علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Enrico D'Ovidio

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

11 Aug 1842

Campobasso, Italy

21 March 1933

Turin, Italy

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

إنريكو D' أوفيديو درس في نابولي ، الى الجنوب الغربي من مسقط رأسه في كامبوباسو ، حيث كان يستعد لدخول المدرسة من الجسور والطرق. هناك درس لبعض الوقت ، وحضر المحاضرات التي يلقيها Battaglini وFergola النفوذ الذي جعل المهتمين D' أوفيديو تصبح في ممارسة العمل الأكاديمي.

بالفعل في هذا الوقت D' أوفيديو كانت بداية البحث الأصلي في الرياضيات على الرغم من انه لم تتخذ على مستوى الجامعة بالطبع. وكتب بعض المقالات القصيرة عن المحددات وعلم المخاريط وهذه نشرت في مجلدات في وقت مبكر من Battaglini بالمجلس الجديد مجلة جورنال دي Matematiche التي تأسست في عام 1863.

D' أوفيديو بدأ التدريس في المدارس ولكنها كانت قد حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه الفخرية في الرياضيات من جامعة نابولي أبدا على الرغم من أنها اتخذت مسارا درجة. جلس أي أوراق الامتحانات الخطية لهذه الدرجة نظرا لأنه كان يشعر أنه سبق له أن أثبت قدراته الرياضية.

في عام 1869 D' أوفيديو نشرت نص الهندسة للمدارس ومن ثم ، في عام 1872 ، بلترامي أقنعه للدخول في المنافسة على الرئاسة من الجبر والهندسة التحليلية في جامعة تورينو. D' أوفيديو كانت مترددة في مغادرة المنطقة نابولي في ايطاليا حيث كان قريبا من عائلته لكنه قرر المشاركة في المسابقة وعرضت عليه وظيفة.

D' أوفيديو كان عليها أن تعمل لمدة 46 عاما في جامعة تورينو. كان رئيس لكلية العلوم في 1879-80 ، ورئيس جامعة بين 1880 و 1885. آخر موجة رئيسا لكلية العلوم بين 1893 و 1907 انتهت عندما تم تعيينه مفوضا للبوليتكنيك في تورينو.

والهندسة الإقليدية noneuclidean هي المجالات التي تحظى باهتمام خاص لD' اوفييدو. انه مبني على الأفكار الهندسية التي تم تقديمها من قبل Lobachevsky ، بولياي ، ريمان وكيلي. D' Ovidio's أهم عمل هو على الارجح ورقته عام 1877 وتتمثل المهام الأساسية متري في فضاءات تعسفا أبعاد كثيرة مع انحناء مستمر.

D' أوفيديو كما عملت على أشكال الثنائية ، وعلم المخاريط quadrics. كان اثنان من المساعدين الشهيرة ، Peano (1880-83) وكورادو Segre (1883-84). D' أوفيديو وكورادو Segre بنيت مدرسة هامة للهندسة في تورينو.

وجاء العديد من الالقاب D' Ovidio's الطريق. انتخب رئيسا لأكاديمية العلوم في تورينو في عام 1878 وإلى أكاديمية الفنون دي ينسي] من عام 1883. كينيدي في كتب :

وكان قد عين عضوا في مجلس الشيوخ مارس 1905 ، ولكن كانت هناك شائعات بأن ذلك يرجع إلى مزيج المتابعة ، وأنه كان يقصد ترشيح لأخيه فرانشيسكو ، لاحظ العالم اللغوي ، الذي كان في الواقع تسمية عضو في مجلس الشيوخ بعد بضعة أشهر.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Enrico D'Ovidio

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

11 Aug 1842

Campobasso, Italy

21 March 1933

Turin, Italy

Presentation
Enrico D'Ovidio studied in Naples, southwest of his home town of Campobasso, where he prepared to enter the School of Bridges and Roads. He studied there for a time and attended lectures by Battaglini and Fergola whose influence made D'Ovidio become interested in an academic career.

Already at this time D'Ovidio was beginning original research in mathematics although he had not taken a standard university course. He wrote some short articles on determinants and conics and these were published in the early volumes of Battaglini 's new journal Giornale di Matematiche which was founded in 1863.

D'Ovidio began school teaching but was granted an honorary degree in mathematics by the University of Naples despite never having taken a degree course. He sat no written examination papers for this degree since it was felt that he had already proved his mathematical abilities.

In 1869 D'Ovidio published a geometry text for schools and then, in 1872, Beltrami persuaded him to enter the competition for the Chair of Algebra and Analytic Geometry at the University of Turin. D'Ovidio was reluctant to leave the Naples area of Italy where he was close to his family but he decided to enter the competition and he was offered the post.

D'Ovidio was to work for 46 years in the University of Turin. He was chairman of the Faculty of Science in 1879-80 and rector of the University between 1880 and 1885. Another spell as chairman of the Faculty of Science between 1893 and 1907 ended when he was appointed Commissioner of the Polytechnic of Turin.

Euclidean and noneuclidean geometry were the areas of special interest to D'Ovidio. He built on the geometric ideas which had been introduced by Lobachevsky , Bolyai , Riemann and Cayley . D'Ovidio's most important work is probably his paper of 1877 The fundamental metric functions in spaces of arbitrarily many dimensions with constant curvature.

D'Ovidio also worked on binary forms, conics and quadrics . He had two famous assistants, Peano (1880-83) and Corrado Segre (1883-84). D'Ovidio and Corrado Segre built an important school of geometry at Turin.

Many honours came D'Ovidio's way. He was elected to the Academy of Sciences of Turin in 1878 and to the Accademia dei Lincei from 1883. Kennedy writes in :

He was named a senator in March 1905, but there were rumours that this was due to a mix-up and that the nomination was intended for his brother Francesco, the noted philologist, who was in fact named a senator a few months later.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland