علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Henry Abel Dye

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

14 Feb 1926

Dunkirk, New York, USA

26 Nov 1986

Los Angeles, California, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

حضر هنري صباغة معهد رينسيلار بوليتكنيك ، وهي مؤسسة خاصة للتعليم العالي في تروى ، نيويورك. ومن هناك انتقل الى جامعة شيكاغو حيث حصل على جائزة صاحب ماجستير في عام 1947. وتابع البحث في شيكاغو تحت اشراف ارفينج segal ه وحصل على درجة الدكتوراه في عام 1950 عن اطروحته الرادون - nikodym نظريات الجبر للمشغل.

بعد منح الدكتوراه ، وكان الصبغ تعيين احد باتيمان زميل في معهد كاليفورنيا للتكنولوجيا. وحمل زماله لمدة سنتين ، ثم عين مدرسا في الرياضيات. امضى لدورة 1952-1953 في معهد الدراسات المتقدمه في برنستون ، وبعد ذلك عين استاذ مساعد للرياضيات في جامعة ايوا. وفي عام 1956 انتقل الى جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا منتسبا أستاذا للرياضيات ، ثم في عام 1959 عاد الى جامعة ايوا. واعرب عن سنة واحدة فقط قبل العودة في ولاية ايوا عين استاذا للرياضيات في جامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجليس في عام 1960. وحمل هذا المنصب لبقية حياته.

صباغة خدم الجامعة من نواح كثيرة ، اهمها من ولايته رئيسا للقسم الرياضيات في الفترة من 1975 الى 1978. كما عمل في العديد من اللجان الجامعيه مثل لجنة الامتياز وحيازه ، وكان عضوا في المجلس الاكاديمي للافراد في الفترة من 1978 الى 1979 ولفترة ولاية ثانية في الفترة من 1982 الى 1985.

صباغة اول ورقة الرادون - nikodym لنظرية محدودة من شبكات المشغلين والتي نشرت في معاملات رياضية المجتمع الامريكى فى عام 1952. ان هدفه الرئيسي في هذه الورقه هو دراسة كيف يمكن ان تكون الاستمراريه المطلقة للعمومي الى حالة غير تبادلى. واحدة من النتائج الرئيسية لهذه الورقه غير تبادلي التناظريه من الرادون -- nikodym النظريه التى :

... هي بالتأكيد واحدة من اجمل الانجازات.

صباغة النتائج التي اثبتت في هذه الورقه ادى إلى تقدم ملحوظ في نظرية جبر فون نيومان. في عام 1953 نشرت صباغة الهيكل الوحدوي في حلقات محدود من المشغلين. فى هذه الورقه وقال انه اذا ثبت ان ث *- الجبر ليس له حد ادنى من التوقعات ، فإن ضعف اغلاق مجموعة من المشغلين وحدويه هو وحده كامل المجال للث *- الجبر.

صباغة ونشرت في عام 1959 على الحفاظ على مجموعات من قياس التحول الاول في المجله الامريكية للالرياضيات. الهامة هذه ورقة دراسات تصنيف التشكل تلقائيا مجموعات محدودة غير قياس الجبر الذريه. ويبدأ حديثه المهم استكشاف العلاقة بين المشغل وارجوديك نظرية الجبر وبطرق عديدة كان حتى الان من وقته قبل ان يطلب عقد من الزمن قبل ان المغزى الكامل للنتائجه المعترف بها. في ورقة صباغة وعدت ثانية اعطاء ورقة للمناقشة مفصلة لاجزاء معينة من نظريته ، بل ويبدو ان هذه الدفعه الثانية في نفس المجله فى عام 1963. Varadarajan كتب ما يلي :

بلده لا هوادة فيها على مستويات عالية لم تسمح له ان ينشر الكثير ، الا ان العديد من الرياضيين لا كما بذل قدر كبير من التأثير من خلال عملها على نحو ما فعل ، والنشر الا بقدر ما فعل.

صباغة eugenie متزوج وكان لديهم من ابن جون أصبح أستاذا للرياضيات ، وبنت كونستانس. في عام 1981 وهنري eugenie صباغة وزار جامعة وارويك في انكلترا عندما كان كبير صباغة زميل زائر من المملكه المتحدة ومجلس بحوث العلوم. ويليام arveson ، روبرت blattner ، وmasamichi takesaki وقد كتب نعي زميلهم من الصبغ الذي وصف له اسلوب إلقاء المحاضرات :

كما مدرسا للطلاب في مرحلة الدراسات العليا ، هنري كان رائع. وكانت له محاضرات واضح وانيقه ، وانه تحدث من دون الاستفادة من الملاحظات. هنري بحوث الطلاب تعلمت منه الكثير عن الثقافة الرياضية. وقال انه لن يتسامح مع سطحيه او الادعاء. واذا كان احد الطلاب على انتاج بعض الرياضيات التي كانت خاطءه او تافهه ، وقال انه ترك هذا الطالب تماما بقوة الى أسفل ، ولكنه دائما ان نحرص على ترك الطالب من احترام الذات سليمة. آراءه كانت تتخللها عادة مع فرحان المزح ، او الفاحشه مع التوريه والقى deadpan. والواقع ان هذا الادمان الى التوريه وجاء فى فعل كل شيء ، حتى في أكثر من اللجان الجامعيه الرسمي.

صباغة الصحية تدهورت بعد ان مرت خمسون سنة من العمر ولعدد غير قليل من السنوات وقال انه ما زال يعمل جاهدا لجامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس انجليس رغم كونها في حالة صحيه سيئة. انه يعاني من ازمة قلبية عند الخروج من الجامعة بعد انجاز عمل يوم كامل ، وذلك على الرغم من سنوات من اعتلال الصحة للغاية وفاته المفاجءه وغير المتوقعة. نصب تذكاري لخدمة عقدت فى صباغة كلاوس شميدت التي اعطت العنوان :

[صباغة] كان رجل كبير من روح الدعابه والكرم ، وقال انه لم يسمح للمعايير الرفيعه وحدد لنفسه بانه شخص ورياضيات للتدخل في بلدة حقيقية والدفء والعطف تجاه الآخرين. مع نفسه وقال انه كان أقل بكثير النوع : على الرغم من انني لا استطيع ان ادعي ان يكون قد علم كل ما له جيدا انني دائما يشعر انه دفع نفسه تماما بلا هوادة ، وانه لا يمكن ان يغفر لنفسه لعدم تمكنه من اثبات بعض من وفي وقت لاحق المدهش تماما النتائج في هذا الموضوع. على هذه حالات نادرة ، عندما سمح لنفسه الاسترخاء تماما ، وقال انه كان رائعا الشركة. ولا أزال أتذكر بكثير من الولع المارد وهنري لزيارة وارويك وهنري ملحمة معارك مع النظام البريطاني والسباكه ، او يوما رائعا فى عام 1983 عندما المارد وهنري واظهرت لي من كاليفورنيا الخشخاش في الصحراء. هنري كان رجلا لطيفا ، واعطي كل من الانسه له بلدة والرياضيات.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Henry Abel Dye

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

14 Feb 1926

Dunkirk, New York, USA

26 Nov 1986

Los Angeles, California, USA

Presentation
Henry Dye attended Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, a private institution of higher education in Troy, New York. From there he moved to the University of Chicago where he was awarded his M.S. in 1947. He continued research at Chicago under the supervision of Irving E Segal and he received his Ph.D. in 1950 for his thesis Radon- Nikodym Theorems for Operator Algebra.

After the award of his doctorate, Dye was appointed as a Bateman Fellow at the California Institute of Technology. He held the fellowship for two years, then he was appointed as an Instructor in Mathematics. He spent session 1952-1953 at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, following which he was appointed as an Assistant Professor of Mathematics at the University of Iowa. In 1956 he moved to the University of Southern California as an Associate Professor of Mathematics, and then in 1959 he returned to the University of Iowa. He was only one year back at Iowa before he was appointed Professor of Mathematics at the University of California at Los Angeles in 1960. He held this post for the rest of his life.

Dye served the university in many ways, the most important being his tenure of the Chair of the Mathematics Department from 1975 to 1978. He also served on many university committees such as the Committee on Privilege and Tenure, and he was a member of the Council on Academic Personnel from 1978 to 1979 and for a second term from 1982 to 1985.

Dye's first paper was The Radon -Nikodym theorem for finite rings of operators which was published in the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society in 1952. His main aim in this paper was to study how absolute continuity could be generalised of to the non-commutative case. One of the main results of the paper is a non-commutative analogue of the Radon - Nikodym theorem which :

... is certainly one of his most beautiful achievements.

The results which Dye proved in this paper led to marked progress in the theory of von Neumann algebras. In 1953 Dye published The unitary structure in finite rings of operators. In this paper he proved that if a W*-algebra has no minimal projections, then the weak closure of the group of unitary operators is the entire unit sphere of the W*-algebra.

In 1959 Dye published On groups of measure preserving transformation I in the American Journal of Mathematics. This important paper studies the classification of automorphism groups of a finite non-atomic measure algebra. It begins his important exploration of the relationship between operator algebras and ergodic theory and in many ways was so far ahead of its time that it required a decade before full significance of its results were recognised. In the paper Dye promised a second paper giving a detailed discussion of certain parts of his theory, and indeed this second instalment appeared in the same journal in 1963. Varadarajan writes :

His uncompromising high standards did not allow him to publish much; however not many mathematicians have exerted as much influence through their work as he did, publishing only as much as he did.

Dye married Eugenie and they had a son John who became a professor of mathematics, and a daughter Constance. In 1981 Henry and Eugenie Dye visited the University of Warwick in England when Dye was a Senior Visiting Fellow of the U.K. Science research Council. William Arveson, Robert Blattner, and Masamichi Takesaki have written an obituary of their colleague Dye in which they describe his lecturing style:

As a teacher of graduate students, Henry was superb. His lectures were lucid and elegant, and he spoke without benefit of notes. Henry's research students learned a lot from him about mathematical culture. He would not tolerate superficiality or pretentiousness. If a student were to produce some mathematics that was wrong or trivial, he would let that student down quite firmly, but would always be careful to leave the student's self-esteem intact. His opinions were usually punctuated with hilarious quips, or with outrageous puns delivered deadpan. Indeed, this addiction to puns came out in everything he did, even in the most solemn of University committees.

Dye's health deteriorated after he passed fifty years of age and for quite a few years he continued to work hard for UCLA despite being in poor health. He suffered a heart attack when leaving the university after completing a full day's work, so despite the years of ill health his death was very sudden and unexpected. A memorial service was held for Dye at which Klaus Schmidt gave an address :

[Dye] was a man of great humour and generosity, and he never allowed the high standards he set himself as a person and mathematician to interfere with his genuine warmth and kindness towards others. With himself he was much less kind: although I cannot claim to have known him all that well I always had the feeling that he drove himself quite relentlessly, and that he could never forgive himself for not having been able to prove some of the later and quite spectacular results in the subject. On those rare occasions, when he allowed himself to relax completely, he was wonderful company. I still remember with great fondness Genie's and Henry's visit to Warwick and Henry's epic battles with the British plumbing system, or the wonderful day in 1983 when Genie and Henry showed me the Californian poppies in the desert. Henry was a nice man, and I shall miss both him and his mathematics.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland