علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Carlo Alberto Castigliano

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

9 Nov 1847

Asti, Piemonte, Italy

25 Oct 1884

Milan, Italy

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

البرتو castigliano انتقلت من منطقة ولادته ، بييمونت في شمال غرب ايطاليا ، الى المعهد الفني للتيرني في 1866. وبعد اربع سنوات في تيرني ، في اومبريا ، castigliano انتقل الشمال مرة اخرى ، هذه المرة ان تصبح طالبا في كلية العلوم التطبيقيه من تورينو. وبعد ثلاث سنوات من الدراسه في تورينو وقال انه كتب في عام 1873 اطروحة intorno منظمة العفو الدولية sistemi elastici التي هو مشهور.

بعد التخرج من كلية العلوم التطبيقيه من تورينو ، وكان castigliano التي تستخدمها السكك الحديديه الايطاليه الشمالية. واتجه الى المكتب المسؤول عن الاعمال الفنية والصيانة والخدمة وعملت هناك حتى وفاته في سن مبكره.

في اطروحة يبدو ان هناك اي نظرية التي هي الان تحمل اسم castigliano. وهذا هو ما جاء في :

... الجزءيه المشتقه من الاجهاد والطاقة ، وتعتبر وظيفة من وظائف التطبيقيه القوى المءثره على خطى مرونة الهيكل ، فيما يتعلق واحد من هذه القوى ، هي على قدم المساواة الى النزوح في اتجاه القوة من وجهة التطبيق.

Castigliano نتائج تحتوى على اقل من مبدأ العمل باعتبارها حالة خاصة وكان لهذا ان يؤدي الى نزاع مع menabrea في castigliano الذي جاء من اقل مما كان يأمل. كما يكتب في مكتبة الاسكندرية بولي :

ومن الواضح ان menabrea بالمجلس ، من حيث المبدأ يمكن النظر لادراجها في castigliano 'sالنظريات ؛ وعلاوة على ذلك ، menabrea' الادله ليست مرضية وكانت في الواقع مرارا وتكرارا عدلها له.

بالتأكيد عندما حاول menabrea دليل آخر على بلده من حيث المبدأ في 1875 كان castigliano نتائج ولكن الاشارة الوحيدة الى castigliano كان في حاشيه. Castigliano ولم يجد هذا مرض واعترض على عدم الاعتراف الممنوحه له من قبل menabrea. كريمونا وترأس اجتماع خاص للaccademia dei lincei الذي طلب الى القاضي menabrea ما اذا كان قد تصرف بشكل غير عادل والواقع ان نحو castigliano. كريمونا ولم يجد لصالح castigliano ، ذكر مقرر اللجنة :

السيد castigliano يمكن ان يكون لها شرف القيام به طيبة وبعد قطعة من العمل : ان احدا لن يكون قادرا على اتخاذ menabrea الاعضاء بعيدا عن جدارة وبعد ان ادلى الشعبية والاستخدام المشترك لمبدأ عام ، وهي بالتأكيد متجهه الى الحصول على اكثر من اي وقت مضى تطبيق واسع النطاق .

على الرغم من كريمونا قد يكون على حق في قوله ان الائتمان لمبدأ يجب ان تذهب الى menabrea ، لاثبات مزاعمه بأن menabrea وقد ميزة جعلها اقل شعبية معينة. وكما يقول بولي بكالوريوس في حين تلخص castigliano مساهمه :

لتقييم اهمية مساهمته ، غير أنه من المهم أن نلاحظ أنه على الرغم من وجود بعض الصلاحيه في كريمونا 'اسناد popularisation من الطاقة الى اساليب menabrea ، هو على وجه التحديد في هذا الصدد الى ان تكتسح castigliano. وقال انه حل مدهش عدد من المشاكل الهيكليه من خلال أساليبه.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Carlo Alberto Castigliano

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

9 Nov 1847

Asti, Piemonte, Italy

25 Oct 1884

Milan, Italy

Presentation Wikipedia
Alberto Castigliano moved from the region of his birth, Piedmont in northwestern Italy, to the Technical Institute of Terni in 1866. After four years in Terni, in Umbria, Castigliano moved north again, this time to become a student at the Polytechnic of Turin. After three years of study in Turin he wrote a dissertation in 1873 Intorno ai sistemi elastici for which he is famous.

After graduating from the Polytechnic of Turin, Castigliano was employed by the Northern Italian Railways. He headed the office responsible for artwork, maintenance and service and worked there until his death at an early age.

In his dissertation there appears a theorem which is now named after Castigliano. This is stated in as:

... the partial derivative of the strain energy, considered as a function of the applied forces acting on a linearly elastic structure, with respect to one of these forces, is equal to the displacement in the direction of the force of its point of application.

Castigliano's results contain the principle of least work as a special case and this was to lead to a dispute with Menabrea in which Castigliano came off less well than he had hoped. As B A Boley writes in :

It is clear that Menabrea 's principle may be considered to be included in Castigliano's theorems; furthermore, Menabrea 's proofs were not satisfactory and were in fact repeatedly modified by him.

Certainly when Menabrea attempted another proof of his principle in 1875 he used Castigliano's results but his only reference to Castigliano was in a footnote. Castigliano did not find this satisfactory and objected to the lack of recognition given to him by Menabrea . Cremona chaired a special meeting of the Accademia dei Lincei which was asked to judge whether Menabrea had indeed acted unfairly towards Castigliano. Cremona did not find in favour of Castigliano, stating the decision of the committee:

Mr Castigliano can have the honour of having done a good piece of work: no one will be able to take away from Member Menabrea the merit of having made popular and of common use a general principle, which is certainly destined to receive ever more extensive application.

Although Cremona may well have been right in saying that the credit for the principle should go to Menabrea , his claims that Menabrea has the merit of making them popular is less certain. As B A Boley says in when he summarises Castigliano's contribution:

To assess the importance of his contribution, however, it is important to note that, although there is some validity in Cremona 's attribution of the popularisation of energy methods to Menabrea , it is precisely in this respect that Castigliano excels. He solved an amazing number of structural problems by his methods.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland