علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Sergei Nikolaevich Chernikov

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

11 May 1912

Zagorsk, Russia

1987

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

سيرغي Nikolaevich chernikov بالمجلس ، وكان الاب الكاهن. Chernikov لم يكن لديهم للبحث الوظيفي في الاعتبار عندما حضر المدارس الثانويه وذهب من خلال علاقاته مع المدارس المهنيه بهدف ان تصبح معلمة الرياضيات عندما غادر المدرسة. والواقع ان هذا هو بالضبط انه يعتبر الطريق ، والحصول على وظيفة مدرس الرياضيات في مدرسة ثانويه. بيد انه فى هذه المرة من جانب تريد بالفعل الى مزيد من دراسة الرياضيات وذلك كما هو مسجل خارجي طالب في معهد ساراتوف التربويه.

وبعد الحصول على شهادة في الرياضيات من معهد تربوي ساراتوف ، chernikov ترك المدرسة والتدريس وعين في كلية الاورال معهد الفيزياء والميكانيكا. وقال انه الان قد اصبحت مهتمة للغاية في مجمل التطورات الأخيرة في الرياضيات ، وبدأ لدراسة الجبر قراءة اعمال دا الانتهاكات الخطيره والجسيمه لبالمجلس التلاميذ OJ شميت ، نغ chebotaryov. 1936 chernikov كان من قبل لا شك فيه انه يود ان فريق الدراسه أنه حتى من الناحية النظريه والتطبيقيه الى جامعة موسكو لاجراء البحوث خارجي الطلاب kurosh في اطار 'الاشراف.

Chernikov مهتمة بصفة خاصة في اللانهاءيه والجماعات والطريق الى الهجوم مشاكل في هذا المجال هو دراسة خصائص الطبقات لانهائي من المجموعات التي هي الى حد ما قريبة محدودة. وهناك خصائص مثل الذوبان ، وهو مفهوم يعود الى جالويس ومحاولات لتصنيف متعدد الحدود المعادلات التي يمكن ان تحل من قبل المتطرفين ، الامر الذي يجعل الشعور بالكمال اللانهائي للمجموعات. والواقع ان هناك الكثير من العمل الذي جرى القيام به في دراسة المجموعات اللانهاءيه للذوبان. الفكره التي قد chernikov ، ويبدو حتى اليوم من الطبيعي ان يكون من الصعب تحقيق فكرة ذكية ما كانت عليه ، هو دراسة التعميمات الممتلكات مثل 'ذوبان' التي لا حصر لها ويمكن لفريق ولكن عندما يقتصر على جماعات محدودة لخفض المفهوم الأصلي. ودرس ايضا محدوديه نوع الشروط التي سبق ان ينظر الى أهمية كبيرة في الدائري من الناحية النظريه ، الا وهي محدوديه نوع من الشروط التي لا تسمح سلاسل لا نهاية لها من مجموعات فرعية من نوع محدد.

Chernikov اول نتائج جديدة فى وقت مبكر جاء في وقته كما طالب خارجي من kurosh. وقال انه بحلول 1938 كان بالفعل ورقتين من التعميمات التي نشرت نتائج مجموعة محدودة من الناحية النظريه لمجموعة لا نهاية لها من الناحية النظريه ، ولا سيما generalising frobenius بالمجلس ، الى نظرية المجموعات اللانهاءيه. صاحب اطروحة دكتوراه ، دافع فيه في عام 1940 ، كان على المجموعات اللانهاءيه محليا للذوبان وهذه التعميمات وعرض الممتلكات مثل ذوبان وبلا حدود الصفر مرفوع لاس معين لمجموعات من النوع المذكور اعلاه. على وجه الدقه محليا للذوبان في فريق واحد هو الذي جمع كل محدود من العناصر الواردة في المجموعة الفرعية للذوبان.

وحتى قبل منح الدكتوراه ، chernikov قد احرز رئيس قسم الرياضيات في معهد ساراتوف التربويه. ثم في عام 1946 عين رئيسا للكلية الرياضيات في جامعة الدولة في الاورال. وبعد خمس سنوات في جامعة الدولة في الاورال ، تم تعيين chernikov الى منصب مماثل في جامعة التجعيده. التجعيده جامعة انشئت في العام 1916 ، كان يسمى مولوتوف الجامعة لفترة من الزمن ، واصبحت الآن جامعة غوركي. في عام 1961 chernikov عين رئيسا لقسم الهندسه والجبر من سفيردلوفسك steklov فرع للمعهد اكاديميه العلوم السوفياتيه.

في الواقع قد chernikov اثنين من اهتماماته البحثيه الخاصة ، الاول هو ان لا نهاية لها من الجماعات التي اشرنا اليها اعلاه. جنبا الى جنب مع kurosh انه كتب دراسة استقصاءيه للذوبان المادة الصفر مرفوع لاس معين والجماعات في عام 1946. ثم كتب جميلة مسح ظروف محدوديه المادة في النظريه العامة للجماعات التي نشرت في عام 1959 ويتضمن العديد من chernikov نفسه من هذه النتائج وغيرها. واضعي والكتابة :

تكثيف وتوسيع نطاقها سواء في ورقات من chernikov نفسه وبلده من التلاميذ... وأيضا في اعمال اخرى... algebraists ، ودراسة بلا حدود مع مجموعات محدوديه شروط ، أثرت مجموعة جديدة من الناحية النظريه مع كثير من المفاهيم والافكار ونتائج عميقة ، وكذلك اتسعت بشكل كبير استنادا الى مجموعة من الناحية النظريه ، فانه من خلال توسيع نطاق التحقيقات تفصيليه جديدة لانهائي من مجموعات من شكل محدد.

في منتصف الستينات الاول] EFR] وبدأ البحث عن لانهائي والجماعات والذي ادليت به استخدام الكثير من المقالات في غرامه مسح chernikov. شيء واحد كان واضحا ، لم يكن مجرد chernikov اتطلع لنتائج الجولة التى يمكن ان تثبت ، وقال انه وضع نظرية منهجيه في الطريقة التي هي السمة المميزه للأعلى نوعية الرياضيات. Algebraists الاخرى المذكورة في الاقتباس اعلاه من chernikov بدا للمساعدة في بناء نظريته شملت OJ شميت ، malcev ، Baer ، kurosh ، القاعه ، وغيرها.

فما زال امامنا لمناقشة chernikov الثاني لمصلحة الابحاث. وكانت هذه الدراسه من الناحية النظريه خطية من التفاوت ، وهو مجال له اهمية عملية كبيرة بسبب ارتباطه مع نظرية البرمجه الخطيه. واضعي والكتابة :

الاهميه العملية للالخوارزميات الملاءمه لايجاد حل للنظم الخطيه وعدم المساواة فيما يتعلق نظرية البرمجه الخطيه هو معروف جيدا. مقالات في chernikov ، ولذلك ، سلسلة من خصائص واضحة هندسي خطى التفاوت ويرد في شكل تحليلي وهذا هو أكثر ملاءمة لاستخدام تقنيات الآلة.

وفي عام 1968 كتب هامة chernikov كتاب خطي التفاوت الذي يعطي يحدد chernikov للجبري من الناحية النظريه. في (و) :

... واستنادا الى هذه النظريه يكمن في مبدأ الحدود الحلول ؛ جميع نتائجه استنتاجها من انه عن طريق عدد قليل فقط من وسائل محدودة...

سلسلة من ورقات من chernikov في الستينات دراسة polyhedrally نظم مغلقة ، أو أنواع خاصة من اللانهاءيه للنظم الخطيه وعدم المساواة :

بالنسبة لحالة محددة الأبعاد الحقيقية وهذه هي الخطيه الفضاء اللانهائي الذي نظم المساعد المخروط هو بشكل طوبولوجي مغلقة. بعض خصائص محددة للنظم الخطيه عدم المساواة يمكن أن تنقل إلى نظم مغلقة polyhedrally خطية من أوجه عدم المساواة. Polyhedrally النظم المغلقه خطية من أوجه عدم المساواة هي وسيلة فعالة في تحليل مشاكل نظرية التقريب من وظائف ، في البرمجه الخطيه (ولا سيما في مسائل ثنائية) ، ونظرية التحكم.

القارئ قد لاحظوا chernikov موازية في الانتقال من مكان محدود الى اللانهاءيه نظم خطية من عدم المساواة في روح مماثلة الى الانتقال من مكان محدود الى المجموعات اللانهاءيه.

انه لمن دواعي سروري ان سجل بلادي هنا [EFR] الشخصيه شكرا لchernikov عمل محدود على الأوضاع في المجموعات اللانهاءيه التي أوحت لي في بلدي والبحث وكان موضوع أطروحة دكتوراه بلدي.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Sergei Nikolaevich Chernikov

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

11 May 1912

Zagorsk, Russia

1987

Presentation
Sergei Nikolaevich Chernikov's father was a priest. Chernikov did not have a research career in mind when he attended secondary school and he went through his school career with the aim of becoming a teacher of mathematics when he left school. Indeed that is precisely the route that he took, obtaining a post as a mathematics teacher in a secondary school. However by this time he did want to study mathematics further and so he registered as an external student at the Saratov Pedagogic Institute.

Having obtained a degree in mathematics from the Saratov Pedagogic Institute, Chernikov left school teaching and was appointed to the Faculty of the Ural Institute of Physics and Mechanics. By now he had become extremely interested in the recent developments in mathematics, and he began to study algebra reading works by D A Grave and Grave 's pupils O J Schmidt, N G Chebotaryov . By 1936 Chernikov had no doubt that he wished to study group theory and so he applied to the University of Moscow to undertake research as an external student under Kurosh 's supervision.

Chernikov was particularly interested in infinite groups and the way to attack problems in that area is to examine properties of classes of infinite groups which are in some sense close to finite. There are properties such as solubility, a concept which goes back to Galois and attempts to classify which polynomial equations could be solved by radicals , which make perfect sense for infinite groups. Much work has indeed been done on studying infinite soluble groups . The idea which Chernikov had, and today it seems so natural that it is hard to realise what a clever idea it was, was to study generalisations of properties such as 'soluble' which an infinite group could have but when restricted to finite groups reduced to the original concept. He also studied finiteness type conditions that had already been seen to have great importance in ring theory, namely finiteness type conditions which did not allow infinite chains of subgroups of a specified type.

Chernikov's first new results came early in his time as an external student of Kurosh . By 1938 he already had two papers published on generalisations of results from finite group theory to infinite group theory, in particular generalising Frobenius 's theorem to infinite groups. His doctoral dissertation, which he defended in 1940, was on Infinite locally soluble groups and this introduced generalisations of properties such as soluble and nilpotent to infinite groups of the type described above. To be precise a locally soluble group is one in which every finite collection of elements is contained in a soluble subgroup.

Even before the award of his doctorate, Chernikov had been made Head of the Mathematics Department at the Saratov Pedagogic Institute. Then in 1946 he was appointed as Head of the Faculty of Mathematics at the Ural State University. After five years at the Ural State University, Chernikov was appointed to a similar position at Perm University. The University of Perm had been founded in 1916, was called Molotov University for a time, and is now the Gorky State University. In 1961 Chernikov was appointed as Head of the Department of Algebra and Geometry of the Sverdlovsk branch of the Steklov Institute of the USSR Academy of Sciences .

In fact Chernikov had two special research interests, the first being that of infinite groups which we have referred to above. Together with Kurosh he wrote a survey article Soluble and nilpotent groups in 1946. He then wrote a beautiful survey article Finiteness conditions in the general theory of groups which was published in 1959 and contained many of Chernikov's own results and those of others. The authors of and write:

Intensified and expanded both in papers by Chernikov himself and of his pupils ...and also in the works of other ... algebraists, the study of infinite groups with finiteness conditions, enriched group theory with many new concepts, ideas and profound results, and also widened considerably the basis of group theory, extending it by new detailed investigations of infinite groups of specific form.

In the middle 1960s I [EFR] began research on infinite groups and I made much use of the fine survey articles by Chernikov. One thing was clear, Chernikov was not just looking round for results which he could prove, he was developing a systematic theory in the way that is the hallmark of top quality mathematicians. The other algebraists mentioned in the quote above who began to help Chernikov in building his theory included O J Schmidt, Malcev , Baer , Kurosh , Hall , and others.

We have still to discuss Chernikov's second research interest. This was the study of the theory of linear inequalities, an area of great practical significance because of its connection with the theory of linear programming. The authors of and write:

The practical importance of convenient algorithms for the solution of systems of linear inequalities and their connection with the theory of linear programming is well known. In Chernikov's articles, therefore, a series of geometrically obvious properties of linear inequalities is given in analytic form that is more convenient for the use of machine techniques.

In 1968 Chernikov wrote an important book Linear inequalities which gives sets out Chernikov's algebraic theory. At ( and ):

... the basis of this theory lies in the principle of boundary solutions; all its results are deduced from it by means of only a few finite methods...

A series of papers by Chernikov in the 1960s studied polyhedrally closed systems, special types of infinite systems of linear inequalities and :

For the case of a finite-dimensional real linear space these are infinite systems whose adjoint cone is topologically closed. Some properties of finite systems of linear inequalities can be transferred to polyhedrally closed systems of linear inequalities. Polyhedrally closed systems of linear inequalities are an effective means in the analysis of problems of the theory of approximation of functions, in linear programming (in particular in questions of duality), and in control theory .

The reader will have noticed the parallel in Chernikov moving from finite to infinite systems of linear inequalities in a similar spirit to moving from finite to infinite groups.

It is a pleasure to record here my [EFR] own personal thanks for Chernikov's work on finite conditions in infinite groups which inspired me in my own research and was the topic of my doctoral thesis.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland