علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Joseph Langley Burchnall

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

1892

Whichford (8 km N of Chipping Norton), Warwickshire, England

1975

Durham, England

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

وكان جوزيف burchnall تعليمه في مدرسة متوسطة من بوسطن حيث حصل على منحة لمتابعة القراءة والرياضيات في جامعة اكسفورد في عام 1911. وتخرج في عام 1914.

Burchnall انضم الى الجيش فى عام 1914 يعملون في فرنسا وبلجيكا في نهاية المطاف وجرح وفقد ساقه في عام 1918. وقال انه حصل على جائزة الصليب الحربي للشجاعة. في الواقع ان من الانصاف القول ان لا تقتصر على اظهار شجاعة وقال انه في اطار العمل العسكري ، بل أيضا شجاعة كبيرة مع اعاقته. لا شيء يبدو اكثر صعوبة بالنسبة له وخلال الوظيفي كله كان لا يسمع للشكوى (أو حتى الإشارة الى (صاحب الاعاقه.

عين دورهام فى عام 1919 وقال انه ما زال هناك لبقية حياته المهنيه. من عام 1939 كما شغل رئاسة الرياضيات في دورهام ، وهو الموقف الذي كان على عقد لمدة 20 عاما. وقد خدم الجامعة الرئيسية في العديد من القدرات الاداريه ، وعلى المحكمه ، مجلس الشيوخ ، وتقريبا جميع اللجان الرئيسية.

ما يقرب من نصف burchnall الرياضية للاوراق مكتوبة مع TW chaundy ، وتعاونت معه لمدة 20 عاما. في كل بلدة ورقات مشتركة واحدة ورقات المؤلف انه كتب على المعادلات التفاضليه ، hypergeometric بسل وظائف ومهام. الرسمى خصائص فرق مشغلي تدرس في العديد من المساهمات ، على وجه الخصوص في وقت مبكر ورقات عمل على متعهدي السفر التفاضليه.

وقال انه في عام 1956 حصل على جائزة OBE "لخدمات التعليم والمجتمع". شخصيته بشكل رائع حيث تتلخص في وظيفته كرئيس للفريق الكريكيت الموظفين وروى :

والواقع ان سلوكه في هذا المكتب كان النقش شخصيته -- بانتباه كما كان واقفا لساعات طويلة في الحكم على الرغم من اعاقته -- منح الطعن في جامعة الامين ورئيس الشرطة ويبدو ان متطابقه مع الرصانه -- وابتسم قليلا في الجهود التي تبذلها شيخوخه فريق لمواكبة الطلاب الجامعيون ، ولكنه كان غريب الأطوار ابتسامة من رجل كان من العالم في منظور -- انه لا يعلم ما كان يجري ، تماما كما انه لا يعلم ما كان يريد ان يحدث للجامعة.

وكان انجس كتب ما يلي :

له خاصيه مخمر توخي الحذر من جانب المثابره والايمان. صاحب دعابه نمت اقل تهكمي وصاحب العطف الاساسية اكثر وضوحا على النحو المتقدم ، والسنوات التي قضاها الكثير من أنه عمل لجاء الى واقع ملموس.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Joseph Langley Burchnall

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

1892

Whichford (8 km N of Chipping Norton), Warwickshire, England

1975

Durham, England

Presentation
Joseph Burchnall was educated at Boston Grammar School from where he won a scholarship to read mathematics at Oxford in 1911. He graduated in 1914.

Burchnall joined the army in 1914 serving in France and Belgium and eventually was wounded and lost a leg in 1918. He was awarded the Military Cross for bravery. In fact it is fair to say that not only did he show bravery under military action, but also great bravery with his disability. Nothing seemed more difficult for him and during his whole career he was never heard to complain (or even mention) his disability.

Appointed to Durham in 1919 he remained there for the rest of his career. From 1939 he occupied the chair of mathematics at Durham, a position he was to hold for 20 years. He served the university in many major administrative capacities, on Court, Senate and almost all major committees.

Almost half of Burchnall's mathematical papers were written with T W Chaundy, with whom he collaborated for 20 years. In both the joint papers and his single author papers he wrote on differential equations , hypergeometric functions and Bessel functions. Formal properties of differential operators are studied in many of his contributions, in particular in his early papers he worked on commuting differential operators.

In 1956 he was awarded the O.B.E. "for services to education and the community". His personality is nicely summed up in where his role as President of the Staff Cricket team is recounted:

Indeed his behaviour in that office was a cameo of his personality - he stood alertly as umpire for hours in spite of his disability - he granted appeals against the University secretary and the Chief Constable apparently with identical equanimity - and smiled a little at the efforts of an ageing team to keep pace with undergraduates, but it was the whimsical smile of a man who had the world in perspective - he knew what was happening, just as he knew what he wanted to happen to the University.

W S Angus writes :

His characteristic caution was leavened by perseverance and faith. His humour grew less sardonic and his essential kindliness more manifest as his years advanced and so much that he had worked for came into reality.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland