علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Simon Kirwan Donaldson

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

20 Aug 1957

Cambridge, England

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

سيمون دونالدسون بالمجلس ، وكان التعليم الثانوي في Sevenoaks كنت في المدرسة التي حضر من عام 1970 الى عام 1975. ثم دخلت كلية بيمبروك ، كامبردج حيث درس حتى عام 1980 ، وحصوله على درجة البكالوريوس فى عام 1979. واحد من الاولياء في كامبردج وصفه بانه طالب جيد جدا ولكنها ليست حتما اعلى الطالب في السنة. وقال انه يبدو دائما يأتي الى بلده يحمل الكمان دروس خصوصيه القضية.

دونالدسون في عام 1980 وبدأ العمل بعد التخرج في الكليه وورسستر ، أكسفورد ، الاول تحت اشراف نايجل hitchen وفي وقت لاحق في اطار atiyah بالمجلس الاشراف. Atiyah يكتب :

في عام 1982 ، عندما كان في السنة الثانية لطلاب الدراسات العليا ، سيمون دونالدسون ان اثبتت نتيجة مذهل الرياضية في العالم.

هذا وكانت النتيجة التي نشرتها دونالدسون في ورقة مزدوجة الذاتي وصلات طوبولوجيا من سلاسه 4 -- الانابيب المتفرعه التي وردت في النشرة الرياضية في المجتمع الامريكى فى عام 1983. Atiyah لا يزال وصفه للعمل دونالدسون :

جنبا الى جنب مع العمل الهام مايكل المعتق... ، نتيجة للدونالدسون يعني ضمنا ان هناك "الغريبه" 4 - الاحواز ، أي قابل للاختلاف الابعاد 4 - الأنابيب المتفرعه منها ولكن ليس بشكل طوبولوجي differentiably يعادل مستوى اقليدي 4 ص 4 - الفضاء. ما الذي يجعل هذه النتيجة حتى يثير الدهشه هو ان ع = 4 هي القيمه الوحيدة لمثل هذا الغريب الذي ن - وجود فراغات. 4 - غريبة هذه المساحات قد الملحوظ ان الممتلكات (على خلاف ص 4) وهي تحتوي على مجموعات الميثاق التي لا يمكن احتواؤها داخل differentiably جزءا لا يتجزأ من اي 3 - المجال!

بعد منح الدكتوراه من جامعة اكسفورد في عام 1983 ، تم تعيين دونالدسون مبتدئ زميل ابحاث في كلية جميع النفوس ، في اكسفورد. أمضي السنة الدراسيه 1983-84 في معهد الدراسات المتقدمه في برنستون ، بعد عودتهم الى اكسفورد واليس عين استاذا للرياضيات في عام 1985 ، وهو الموقف الذي قال انه لا يزال قائما.

دونالدسون وقد تلقت العديد من الاوسمه لعمله. حصل على جائزة المبتدئين بقعة الجلد البيضاء من لندن رياضية المجتمع في عام 1985. في السنة التالية انتخب زميلا في الجمعية الملكيه ، وأيضا في عام 1986 ، حصل على وسام الميادين في المؤتمر الدولي في بيركلي. دونالدسون فى عام 1991 تلقت جائزة السير ويليام هوبكنز من كامبردج الفلسفيه. بعد ذلك ، وفي السنة التالية ، حصل على وسام ملكي من الجمعية الملكيه. واستقبل ايضا crafoord جائزة من اكاديميه السويديه الملكيه للعلوم في عام 1994 :

... لحقوقه الاساسية في التحقيقات رباعية الأبعاد من خلال تطبيق الهندسه instantons ، وخصوصا اكتشاف الثوابت فرق جديدة...

Atiyah يصف الامر الذي ادى الى مساهمه دونالدسون للجائزة وسام في احد الميادين. وقال انه يلخص مساهمه دونالدسون :

دونالدسون عندما انتجت أول نتائج قليلة 4 - الأنابيب المتفرعه ، وحتى الافكار الجديدة والاجنبية الى علماء الهندسه وعلماء الهندسه اللاكميه انها مجرد gazed في حير الاعجاب. الرسالة ببطء وقد بدأت الآن وعبر دونالدسون افكار هي بداية لاستخدامها من قبل الآخرين في مجموعة متنوعة من الطرق. ... دونالدسون قد فتح مجال جديد تماما ؛ ظواهر غامضة وغير متوقعة عن هندسة 4 - تم اكتشاف الأبعاد. وعلاوة على اساليب جديدة ودقيقة للغاية ، من الصعب استخدام المعادلات التفاضليه الجزءيه غير الخطيه. ومن ناحية أخرى ، فإن هذه النظريه هو راسخ في صلب الرياضيات ، وبعد ان وصلات حميمه مع الماضي ، وتتضمن الافكار من الفيزياء النظريه ، وتعادل في معادلات حدوديه مع الجميلة.

هذه المادة مثيرة للاهتمام على حد سواء ، ويقدم مجموعة من الذكريات عن كيفية دونالدسون من قبل وجاء الى الادلاء الاكتشافات الكبرى في حين طالب دراسات عليا في جامعة اكسفورد وأيضا دراسة استقصاءيه من المجالات التي عملت في السنوات الاخيرة. دونالدسون ان ما يقرب من يكتب في جميع اعماله جميعا تحت العناوين التالية :

(1) من فرق الهندسه holomorphic مكافحة ناقلات حزم.
(2) من تطبيقات نظرية لقياس 4 - طوبولوجيا متعددة.

وقال انه يتصل على مساهمته في ان كثيرين آخرين في الميدان.

دونالدسون عمل في تلخيص ص ستيرن في :

سيمون دونالدسون في عام 1982 بدأت رحلة غنية ذات الطابع الهندسي وهذا هو الذي يقودنا الى استنتاج مثير لهذا القرن. وقال انه خلق جديد تماما ومثيرة في مجال البحث عن طريق الذي يمر الكثير من الرياضيات والتي لا تزال تؤدي الى ظواهر غامضة وغير متوقعة عن طوبولوجيا وهندسة سلاسه 4 - الأنابيب المتفرعه.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Simon Kirwan Donaldson

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

20 Aug 1957

Cambridge, England

Presentation Wikipedia
Simon Donaldson's secondary school education was at Sevenoaks School in Kent which he attended from 1970 to 1975. He then entered Pembroke College, Cambridge where he studied until 1980, receiving his B.A. in 1979. One of his tutors at Cambridge described him as a very good student but certainly not the top student in his year. Apparently he would always come to his tutorials carrying a violin case.

In 1980 Donaldson began postgraduate work at Worcester College, Oxford, first under Nigel Hitchen's supervision and later under Atiyah 's supervision. Atiyah writes in :

In 1982, when he was a second-year graduate student, Simon Donaldson proved a result that stunned the mathematical world.

This result was published by Donaldson in a paper Self-dual connections and the topology of smooth 4- manifolds which appeared in the Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society in 1983. Atiyah continues his description of Donaldson's work :

Together with the important work of Michael Freedman ..., Donaldson's result implied that there are "exotic" 4-spaces, i.e. 4-dimensional differentiable manifolds which are topologically but not differentiably equivalent to the standard Euclidean 4-space R4. What makes this result so surprising is that n = 4 is the only value for which such exotic n-spaces exist. These exotic 4-spaces have the remarkable property that (unlike R4) they contain compact sets which cannot be contained inside any differentiably embedded 3-sphere !

After being awarded his doctorate from Oxford in 1983, Donaldson was appointed a Junior Research Fellow at All Souls College, Oxford. He spent the academic year 1983-84 at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, After returning to Oxford he was appointed Wallis Professor of Mathematics in 1985, a position he continues to hold.

Donaldson has received many honours for his work. He received the Junior Whitehead Prize from the London Mathematical Society in 1985. In the following year he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society and, also in 1986, he received a Fields Medal at the International Congress at Berkeley. In 1991 Donaldson received the Sir William Hopkins Prize from the Cambridge Philosophical Society. Then, the following year, he received the Royal Medal from the Royal Society . He also received the Crafoord Prize from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in 1994:

... for his fundamental investigations in four-dimensional geometry through application of instantons, in particular his discovery of new differential invariants ...

Atiyah describes the contribution which led to Donaldson's award of a Fields Medal in . He sums up Donaldson's contribution:

When Donaldson produced his first few results on 4-manifolds, the ideas were so new and foreign to geometers and topologists that they merely gazed in bewildered admiration. Slowly the message has gotten across and now Donaldson's ideas are beginning to be used by others in a variety of ways. ... Donaldson has opened up an entirely new area; unexpected and mysterious phenomena about the geometry of 4-dimensions have been discovered. Moreover the methods are new and extremely subtle, using difficult nonlinear partial differential equations . On the other hand, this theory is firmly in the mainstream of mathematics, having intimate links with the past, incorporating ideas from theoretical physics, and tying in beautifully with algebraic geometry .

The article is very interesting and provides both a collection of reminiscences by Donaldson on how he came to make his major discoveries while a graduate student at Oxford and also a survey of areas which he has worked on in recent years. Donaldson writes in that nearly all his work has all come under the headings:

(1) Differential geometry of holomorphic vector bundles.
(2) Applications of gauge theory to 4-manifold topology.

and he relates his contribution to that of many others in the field.

Donaldson's work in summed up by R Stern in :

In 1982 Simon Donaldson began a rich geometrical journey that is leading us to an exciting conclusion to this century. He has created an entirely new and exciting area of research through which much of mathematics passes and which continues to yield mysterious and unexpected phenomena about the topology and geometry of smooth 4-manifolds.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland