علماء الرياضيات

خط الزمن صور نقود طوابع رسم بحث

Robert Adrain

تاريخ الميلاد:

مكان الولادة:

تاريخ وفاته:

مكان الوفاة:

30 Sept 1775

Carrickfergus, Ireland

10 Aug 1843

New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

العرض
إنتبه -- الترجمة الآلية من النسخة الانكليزية

اسماء روبرت adrain 'دا الآباء والامهات غير معروفة ولكننا نعرف ان كان والده المعلم وانه اجرى الادوات الرياضية. Adrain عندما كان نحو خمسة عشر عاما من العمر توفي والداه.

Adrain تلقي التعليم الجيد والتعليم ولكن هذا لا تضم اي من خارج الحساب والرياضيات. بلدة الفضول ، الا ان قادته الى دراسة الرياضيات التي كتب على العلامه ، وأوضح جبري فاضحى اساسا الذاتي تدريس الرياضيات. بعد وفاة والديه ، وكان adrain للعمل من اجل اعاله نفسه ولكل من اولاده الاربعة والاخوة والاخوات وكان من الطبيعي تماما لهذا الشاب من التعليم لكسب عيشه بوصفه معلما. 1798 adrain من قبل ، شاب من 22 ، وقد أنشأت نفسه ماليا جيدا بما يكفي للسماح له على الزواج الشبكه العربية الاخباريه بولوك. انها لسبعة اطفال ، بينهم واحد ، غارنيت بوديتش adrain ، اصبحت الديمقراطيه عضو في الكونغرس.

سنة 1798 كانت حاسمة لadrain اضافة الى انه في السنة التي تزوج. وشارك في التمرد الايرلنديه من تلك السنة ولكن ، من أجل فهم ما هو عن هذا ، ينبغي ان نعطي بعض المعلومات الاساسية لتفسير الأحداث السياسية التي ادت الى هذا الحدث هو ان يؤدي الى تغيير كامل في حياة adrain.

تم تغيير السياسة الايرلنديه من قبل الثورة الامريكية منذ ذلك جزئيا إلى انها ادت الى مغادرة القوات الحكوميه وايرلندا ، والبروتستانتية الايرلنديه انشاء فرق المتطوعين للدفاع عن البلاد من الفرنسية. تغييرات تشريعيه في 1782 اعطى المزيد من السلطة الى البرلمان الايرلندي وموقف الروم الكاثوليك كان تحسنا كبيرا. وادى ذلك الى رد فعل عنيف والبروتستانت اثر الثورة الفرنسية هو ان نرى من المجتمعات التي اسست الامم الايرلنديون تشمل كلا من البروتستانت والكاثوليك من الطبقة المتوسطة. المجتمعات قد يكون تحت الارض وانها تبحث عن الدعم العسكري من فرنسا. من 1796 الى 1798 وارسلت فرنسا البحرية عدة بعثات الى ايرلندا لدعم المجتمعات ولكن كلها فشلت.

الامم الايرلنديون استفزاز تمردا في ايار / مايو 1798 وانضم الى المتمردين adrain كضابط في الجيش. التمرد لم يوفق في العام ، ولكن ذلك بصفة خاصة لadrain من اصيب بطلق ناري في ظهره واحدة من بلدة رجال وسيئة الجرحى. وبعد استعادة صحته adrain هرب مع زوجته الى الولايات المتحدة حيث استوطنوا في برنستون ، نيوجيرسي.

Adrain عين ماجستير في اكاديميه برينستون وبقي فيه حتى 1800 عندما انتقل الى اسرة يورك في بنسلفانيا. في يورك adrain اصبحت مقاطعة يورك الرئيسية للاكاديميه. عند أول مجلة الرياضيات ، وافاد مراسل والرياضية ، وبدأت النشر في عام 1804 منصب رئيس التحرير في اطار من جورج البارون ، adrain اصبحت واحدة من بين المساهمين الرئيسيين. وبعد سنة واحدة ، في 1805 ، انتقل مرة أخرى الى القراءة هذه المرة ، كما في ولاية بنسلفانيا ، حيث تم تعيين الرئيسية للاكاديميه.

بعد وصوله إلى قرائه ، adrain لا تزال تنشر في وافاد مراسل والرياضية ، في 1807 ، اصبح رئيس تحرير المجله. على المرء ان يفهم ان نشر مجلة الرياضيات فى الولايات المتحدة فى هذا الوقت لم يكن مهمة سهلة حيث لم يكن هناك سوى اثنين من الرياضيين القادر على العمل الدولية الداءمه في البلد كله ، الا وهي adrain وناثانايل بوديتش. ورغم هذه المشاكل ، adrain قررت محاولة نشر بلدة الرياضيات اليوميه بعد ان كان قد تحرير مجلد واحد فقط للرياضي ومراسل ، في 1808 ، بدا صاحب تحرير مجلة رياضية المحلل او متحف.

مع عدد قليل جدا من الرياضيين الابداعيه في الولايات المتحدة قد اليوميه سوى فرصة ضءيله للنجاح وبالفعل توقفت عن النشر بعد سنة واحدة فقط. وبعد نشر المجله توقفت ، adrain عين استاذا للرياضيات في كلية كوينز (الآن جامعة روتجرز (نيو برونزويك حيث كان يعمل في الفترة من 1809 الى 1813. على الرغم من كلية كوينز تحاول جهدها لابقاء وجود له ، adrain انتقل الى كلية كولومبيا في نيويورك في 1813. حاول اعادة تشغيل مجلة الرياضية بلدة المحلل في عام 1814 ولكنها جزء واحد فقط فيما يبدو. في عام 1825 ، بينما كان لا يزال على الموظفين في كلية كولومبيا ، adrain ادلى محاولة اخرى في نشر الرياضية اليوميه. ادراك ان المحلل كانت مرتفعة جدا تعمل بالطاقه لعلماء الرياضيات من الولايات المتحدة ، ونشر اليوميات الرياضية في عام 1825. وكان هذا ادنى مستوى النشر التي لا تزال تحت منصب رئيس التحرير من جيمس راين adrain عندما ترك كلية كولومبيا في 1826.

Adrain روتجرز عاد الى كلية (كلية كوينز تم تغيير اسمها الى كلية روتجرز فى عام 1825 بعد هنري روتجرز محسن) في 1826. ومع ذلك ، ترك اسرته هناك ، وقال انه يقبل منصب استاذا للرياضيات في جامعة بنسلفانيا في 1827. في 1828 عين نائب رئيس المجلس للجامعة وقال انه ما زال هناك حتى عام 1834. ومع ذلك ، غادر جامعة بنسلفانيا بعد ان طلب الى الاستقالة. كما يكتب في هوجان (انظر أيضا) :

خلال العام الماضي [في جامعة بنسلفانيا] adrain قد مشاكل خطيرة مع الانضباط في صفوفه. لأن الكليه لا يرى أي وسيلة للمساعدة على adrain واضطرابات يخشى ان تمتد الى دول أخرى من شأنه ان الطبقات ، وجامعة adrain طلب استقالة.

ان نفهم لماذا واحد من خيرة علماء الرياضيات فى الولايات المتحدة ينبغي ان يكون الانضباط مشاكل في صفوفه ، ونحن مرة اخرى اقتبس من (struik يعطي أساسا في نفس التعليقات) :

ورغم أن الرجل من الذكاء وروح الدعابه ، وكثيرا ما كان سريع الانفعال adrain في الفصول الدراسيه. واحد من طلابه وأفادت أنه كلما تعثر طالب في تقريره تلاوه (ثم رئيسي من اشكال الفصول الدراسيه التعليمات) ، من شأنه ان ينهي adrain جهوده مع ملاحظه مثل "اذا كنت لا تستطيع فهم اقليدس ، والشخص المحبوب ، لا استطيع ان اشرح لكم".

وبعد ان إتجهت استقالته على النحو المطلوب ، adrain عاد الى نيو برونزويك حيث حصل على رزقه اشراف القطاع الخاص حتى 1836 ومرة اخرى عندما ذهب الى نيويورك ، التدريس في مدرسة متوسطة المعلقه على كلية كولومبيا. تقاعده في عام 1840 وعاد الى نيو برونزويك حيث أمضى ثلاث سنوات من تقاعده قبل وفاته.

على الرغم من الحادثه التي اسفرت عن استقالة من adrain للنفاد الصبر في الفصول الدراسيه ، وكانت له سمعة على تحليك بالصبر ومفيدة في كل الاوقات الاخرى. ليس من غير المألوف للمدرسين لتغيير الطابع عندما تدريس الدرجة!

Adrain الاولى للصحف الرياضية المعنية مراسل التوجيهيه للسفينة وديوفانتاين الجبر (دراسة الرشيد حلول لمتعدد الحدود المعادلات). وبعد نشر مزيد من العمل على ديوفانتاين الجبر ، وقال انه نشر ورقة عن القانون العادي من الاخطاء في 1808 ، قبل سنة واحدة الغاوس.

في 1808 كان روبرت باترسون ان اقترح مسح مشكلة في المحلل ، وبعد تعليقات من الاجراءين اقتراح بوديتش ، adrain اعطى حجة لاثبات صحه التوزيع العادي للاخطاء ، وثم انها تستخدم لاثبات صحه طريقة المربعات الصغرى. اتخاذ عدد من المشاكل على سبيل المثال ، adrain تبين ان واحدا من بوديتش 'اجراءات يعادل باستخدام طريقة المربعات الصغرى. ومن المؤسف انه على الرغم من الاولوية اكثر من adrain الغاوس ، ومن هذه الاخيرة قد وردت من الفضل في هذا مساهمه هامة الاحصاءيه. انظر لمزيد من التفاصيل.

المواضيع الأخرى التي كتبت عن adrain تشمل اجراء دراسة للمنحنى السلسله ، وغيرها من المنحنيات التي دعا isotomous. وقال انه في 1818 ، نشرت ورقة التحقيق في الرقم من الارض ومن خطورة في مختلف خطوط العرض. Adrain في هذه الورقه والقى 1 / 319 كما الاهليليجيه من الارض ، وهذا الرقم افضل من تلك التي قدمها لابلاس (واعطى 1 / 336 ) ، ونحو منتصف الطريق بين لابلاس 'دا الشكل والقيمه المقبولة من اليوم 1 / 297. Adrain للتحسين على لابلاس بالمجلس ، وبلغت قيمة ، بالطبع ، لان adrain قد استلهم الى العمل في هذا الموضوع لأن من اشتراكات لابلاس.

ونود ان نعرف المزيد عن adrain عمل اليوم ولكن لالحادث المؤسف فيما يتعلق MJ babb من جامعة بنسلفانيا. Babb هو الذي adrain العمل على المخطوطات في وقت وفاته في عام 1945 ويبدو ان كل من عمل babb وadrain من المخطوطات التي كان يعمل سهوا دمرت بعد وفاته.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland

Mathematicians

Time line Photos Money Stamps Sketch Search

Robert Adrain

Birth date:

Birth place:

Date of death:

Place of death:

30 Sept 1775

Carrickfergus, Ireland

10 Aug 1843

New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

Presentation Wikipedia
The names of Robert Adrain's parents are unknown but we do know that his father was a schoolteacher and that he made mathematical instruments. When Adrain was about fifteen years of age both his parents died.

Adrain received a good education but this education did not include any mathematics beyond arithmetic. His own curiosity, however, led him to study books on mathematics which explained algebraic notation and so he became essentially a self-taught mathematician. After his parents died, Adrain had to work to support both himself and his four brothers and sisters and it was entirely natural for this well educated young man to earn his living as a teacher. By 1798 Adrain, a young man of 22, had established himself sufficiently well financially to allow him to marry Ann Pollock. They had seven children, one of whom, Garnett Bowditch Adrain, became a Democratic member of Congress.

The year 1798 was crucial for Adrain in addition to being the year in which he married. He took part in the Irish rebellion of that year but, in order to understand what this was about, we should give some background to explain the political events which led up to this event that was to result in a complete change in Adrain's life.

Irish politics was changed by the American Revolution partly since it led to government troops leaving Ireland, and a Protestant Irish volunteer corps established to defend the country from the French. In 1782 legislative changes gave more power to the Irish Parliament and the position of Roman Catholics was greatly improved. This led to a Protestant backlash and an effect of the French Revolution was to see societies of United Irishmen founded which included both Protestants and middle-class Catholics. The Societies were driven underground and they looked for military support from France. From 1796 to 1798 France sent several naval expeditions to Ireland to support the Societies but all failed.

The United Irishmen provoked a rebellion in May 1798 and Adrain joined the rebels as an officer in their army. The rebellion was unsuccessful in general, but particularly so for Adrain who was shot in the back by one of his own men and badly wounded. After recovering his health Adrain escaped with his wife to the United States where they settled in Princeton, New Jersey.

Adrain was appointed as a master at Princeton Academy and remained there until 1800 when the family moved to York in Pennsylvania. In York Adrain became Principal of York County Academy. When the first mathematics journal, the Mathematical Correspondent, began publishing in 1804 under the editorship of George Baron, Adrain became one of its main contributors. One year later, in 1805, he moved again this time to Reading, also in Pennsylvania, where he was appointed Principal of the Academy.

After arriving in Reading, Adrain continued to publish in the Mathematical Correspondent and, in 1807, he became editor of the journal. One has to understand that publishing a mathematics journal in the United States at this time was not an easy task since there were only two mathematicians capable of work of international standing in the whole country, namely Adrain and Nathaniel Bowditch . Despite these problems, Adrain decided to try publishing his own mathematics journal after he had edited only one volume of the Mathematical Correspondent and, in 1808, he began editing his journal the Analyst or Mathematical Museum.

With so few creative mathematicians in the United States the journal had little chance of success and indeed it ceased publication after only one year. After the journal ceased publication, Adrain was appointed professor of mathematics at Queen's College (now Rutgers University) New Brunswick where he worked from 1809 to 1813. Despite Queen's College trying its best to keep him there, Adrain moved to Columbia College in New York in 1813. He tried to restart his mathematical journal the Analyst in 1814 but only one part appeared. In 1825, while he was still on the staff at Columbia College, Adrain made another attempt at publishing a mathematical journal. Realising that the Analyst had been too high powered for the mathematicians of the United States, he published the Mathematical Diary in 1825. This was a lower level publication which continued under the editorship of James Ryan when Adrain left Columbia College in 1826.

Adrain returned to Rutgers College (Queen's College was renamed Rutgers College in 1825 after the philanthropist Henry Rutgers) in 1826. However, leaving his family there, he accepted the post of Professor of Mathematics at the University of Pennsylvania in 1827. In 1828 he was appointed vice-provost of the University and he remained there until 1834. However, he left the University of Pennsylvania having been asked to resign. As Hogan writes in (see also ):

During his last year [at the University of Pennsylvania] Adrain had serious problems with discipline in his classes. Because the faculty saw no way to aid Adrain and feared that the disturbances would spread to other classes, the university asked for Adrain's resignation.

To understand why one of the finest mathematicians in the United States should have discipline problems in his classes we quote again from (Struik in gives essentially the same comments):

Although a man of wit and humour, Adrain was often irritable in the classroom. One of his students reported that whenever a student faltered in his recitation (then the principal form of classroom instruction), Adrain would terminate his efforts with a remark such as "If you cannot understand Euclid, dearie, I cannot explain it to you".

Having tended his resignation as requested, Adrain returned to New Brunswick where he earned his living tutoring privately until 1836 when again he went to New York, teaching at the Grammar School attached to Columbia College. In 1840 he retired and returned to New Brunswick where he spent the three years of his retirement before his death.

Despite the resignation episode which resulted from Adrain's impatience in the classroom, he had a reputation for being patient and helpful at all other times. It is not uncommon for teachers to change character when they teach a class!

Adrain's first papers in the Mathematical Correspondent concerned the steering of a ship and Diophantine algebra (the study of rational solutions to polynomial equations). After publishing further work on Diophantine algebra, he published a paper on the normal law of errors in 1808, one year before Gauss .

It was in 1808 that Robert Patterson proposed a surveying problem in the Analyst and, after comments from Bowditch suggesting two procedures, Adrain gave an argument to establish the validity of the normal distribution for the errors, and he then used it to prove the validity of the method of least squares. Taking a number of problems as examples, Adrain showed that one of Bowditch 's procedures was equivalent to using the method of least squares. It is unfortunate that despite Adrain's priority over Gauss , it is the latter who has received the credit for this important statistical contribution. See for more details.

Other topics which Adrain wrote about include a study of the catenary , and other curves which he called isotomous. In 1818 he published a paper Investigation of the figure of the Earth and of the gravity in different latitudes. In this paper Adrain gave 1/319 as the ellipticity of the Earth, a figure better than that given by Laplace (he gave 1/336), and about halfway between Laplace 's figure and the accepted value today of 1/297. Adrain's improvement on Laplace 's value was, of course, made because Adrain had been inspired to work on the topic because of the contributions of Laplace .

We would know more about Adrain's work today but for an unfortunate incident concerning M J Babb of the University of Pennsylvania. Babb was working on Adrain's manuscripts at the time of his death in 1945 and it appears that both Babb's work and the manuscripts of Adrain on which he was working were inadvertently destroyed after his death.

Source:School of Mathematics and Statistics University of St Andrews, Scotland