذلك عن طريق اعادة صياغه بولتزمان في 1872 من حيث السرعه مهمة التوزيع. Enskog بدأت العمل على هذه المعادله لدرجة الماجستير في اوبسالا وتقدم لافت للتنبؤ.

اذا اثنين من مزيج من الغازات تعرض لاختلاف درجة الحراره ، والغاز مع الجزيئات الاكبر حجما ويركز في درجة حرارة أقل. بسيطة من الناحية النظريه لا تنبئ هذا السلوك. ولكن enskog تنبأت في ورقة مكتوبة في عام 1911. في عام 1917 تنبأت شابمان مستقلة ، ولكن حتى من الناحية النظريه واثير تساؤل التاجر اقناع مهاجم dootson أ الكيميائي لاجراء التجارب ، وجرى التحقق من نظرية.

هيلبيرت نشرت في اتباع نهج جديد لماكسويل -- بولتزمان المعادلات في عام 1912. Enskog تستخدم هيلبيرت 'أساليب للعمل على سلسلة من سرعة التوسع في توزيع وظيفة وكتب له هذا الامر لرسالة الدكتوراه في عام 1917 في اوبسالا.

كيفية تمديد ماكسويل -- بولتزمان المعادله لتشمل اصطدام اكثر من اثنين من الهيئات ليست واضحة. ولكن enskog تقدم تقدما هاما فى عام 1921 ، على الرغم من انه بدلا من وصف حالة مصطنعة من الصعب معالجة الجزيئات كما المجالات.

شابمان ، من ما زال يعمل على ماكسويل -- بولتزمان المعادلات ، وشهد على اهمية enskog اساليب اخرى ومنها المتقدمه. الكتاب دا tg القلنسه وشابمان ، من الناحية النظريه الرياضية للغازات غير موحدة هو النص الكلاسيكي الحديث عن نظرية الحركيه للغازات واستنادا الى نهج من قبل enskog والتاجر. ورغم ان ظهور نظرية الكم هو تخفيف أثر هذه النظريه ، في وقت لاحق انه لا يزال ينظر اليه على انه من المهم في هذا السياق الجديد.

شابمان enskog اوصت لمنصب الرئاسة في المعهد الملكي للتكنولوجيا. ولكن في وقت لاحق كتب شابمان :

نقله الى احدى الجامعات بدلا من الرئيس لتحقيق ما يبدو له من واجبات جديدة وزيادة اوقات الفراغ ، وهذا ، مع تجديد وسوء الصحة ، وانخفاض الانتاجية في بلده في وقت لاحق من سنة.


Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

David Enskog

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

22 April 1884

Västra Ämtervik, Värmland, Sweden

1 June 1947

Stockholm, Sweden

Presentation Wikipedia
After completing his secondary schooling, David Enskog entered Uppsala University. He continued to study there for his doctorate after taking his first degree. In 1917 he was awarded his Ph.D. and then he spent several years teaching in secondary schools and colleges.

In 1930 Enskog was appointed professor of mathematics and mechanics at the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm.

Enskog worked on the Maxwell - Boltzmann equations. These had first been formulated by Maxwell in 1867 to describe the flow of molecules, momentum and energy of a gas. This was reformulated by Boltzmann in 1872 in terms of a velocity distribution function. Enskog began to work on this equation for his master's degree at Uppsala and made a remarkable prediction.

If a mixture of two gases is subjected to a temperature difference, the gas with the larger molecules concentrates at the lower temperature. A simple theory does not predict this behaviour. However Enskog predicted it in a paper written in 1911. In 1917 Chapman independently predicted it, but their theory was questioned until Chapman persuaded a chemist F W Dootson to conduct experiments; the theory was verified.

Hilbert published a new approach to the Maxwell - Boltzmann equations in 1912. Enskog used Hilbert 's methods to work out a series expansion of the velocity distribution function and wrote this up for his doctoral dissertation at Uppsala in 1917.

How to extend the Maxwell - Boltzmann equation to include collisions of more than two bodies was not clear. However Enskog made an important advance in 1921, although it described the rather artificial situation treating molecules as hard spheres.

Chapman , who was still working on the Maxwell - Boltzmann equations, saw the importance of Enskog's methods and developed them further. The book S Chapman and T G Cowling, The Mathematical Theory of Non-uniform Gases is the classic text on the modern kinetic theory of gases based on the approach by Enskog and Chapman . Although the advent of quantum theory was to lessen the impact of this theory, it was later seen to be still important in the new context.

Chapman recommended Enskog for the chair at the Royal Institute of Technology. However Chapman wrote later:

His transfer to a university chair seemed rather to bring him new duties than increased leisure, and this, with renewed ill-health, reduced his productivity in later years.


Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland