علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Harold Scott MacDonald Coxeter

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

9 Feb 1907

London, England

31 March 2003

Toronto, Canada

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

دونالد coxeter كان دائما يعرف دونالد الذي اتى من الثالثة له اسم ماكدونالد. وهذا يحتاج الى قليل من التوضيح. وقال انه لاول مرة ونظرا لسكوت ماكدونالد اسم coxeter ، ولكن godparent اقترح ان اسم والده وأضاف ينبغي ان يكون ، حتى هارولد اضيفت في الجبهة. قريب آخر لاحظ ان hms coxeter جعلته يبدو السفينة. أ التقليب من الأسماء أدى إلى هارولد سكوت ماكدونالد coxeter.

وكان دونالد تعليمه في جامعة كمبريدج ، وحصوله على درجة البكالوريوس فى عام 1929. وتابع دراسة الدكتوراه في كمبردج في ظل التردد العالي بيكر ، وهذا حصل على جائزة فى عام 1931. ثم اصبح زميل مواصلة ابحاثه في كامبردج. وخلال هذه الفترة قضى سنتين بوصفها البحث الزائر في جامعة برنستون في العمل في ظل فيبلين. وكان زميل روكفلر خلال 1932-33 و 1934-35 بروكتر خلال زميل.

في عام 1936 coxeter تناول التعيين في جامعة تورنتو. وقال انه ما زال على كلية في تورونتو حتى وفاته. في احتفال اقيم في الادارة فى عام 1996 للاحتفال له 60 سنة في جامعة تورنتو.

Coxeter عمل اساسا فى الهندسه. وقال إنه على وجه الخصوص قدمت مساهمات ذات اهمية كبرى في نظرية polytopes ، والمنظمات غير اقليدي الهندسه ، وCombinatorics المجموعة من الناحية النظريه.

Coxeter polytopes هي المجالات الاساسية للتفكير الجماعات المنفصله ، التي تسمى الآن coxeter الجماعات ، وانها تؤدي الى tesselations. في عام 1934 صنفت جميع coxeter اقليدي coxeter كرويه والجماعات.

عملة وكان الدافع وراء جمال الرياضيات. روبرت مودي ، واقتراح coxeter لدرجة فخريه من جامعة يورك في تورونتو ، وقال :

العلم الحديث كثيرا ما تحركه البدع والازياء ، والرياضيات ليست استثناء. Coxeter اسلوب ، واود ان اقول ، هو غير عصري متفرد. وهو يسترشد ، على ما اعتقد ، بالكامل تقريبا من قبل شعور عميق ما هو جميل.

يورك لم تكن هي الجامعة على شرف coxeter. حصل على تسع درجات الدكتوراه الفخريه وكان زميلا في الجمعية الملكيه لندن وزميل الجمعية الملكيه لكندا.

الاكثر شهرة بين اقرانه في الهندسه الكتب الحقيقية اسقاطي الطائرة (1955) ، مقدمة الى الهندسه (1961) ، polytopes العاديه (1963) ، والمنظمات غير اقليدي الهندسه (1965) ، وكتب بالاشتراك مع المدعوه س. ل greitzer ، واعادة النظر في الهندسه (1967). كما نشرت الشهيرة على فريق عمل العروض ، الذي كتب بالاشتراك مع اول طالب دكتوراه woj موزر ، والمولدات ، والعلاقات المتميزة للمجموعات.

له 12 كتابا و 167 المقالات المنشوره تغطي اكثر من البحوث الرياضية. Escher coxeter اجتمع في عام 1954 وأصبح اثنين من اصدقاء مدى الحياة. صديق آخر ، ص buckminister أكمل ، coxeter افكار المستخدمة في الهندسه المعماريه. في عام 1938 coxeter منقحه ومستكمله روس الكرة بالمجلس الرياضية والاستجمام المقالات ، وكتاب روس الكرة التي نشرت لاول مرة في 1892.

Coxeter لها العديد من الهدايا والفنية ، ولا سيما في الموسيقى. في الواقع قبل ان يصبح عالم الرياضيات كان يريد ان يصبح ملحن. غير ان اهتمامه نحو التماثل اقتادته الى الرياضيات والوظيفي الذي كان عاشقا له في جميع أنحاء الحياة. Coxeter يقول :

وانا محظوظه للغاية لدفع ما يمكن ان تفعل أي حال.

وعزا الى تجربته الطويلة في الحياة الريجيم النباتي ، وممارسة منتظمة للنظام ان رأوه 50 هل دفع اشتراكات في اليوم ، عند سن 89 ، وربما كان الأهم ، لأنه هو نفسه ذات الصلة

وانا ابدا بالملل.

واسمحوا لي [EFR] ملاحظه شخصية :

وزميل لي زار دونالد فى تورونتو فى عام 1970 ق وانا لن نتذكر دوما مكتبة كاملة من النماذج الرياضية. وانا اذكر بالغة اللطف وكرم الضيافة الرائع من بلدة الهولنديه دونالد والزوجه rien. عندما قلت انني لم تكن لها اطلاقا قرعة الفطيره من قبل ، دونالد اختفت في المطبخ وعلى مراحل مع عودة ضخم له واهية للقرعة التي نظرت الى الرقم الصعب وقادرة على تنفيذ.

وقال انه علمني كيفية كتابة ورقة الرياضيات. وكان بناء حرفي في ورقة ، عد الرموز للتأكد من ان الصيغ لم كسر عبر الخط.

وعندما زار دونالد لي وزميل في سانت اندروز اتخذنا له السير في الرصيف فى الميناء. وأصر ، لدينا الكثير من الهلع ، غير آمنة على تسلق سلم صدئ في نهاية الرصيف. وقال انه بالتأكيد ليس كما واهية كما قال انه يتطلع!

وفي عام 1997 تم coxeter مصاحب للامر من كندا. وهذا هو اعلى من المستويات الثلاثة للالشرف ان يجعل كندا.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Harold Scott MacDonald Coxeter

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

9 Feb 1907

London, England

31 March 2003

Toronto, Canada

Presentation Wikipedia
Donald Coxeter was always known as Donald which came from his third name MacDonald. This needs a little explanation. He was first given the name MacDonald Scott Coxeter, but a godparent suggested that his father's name should be added, so Harold was added at the front. Another relative noted that H M S Coxeter made him sound like a ship. A permutation of the names resulted in Harold Scott MacDonald Coxeter.

Donald was educated at the University of Cambridge, receiving his B.A. in 1929. He continued to study for a doctorate at Cambridge under H F Baker , and this was awarded in 1931. He then became a Fellow continuing his researches at Cambridge. During this period he spent two years as a research visitor at Princeton University working under Veblen . He was Rockefeller Fellow during 1932-33 and Procter Fellow during 1934-35.

In 1936 Coxeter took up an appointment at the University of Toronto. He remained on the faculty at Toronto until his death. A celebration was held in the department in 1996 to celebrate his 60 years at the University of Toronto.

Coxeter's work was mainly in geometry. In particular he made contributions of major importance in the theory of polytopes, non-euclidean geometry , group theory and combinatorics.

Coxeter polytopes are the fundamental domains of discrete reflection groups, now called Coxeter groups, and they give rise to tesselations. In 1934 Coxeter classified all spherical and euclidean Coxeter groups.

His work was motivated by the beauty of mathematics. Robert Moody, proposing Coxeter for an honorary degree from York University in Toronto, said:

Modern science is often driven by fads and fashions, and mathematics is no exception. Coxeter's style, I would say, is singularly unfashionable. He is guided, I think, almost completely by a profound sense of what is beautiful.

York was not the only university to honour Coxeter. He received nine honorary doctorates and was a Fellow of the Royal Society of London and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada .

Among his most famous geometry books are The real projective plane (1955), Introduction to geometry (1961), Regular polytopes (1963), Non-euclidean geometry (1965) and, written jointly with S L Greitzer, Geometry revisited (1967). He also published a famous work on group presentations , which was written jointly with his first doctoral student W O J Moser, Generators and relations for discrete groups.

His 12 books and 167 published articles cover more than mathematical research. Coxeter met Escher in 1954 and the two became lifelong friends. Another friend, R Buckminister Fuller , used Coxeter's ideas in his architecture. In 1938 Coxeter revised and updated Rouse Ball 's Mathematical recreations and essays, a book which Rouse Ball first published in 1892.

Coxeter had many artistic gifts, particularly in music. In fact before he became a mathematician he wanted to become a composer. However his interest in symmetry took him towards mathematics and into a career which he loved throughout has life. Coxeter wrote:

I am extremely fortunate for being paid for what I would have done anyway.

He attributed his long life to vegetarianism, a regular regime of exercise that saw him do 50 push-ups a day at the age of 89, and, perhaps most importantly, as he related himself

I am never bored.

Allow me [EFR] a personal note:

A colleague and I visited Donald in Toronto in the 1970s and I will always remember his office full of mathematical models. I remember the extreme kindness and wonderful hospitality of Donald and his Dutch wife Rien. When I said I had never had pumpkin pie before, Donald vanished into the kitchen and staggered back with a huge pumpkin which his frail figure hardly looked able to carry.

He taught me how to write a mathematics paper. He was a craftsman at constructing a paper, counting the symbols to make sure that formulas did not break across a line.

When Donald visited me and a colleague in St Andrews we took him a walk down the pier at the harbour. He insisted, much to our trepidation, on climbing an insecure rusty ladder at the end of the pier. He was certainly not as frail as he looked!

In 1997 Coxeter was made a Companion of the Order of Canada. This is the highest of the three levels of honours that Canada makes.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland