علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Edmond Bour

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

19 May 1832

Gray, Haute-Saône, France

9 March 1866

Paris, France

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

ادمون bour بالمجلس ، وكان الأب جوزيف bour وكانت والدته غابرييل jeunet. الاسرة ليست خاصة وانما ايضا من ادمون وكان على تعليم جيد في الرمادي قبل الذهاب الى ديجون لاستكمال تعليمه واتخاذ امتحانات الدخول للécole polytechnique.

وبعد أن تم قبول للانضمام الى école polytechnique ، bour دخلت في 1850. وقته هناك واحدة من أعلى مستوى من الانجاز ، وتخرج في 1852 في المقام الأول. Bour تابع دراسته في مدرسة المناجم في باريس وعملوا على ورقة كبيرة سور l' intégration des équations différentielles دي مدينة لوس انجلوس mécanique analytique الذي تلاه قبل اكاديميه العلوم في 5 اذار / مارس 1855 ونشرت في الجريدة الرسمية mathématiques pures et appliquées .

وفي حين ان في مدرسة المناجم bour كتب اثنين من رسائل الدكتوراه. كلاهما كان على الميكانيكا السماوية ، واحدة على ثلاثة الهيءه المشكلة وغيرها من حول نظرية الجاذبية. على حد سواء قدمت الى faculté العلوم في باريس في 3 كانون الاول / ديسمبر 1855 وكانت معلقه قطعة من العمل. كانت تنشر مرتين ، مرة واحدة في 1855 بوصفه جهازا منفصلا من العمل ، ثم مرة اخرى في عام 1856 في الجريدة الرسمية l' école polytechnique.

قبل الاطروحات المقدمة ، لbour بالفعل صفة مهندس تعدين. وكان ذلك في تموز / يولية 1855 وعين استاذ الميكانيكا والتعدين في مدرسة المناجم في سانت اتيان. وكان هذا التعيين انه عقد لسنة واحدة فقط قبل ان تعود الى باريس عندما قبلت شهادة الاستاذيه في مدرسة المناجم هناك. كما تم تعيين استاذ في مدرسة polytechnique. Bour قدمت راءعه لبداية حياته المهنيه التي كان للوصول الى أكبر المرتفعات.

حصل على جائزة الرياضيات من اكاديميه العلوم في 1861 ورقة لمدينة لوس انجلوس دي théorie déformation des السطوح. هذا العمل :

... وفقا لدراسات مماثلة للبونية وcodazzi ، يتضمن عدة نظريات حكمت على الحد الادنى من السطوح والسطوح ؛ ولكن في النسخه المطبوعه لهذا العمل لا يشمل اختبار لدمج معادلات للمشكلة في حالة الأسطح من الثورة ، التي قد bour مكن لتجاوز المنافسين الاخرين للاكاديميه الجاءزه الكبرى.

خيبة امل واحدة في الحياة القصيره bour كان فشله في الفوز انتخاب لاكاديميه العلوم في نيسان / ابريل 1862 عندما انتخب في بونية الافضليه للbour. وبسبب هذا bour تحول الى التركيز كليا على آليات وبطبيعة الحال انه كان التعليم في école polytechnique.

Bour قدمت مساهمات كبيرة لكثير من التحليل ، والجبر ، والهندسه والميكانيكا التطبيقيه على الرغم من موته المبكر من مرض عضال. الانجازات الراءعه التي كانت قطعت في سن 33 وبالتالي bour يكاد لا يعرف في تاريخ الرياضيات في حين ان احد يشعر انه لو كان تعطي الفرصة لمواصلة عمله الممتاز وقال انه كما ان نتذكر اليوم واحدا من أهم ارقام في هذا الموضوع.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Edmond Bour

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

19 May 1832

Gray, Haute-Saône, France

9 March 1866

Paris, France

Presentation
Edmond Bour's father was Joseph Bour and his mother was Gabrielle Jeunet. The family were not particularly well off but Edmond had a good education in Gray before going to Dijon to complete his education and to take the entrance examinations of the École Polytechnique.

Having been accepted for admission to the École Polytechnique, Bour entered in 1850. His time there was one of the highest level of achievement and he graduated in 1852 in the first place. Bour continued his studies at the École des Mines in Paris and worked on a major paper Sur l'intégration des équations différentielles de la mécanique analytique which was read before the Académie des Sciences on 5 March 1855 and published in the Journal de mathématiques pures et appliquées.

While at the École des Mines Bour wrote two doctoral theses. Both were on celestial mechanics, one on the three body problem and the other on the theory of attraction. Both were presented to the Faculté des Sciences in Paris on 3 December 1855 and were outstanding pieces of work. They were published twice, once in 1855 as a separate work, then again in 1856 in the Journal de l'École Polytechnique.

Before his theses were submitted, Bour was already qualified as a mining engineer. This was in July 1855 and he was appointed as professor of mechanics and mining at the École des Mines in Saint-Etienne. This was an appointment that he held for only a year before returning to Paris when he accepted a professorship at the École des Mines there. He also was appointed professor at the École Polytechnique. Bour had made a remarkable start to his career which was to reach even greater heights.

He received the mathematics prize of the Académie des Sciences in 1861 for a paper Théorie de la déformation des surfaces. This work :

... in line with the analogous studies of Bonnet and Codazzi , contained several theorems on ruled surfaces and minimal surfaces; but in its printed version this work does not include the test for the integration of the problem's equations in the case of surfaces of revolution, which had enabled Bour to surpass the other competitors for the Academy's grand prize.

The one disappointment in Bour's short life was his failure to win election to the Académie des Sciences in April 1862 when Bonnet was elected in preference to Bour. Because of this Bour turned to concentrate entirely on the mechanics course that he was teaching at the École Polytechnique.

Bour made many significant contributions to analysis, algebra, geometry and applied mechanics despite his early death from an incurable disease. His remarkable achievements were cut short at the age of 33 and as a consequence Bour is hardly known in the history of mathematics whereas one feels that if he had been given the chance to continue his outstanding work he would today be remembered as one of the major figures in the subject.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland