علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

David van Dantzig

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

23 Sept 1900

Rotterdam, Netherlands

22 July 1959

Amsterdam, Netherlands

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ديفيد dantzig فإن كان في المدرسة الثانويه عندما كتب الرياضيات أول ورقة. وقال انه فقط من العمر ثلاثة عشر عاما في ذلك الوقت. ومع ذلك ، قال ان الاهتمام الرئيسي في المدرسة الثانويه لم يكن الرياضيات ، وانما كان الكيمياء. وبعد ان ترك المدرسة مع وتابع دراساته في الكيمياء ، ولكن هذا وقال انه لا يتمتع وعندما اجبر على التخلي عن بلده الدراسات الاكاديميه للمساعدة في اعاله عائلته فان احاطت dantzig على عدد من الوظائف لمجرد كسب المال.

الآن فإن dantzig يعرف ان كان موضوع الرياضيات التي ترغب بالفعل في الدراسه ولكنه لم يكن في وضع يسمح لها بذلك ، على حد سواء لانه كان لكسب المال وايضا انه لم يكن لديه المؤهلات اللازمة للمدرسة. وقال انه وضع في ساعات عمل في الرياضيات في المساء بعد الانتهاء من كسب الاموال مهام له لهذا اليوم. انه يعتبر الدولة امتحانات الرياضيات فى عام 1921 ، على مستوى اعلى في السنة التالية ، ومرة اخرى في عام 1923 عبوره على مستوى أعلى من ذلك. دخول جامعة امستردام لدراسة الرياضيات وقال أنه أصدر فى وقت قريب الامتحانات التي احاطت به اساسا الى مستوى الماجستير.

فان dantzig اصبح مساعدا لschouten في عام 1927 في جامعة ديلفت التقنيه. بعد ذلك ، لفترة قصيرة ، عمل استاذا في مؤسسة لتدريب المعلمين ، غير انه عاد لدلفت كما محاضرا في عام 1932. هذا هو العام الذي حصل على الدكتوراه من gröningen لاطروحة الذي قدمه في عام 1931 studiën اكثر من topologische الجبر. فى هذا العمل وقال انه صيغ الآن عبارة مالوفه طوبولوجي الجبر ولكن لا تنسى هي الاطروحه بطرق اخرى ايضا. :

... هو مثال جيد على الأسلوب الرياضي : وهو يتألف من سلسلة من الايجاز والتعاريف والنظريات المنظمه في مثل هذه الطريقة في هذا السياق ان كل نظرية لا شيء واضح ويحتاج الى برهان.

وقد رقى الى أستاذ فوق العادة في ديلفت في عام 1938 ، ثم استاذ عادى فى عام 1940. الهولندي قد حاول ان تبقى محايدة في الحرب العالمية الثانية عندما اندلعت فى عام 1939 ولكن في ربيع 1940 من القوات الالمانيه ، في خطوة استراتيجية في طريقهم الى الهجوم وفرنسا وهولندا ودخلت الهولنديه هزموا في غضون اسبوع. Dantzig فان فصله من عمله الرئيس عندما احتل الألمان وهولندا وانه اضطر الى الانتقال مع اسرته من لاهاي الى امستردام.

بعد توقف الحرب ، وقال انه تم تعيين استاذ في جامعة امستردام فى عام 1946. في امستردام كان cofounder من مؤسسة البحوث والخدمات ، mathematisch Centrum. وقال انه لعب دورا كبيرا في هذا المركز وعلى حد سواء في جامعة امستردام حيث تابع له لعقد الرئيس حتى وفاته.

Dantzig فإن دراسة الهندسه التفاضليه ، الكهرومغناطيسيه والديناميكا الحراريه. واهم عمل له هو في طوبولوجي الجبر وبالاضافة الى عمله في رسالة الدكتوراه التي أشرنا إليها أعلاه ، أنه كتب سلسلة كاملة من ورقات عن طوبولوجي الجبر. درس metrisation من الجماعات ، وعصابات الميادين. ورقة واحدة تصنيف الحقول التي تحتوي على الميثاق طوبولوجيا محليا.

بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية ، فان تغيير dantzig المواضيع وعملوا على الاحتمال والاحصاء.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

David van Dantzig

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

23 Sept 1900

Rotterdam, Netherlands

22 July 1959

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Presentation Wikipedia
David van Dantzig was at secondary school when he wrote his first mathematics paper. He was only thirteen years old at the time. However, his main interest in secondary school was not mathematics, rather it was chemistry. After leaving school he continued with his studies of chemistry, but this he did not enjoy and when he was forced to give up his academic studies to help support his family van Dantzig took on a number of jobs purely to make money.

By now van Dantzig knew that mathematics was the subject which he really wanted to study but he was not in a position to do so, both because he had to earn money and also because he did not have the necessary school qualifications. He put in hours of work on mathematics in the evenings after finishing his money earning tasks for the day. He took the state mathematics examinations in 1921, at a higher level the following year and again in 1923 he passed at a higher level still. Entering the University of Amsterdam to study mathematics he soon passed examinations which took him essentially to Master's Degree level.

Van Dantzig became an assistant to Schouten in 1927 at Delft Technical University. Then, for a short time, he taught at a teacher training institution, but he returned to Delft as a lecturer in 1932. This was the year in which he received his doctorate from Gröningen for a thesis which he submitted in 1931 Studiën over topologische Algebra. In this work he coined the now familiar term topological algebra but the thesis is memorable in other ways too. It :

... is a fine example of mathematical style: it consists of a concise string of definitions and theorems organised in such a way that in this context each theorem is obvious and none needs a proof.

He was promoted to extraordinary professor at Delft in 1938 and then an ordinary professor in 1940. The Dutch had tried to remain neutral when World War II broke out in 1939 but in the spring of 1940 German troops, in a strategic move on their way to attack France, entered Holland and the Dutch were defeated in a week. Van Dantzig was dismissed from his chair when the Germans occupied Holland and he was forced to move with his family from the Hague to Amsterdam.

After the war ended, he was appointed professor at the University of Amsterdam in 1946. In Amsterdam he was the cofounder of the research and service institution, the Mathematisch Centrum. He played a major role in both this Centre and in the University of Amsterdam where he continued to hold his chair until his death.

Van Dantzig studied differential geometry , electromagnetism and thermodynamics. His most important work was in topological algebra and in addition to his doctoral thesis which we mentioned above, he wrote a whole series of papers on topological algebra. He studied metrisation of groups , rings and fields . One paper classified fields with a locally compact topology .

After the Second World War, van Dantzig changed topics and worked on probability and statistics.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland