علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

William Gemmell Cochran

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

15 July 1909

Rutherglen, Scotland

29 March 1980

Orleans, Massachusetts, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

وليام كوكران احاطت جامعة غلاسكو في عام 1927 منحة المنافسة وقال انه جرى أولا. الجاءزه من منحة أتاحت له أن يتخذ له من الدرجة الاولى في غلاسكو ، وقال انه حصل على شهادة الماجستير في الرياضيات والفيزياء فى عام 1931. وفاز لوغان وسام لافضل طالب في كلية الآداب وحصل على منحة لدراسة الرياضيات في كامبريدج.

في كامبريدج انه يعتبر جون wishart بالمجلس ، وبطبيعة الحال في الاحصاء الرياضي ، ثم في اجراء العملية وبطبيعة الحال في كلية الزراعة. في عام 1934 لجمهورية ارمينيا rothamsted فيشر غادر المحطة التجريبيه لقبول galton الرئاسة في الكليه الجامعيه ، فرانك لندن وأصبح رئيس ييتس في rothamsted. كوكران عرض الوظائف الشاغره ولكنه قال انه لا يزال غير تامة الصنع بلدة الدكتوراه في كمبردج. ييتس في وقت لاحق يقول :

... وكأن قدر من الحس السليم انه يقبل الحجه القاءله بأن بلادي الدكتوراه ، وحتى من كامبردج ، وكان الكثير مما يدل على قدرة البحث ، والتي قد كمبردج في ذلك الوقت شيئا يذكر ليعلمه في مجال الاحصاء لا يمكن ان تكون أفضل كثيرا أن العملية المستفاده من العمل في معهد البحوث.

كوكران قبلت في مرحلة ما بعد rothamsted حيث عمل لمدة 5 سنوات على عينة تجريبيه تصاميم وتقنيات المسح. وخلال هذا الوقت كان يعمل عن كثب مع ييتس. في هذا الوقت قال ان لديه ايضا الفرصة للعمل مع فيشر من كان في كثير من الاحيان في rothamsted الزائر.

كوكران زار مختبر ايوا الاحصاءيه في عام 1938 ، ثم قبلت وجود احصاءات وظيفة في عام 1939. كانت مهمته هي وضع برنامج الدراسات العليا في الرياضيات والاحصاءات داخل الادارة. في عام 1943 وانضم الى فريق بحثي في wilks برينستون.

في برينستون وقال انه شارك في عمل دراسة احتمالات الحرب من الزيارات في الحروب البحرية. قبل 1945 كان يعمل على استراتيجيات غارة القصف.

وانضم الى ولاية كارولينا الشمالية التي انشئت حديثا معهد الاحصاءات فى عام 1946 ، مرة أخرى لتطوير برنامج الدراسات العليا في مجال الاحصاءات. من 1949 حتى 1957 كان في جامعة جونز هوبكنز في منصب الرئاسة من الاحصاءات الاحياءيه. هنا كان اكثر مشاركة في التطبيقات الطبية للاحصاءات الزراعية بدلا من دراسة كان قد طلب في وقت سابق.

من عام 1957 حتى تقاعده في عام 1976 كان كوكران في جامعة هارفرد. وكانت المهمة الأولى له للمساعدة على انشاء ادارة الاحصاء ، الامر الذي كانت له قدرا كبيرا من الخبرة في هذا الوقت. وقال انه يكاد يصبح من الفئة الفنية في الجامعات ابتداء من الاحصاءات في الولايات المتحدة الامريكية.

كوكران فعلت الكثير لتعزيز الاحصاءات في الولايات المتحدة. RL اندرسون في يلخص كوكران مساهمه على النحو التالي :

كوكران هو ان الندره ، والرجل على حد سواء مع حرص العقل والرغبة في استخدامها لخير البشريه. وقال ان مكتبه مفتوح دائما الى المناضل طالب ، nonplussed العالم ، او في استجواب مواطن.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

William Gemmell Cochran

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

15 July 1909

Rutherglen, Scotland

29 March 1980

Orleans, Massachusetts, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
William Cochran took the University of Glasgow Bursary Competition in 1927 and he was placed first. The award of a bursary allowed him to take his first degree at Glasgow and he was awarded an MA in mathematics and physics in 1931. He won the Logan Medal for the best student in the Faculty of Arts and won a scholarship to study mathematics at Cambridge.

At Cambridge he took John Wishart 's course in mathematical statistics, then proceed to take a practical course in the School of Agriculture. In 1934 R A Fisher left Rothamsted Experimental Station to accept the Galton chair at University College, London and Frank Yates became head at Rothamsted. Cochran was offered the vacant post but he was still not finished his doctoral course at Cambridge. Yates later wrote:

... it was a measure of good sense that he accepted my argument that a PhD, even from Cambridge, was little evidence of research ability, and that Cambridge had at that time little to teach him in statistics that could not be much better learnt from practical work in a research institute.

Cochran accepted the post at Rothamsted where he worked for 5 years on experimental designs and sample survey techniques. During this time he worked closely with Yates . At this time he also had the chance to work with Fisher who was a frequent visitor at Rothamsted.

Cochran visited Iowa Statistical Laboratory in 1938, then he accepted a statistics post there in 1939. His task was to develop the graduate programme in statistics within the Mathematics Department. In 1943 he joined Wilks research team at Princeton.

At Princeton he was involved in war work examining probabilities of hits in naval warfare. By 1945 he was working on bombing raid strategies.

He joined the newly created North Carolina Institute of Statistics in 1946, again to develop the graduate programme in statistics. From 1949 until 1957 he was at Johns Hopkins University in the chair of biostatistics. Here he was more involved in medical applications of statistics rather than the agricultural application he had studied earlier.

From 1957 until he retired in 1976 Cochran was at Harvard. His initial task was to help set up a statistics department, something which he had a great deal of experience with by this time. He had almost become a professional at starting statistics within universities in the USA.

Cochran did much to promote statistics within the USA. R L Anderson in sums up Cochran's contribution as follows:

Cochran was that rarity, a man with both a keen mind and the desire to use it for the benefit of mankind. His office was always open to the struggling student, nonplussed scientist, or inquiring citizen.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland