علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Reinhold Baer

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

22 July 1902

Berlin, Germany

22 Oct 1979

Zurich, Switzerland

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

راينولد Baer درس الهندسه الميكانيكيه لمدة عام في hochschule في هانوفر التقني ، ولكن ان يدرك ان هذا ليس هو الموضوع له. ثم تغير الى الرياضيات والفلسفه في فرايبورغ في عام 1921 حيث كانت krull وloewy على الموظفين. ذهب الى غوتنغن في 1922 وتأثرت Emmy noether وhellmut kneser (ابن ادولف kneser) من Baer 'sاشرف على اطروحة دكتوراه عن تصنيف المنحنيات على السطوح.

Baer حصل على منحة دراسيه للطلاب الموهوبين خاصة في عام 1924 وأتاحت له هذه الدراسه في كييل لمدة عام مع hasse ، steinitz وtoeplitz. وخلال هذا العام في كييل ، Baer منصبه وكتب اطروحة دكتوراه قدمها الى وغوتنغن في عام 1925. وقد نشرت في crelle 'اليوميه في عام 1927 ق.

وظيفة في فرايبورغ كانت عرضت عليه من قبل loewy. Baer هذه الوظيفة التى عقدت فى الفترة من 1926 وحتى 1928 ، وخلال هذا الوقت ، وقال انه تحول نحو الجبر. ومن الواضح ان loewy كان من أهم التأثيرات من تغيير في هذا الاتجاه.

Hasse عرضت عليه وظيفة في هالي في عام 1928 وقبلت Baer. وفي حين تعهد هالي في مشروع مشترك مع hasse ، steinitz النشر بالمجلس ، algebraische Theorie دير körper ، التي كانت قد نشرت لأول مرة في crelle 'اليوميه في عام 1910 ، مع كتاب تعليق على النص وعلى تذييل جالويس النظريه التي كتبها Baer.

Baer بينما كان في عطلة في النمسا مع زوجته ، هتلر وصل الى السلطة وBaer ابلغت بان خدماته في هالة لم تعد هناك حاجة اليها. ثم قال انه قبل دعوة من mordell الذهاب الى مانشستر ، وبعد الذهاب الى أكسفورد لتلبية weyl ، وقال إنه يقبل الدعوة التي وجهها الى برينستون.

Baer بلا حدود قد بدأت الدراسه في حين ان الجماعات ابليان في مانشستر وتابع دراسته في هذا الموضوع في برينستون حيث اقام من 1935 حتى 1937. انتقل الى ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ولكن عندما عرض عليه الرئيس في جامعة إيلينوي في اوربانا فى عام 1938 وقال انه يقبل وظيفة. وقال انه ما زال هناك حتى 1956 عندما عاد الى فرانكفورت في المانيا حيث عقد moufang المناصب القياديه.

صاحب العمل الرياضي ، وبعض من التي ذكرت أعلاه ، كانت واسعة النطاق ؛ طوبولوجيا ، ابيليان والجماعات والهندسه. واهم عمل له ، ومع ذلك ، كان في مجموعة من الناحية النظريه ؛ بشأن تمديد لمشكلة الجماعات ، ومحدوديه الظروف ، للذوبان والجماعات الصفر مرفوع لاس معين.

وفي عام 1940 قدم فكرة العملية الرياضية المتوافقه وحده ، ثم بدأت الاجراءات في مجموعة دراسة الهندسه. وقال انه من الناحية النظريه الى تطبيق مجموعة دراسة اسقاطي والطائرات وعمله في هذا المجال أدى الى موضوع Combinatorics كما نعرفه اليوم.

من عام 1950 فصاعدا عمله تحول نحو مزيد من الشروط على محدوديه والجماعات والتعميمات من الصفر مرفوع لاس معين للذوبان والجماعات. مفاهيم كثيرة في هذا المجال وعرض له ، ولا سيما Baer جذريه مجموعة من المجموعات وBaer (كل المجموعات في دوري الفريق الفرعي الذي هو وضع طبيعي ثانوي).

ط (EFR) استمعت إلى محاضرة له في جامعة وارويك في عام 1977. وكانت هذه المناسبه الحزينة وبحلول ذلك الوقت كما Baer يعلم انه كان مصابا بمرض خطير (مع سرطان المعده). ووصف العمل الذي قال انه يرى أنه كان يرغب في الاتصال ولكنه يرى أنه لن يعيش طويلا بما يكفي لتكون قادرة على البولنديه الى مستويات عالية له.

العملية كانت ناجحه فى عام 1978 وتتمتع Baer بينما يعد انشاء والرياضيات ، كان عاشقا للوابلاغها للآخرين اظهرت الاثاره والفرح في هذا الموضوع. وقال انه يتمتع oberwolfach نهائي في اجتماع ايار / مايو 1979 حيث كان

أ تقليم صالح والشكل ، يرتدون مفتوح - العنق قميصا ابيض ، رمادي الفانيلا السراويل وأحذية تنس. سعيد والابتسامه على وجهه... .

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Reinhold Baer

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

22 July 1902

Berlin, Germany

22 Oct 1979

Zurich, Switzerland

Presentation Wikipedia
Reinhold Baer studied mechanical engineering for a year at the Technische Hochschule at Hannover but realised that this was not the subject for him. He then changed to mathematics and philosophy at Freiburg in 1921 where Krull and Loewy were on the staff. He went to Göttingen in 1922 and was influenced by Emmy Noether and Hellmut Kneser (the son of Adolf Kneser ) who supervised Baer's doctoral thesis on the classification of curves on surfaces.

Baer won a scholarship for specially gifted students in 1924 and this enabled him to study at Kiel for a year with Hasse , Steinitz and Toeplitz . During this year in Kiel, Baer wrote up his doctoral dissertation and presented it to Göttingen in 1925. It was published in Crelle 's Journal in 1927.

A post at Freiburg was offered to him by Loewy . Baer held this post from 1926 until 1928 and, during this time, he turned towards algebra. Loewy clearly was one of the main influences in this change of direction.

Hasse offered him a post at Halle in 1928 and Baer accepted. While at Halle he undertook a joint project with Hasse , publishing Steinitz 's Algebraische Theorie der Körper, which had been first published in Crelle 's Journal in 1910, as a book with a commentary on the text and an appendix on Galois theory written by Baer.

While Baer was on holiday in Austria with his wife, Hitler came to power and Baer was informed that his services at Halle were no longer required. He then accepted an invitation from Mordell to go to Manchester, and after going to Oxford to meet Weyl , he accepted his invitation to Princeton.

Baer had begun studying infinite abelian groups while at Manchester and he continued his study of this topic at Princeton where he stayed from 1935 until 1937. He moved to North Carolina but when he was offered a chair at The University of Illinois at Urbana in 1938 he accepted the post. He remained there for until 1956 when he returned to Frankfurt in Germany where Moufang held a senior position.

His mathematical work, some of which has been mentioned above, was wide ranging; topology , abelian groups and geometry. His most important work, however, was in group theory ; on the extension problem for groups, finiteness conditions, soluble and nilpotent groups .

In 1940 he introduced the concept of an injective module, then began studying group actions in geometry. He applied group theory to the study of projective planes and his work in this area led to the topic of combinatorics as we know it today.

From 1950 onwards his work turned more towards finiteness conditions on groups and generalisations of soluble and nilpotent groups. Many concepts in this area were introduced by him, in particular the Baer radical of a group and Baer groups (groups in which every cyclic subgroup is subnormal).

I (EFR) heard him lecture at the University of Warwick in 1977. This was a sad occasion as by this time Baer knew that he was seriously ill (with stomach cancer). He described work which he felt he wanted to communicate but felt that he would not live long enough to be able to polish it to his high standards.

An operation in 1978 was successful and Baer enjoyed a while longer creating the mathematics he loved and communicating it to others showing his excitement and joy in his subject. He enjoyed a final Oberwolfach meeting in May 1979 where he was

a trim and fit figure, dressed in an open-neck white shirt, grey flannel trousers and tennis shoes. A happy smile on his face... .

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland