علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Sun-Yung Alice Chang

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

24 March 1948

Ci-an, China

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

أليس سون يونغ تشانغ - درس في الجامعة الوطنية في تايوان. حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس من هناك فى عام 1970 ثم ذهب الى الولايات المتحدة لدراسة الدكتوراه. وقالت انها فى عام 1974 حيث حصل على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة كاليفورنيا ، بيركلي.

وبعد تلقي على الدكتوراه ، كما تم تعيين تشانغ استاذ مساعد في جامعة ولاية نيويورك في بوفالو للعام الدراسي 1974-1975. وبعد هذا وقد تم تعيينها في hedrick استاذ مساعد في جامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس انجليس حتى عام 1977 عندما انتقلت الى جامعة ميريلاند ، كما استاذ مساعد. كانت سلون زميل خلال العام 1979-1980.

تشانغ في عام 1980 عاد الى جامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس انجليس كما استاذا مساعدا ، ويجرى في وقت لاحق من رقي الى استاذ متفرغ. وقالت انها كانت دعا المتحدث فى المؤتمر الدولى لعلماء الرياضيات في بيركلي في عام 1986. وخلال 1988-1989 واعربت ايضا عن كامل استاذ في جامعة كاليفورنيا ، بيركلي.

تشانغ وتشمل اهتماماته البحثيه للدراسة الهندسي لأنواع معينة من المعادلات التفاضليه الجزءيه غير الخطيه. واعربت ايضا عن الدراسات ذات الصلة extremal المشاكل وعدم المساواة في isospectral الهندسه.

تشانغ ربما كان اعظم شرف منح عام 1995 جائزة روث lyttle satter في الرياضيات. الجاءزه التي تمنح مرة كل سنتين لمن امرأة قدمت مساهمه بارزة في الرياضيات والبحوث فى السنوات الخمس السابقة. وتعد الجاءزه التي تبلغ قيمتها 4.000. وردت تشانغ الجاءزه فى المجتمع الامريكى رياضية الاجتماع في سان فرانسيسكو في كانون الثاني / يناير 1995. الاقتباس الجاءزه ليصبح نصها كما يلي :

فان روث lyttle satter جائزة تمنح للشمس - يونغ تشانغ أليس لها مساهمات العميق لدراسة المعادلات التفاضليه الجزءيه على ريمانيان الانابيب المتفرعه وبصفة خاصة لعمل المقررة الخاصة على المشاكل extremal الطيفيه في الهندسه والاكتناز من isospectral مقاييس ثابتة داخل الطبقة امتثالي على الاتفاق 3 - متعددة.

على تلقي الجاءزه تشانغ تحدث عن عملها (أنظر :

انه شرف لي لتسلم الجاءزه. وبما ان جميع الاعمال المذكورة اعلاه هو للعمل المشترك مع بلدي المؤلفون المشاركون (بول يانغ بالنسبة للجزء الاكبر ، وانما أيضا توم Branson ومات gursky) ، اود ان اعرب عن امتناني لهم المديونيه.

المشاكل التي أعمل على في السنوات القليلة الماضية بشكل رئيسي المرتبطه extremal دراسة وظائف sobolev اوجه عدم المساواة. هذه المهام تقوم بدور هام فى الدراسه من ضربة متابعة هذه الظاهرة في عدد من المشاكل في الهندسه. بعد العمل في وقت مبكر من ي موزر ويتأثر عمل وAUBIN ر ص schoen على yamabe المشكلة ، ص يانغ ولقد حل معادلة تفاضليه جزئية متعلق بالغاوس / عددي التقوسات على المجال من خلال دراسة extremal وظائف لبعض الاختلاف functionals. كما اننا تطبيق هذا النهج في الهندسه امتثالي لisospectral الاكتناز على مشكلة 3 - عندما الانابيب المتفرعه القياسات مقيده في اي من الدرجة امتثالي. وفي الآونة الاخيرة كان لدينا دراسة لهذه extremal القياسات functionals. ونحن نعمل لجني المزيد من عواقب الهندسي. وهذا الاخير قطعة من العمل هو امتداد طبيعي للعمل في وقت سابق من قبل اوسجوود - فيليبس - sarnak على دخول الاتفاق على المحددات الفنية السطوح.

تشانغ وتحدث عن وضع المراه في الرياضيات والبحث وكيف ان الامور تتغير بسرعة :

منذ satter الجاءزه هي جائزة للنساء الرياضيات ، لا يسع المرء الا ان يعبر عن وضع المراه في مهنتنا الآن. بالمقارنة مع الحاله عندما كنت طالبا ، ومن الواضح ان هناك الان عدد اكبر من النساء الناشطات البحث الرياضيين. انا شخصيا يمكن ان تشهد على اهمية وجود قدوه الرفقه والزملاء من نساء أخريات. ومع ذلك ، اعتقد اننا بحاجة الى عدد اكبر من النساء الرياضيات حتى لاثبات النظريات الجيدة والمساهمة في المهنة.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Sun-Yung Alice Chang

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

24 March 1948

Ci-an, China

Presentation
Sun-Yung Alice Chang studied at the National University of Taiwan. She received her B.S. from there in 1970 and then went to the United States to study for her doctorate. In 1974 she was awarded a Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley.

After receiving her doctorate, Chang was appointed as an assistant professor at the State University of New York at Buffalo for the academic year 1974-1975. Following this she was appointed Hedrick Assistant Professor at the University of California at Los Angeles until 1977 when she moved to the University of Maryland as an assistant professor. She was a Sloan Fellow during the year 1979-1980.

In 1980 Chang returned to the University of California at Los Angeles as an associate professor, being later promoted to full professor. She was an invited speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians at Berkeley in 1986. During 1988-1989 she was also a full professor at the University of California, Berkeley.

Chang's research interests include the study of certain geometric types of nonlinear partial differential equations . She also studies the related extremal inequalities and problems in isospectral geometry.

Perhaps Chang's greatest honour was the award of the 1995 Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics. The prize is awarded every two years to a woman who has made an outstanding contribution to mathematics research in the previous five years. The award is valued at $4,000. Chang received the prize at the American Mathematical Society meeting in San Francisco in January 1995. The citation for the prize read:

The Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize is awarded to Sun-Yung Alice Chang for her deep contributions to the study of partial differential equations on Riemannian manifolds and in particular for her work on extremal problems in spectral geometry and the compactness of isospectral metrics within a fixed conformal class on a compact 3-manifold.

On receiving the prize Chang spoke about her work (see :

It is an honor for me to receive the prize. Since all the work cited above is joint work with my coauthors (Paul Yang for the most part, but also Tom Branson and Matt Gursky), I would like to express my indebtedness to them.

The problems which I have been working on in the past few years are mainly connected with the study of extremal functions of Sobolev inequalities. Such functions play an important role in the study of the blow-up phenomenon in a number of problems in geometry. Following the early work of J Moser and influenced by the work of T Aubin and R Schoen on the Yamabe problem, P. Yang and I have solved the partial differential equation of Gaussian/scalar curvatures on the sphere by studying the extremal functions for certain variation functionals. We have also applied this approach in conformal geometry to the isospectral compactness problem on 3-manifolds when the metrics are restricted in any given conformal class. More recently we have been studying the extremal metrics for these functionals. We are working to derive further geometric consequences. This latter piece of work is a natural extension of the earlier work by Osgood -Phillips-Sarnak on the log- determinant functional on compact surfaces.

Chang also spoke about the position of women in mathematics research and how things are changing rapidly:

Since the Satter Prize is an award for women mathematicians, one cannot help but to reflect on the status of women in our profession now. Compared to the situation when I was a student, it is clear that there are now many more active women research mathematicians. I can personally testify to the importance of having role models and the companionship of other women colleagues. However, I think we need even more women mathematicians to prove good theorems and to contribute to the profession.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland