علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Gertrude Mary Cox

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

13 Jan 1900

Dayton, Iowa, USA

17 Oct 1978

Durham, North Carolina, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

جيرترود كوكس ودرس في المدرسة الثانويه في بيري بيري ، ايوا ، وتخرجت في عام 1918. في هذا الوقت وقالت انها قررت ان تصبح الشماسه في الكنيسة الميثوديه وعملت لتحقيق هذه الغاية. ومع ذلك ، في عام 1925 ، وقالت انها قررت مواصلة تعليمها في كلية ولاية ايوا للدولة في أميز حيث درست الرياضيات والاحصاء وحصل على درجة البكالوريوس فى عام 1929 ودرجة الماجستير في مجال الاحصاءات فى عام 1931.

من 1931 الى 1933 اجرت كوكس الدراسات العليا في مجال الاحصاء في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي ، ثم عاد الى ولاية ايوا للدولة ومساعد في كلية الاحصاءيه في المختبر. هنا عملت على تصميم التجارب. في عام 1939 عينت استاذا مساعدا للاحصاءات في ولاية ايوا للدولة.

كوكس في عام 1940 تم تعيين استاذ الاحصاء في جامعة نورث كارولينا في ريلاي. وهناك تولت رئاسة الادارة الجديدة للاحصاءات التجريبيه.

وقالت انها فى عام 1945 اصبح مديرا لمعهد الاحصاءات الموحدة من جامعة نورث كارولينا ، والاحصاءات شعبة البحوث نورث كارولينا الدولة الكليه التي كانت تدار من قبل كوكران. وفي العام نفسه كوكس عام 1945 أصبح رئيس تحرير نشرة الحيويه والبيولوجيا الاحصاءيه للوقالت انها عقدت هذا منصب رئيس التحرير لمدة 10 سنوات. في عام 1947 كانت من الاعضاء المؤسسين للالقياسات الحيويه في المجتمع.

وقالت انها نشرت في عام 1950 عمل مشترك مع كوكران تصميم تجريبي التي سرعان ما أصبحت كلاسيكيه النص.

في عام 1960 واعربت عن منصبها النهائي منصب مدير الاحصاءات بمعهد مثلث البحث في دورهام ، كارولينا الشمالية. وقالت انها عقدت هذا المنصب حتى واعربت عن المتقاعدين فى عام 1964.

كوكس تلقى العديد من الالقاب والاوسمه. في عام 1949 وقالت انها اصبحت اول امرأة منتخبة في المعهد الدولي للاحصاء. وقالت انها في عام 1956 انتخب رئيسا للجمعية الاحصاءيه الامريكية فى عام 1975 فى حين انها قد انتخبت لللاكاديميه الوطنية للعلوم.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Gertrude Mary Cox

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

13 Jan 1900

Dayton, Iowa, USA

17 Oct 1978

Durham, North Carolina, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
Gertrude Cox studied at Perry High School in Perry, Iowa, graduating in 1918. At this time she decided to become a deaconess in the Methodist Church and worked towards that end. However, in 1925, she decided to continue her education at Iowa State College in Ames where she studied mathematics and statistics and was awarded a B.S. in 1929 and a Master's degree in statistics in 1931.

From 1931 to 1933 Cox undertook graduate studies in statistics at the University of California at Berkeley, then returned to Iowa State College as assistant in the Statistical Laboratory. Here she worked on the design of experiments. In 1939 she was appointed assistant professor of statistics at Iowa State.

In 1940 Cox was appointed professor of statistics at North Carolina State University at Raleigh. There she headed the new department of Experimental Statistics.

In 1945 she became director of the Institute of Statistics of the Consolidated University of North Carolina, and the Statistics Research Division of the North Carolina State College which was run by Cochran . In the same year of 1945 Cox became the editor of Biometrics Bulletin and of Biometrics and she held this editorship for 10 years. In 1947 she was a founder member of the Biometrics Society.

In 1950 she published a joint work with Cochran Experimental Design which quickly became a classic text.

In 1960 she took up her final post as Director of Statistics at the Research Triangle Institute in Durham, North Carolina. She held this post until she retired in 1964.

Cox received many honours. In 1949 she became the first woman elected into the International Statistical Institute. In 1956 she was elected President of the American Statistical Association while in 1975 she was elected to the National Academy of Sciences .

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland