علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

William Chauvenet

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

24 May 1820

Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

13 Dec 1870

St Paul, Minnesota, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ويليام chauvenet 'ماري كير الاباء والامهات ومارك وليم chauvenet. ويليام chauvenet كان كبار المزارعين ولكن اصبح فيما بعد احد رجال الاعمال. اسرة ميسورة نسبيا وقادرة على ارسال ابنها الى مدرسة خاصة في فيلادلفيا. كانت المدرسة التي يديرها الدكتور صمويل جونز واعجب من ذلك مع قدرات ويليام ، موضوع هذه السيره ، انه من اقناع والده على التخلي عن فكرة ان يصبح ابنه رجل اعمال والسماح له للحصول على التعليم الجامعي في جامعة ييل.

ورغم ان وليم كان جيدا للغاية في الرياضيات وهذه هي الخطوة الطبيعيه التي تخضع له دراستها في الجامعة ، وقال انه كان على درايه ايضا في اللاتينية واليونانيه من اجل ان تقبل على درجة بطبيعة الحال. ولم يجد هذا الكثير من المتاعب وبعد مرور عام من الدراسه وكان يتقن اللاتينية واليونانيه في عند دخوله جامعة ييل في 1836. الآن يمكن للمرء ان يتصور ان الحصول على ما يصل الى نقطة الصفر في اللاتينية لتلبية الاحتياجات مدخل لقد كان من الصعب بما فيه الكفايه ، ولكنه حقق اكثر بكثير من مجرد الحد الادنى لدرس الاعمال الكلاسيكيه في جامعة ييل وكذلك الرياضيات وحصل على منحة الجاءزه الاولى لتكوين اللاتينية في نهاية العام الأول من الدراسه. وتخرج بامتياز في عام 1940.

بعد التخرج chauvenet تم تعيين مساعد لالكسندر د bache في كلية جيرار في فيلادلفيا. وكان جيرار كلية اسستها الامريكية الممول ومحسن ستيفن جيرار في عام 1833 وعملت هناك chauvenet ابداء ملاحظات من المجال المغنطيسي للارض. كما عمل في فيلادلفيا على علم الفلك في المدرسة الثانويه. في 1841 عين استاذا للرياضيات البحرية في الولايات المتحدة. هذا وقد ثبت ان أهم وظيفة للchauvenet لأنه أدى به الى المشاركة في تأسيس الولايات المتحدة الاكاديميه البحرية في انابوليس ، ميريلاند. الأولى له للتعاون مع الولايات المتحدة بحرية تتألف من التدريس على يو اس اس ميسيسيبي. وهذا لم تصل الى المستويات التي كانت chauvenet الفكر المطلوب حتى في 1842 انتقل الى اللجوء المدرسة البحرية في فيلادلفيا حيث انشاء ثمانيه اشهر. وقد انشئت لتثقيف صغار الضباط والضباط البحريون كانت سيئة التجهيز ولكن عندما وصلت chauvenet. وقال انه انشأ في وقت قريب اكثر صرامه وبطبيعة الحال الحصول على ادوات جديدة للطلاب. ايضا في 1842 تزوج من كاثرين hemple ؛ انهم خمسة اطفال ، ابنة واحدة واربعة ابناء. ابن واحد ، ريجيس chauvenet ، من ولد في فيلادلفيا 7 تشرين الاول / اكتوبر 1842 ، وذهبت الى ان اصبحت استاذا للكيمياء.

Zund كتب ما يلي :

العثور على ثمانيه اشهر برنامج الدراسه غير كافية ، chauvenet اقترح أربع سنوات دراسيه وبدأ الضغط من اجل انشاء مدرسة مستقلة البحرية فقط لتكريس الدراسات الاكاديميه.

أ تأسست المدرسة البحرية في فورت سيفيرن ، انابوليس ، ميريلاند 10 تشرين الاول / اكتوبر 1845 ، الذي وجهه جورج بانكروفت ، مؤرخ ، المربى ، وزير البحرية ، وذلك بهدف تلبية احتياجات chauvenet التي وضعت. وقد اختير انابوليس ، بدلا من فيلادلفيا ، حتى يتسنى للطلاب ليست خاضعه ل:

... اغراءات والتشتت التي هي بالضروره مرتبطة كبير والمدينة المكتظه بالسكان.

وكانت الدورة لمدة خمس سنوات واحد ، ولكن فقط الاولى والخامسة وقضى السنوات في المدرسة ، وغيرها من السنوات الثلاث التي تنفق على متن السفن التي كانت على الخدمة الفعليه. Chauvenet ، ويعتبر من احد مؤسسي ، وعندما انتقل الى انابوليس البحرية فى عام 1845 افتتحت مدرسة يجري عين استاذا للرياضيات وعلم الفلك وايضا كرئيس للادارة.

بانكروفت ارسال رسالة تليت امام الطلاب صباح يوم فتحت المدرسة :

الحكومة في اتاحة الفرصة لكم للحصول على التعليم ، وذلك لانجاز مهمة من ضابط بحري ، وقد أسبغ لكم جميعا لا يحصى فائدة. النظام الأساسي للالبحرية يطلب منك ان تمر محنة شديدة قبل ان تتمكن من الترويج ؛ يجب ان الخضوع لهذا الفحص على جميع الفروع التي تدرس في المدرسة البحرية قبل ان تكون مؤهلة لlieutenancy ؛ الخاص بك والاخلاق والطابع العام بدقة واستفسر . ولذلك ، من المتوقع ان تحسن لكم كل لحظة في اوقات الفراغ واكتساب المعرفه من المهنة ، وانكم ان recollect جيدا الطابع الاخلاقي امر ضروري لتعزيز وارتفاع الخاصة بك الداءمه في البحرية.

Chauvenet واصلت الصحافة لمدة اربع سنوات اكاديميه وبطبيعة الحال ، واعيد تنظيم المدرسة البحرية في 1850-1851 كما الاكاديميه البحرية الاميركية ، مع دورة دراسيه من اربع سنوات متتالية. خلال السنوات الثلاث أن الطلاب قد امضى التدريب على متن السفينة في ظل الحكم السابق وبطبيعة الحال الآن اصبح الصيف تدريب مكثف بين كل من الاعوام الدراسيه.

Chauvenet بلدة الرياضيات الموقف الذي عقد في الاكاديميه حتى 1853 عندما اصبح استاذا لعلم الفلك والملاحة والمسح هناك. أ ييل عرضت عليه الاستاذيه في الرياضيات في 1855 لكنه رفض ، ثم مرة اخرى فى عام 1859 انها عرضت عليه الرئاسة من علم الفلك والفلسفه الطبيعيه ورفض مرة اخرى. ومع ذلك ، وفي العام نفسه وقال انه يقبل منصب استاذا للرياضيات في جامعة واشنطن ، سانت لويس ، الذي تأسس في 1853 مدرسة ولكن اليوت كما غيرت اسمها الى جامعة واشنطن في 1857. المستشار الاول للجامعة واشنطن وكان جوزيف هويت ، ولكن بعد وفاته في عام 1862 تم تعيين المستشار chauvenet خلفا له. وحمل هذا المنصب حتى 1869 عندما تقاعد بسبب اعتلال الصحة.

ما ، ينبغي ان نسأل ، كان chauvenet الرئيسية للمساهمات الرياضيات. وقال انه قدم مساهمات هامة فى اثنين ، واحد كما غرامة الكاتب من الكتب المدرسية وغيرها بوصفها قيادي في تطوير الرياضيات فى امريكا. وقال انه ومع ذلك ، سيكون أن نتذكر العديد من لدوره الهام في تأسيس الولايات المتحدة الاكاديميه البحرية ، لا سيما في ضوء هائل وقد كان لهذا تأثير على النجاح العسكرى الامريكى. كاتب وكتاب مدرسي وكما نذكر chauvenet للأ الاطروحه على الطائرة وعلم المثلثات الكرويه (1850) ، كرويه وعلم الفلك (1863) ، من الناحية النظريه واستخدام الادوات الفلكيه : طريقة المربعات الصغرى (1863) ، والاطروحه الاساسية للهندسة (1870). Zund كتب ما يلي :

Chauvenet كتب لوحظ الوضوح والبساطه على حد سواء لاستخدامها في الفصول الدراسيه والدراسه الذاتية. في حين انها تتضمن الا القليل من الاصل الاكتشافات ، وتحسين منهجيه جديدة وعروض جديدة حقيقية المساهمات التربويه.

كما أكد أحد قادة الرياضيات الامريكية خلال حياته ونلاحظ انه كان عضوا اصليا للرابطة الامريكية لتقدم العلوم. وقد اسست في 1847 في بوسطن ، ماساشوستس ، وعقدت اول اجتماع لها في فيلادلفيا ، بنسلفانيا ، في عام 1848. وكانت اهدافها لمواصلة العمل من العلماء ، ولا سيما عن طريق مساعدتها على التعاون ، من اجل تحسين استخدام العلم لمنفعه البشريه ، والى زيادة فهم الناس للعلوم. Chauvenet وكان الامين العام للرابطة الامريكية لتقدم العلوم في عام 1859 واصبحت رئيسة في 1870. كما انه كان للعامل نشيط للاكاديميه الوطنية للعلوم (الولايات المتحدة) التي انشئت في 3 اذار / مارس 1863 لتقديم المشوره الى حكومة الولايات المتحدة بشأن المسائل العلميه. وقال انه شارك مع انه من الوقت الذي انشئ في عام 1868 وانتخب نائبا للرئيس. وقال انه ما زال يعمل في هذا الدور حتى وفاته.

Chauvenet نتذكر بصفة خاصة من قبل علماء الرياضيات منذ الرياضية والرابطه الامريكية للchauvenet انشأ في عام 1925 على جائزة تمنح للرياضي المعرض. كوليدج ، ثم رئيسا للاسر كل من قدم الاموال لانشاء الجاءزه.

يمكنك ان ترى قائمة الفائزين للجائزة chauvenet.

في عام 1969 كانت قد خصصت قاعة chauvenet في الولايات المتحدة الاكاديميه البحرية في انابوليس. وهو يحتوي على قسم الرياضيات. وقد usns chauvenet الاعلى كلايد الذي بناة السفن في غلاسكو ، اسكتلندا ، في عام 1970 كانت اول سفينة مصممة خصيصا للبحرية الامريكية لاجراء عمليات المسح الهيدروغرافي الساحليه.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

William Chauvenet

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

24 May 1820

Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

13 Dec 1870

St Paul, Minnesota, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
William Chauvenet's parents were Mary Kerr and William Marc Chauvenet. William Chauvenet senior was a farmer but later became a businessman. The family were relatively well off and able to send their son to a private school in Philadelphia. The school was run by Dr Samuel Jones who was so impressed with the abilities of William, the subject of this biography, that he persuaded his father to give up the idea that his son would become a businessman and allow him to obtain a university education at Yale university.

Although William was extremely good at mathematics and this was the natural subject for him to study at university, he had to also be knowledgeable in Latin and Greek in order to be accepted onto a degree course. He didn't find this too much trouble and after one year of study he was proficient at Latin and Greek when he entered Yale University in 1836. Now one might imagine that getting up to scratch in Latin to meet the entrance requirement would have been difficult enough, but he achieved far more than just the minimum level for he studied classics at Yale as well as mathematics and was awarded first prize for Latin composition at the end of his first year of study. He graduated with distinction in 1940.

After graduating Chauvenet was appointed as assistant to Alexander D Bache at Girard College in Philadelphia. Girard College had been founded by the American financier and philanthropist Stephen Girard in 1833 and Chauvenet worked there making observations of the terrestrial magnetic field. He also worked on astronomy at Philadelphia High School. In 1841 he was appointed as professor of mathematics in the U.S. Navy. This proved the most important post for Chauvenet for it led him to be involved in the founding of the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland. His initial work with the U.S. Navy consisted of teaching on the USS Mississippi. This did not reach the levels that Chauvenet thought were required so in 1842 he moved to the Naval Asylum school in Philadelphia where he set up an eight month course. It had been established to educate midshipmen and junior officers but was poorly equipped when Chauvenet arrived. He soon established a more rigorous course and obtained new instruments for the students. Also in 1842 he married Catherine Hemple; they had five children, one daughter and four sons. One son, Regis Chauvenet, who was born in Philadelphia on 7 October 1842, went on to became a professor of chemistry.

Zund writes :

Finding the eight-month study program inadequate, Chauvenet proposed a four-year course of study and began lobbying for the creation of a separate naval school devoted solely to academic studies.

A Naval School was founded at Fort Severn, Annapolis, Maryland on 10 October 1845, by George Bancroft, historian, educator, and secretary of the Navy, with the aim of meeting the needs which Chauvenet had set out. Annapolis was chosen, rather than Philadelphia, so that the students were not subject to:

... the temptations and distractions that are necessarily connected with a large and populous city.

The course was a five year one, but only the first and fifth years were spent at the school, the other three years being spent on board ships which were on active service. Chauvenet, who is considered to be one of the founders, moved to Annapolis when the Naval School opened in 1845 being appointed as professor of mathematics and astronomy and also as head of department.

Bancroft sent a letter which was read to the students on the morning the School opened:

The Government in affording you the opportunity of acquiring an education, so important to the accomplishment of a naval officer, has bestowed upon you all an incalculable benefit. The regulations of the Navy require you to pass through a severe ordeal before you can be promoted; you must undergo an examination on all the branches taught at the Naval School before you are eligible for a Lieutenancy; your morals and general character are strictly inquired into. It is therefore expected that you will improve every leisure moment in the acquirement of knowledge of your profession; and you will recollect that a good moral character is essential to your promotion and high standing in the Navy.

Chauvenet continued to press for a four year academic course, and the Naval School was reorganized in 1850-1851 as the U.S. Naval Academy, with a course of study of four consecutive years. The three years that the students had spent training on board ship under the previous course now became an intensive summer training between each of the academic years.

Chauvenet held his mathematics position at the Academy until 1853 when he became professor of astronomy, navigation and surveying there. Yale offered him a professorship in mathematics in 1855 but he declined, then again in 1859 they offered him the chair of astronomy and natural philosophy and again he declined. However, in the same year he accepted a post of professor of mathematics at Washington University, St Louis, which was founded in 1853 as Eliot Seminary but had changed its name to Washington University in 1857. The first chancellor of Washington University was Joseph Hoyt, but after his death in 1862 Chauvenet was appointed chancellor to succeed him. He held this post until 1869 when he retired because of ill health.

What, we should ask, was Chauvenet's main contributions to mathematics. He made two important contributions, one as a fine writer of textbooks and the other as a leading figure in the development of mathematics in America. He will, however, be remembered by many for his important role in founding the U.S. Naval Academy, especially given the immense influence this has had on the American military success. As a textbook writer we mention Chauvenet's A treatise on plane and spherical trigonometry (1850), Spherical astronomy (1863), Theory and use of astronomical instruments : Method of least squares (1863), and A treatise of elementary geometry (1870). Zund writes :

Chauvenet's books were noted for their clarity and simplicity both for use in the classroom and for self-study. While they contained little in the way of original discoveries, their improved methodology and fresh new presentations were real pedagogical contributions.

As a leader of American mathematics during his lifetime we note that he was an original member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. It was founded in 1847 in Boston, Massachusetts, and held its first meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1848. Its goals were to further the work of scientists, particularly by assisting them to cooperate, to improve the use of science for the benefit of mankind, and to increase public understanding of science. Chauvenet was the general secretary of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1859 and became its president in 1870. He was also an energetic worker for the National Academy of Sciences (United States) which was established on 3 March 1863 to advise the U.S. government on scientific matters. He was involved with it from the time it was established, and in 1868 he was elected as vice-president. He continued to serve in this role until his death.

Chauvenet is particularly remembered by mathematicians since the Mathematical Association of America created the Chauvenet Prize in 1925 to be awarded for mathematical exposition. Coolidge , then president of the MAA, presented funds to establish the prize.

You can see a list of winners of the Chauvenet Prize .

In 1969 Chauvenet Hall was dedicated at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis. It contains the Department of Mathematics. The USNS Chauvenet built by Upper Clyde Shipbuilders in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1970 was the first ship specially designed for the U.S. Navy to conduct coastal hydrographic surveys.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland