علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Arthur William Conway

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

2 Oct 1875

Wexford, Ireland

11 July 1950

Dublin, Ireland

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

آرثر كونواي بالمجلس ، وكان الأب myles كونواي وكانت والدته تيريزا هاريس. Myles تيريزا وكان طفلان ، وآرثر bridie ، ولكن للأسف توفي myles ارثر عندما كان عمرها سنتين فقط. بعد بضع سنوات متزوج والدته. Bridie نشأ ان تكون موسيقي موهوب جدا ، والمواهب التي شقيقها آرثر المشتركة.

وكان ارثر لوريتو تعليمه في الدير فيها ، مثل اخته ، وقال انه اظهر موهبة موسيقيه كبيرة ، وكسب جائزة اللعب لبلده من البيانو. آخر آرثر ان الاهتمام قد تزايد حتى عندما كان في جميع الامور المرتبطه البحار ؛ اصبح خبيرة في زوارق والسباحه قوية بشكل استثنائي. ابقى مصالحة في البحر والموسيقى في ذلك طوال حياته.

كونواي في عام 1889 دخل كلية القديس بطرس ، ويكفورد الذي ينص على تدريب قوى الكلاسيكيه للبنين ، ومعظمهم كانت تنوي ان تصبح كهنه الروم الكاثوليك. زميله التلميذ في المدرسة نتذكر فيه صورة :

... خجوله ، هادءه وصبي محفوظة.

افضل جامعة في ايرلندا في هذا الوقت كان مما لا شك فيه ان كلية ترينيتي في دبلن وبطرق عديدة وهذا كان ينبغي ان يكون للجامعة الطبيعيه شخص مثل كونواي المصالح التي قد تحول بالفعل الى الرياضيات والفيزياء. غير انه بروتستانتي الجامعة والجو الديني في ايرلندا في ذلك الوقت قد جعلت من المستحيل على ورع الكاثوليكيه الرومانيه مثل كونواي للحضور. وبدلا من أن دخل كلية جامعة دبلن في 1892.

كلية جامعة دبلن كانت تدار من قبل اليسوعيون ولكن ليس لديها اعتراف رسمي. كونواي كان واحدا من اثني عشر طالبا فقط الذين يعيشون في السكن الجامعي. كما لم يكن الجامعة الرسمية أنها وضعت طلابها الى الامام بالنسبة للامتحانات من الجامعة الملكيه في ايرلندا. هذا قد الكليات في جامعة بلفاست ، وكورك غالوي. كونواي حصل على جائزة من الدرجة الاولى مع مرتبة الشرف من الجامعة الملكيه في ايرلندا في عام 1896 كما يجري رأس المرشح. في العام التالي وحصل على درجة الماجستير مع مرتبة الشرف العليا في الرياضيات.

كونواي ثم دخلت مجموعة كريستي كلية ، جامعة اكسفورد ، وكسب منحه دراسيه فى الرياضيات فى عام 1898. في جامعة اكسفورد aeh له ان يعمل في اطار من المحبة التي تمارس تأثيرا قويا على اتجاه البحث كونواي. وفي عام 1900 فاز مبتدئ الزماله من الجامعة الملكيه للايرلندا مع مقال عن المعنى quaternions. كونواي في هذه المرحلة تعتزم متابعة الحياة الوظيفيه في الخدمة المدنيه ولكن في عام 1901 رئيسا للالفيزياء الرياضية اصبحت متاحة فى الكليه الجامعيه ، دبلن. وقال انه بطلب للحصول على وظيفة ، في الوقت المناسب ، وتم تعيينه. واستقبل ايضا احد كبار الزماله من الجامعة الملكيه للوايرلندا ، في عام 1902 ، وهو من كبار المنح الدراسيه الجامعيه في الرياضيات من مجموعة أكسفورد كريستي. كما انه درس في كلية القديس باتريك ماينوث من 1903.

وفي 19 آب / اغسطس 1903 ، متزوج كونواي اغنيس كريستينا بينجهام من كان من ballymena ، شركة Antrim. وقال انه 27 عاما في ذلك الوقت من زواجه ، في حين ان العروس هي فقط 18 سنة من العمر. انها ثلاث بنات وابن واحد : ماري تريز كونواي ، مورغان فيليكس كونواي ، فيرنا مارغريت كونواي ، وorlaith كونواي.

كونواي ورقات الاولى ظهرت في 1903. كان هناك ثلاثة منهم ، اثنان يتم نشر وقائع في لندن في حين ان المجتمع رياضية اخرى نشرت في دبلن الملكيه في المجتمع. وأول هذه الاوراق تمديد عمل الحب على موجات الكهرومغناطيسيه في المتوسط في حين موحد الخواص القادمتين المعنية من المعادلات النظريه الكلاسيكيه مجال الكهرومغناطيسي. وقال انه يتفق مع بانتظام مع الحب وارمو بشأن هذه المواضيع ، ولا سيما حول نظرية الالكترون. في 1907 كتب ورقة موجزة عن منشأ الأطياف التي احتج ضد النظريه الكلاسيكيه واشار الى الطريق نحو نظرية اقترحها نيلز بور بعد ست سنوات.

الكليه الجامعيه فى عام 1908 اصبحت جامعة رسمية عندما كانت واحدة من ثلاث كليات جامعة ايرلندا الوطنية (الآخران كورك وغالوي). وقد منح الميثاق ، ووصف من قبل الحكومة بأنه 'الجديدة' جامعة. كونواي كان رئيسا للالفيزياء الرياضية التي الصفه الرسمية على نحو فعال وظيفة وكان قد انتخب في عام 1901. وقال انه لا تزال تنشر على النظريه الكهرومغناطيسيه ، ونظرية الكم ، وعلى حركة دوران الألكترون بعد ان كانت uhlenbeck الذي اقترحه في عام 1926.

ولعل العمل الذي كونواي سوف يغيب عن البال هي افضل من منصب رئيس التحرير هاملتون 'ورقات. وأوضح سينج فى JL كيف جاء ذلك عن :

انه يجب ان يكون قد تم فى صيف 1924 اجتمع لاول مرة انني الرحمن كونواي ، حين قدم الى المؤتمر الدولي الرياضية في تورونتو. اخي كان يحث لي لبعض الوقت في محاولة للحصول على هاملتون 'ورقات اعادة طبعه في جمعها ، وهذا المشروع هو مسألة ذات الاهتمام المشترك والى كونواي لي. كونواي هو خبير في quaternions ولكن لم يسبق له ولا لأنني في ذلك الوقت يعرف الكثير عن هاملتون 'فى اقرب وقت العمل -- نظرية الاشعه.

وعدت الى دبلن في تورونتو في الفترة من عام 1925. كونواي هو واحد من الممتحنين في زماله للدراسة في كلية ترينيتي ، وبالنسبة للسنوات الخمس المقبلة (حتى تركت مرة اخرى لتورونتو دبلن) رأينا قدرا كبيرا من بعضها البعض. زماله هاميلتون المشروع التي تقوم بها الاكاديميه الملكيه الايرلنديه ، مع كونواي نفسي والمحررين من المجلد الأول من هاملتون 'جمعت تعمل -- ورقات في ذات الطابع الهندسي والبصريات.

وكان لطيفا للغاية التعاون. وكانت لدينا ميول مجاني. الأول يميل الى حفر اكثر من اللازم في تفاصيل هاملتون بالمجلس ، اساليب ، وسوف تضيع في بعض الاحيان ؛ كونواي ومن ثم يأتي لانقاذ مع نظرة أوسع...

المجلد الثاني من هاملتون 'كان يعمل جمعت الديناميه التى تم تحريرها من قبل كونواي وAJ مكونيل ، ونشرت في عام 1940. سينج ، واستعراض حجم يقول :

ويبدو ان التحرير قد اجريت بعناية كبيرة ، والعديد من الحواشي) التفسيريه ، الحرجه والتاريخية) التي تقدم ، بالاضافة الى مقدمة واكثر اتساعا وتلاحظ في شكل تذييل.

من كل هذا الوقت على كونواي للبحوث ورقات ذات الصلة في بعض هاملتون في طريقه الى 'العمل.

دبلن وسانت اندروز يشرف كونواي مع الدرجات الفخريه فى عام 1938. في السنة التالية ونصح دي فاليرا (الذي كان قد تعلم) بشأن انشاء معهد دبلن للدراسات المتقدمه. كونواي اصبح اول رئيس للفيزياء النظريه المجلس التي اصبحت قوية جدا مع schrödinger سينج والانضمام الى المعهد.

وفي عام 1940 انتخب كونواي عضو فخري في مجموعة كريستي وكلية في العام نفسه اصبح رئيسا لكلية جامعة دبلن. وحمل موقف الرئيس لمدة سبع سنوات حتى تقاعده في عام 1947.

في عام 1949 كونواي حضور المؤتمر الرياضية الكنديه في فانكوفر وقال انه حاضر هناك على حياة العمل والتأثير في السير ويليام هاملتون روان.

ويتاكر كتب ما يلي :

كما كان من الصعب دولار للحصول على ، وسافر من قبل سفينة الشحن بقدر ما مونتريال. على رحلة الذهاب والاياب كما قال الضيف للمفوض السامي لايرلندا الى اوتاوا ، حيث رحب به اعضاء من مجلس الوزراء الكندي. في مونتريال وقال انه انضم الى السفينة التي كان قد سافر في السابق ، والتي استغرقت ثلاثة أسابيع للوصول الى الجزر البريطانية.

كان يستعد للمغادرة دبلن الى الذهاب الى المؤتمر الدولى لعلماء الرياضيات في جامعة هارفارد عندما توفي فجاه.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Arthur William Conway

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

2 Oct 1875

Wexford, Ireland

11 July 1950

Dublin, Ireland

Presentation
Arthur Conway's father was Myles Conway and his mother was Teresa Harris. Myles and Teresa had two children, Arthur and Bridie, but sadly Myles died when Arthur was only two years old. Some years later his mother remarried. Bridie grew up to be a very gifted musician, a talent which her brother Arthur shared.

Arthur was educated at Loreto Convent where, like his sister, he showed considerable musical talent, winning a prize for his playing of the piano. Another interest that Arthur had when growing up was in all things associated with the sea; he became an expert with boats and an exceptionally strong swimmer. He retained his interests in the sea and in music throughout his life.

In 1889 Conway entered St Peter's College, Wexford which provided a strong classical training for boys, most of whom were intending to become Roman Catholic priests. A fellow pupil at the school remembered him as a:

... shy, quiet and reserved boy.

The best university in Ireland at this time was undoubtedly Trinity College Dublin and in many ways this should have been the natural university for someone like Conway whose interests had already turned to mathematics and physics. However it was a Protestant university and the religious atmosphere in Ireland at that time would have made it impossible for a devout Roman Catholic like Conway to attend. Instead he entered University College Dublin in 1892.

University College Dublin was run by the Jesuits but it did not have official recognition. Conway was one of only twelve students living in university accommodation. As the university had no official status it put its students forward for the examinations of the Royal University of Ireland. This University had Colleges in Belfast, Cork and Galway. Conway was awarded First Class honours from the Royal University of Ireland in 1896 being placed as the top candidate. The following year he received his M.A. with the top honours in mathematics.

Conway then entered Corpus Christi College, Oxford, winning a scholarship in mathematics in 1898. At Oxford he worked under A E H Love who exerted a strong influence on the direction of Conway's research. In 1900 he won a Junior Fellowship from the Royal University of Ireland with an essay on Quaternions. At this stage Conway intended to pursue a career in the Civil Service but in 1901 a chair of Mathematical Physics became available in University College, Dublin. He applied for the post and, in due course, he was appointed. He also received a Senior Fellowship from the Royal University of Ireland and, in 1902, a Senior University Scholarship in Mathematics from Corpus Christi Oxford. He also taught at St Patrick's College Maynooth from 1903.

On 19 August 1903, Conway married Agnes Christina Bingham who was from Ballymena, Co. Antrim. He was 27 years old at the time of his marriage, while his bride was only 18 years of age. They had three daughters and one son: Teresa Mary Conway, Morgan Felix Conway, Verna Marguerite Conway, and Orlaith Conway.

Conway's first papers appeared in 1903. There were three of them, two being published in the Proceedings of the London Mathematical Society while the other was published by the Royal Dublin Society. The first of these papers extended work of Love on electromagnetic waves in an isotropic medium while the next two concerned equations of classical electromagnetic field theory. He corresponded regularly with Love and Larmor on these topics, particularly on the theory of the electron. In 1907 he wrote a short paper on the origin of spectra which argued against the classical theory and pointed the way towards the theory proposed by Niels Bohr six years later.

In 1908 University College became an official university when it was made one of the three Colleges of the National University of Ireland (the other two were Cork and Galway). It was granted a Charter and described by the government as a 'new' university. Conway was elected to the Chair of Mathematical Physics which effectively formalised the post he had been elected to in 1901. He continued to publish on electromagnetic theory, quantum theory, and on electron spin after it was proposed by Uhlenbeck in 1926.

Perhaps the work for which Conway will be best remembered is his editorship of Hamilton 's papers. J L Synge explained in how this came about:

It must have been in the summer of 1924 that I first met A W Conway, when he came out to the International Mathematical Congress at Toronto. My brother had been urging me for some time to try to get Hamilton 's papers republished in a collected edition, and this project was a matter of common interest to Conway and me. Conway was an expert in quaternions but neither he nor I at that time knew much about Hamilton 's earliest work - the theory of rays.

I returned to Dublin from Toronto in 1925. Conway was one of the examiners at the examination for a Fellowship at Trinity College, and for the next five years (until I left Dublin again for Toronto) we saw a good deal of one another. The Hamilton project was undertaken by the Royal Irish Academy , with Conway and myself as editors of the first volume of Hamilton 's collected works - the papers in geometrical optics.

It was a very pleasant cooperation. Our inclinations were complimentary. I was inclined to dig too much into the details of Hamilton 's methods, and would sometimes get lost; then Conway would come to the rescue with a broader view ...

The second volume of Hamilton 's Collected Works was Dynamics which was edited by Conway and A J McConnell and published in 1940. Synge , reviewing the volume, wrote:

The editing appears to have been carried out with great care, numerous footnotes (explanatory, critical and historical) being supplied, together with an introduction and more extended notes in the form of an appendix.

From this time on all of Conway's research papers related in some way to Hamilton 's work.

Dublin and St Andrews honoured Conway with honorary degrees in 1938. In the following year he advised de Valera (whom he had taught) regarding the setting up of the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies. Conway became the first Chairman of the Theoretical Physics Board which became very strong with Schrödinger and Synge joining the Institute.

In 1940 Conway was elected an Honorary Fellow of Corpus Christi College and in the same year he became President of University College Dublin. He held the position of President for seven years until he retired in 1947.

In 1949 Conway attend the Canadian Mathematical Congress in Vancouver and he lectured there on The life work and influence of Sir William Rowan Hamilton .

Whittaker writes :

As dollars were difficult to obtain, he travelled by cargo ship as far as Montreal. On the return journey he went as the guest of the High Commissioner for Ireland to Ottawa, where he was welcomed by members of the Canadian Cabinet. At Montreal he joined the ship by which he had previously travelled, and which took three weeks to reach the British Isles.

He was preparing to leave Dublin to go to the International Congress of Mathematicians in Harvard when he died suddenly.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland